New Berlin, WI 
Valley View Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #4
3 / 150ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Great 18 hole for beginners

2-4    9/23/2014   9/24/2014
Review By: BigRemy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -As a beginner throwing as badly as I do, this course doesn't make me want to drive my car on the wrong side of US-43 after 18 holes like most courses do

-The holes are pretty short, but with pin and tee placements around trees on a lot of holes, this increases the difficulty. Good technical course.

-Right off the freeway, and that makes for a quick trip from the southwest suburbs of Milwaukee County.

-Cool downhill shot off of hole 1

-The Speedway gas station close to this course has a pretty decent selection of discs.
Cons: -I came here 3 times this summer, finally got the kind of confusing layout down, and then they had a soapbox derby the beginning of this month and changed the entire layout. Some locals playing behind us said it was the winter course, and even though we let them play through they were nice enough to play behind us and lead us through the middle of the course which is not signed at all. We still somehow only played 17 and I guess I won't play here again until May when I know the layout will be back to normal.

-Some people in the parking lot have lost all sense of depth perception and park very close to your car when you're in the back of the lot and it's not even half full.

-Garbage on the ground, right next to garbage cans. C'mon, man!
Other Thoughts: -My buddy played a round before his hot date tonight and was in a hurry to get home. As we were leaving, he asks a couple guys if they sell beer at the gas stations around here since we'd be stopping at one anyways. They looked at my buddy like he ways from Mars, waited a minute and said "Ummm...yeah...". Sorry dudes, my buddy lives literally in the city that borders your city to the East and most gas statIons there don't sell booze.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Simple and Fun

5+    9/13/2013   9/14/2013
Review By: pr0phetx
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Variety of hole selections ranging from completely wide open to completely wooded.
-Every hole and pin placement is aceable, meaning its all relatively short holes. This makes it easy for newbies to get their feet wet.
-The course itself is very well kept, in terms of mulch and brush. There is a lot of trash sometimes, but when there are so many people coming through, it is understandable to not be able to keep up with all of it.
-Almost all the holes require good placement as opposed to huge distance. Navigating the trees is really what makes this course fun.
-Did I mention its short? You can play around in about 30-45 minutes (maybe quicker?) when there isn't anyone there. This makes for a nice relaxing, quick round when you just want to get out there and throw.
-They leave the pins up for winter.
Cons: -It's almost always crowded from 3pm - 7pm during the week and usually always crowded on the weekends. Like terribly crowded. Multiple groups of 5+ in a row isn't uncommon.
-There aren't any holes where you can just go full blast. I just play with a mid range the whole round and have no problems getting birdies on any holes.
-There isn't really anything that makes you go "WOW". The first hole is the closest you will get to a signature hole but thats a stretch.
Other Thoughts: This year has been the best year for the course in my opinion (although I do miss the old configuration/holes). Everything has been well maintained from the muddy parts getting mulched to the thick brush being thinned out, everything just makes for a much smoother round. They have even added in a few new pins this year that add a bit (a tiny bit lol) of difficulty. Mike H, the guy who maintains the course and runs leagues there, is always around on Mondays selling a wide selection of discs at really low prices which is a huge plus. Its nice to be able to buy discs right on the course.

Overall its a fun little course that leaves you feeling good when you can say "I shot neg 8 today".

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/1/2013   6/1/2013
Review By: DiscinFiend
Played: 59  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has a nice mix of wooded and open holes. The fact that there are multiple pin positions is nice. Decent technical shots in the woods. Good course for practicing approach shots & throwing putters/mids from the tee. Concrete paids are good. Good variety of different shot selection needed from the tees.
Cons: The holes are short. Most players could play the hole course with a putter & maybe a mid. It is wet a lot (because it's in a valley). Some of the signs are broken/vanidilzed & many of them aren't legible. Tall grass on a few holes can make it difficult to find a disc in the event of a bad shot. If its been raining recently it can be very muddy & flooded in many parts of the course.
Other Thoughts: The leagues here are well organized & are fun to play in. I enjoyed the original course setup from years ago better but its still good now.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not sure if designed for experienced disc golfers looking for a fun relaxing round, or for 10 year olds

2-4    5/11/2013   5/12/2013
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 101  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My buddy and I played this course after playing a tournament at a much more difficult course, and we had an absolute blast here! The views here were incredible and the holes offer a wide variety of shots, playing in and out of the woods.

It was a very relaxed round, and none of the holes were all that difficult and the course seemed to be pretty clean and well maintained.

Hole 1 is the obvious signature hole of the course... a 280ish ft drive down into the "valley." This is best use of elevation on the course, but there are a few other fun elevation features used in the design too!
Cons: If you are looking for an intense round of disc golf, Valley View is not the course for you at all. Every hole here is an ace run, which makes for fun, but not much challenge. most people will not need to take out their drivers for this course.

The teepads here were teeny tiny and some of the signs were missing. The flow was not all that great, and navigation between holes 15 and 16 was not obvious. After you finish 15, cross the parking lot to get to 16's teepad (there's a concrete slab that looks like a teepad near 15s basket but isn't one).
Other Thoughts: All in all, this course's claim to fame is that it's just plain fun. I think it's definitely worth checking out even if it's a bit out of your way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun short course

2-4    4/27/2013   4/29/2013
Review By: fritothedog
Played: 39  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course! Accessible to beginners due to its short holes but also technical enough to provide a challenge. Nice, well maintained park.

Being from Oklahoma where most things are fairly flat I enjoy the elevation changes that this course has to offer.

Went on the first nice weekend so it was packed but once we teed off on hole one everyone moved pretty quickly and everyone was friendly.
Cons: Could stand to have a bit more length to some holes.

