Deforest, WI 
Vallarta-Ast DGC Share
Uploaded By: illyB420 Hole #8 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 197ft.   3 / 293ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Blue Basket to Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Worth the money

5+    7/5/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: Lanomode
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Additional 9 holes this year making it 27 now. Probably because of the cost, it's not full of high schoolers smoking weed. You can actually play with out having to wait behind people.
Cons: Some holes are a bit easy, but just move back to the pro tee and it'll add a little more difficulty. Some have extremely tall weeds to lose a disc in on the sides of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Some courses, 18 just isn't enough. The $8 you're supposed to pay is worth it here for 27 well maintained holes.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Grip N' Rip

1    5/30/2013   6/1/2013
Review By: ToneRay
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Lots of opp's to get out your drivers
- Well-maintained
- Great signage
Cons: - $8 to play, but more understandable once I saw that every hole was mowed, and all else maintained like new
Other Thoughts: Special thanks to Dan, Brad, and "Sticks" for guiding my inaugural round here. Very enjoyable and informative.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice except price.

2-4    10/4/2012   10/6/2012
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 152  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 10.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes! The more holes on a course the better in my opinion.Two sets of huge, flared concrete tee pads on all holes. Benches and trash cans on all holes. Navigation was only a problem between 5 and 6. Just required a little extra walking but a sign would be helpful here. Very nice Mach 5 baskets. I'm a fan of the Mach baskets and these catch very well here. There are 3 sets of pin locations on all the holes as well which I don't understand why more courses don't do. Restrooms Available right next to hole 2 I believe it was. Camping on site in what appeared to be a good sized well maintained multi use park. Very large tee signs with hole #, a basic hole layout and distances and locations for all possible pin placements. The park was extremely well maintained and mowed which it should be for the price. The first 18 original holes are more fun than the newer 9. Theres more woods involved on them making it more challenging. I could see losing a disc as a possibility here but its hard for me to say since I went in October. The "island hole" on 22 is a cool idea for making a water hazard like challenge on a course with no water. The wind was a huge factor when I went, especially the last 9. Very easy to find the course, just minutes off I-94. I wouldn't think this would ever be TOO busy, there was one other car when we went at first and 3 when we left. I'd recommend giving this one a shot, I had a real nice time here.
Cons: $8 a day is very high. Highbridge is the only other that I've played thats more but that has 6 18 hole courses on site. Not the most peaceful course in that its just off of I-94 so theres the constant sound of traffic. So I personally wouldn't recommend camping here because of this. Also there must be an airport nearby as there were planes and helicopters flying all over too. The last nine newer holes were all mostly open and bland except 22's "island hole". Other than that not much. Really solid course, just not Phenomenal.
Other Thoughts: All in all i had a real fun couple rounds here. You can tell that at least your $8 is going towards the course. Elver and Hiestand in Madison are very close by as well. I've never played them but they are supposed to be outstanding courses . I have played Bird's Ruins in Marshall and would recommend that one and its only about 20 minutes east. That would make for a good day of discin'.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Manicured!

5+    8/6/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 317  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 13.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The land is rather flat with a mix of open, to scattered trees, to tunnels. The turf is regulary mowed. There is a very nice kiosk near hole #1.

Huge concrete tee pads. 2 per hole. Shorts/Longs. Some benches.

Multiple pin positions. 3 per hole.

Between the 2 tee pads and 3 pin positions there is a ton of variety on the course. You'll throw pretty much every shot on this course if you play both sets of tees. Even with these it's easy to navigate.

The tee signs are very nice! They still look brand new.

Awesome DGA Mach 5 baskets.

This is one of the most well kept courses that I have played.

The course has recently been expanded to 27 holes. The more golf the better!
Cons: I don't mind pay to play but if you are only playing 1 round for $8.00 it's rather expensive.

This course is very flat and rather open in places. It lacks that extra elevation or water to get the next half disc bump in rating from me.
Other Thoughts: The course has recently been expanded to 27 holes.

This is my personal taste. I actually think Heistand & Elver are both considerably better courses than Token due to the type of land. If they were maintained as much as this course the reviews would reflect it. I love going to Madison. I usually hit all 3 in one day.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Country club of madison DG

5+    5/6/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: briggsbeer
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is really taken care of well. The trash is removed very often. The grass is mowed regularly and is beautiful. You can drink on the course, glass is allowed. There are multiple pin locations and they are changed often. The different pin locations really change how u will throw on several holes. There are lots of woods but you aren't playing through tunnels.
Cons: There are little to no elevation changes, mostly flat. There can be considerable air tarffic overhead. You can really hear the highway on the first seveal holes.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Mad City course

5+    12/10/2009   12/10/2009
Review By: goalkeeper19
Played: 124  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: BEAUTIFULLY maintained. The course is right off the highway, and very easy to get to. Two sets of great concrete teepads and multiple pin positions add a lot of variety in the length, layout, and challenge. Lots of different lines through manicured fairways. Holes average between 250-550' or so, and in the longest layout, is definitely a play-for-par type of course.

