Muskegon, MI 
McGraft Park Share
Uploaded By: Hyramdubya Hole #10
3 / --   3 / 410ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    12/20/2009   12/20/2009
Review By: mcmyers640
Played: 40  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Trees
-Change of scenery throughout the holes
-Pro and Am. tees
-Clean area with well kept pathways
-Course forces you to use all throws possible, even the ones you didn't know you had.
Cons: -Distances marked are sometimes inaccurate
-Trees that punish even the best of shots
-Tee pads are dirt. (I'm a spoiled disc golfer!)
-Parts of the course are very tough to navigate. Hole 7-10 are ones you need to explore for if it is your first time out. The rest will lead into one another.

Other Thoughts: Bring your mids out for the shorts. The Pros offer a bit of a challenge for those feeling ambitious. There are many different angles you can take to every hole. Don't be afraid to use them all. This course really challenges every throw in your book. It will pull out and show your weakness. Don't be afraid to take the easy way out on your shots. Accuracy is a better friend than distance and find the shot with the highest percentage of success. Play it safe here!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 depressing...

1    9/22/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -there are baskets
-there are trees
-there are wood sign posts
-some variety
-um...you're still disc golfing
Cons: -horrible flow through park
-single chain baskets
-tee signs have horribly wrong distances if even on post
-next basket locations not easy to find (if at all)
-many redundant large tree holes
-water hazards are more like muddy city water sewage hazards
Other Thoughts: Ok...this day might have been my most depressing round of disc golf I have played...BUT let me start this off by saying that I was glad to see Muskegon have A disc golf course in this area than not to have one...that aside this place was the epitome of the city and location, and that's not so good.

The park is a so so location in economic down turned Muskegon and it feels like it. 6x6 wooden posts with huge numbers that mark the dirt "pro" and "am" spots on the ground. Single chain yellow rimmed baskets. First 6 holes that look and play the same with minimal differences. Hole 7 a slight downhill that shoots RIGHT next to a busy road/power lines. Very poor location for a hole. Hole 8,9, and 10??? Had NO idea where these holes where. After 7 all you see is the post for 11. After the round a local told me you had to cross the road bridge and it was on the other side hidden by thick brush. Ok?

Hole 11 starts to run you along side a swappy area then back UP to the trees for 12 and 13, then back down to the swamp for 14 then back up for 15 in the same old trees then over to 16. weird weird course flow.

Hole 16 plays slightly downhill and involves throwing over a small creek that smells of city sewage and looks like burnt coffee. If I were to toss a disc in this "water" I would probably leave it in the fear of contracting Hep B...kind of like the same fear when banging Pam Anderson.

Holes 17 and 18 play along side the swamp region again and leave you FAR away from the parking lot you started. Once again, poor layout.

Like I said, such a mediocre park and layout. In my honest opinion I think a reworking of this park with some effort and maintenance could raise it up to a 2, maybe a 3. This is a neighborhood course for sure so one can't complain too much. Very NON representative of the West Michigan areas finer courses.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Decent City Park Course

1    7/26/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 73  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 16.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really nice city park course with an up-north kinda feel. Bring the kids and let them run loose on the playground while you get 18 quick holes in. Maps are necessary and available in the mailbox @ hole #1. Two tee-pads at most holes make it fun to play for both in-experienced and veteran alike, as well as making the most out of the smallish park setting. No rough, just a couple holes at which disc loss could be a problem.
Cons: Again, get a map to help find those few "hidden" tee boxes. Tees are natural, markers are tall wooden poles that are easy to spot. Baskets are less than desirable. Tee #7 is a long walk from hole #6. There was concert parking on fairway #6 when we played, as well as about three-hundred octogenarians listening to live polka-music at the band-shell. Quite a combo. The flow after hole #12 is a little odd. Down the back-side and then back up, then down again after #16.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, it makes for a good round. It's longer than Rycenga but not as nice a setting. Beware the drunk locals as well as the other uses that this park has to offer, i.e. concerts, dog-walkers, children...
All in all, it's a nice city park with a decent disc-golf course thrown in.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sled hills and squirles