There were holes, especially in the valley, that were quite wet and marshy.

It was fairly busy both times I have been.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Spring Fever!

5+    3/31/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: mwright57
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The snow around the course is melting fast. There was a lot of mud last week at the bottom of the baskets and some puddles on the tee boxes but since then it has started to dry up fast!
Cons: The baskets were not moved back to holes 1 and 18 yet so make sure you take your second shot off the tee pads of holes 4 and 10 to the additional basket.
Other Thoughts: Now is a great time to try new routes or techniques since the vegetation has not grown up and it is still easy to find a wayward disc!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    12/22/2012   12/24/2012
Review By: AdamE
Played: 215  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are multiple pin positions on a number of the holes and concrete tee pads. There is a good mix of open, semi-wooded and wooded holes on the course and some fun elevation changes on part of the course. There can be a good shot selection here depending on what basket locations are used, with some good challenging RHBH turnover shots.

While the course is on the short side, the wooded holes have fair fairways, are technical enough to make you hit your line for a birdie and the open holes have hills or sloped putting greens to add to the challenge.
Cons: When I played here there was snow on the ground causing bad footing so I was looking for a shorter course. But this course is even short by those standards, a few of the wooded holes I felt like I was throwing an approach shot off the tee with no run up needed.

The tee signs are in a bit of disrepair but it sounds like the local guys have plans to fix that soon. I can't comment on navigation since I was with a group and there was snow covering many of the signs, it seemed pretty straight forward though.

Given the winter conditions when I was here, I didn't have any problems with rough, tall grass or a crowded course like others have mentioned.
Other Thoughts: When I played here there was snow on the ground and the holes on the sled hill had been moved. It's a shame these holes have to be moved because they looks like some of the coolest holes on the course, but it's much better to move them and keep the course open for the winter.

This is a fun little course and is great for locals, new and less experienced players, but I wouldn't recommend going out of your way to play here either.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Although small, great variety!

2-4    8/18/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: RowJimeye
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 25.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: IMO, so many fun holes! 1, all of the woods especially 10 and the chances to erase any previous bogies with birds on 16, 17 and 18!
easy to get to right off of HWY 43
can get 18 holes finished in 50 to 70 minutes easy
keeps you happy with lots 'o' bird opportunities around every corner
for the most part, concrete tees are well kept.
Cons: Crowded and busy, but never any negative unruly folks - just lots of nice people.

Tee signs are hard to find and those that are there are unfortunately abused.

Hole 3 needs a better defined tee
Other Thoughts: Not a long course to say the least but sure is fun and challenging to catch as many birds as possible - love the woods holes and the off center pin placements!
Great fun to pick up someone at the first tee and play a round - you learn so muchj from seasoned VVP veterans!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Valley View

2-4    5/16/2012   5/17/2012
Review By: hoyle7780
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 22.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Easy to find
2. Nice flow to the course
3. Nice elevation with a mix of wooded holes.
4. Very well maintained
5. Nice area
6. Easy access from interstate
Cons: 1. CROWDED- I was in town for work and played this course several times as it was 1 mile from my Hotel. This course gets used and then some. Saw groups on nearly every hole (this was at 3pm in the afternoon)

2. Holes 4-10 are extremely short and Basic hyser putter shots.

3. Can be confusing to find (if you dont read the clearly written directions like I didnt)
The park has 2 seperate accesses. Use the small road entrance and it's cake, go to sunnyside and your lost.
Mosquitos could be an issue (didnt bother me cuz my home course is a breeding ground for mosquito's) but bug spray wouldnt be a bad idea.
Other Thoughts: (Crowding) - The course was jam packed every time I went there, However the groups I encountered were super cool. Most offered to let me play through or join there group so the crowds didnt bother me. This course is more enjoyed in a group than if your by yourself.
(Hole difficulty) - The course is sweet dont get me wrong, it just seemed like when I got to hole 4 it was the same shot over & over. When you looked to your right there was some amazing woods with extreme elevation that wasnt being used. Not sure if the parks had an issue with using that land but would make for Championship caliber course.

(Summary) - This course was great! Check it out if your in the area. If you dont wanna wait get there early. I did manage to play the course after a quick thunderstorm that ran 70% of the players off and when your at this course with nearly noone else there it's very surreal.This area of the park is Disc Golf only so that was a bonus not worrying about watching out for non players.
Hole #1 you will unload your bag, Huge downhill, watch it glide forever (very cool)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/3/2012   2/4/2012
Review By: CConnors3
Played: 98  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1.During winter, not many people realize that this course still has its baskets up, so it's a nice little get away.
2. This course has really short holes, so I mainly bring mid range discs and putters. I usually play this course to test my mid range and putting game. Many of the holes can be finished in 2 if not an ace.
3. If it's slow and not packed full of people, this course is good to get a quick round in during your day.
4. Multiple pin locations which up until the last year or so has added some "new" excitement to those who've been playing this course for years.
5. Terry Miller designed it!
Cons: 1. Not the best choice for a course to unleash big throws/drives due to shorter course style.
2. Usually crowded with high school aged kids playing that don't quite understand proper ethic like letting smaller/faster paced groups play through.
3. Wooded holes usually pretty muddy during wet/winter seasons.
4. Summer = mosquitoes!! Be ready to be swatting them out of your face while you wait to throw.
Other Thoughts: This course is great for a non-competitive group/single players looking to enjoy a relaxed style disc golf game. The trees that play a role in shot choice are used well with pin locations and gaps to throw to. If you can birdie 2/3 of the holes, think about playing in the tournaments held there!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.