Disc Golf Store
New Berlin, WI 
Valley View Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers  
Park Entrance Sign



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    12/22/2012   12/24/2012
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are multiple pin positions on a number of the holes and concrete tee pads. There is a good mix of open, semi-wooded and wooded holes on the course and some fun elevation changes on part of the course. There can be a good shot selection here depending on what basket locations are used, with some good challenging RHBH turnover shots.

While the course is on the short side, the wooded holes have fair fairways, are technical enough to make you hit your line for a birdie and the open holes have hills or sloped putting greens to add to the challenge.
Cons: When I played here there was snow on the ground causing bad footing so I was looking for a shorter course. But this course is even short by those standards, a few of the wooded holes I felt like I was throwing an approach shot off the tee with no run up needed.

The tee signs are in a bit of disrepair but it sounds like the local guys have plans to fix that soon. I can't comment on navigation since I was with a group and there was snow covering many of the signs, it seemed pretty straight forward though.

Given the winter conditions when I was here, I didn't have any problems with rough, tall grass or a crowded course like others have mentioned.
Other Thoughts: When I played here there was snow on the ground and the holes on the sled hill had been moved. It's a shame these holes have to be moved because they looks like some of the coolest holes on the course, but it's much better to move them and keep the course open for the winter.

This is a fun little course and is great for locals, new and less experienced players, but I wouldn't recommend going out of your way to play here either.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/3/2012   2/4/2012
Review By: CConnors3
Played: 92  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1.During winter, not many people realize that this course still has its baskets up, so it's a nice little get away.
2. This course has really short holes, so I mainly bring mid range discs and putters. I usually play this course to test my mid range and putting game. Many of the holes can be finished in 2 if not an ace.
3. If it's slow and not packed full of people, this course is good to get a quick round in during your day.
4. Multiple pin locations which up until the last year or so has added some "new" excitement to those who've been playing this course for years.
5. Terry Miller designed it!
Cons: 1. Not the best choice for a course to unleash big throws/drives due to shorter course style.
2. Usually crowded with high school aged kids playing that don't quite understand proper ethic like letting smaller/faster paced groups play through.
3. Wooded holes usually pretty muddy during wet/winter seasons.
4. Summer = mosquitoes!! Be ready to be swatting them out of your face while you wait to throw.
Other Thoughts: This course is great for a non-competitive group/single players looking to enjoy a relaxed style disc golf game. The trees that play a role in shot choice are used well with pin locations and gaps to throw to. If you can birdie 2/3 of the holes, think about playing in the tournaments held there!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/17/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: VIRUS8
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course easy to follow except from hole 9 to 10 and 15 to 16.
Ample parking.
Nice little park.
Very easy par 3 course.
Baskets are moved around.
Cons: Alot of garbage around some tee pad's.
Need more blind holes.
Very busy.
Hole sign's all broke or missing.
Need longer holes.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short

5+    8/17/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: bschommer
Played: 50  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for beginners, with most holes 200-250 feet u dont need to have a cannon to go under par.

with the exception of 1-2 holes they are all very forgiving.

With decent "drives" birdie putts come a dime a dozen. With bad drives it is easy to recover par with only a decent approach.

good mix of open and woods

all holes now have signs

this course can easily be played with mid-ranges and fairway drivers

Good mix of shots but with the exception of 1 or 2 holes u can consistently have birdie chances
Cons: Very short

Like i said this course is much to forgiving, especially for any one who has been discgolfing for a few years

gets very busy and the bugs are terrible in the woods

Unfortunately there are alot of trashy people that play here so their is alot of garbage and most of the signs have now been destroyed (may 2010)
Other Thoughts: the city is doing a great job in fixing up the course, new tee pads on holes 1,2,6, and 14 in the last 2 years (08-09) all of the tees have been replaced. in the last month all of the holes have signs and distances.

even though now many of the signs have been defaced or destroyed some still say distance

there are 2 spots where it can be confusing as to where the next tee is. after hole 10 go down the hill and to the left, and after hole 15 go across the parking lot

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 I like it!

5+    6/30/2006   6/18/2009
Review By: waynewf
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What this course lacks in length, it makes up for with skill shots through the woods. I learned how to play here so I am a bit biased, but this is a fun course that is pretty well marked.
Cons: This course can get very busy and sometimes the baskets get stolen. I've also had cops harrass me on the course and ask to g othrough my disc golf bag because apparently this is a big recreation spot for the local teens.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice, fun little course that will demand a variety of shots without making you feel as if you need to be a pro to play there.
UPDATE: After going home for a week, I checked out the old course and it is not the same. They got rid of some of the best holes in the woods and replaced them with some halfway decent, more open holes. I totally decreased my rating here...

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/28/2009   1/28/2009
Review By: B-nels54
Played: 47  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is difficult and small. It is a great course to work on your short game. The course itself is decently well groomed.
Cons: The holes are pretty short. It can get very buggy and wet. After playing the course a few times it is no longer very challenging

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Short but sweet

5+    11/8/2008   11/8/2008
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -a few cool elevation change shots
-technical short holes
-fast rounds
-new cement pads
-mulched paths
-a bunch of ace-able holes
-funfunfun
Cons: -can be wet post rains
-too many fade right holes on back nine due to being up against forest
-can have a "douche" factor due to some lamers that play here
-no long ripper drives holes
-a bunch of short tree holes that will feel the same
Other Thoughts: This was the very first course that I played and always thought of it as kind of cool, but nothing special. As I was away over the summer, Terry Miller along with some eagle scouts "retook" the park back from the scum that used to steal baskets, litter, and just laid waste to the course. Rather impressed by the re-holing, new baskets, mulch paths, and new cement tees.They took this course from 2.0 to a 2.5 in a few months. You can blast through this course in 45 minutes or so and get another round in with ease.

Tee 1 is cool as it's the big elevation change downhill, but it still doesn't let you just rip a long drive. There is however a lesser known pro tee pad for tee 1 back and to the right another 100 feet which completely changes the way #1 is played. #3 also has a "pro tee" marked on the concrete. Only true ripper holes. This happens to be one of the major gripes to this course for me. I can think of only one true possible rip hole at 14 but that is through, or around a tree tunnel.

This is just a great small, but not too small, fun course that can cater to every level of play.

UPDATE 11/09 Well, the douche factor took a good three weeks to destroy all the signs...albeit they were cheap signs that were put up, but still. Fun park with the right peeps, but the douchebags dominate here, especially weekends and post school time.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Some great holes

5/30/2008   5/31/2008
Review By: TenaciousMV
Played: 25  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2008
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some very challenging holes; elevation changes that are rare for the area; requires precision; nice area
Cons: Course is not clearly marked; some holes have no clear tee pad; one basket is stolen (we used a tree next next to where it was and managed); will get muddy/messy/buggy very quickly after a rain; seems to attract a crowd that could annoy the 25+ population; deep grass and weeds just off many fairways may make locating your disc difficult; no holes require a driver.
Other Thoughts: The majority of the cons I've listed are quite minor, while the pros are significant. Several of the holes are great fun and should provide a new story every time you go. One note though - you do NOT want to lose you disk in the deep grass/weeds. A fried of mine did just that. It lead to 10 minutes of searching with no result and very itchy legs!

EDITED on 7/18: now that I've played several other courses, I feel that is unreasonable to rate this course as 'good'. I did enjoy my time here, but I've found that the average disc golf course is almost as good as what's found here. I'm revising my score from a 3.0 down to a 2.5. I'd still recommend checking Vally View out - it's a fun course to practice approaches and putts.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.