Muskegon, MI 
McGraft Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / --   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
It Was OK....

1    7/21/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: xrockfistx
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Quiet Park
-Clean Park
-Wasn't busy. We went on a Sunday afternoon and I think that the where a grand total of 10 people in the park and it's a pretty big park.
-More than 1 tee a holes to provide different angles and lengths.
Cons: The layout is seriously screwy. The first 7 holes are easily found with big tee markers at each pad. To get to hole 8 you have to walk on the side of a busy road. There, you play 8 and 9. Then walk back across the street to play hole 10. (We skipped this hole because, we could not find a tee marker and it is played with a river/channel on the right hand side). Walk back across the street to hole 11. Walk back up the hill for hole 12 and 13. Down, the hill for 14, up the hill for 15 and back down the hill for 16, 17,18. Then you are not back at the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: They're putting in cement tee pads while we where there. I think about 3 of them where dug out with the boards in place.

I would not travel out of my way to visit. It's close to Pere Marquette beach, so if you're headed that way, it would be okay to stop. It was nice to disc and then take a dip in the lake.

If you're a beginner, I would probably skip the course. Most holes are easy but, there a few tight fairways and water hazards.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The White Trash Country Club

5+    6/23/2010   6/25/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the first course I ever played about 8 or 9 summers ago. It is my home course and is right in my backyard. It has some diverse terrain in the way of elevation changes, tight wooded hallways, and water hazards. The recent addition of long tees has added some difficulty to the front six holes. What were once easy birdies are now much more challenging with plenty of new opportunites for the old oaks to smack your discs out of the air. There are a few holes here that are memorable such as 7 down the sledding hill, the longest hole 15 with plenty of nasty trees, and the treachery of 16 over the stream. This is very beginner friendly and offers some nice practice opportunities for the more advanced as well.
Cons: A large portion of this course comes off as pretty mundane. The layout is a bit confusing to people who have no idea where they are going. There are 4 holes that some people could conceivably miss entirely without instruction. The wooded holes will straight up ruin your socks and shoes if your disc goes off the beaten path and you are forced to search in the mucky lagoon. The black foot is a scourge. The biggest drawback in my opinion is the fact that there are no concrete tee pads. The natural dirt pads are irregular and offer unstable footing which can really take a lot off your shots.
Other Thoughts: This may not be the greatest of courses, but for the land that was available it is decent. It is a fun little jaunt through the old swamp.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent City Park Course

1    7/26/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 73  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 16.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really nice city park course with an up-north kinda feel. Bring the kids and let them run loose on the playground while you get 18 quick holes in. Maps are necessary and available in the mailbox @ hole #1. Two tee-pads at most holes make it fun to play for both in-experienced and veteran alike, as well as making the most out of the smallish park setting. No rough, just a couple holes at which disc loss could be a problem.
Cons: Again, get a map to help find those few "hidden" tee boxes. Tees are natural, markers are tall wooden poles that are easy to spot. Baskets are less than desirable. Tee #7 is a long walk from hole #6. There was concert parking on fairway #6 when we played, as well as about three-hundred octogenarians listening to live polka-music at the band-shell. Quite a combo. The flow after hole #12 is a little odd. Down the back-side and then back up, then down again after #16.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, it makes for a good round. It's longer than Rycenga but not as nice a setting. Beware the drunk locals as well as the other uses that this park has to offer, i.e. concerts, dog-walkers, children...
All in all, it's a nice city park with a decent disc-golf course thrown in.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Front Nine, Back Nine So So

1    8/9/2008   8/9/2008
Review By: dandther
Played: 41  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 39.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2012
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Front nine is well built under and through tall, old growth trees. Nice lines for curving shots through trees, interesting elevation changes, etc. Seventh tee pole is missing, we play from the top of the sledding hill. 8 and 9 are up the street from 7 (north). 10 is across the street along the water.
Cons: Holes 11, 16-18 are built in woods that contain poison ivy and disc eating foliage. I've played the course twice now and have yet to find hole 14. It could be right out in the open, but things are very poorly marked in this park. Many tee posts are missing. The tee posts that are not missing are unfinished 4x4s, very hard to spot in the woods and trees. Someone should replace the missing posts, and go through the whole park with some bright paint and mark the posts so newbies can find their way around the course.
Other Thoughts: I won't go out of my way to play this course, but it's the best I've found near the lakeshore in the Muskegon area. I choose to skip 16(?) over the polluted stream.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.