1    6/20/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: -johnbob
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is an easy course for anyone who's starting. This park is kept clean.
Cons: Advanced players won't find this course fun. Straight shots, no pads, and the hole placement was just a circle.
Other Thoughts: This is just a random course. No signs just wooden posts, no maps, no tee's.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

1    5/29/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting
Excellent use of available space--uniquely navigating heavy use park
Easy to see tee posts
The "wooded" holes have great risk/reward aspects
Relatively intuitive to navigate once you realize the downloadable map is mis-marked
The "top" holes would be a great way to introduce people to the sport (With the creek high like today, I wouldn't have a true beginner who would likely hyzer alot throw into the water and get frustrated)
Nice neighboorhood
Overall good vibe
Cons: No cement or stable tees
Downloadable map is mis-numbered...looks like they redid the course a bit--the map is a good resource for first timers, someone should redo it and repost it
Single chains--be careful how hard you putt, I had a number of birdie putts pop out...use more finese than I did :)
Other Thoughts: We couldn't find the tee post for hole 7...maybe it got broken...but we teed off up by the stage area
I could imagine it could get crowded on the weekends with park users, etc...was great playing on a Friday afternoon...only saw a couple others golfers and only 4 people at the park
Overall, a very fun round of dg...

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 McGraft

5+    4/17/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: Andrew
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2009
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course it is my home course I play it almost every day. McGraft has a good layout and has some really fun baskets.
Cons: Holes 10 and 16 are water hazards. Also a poor shot on holes 10, 11, 14, 16, 17, and 18 can land you in the muck.
Other Thoughts: Needs cement tee pads

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/23/2009   3/24/2009
Review By: Greater Visions
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course to learn to play the game. Many of the cons others have listed have been rectified. The first seven holes are very fun and manageable at the same time. A couple good opportunities to throw bombs as well as a few precision type holes tucked in the woods at low elevation.
Cons: No cement tees. Once in a while parts of the course are slightly littered. Swampy areas are scary to land your disc in. Watch out for "the black foot."
Other Thoughts: I've played this course hundreds of times and have never got poison ivy. Some holes are very aceable.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 McGruff

5+    12/27/2008   12/29/2008
Review By: Qual
Played: 38  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.8 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: My home course, Within walking distance to my house, I have 6 aces here, Front 6 holes are all deuceable, Mixture of short and long holes, League play is Winter: Sundays at 1:00 p.m., Summer: Mondays at 6:00 p.m.
Cons: No cement tees, Single chain baskets, Litter, No local club to improve the course, City of Muskegon seems to be out of touch with disc golf in general, Some holes need dead branches cleared/cut, People stealing baskets (old #5), People moving baskets without consulting the people who play this course everyday, Addam Oliver redesigns

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Clarity

5+    11/15/2008   11/15/2008
Review By: DiscBiscuit
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is my home course. I play it 3-4 times a week. I've got 4 aces here, 16,17,3,4. After years of playing several
times a week, its still fun and challenging.
Cons: Desprately needs new tee pads!
Other Thoughts: Keep it low and out of the trees.
Throw a thumber on 16, and never lose
disc.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/29/2014   10/21/2008
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2014
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Big trees and grass create unique playing environments on Holes 1-9 and 12-15. Has some interesting water holes (10, 16, 18). Nice views of Ruddiman Lagoon and Muskegon Lake, lots of squirrels and waterfowl, only disc golf in city of Muskegon, near Pere Marquette Beach. New cement tee pads added in late 2013 has significantly improved the course. The elevated tee on Hole 8 is very nice. With some new tee positions created, this course is finally ready for prime time. In addition, it appears that some repair work has been done to the existing baskets. Great job by local volunteers.
Cons: Moderately hard to navigate (finding tees for holes 6 and 7 is difficult, as is hole 11), Single chain baskets make putting difficult, though as mentioned many baskets have been repaired. Most of the sign posts are now gone, which would make navigation a potential nightmare for first-time players. Some of the new long tee positions on the front nine encroach on the outer boundaries of the park, creating a few opportunities for OB drives. This does make the course challenging, even if it seems like a compromise in course design.
Other Thoughts: The lakeshore area could use a course at Hoffmaster and/or Muskegon State Park to rival Ludington courses. However, the recent work done does a lot to make this course viable.


2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.