Playing here definitely feels more like a ball-golf round, due to the overall groomed feel, and beautiful landscaping.

The layout is very easy to follow, and offers good deuce opportunities, and rewarding par holes (#5 is the standout). The rough is pretty light, but the woods will definitely take away an easy shot if you stray out of the fairway.

Pay-to-play. This is the direction our sport should go in, and when the money goes towards keeping the course in this condition, it's well worth the price.
Cons: Mostly open, with very little elevation change. Some of the holes are similar at the 260-300' range. The course could use a few more good par 4 holes or doglegs.
Watch out for bugs in the summer, and bring some Off.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth checking out, and worth paying for! There are park people walking the course backwards on most days to check for the payment, to keep people honest!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great to change it up sometimes

5+    9/19/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: MooTaters
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2012
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Edit(6/5/12): The new back 9 holes are amazing. They offer a very different playing field than anything else on the course, or even compared to all the Madison courses. Very open, which is something I'm not used to so it was very fun to play those for the first time.

Great course. Fairways and even the rough prairie area gets mowed. Three pin placements on most if not all holes. Definitely worth going to even for the money. I wouldn't spend the daily fee if I planned to go there a bunch though. It does have some elevation change, but not much. The fairways are still nicely plotted which does make up some for the mainly flat land. It's a pretty tough course, though not bad. The holes offer a good amount of variation for different throwing styles. Also from what I've seen, the pro tees look pretty challenging. It also seems that most of the times discs are easier to find than at Hiestand park.
Cons: With the $8 day pass you're best off buying a season pass. The Glide disc golf pro shop next to Hiestand park usually has season passes for sale, otherwise they can be found online or purchased through the regular day pass sheet/envelope. Bugs can also be an issue, but that's part of being in Wisconsin.
Other Thoughts: The nine extra holes should be finished some time in 2012, which I believe is the reason for recent price increases for day passes. I do agree that the fee is an alright thing since I hate seeing things like beer cans and bottles littered all over Hiestand. I still personally like Hiestand park better, but Vallarta-Ast is still a great course, I just like the variety and topography that Hiestand offers. I still plan to visit token creek a lot, and can't wait to see the new holes.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 MUST PLAY!

5+    8/10/2008   5/14/2009
Review By: Scott Van Dyke
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 20.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2009
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very quiet, and beautiful. Well worth the daily fee. Never been greeted by park staff, or receipt checkers. Very little traffic here.

This is a course that is long, but pretty wide open on every single hole. There are no water hazards, no steep elevation changes, and no playing "PLINKO" in a tight group of trees.

Cons: This course does not "have it all". This course just has everything that I prefer in a course.
Other Thoughts: I make a day trip once a year to this course, and have an absolute blast. Usually get there around 9am, and play three very casual rounds broken up by a lunch and plenty of drinking. Of the 18 courses I've played, this is my favorite. I like the sheer beauty of this course, with it's well-groomed trails, fairways, cleanliness, etc.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Midnight Token

5+    11/1/2008   12/25/2008
Review By: Stashride
Played: 20  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 18.5 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very well groomed and flat..Easy to walk..$5 fee weeds out the scrubs..can play 18 in under an hour..almost every hole is reachable..Plenty of birdy oppurtunities..A plethora of pin placements..Hole 5 is very difficult..
Cons: No real changes in elevation..The course maintenance crew are real prics about checking permits so make sure you pay..Not very private, right off the interstate..
Other Thoughts: Aced hole 12 with a gentle flick and finally had an audience for one..water fountains and bathroom pavilions on hole 2 and 6..rejuvenation spot with picnic table on hole 8..

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Just Like a Real Golf Course

5+    9/27/2008   10/17/2008
Review By: Schwinn2
Played: 51  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Without a doubt, the best maintained course I've ever played. Fairways are well mowed. Trash cans are on every hole and emptied frequently. There are benches on every hole and two bathrooms are easily accessible from the course. There are pro and am tee pads for every hole, as well as three pin placements. There are beautiful tee signs next to each tee pad that clearly show pin placement and distance. The course flows well--no walking great distances between holes, no back-tracking to get to a hole, no looking around for the next hole.
Cons: The course lacks elevation change and plays more for the big arm than the technical player. Watch out for ticks, mosquitos, and wild parsnip! I also hate to announce this for a national audience, but there is also a problem with non-disc golfing men trying to seek "favors" from males in the park. Please visit the madcitydisc.org forum before you play the course, so you know what to watch out for.
Other Thoughts: Because of the $5 daily fee, the course is extremely well-maintained. The fee also seems to reduce the large groups of rec players that the other Madison courses have. The park officials DO CHECK for your permit (I have been stopped on countless occasions), and the fine is quite high. When you think about how much it costs to go to a movie, play mini golf, ski, bowl, etc., $5 is really quite reasonable. Dogs are allowed, but I believe you need a dog permit for Dane County Parks.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.