New Berlin, WI 
Valley View Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #1
3 / 284ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Simple and Fun

5+    9/13/2013   9/14/2013
Review By: pr0phetx
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Variety of hole selections ranging from completely wide open to completely wooded.
-Every hole and pin placement is aceable, meaning its all relatively short holes. This makes it easy for newbies to get their feet wet.
-The course itself is very well kept, in terms of mulch and brush. There is a lot of trash sometimes, but when there are so many people coming through, it is understandable to not be able to keep up with all of it.
-Almost all the holes require good placement as opposed to huge distance. Navigating the trees is really what makes this course fun.
-Did I mention its short? You can play around in about 30-45 minutes (maybe quicker?) when there isn't anyone there. This makes for a nice relaxing, quick round when you just want to get out there and throw.
-They leave the pins up for winter.
Cons: -It's almost always crowded from 3pm - 7pm during the week and usually always crowded on the weekends. Like terribly crowded. Multiple groups of 5+ in a row isn't uncommon.
-There aren't any holes where you can just go full blast. I just play with a mid range the whole round and have no problems getting birdies on any holes.
-There isn't really anything that makes you go "WOW". The first hole is the closest you will get to a signature hole but thats a stretch.
Other Thoughts: This year has been the best year for the course in my opinion (although I do miss the old configuration/holes). Everything has been well maintained from the muddy parts getting mulched to the thick brush being thinned out, everything just makes for a much smoother round. They have even added in a few new pins this year that add a bit (a tiny bit lol) of difficulty. Mike H, the guy who maintains the course and runs leagues there, is always around on Mondays selling a wide selection of discs at really low prices which is a huge plus. Its nice to be able to buy discs right on the course.

Overall its a fun little course that leaves you feeling good when you can say "I shot neg 8 today".

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun short course

2-4    4/27/2013   4/29/2013
Review By: fritothedog
Played: 36  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course! Accessible to beginners due to its short holes but also technical enough to provide a challenge. Nice, well maintained park.

Being from Oklahoma where most things are fairly flat I enjoy the elevation changes that this course has to offer.

Went on the first nice weekend so it was packed but once we teed off on hole one everyone moved pretty quickly and everyone was friendly.
Cons: Could stand to have a bit more length to some holes.

There were holes, especially in the valley, that were quite wet and marshy.

It was fairly busy both times I have been.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Although small, great variety!

2-4    8/18/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: RowJimeye
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 25.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: IMO, so many fun holes! 1, all of the woods especially 10 and the chances to erase any previous bogies with birds on 16, 17 and 18!
easy to get to right off of HWY 43
can get 18 holes finished in 50 to 70 minutes easy
keeps you happy with lots 'o' bird opportunities around every corner
for the most part, concrete tees are well kept.
Cons: Crowded and busy, but never any negative unruly folks - just lots of nice people.

Tee signs are hard to find and those that are there are unfortunately abused.

Hole 3 needs a better defined tee
Other Thoughts: Not a long course to say the least but sure is fun and challenging to catch as many birds as possible - love the woods holes and the off center pin placements!
Great fun to pick up someone at the first tee and play a round - you learn so muchj from seasoned VVP veterans!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Valley View

2-4    5/16/2012   5/17/2012
Review By: hoyle7780
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 22.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Easy to find
2. Nice flow to the course
3. Nice elevation with a mix of wooded holes.
4. Very well maintained
5. Nice area
6. Easy access from interstate
Cons: 1. CROWDED- I was in town for work and played this course several times as it was 1 mile from my Hotel. This course gets used and then some. Saw groups on nearly every hole (this was at 3pm in the afternoon)

2. Holes 4-10 are extremely short and Basic hyser putter shots.

3. Can be confusing to find (if you dont read the clearly written directions like I didnt)
The park has 2 seperate accesses. Use the small road entrance and it's cake, go to sunnyside and your lost.
Mosquitos could be an issue (didnt bother me cuz my home course is a breeding ground for mosquito's) but bug spray wouldnt be a bad idea.
Other Thoughts: (Crowding) - The course was jam packed every time I went there, However the groups I encountered were super cool. Most offered to let me play through or join there group so the crowds didnt bother me. This course is more enjoyed in a group than if your by yourself.
(Hole difficulty) - The course is sweet dont get me wrong, it just seemed like when I got to hole 4 it was the same shot over & over. When you looked to your right there was some amazing woods with extreme elevation that wasnt being used. Not sure if the parks had an issue with using that land but would make for Championship caliber course.

(Summary) - This course was great! Check it out if your in the area. If you dont wanna wait get there early. I did manage to play the course after a quick thunderstorm that ran 70% of the players off and when your at this course with nearly noone else there it's very surreal.This area of the park is Disc Golf only so that was a bonus not worrying about watching out for non players.
Hole #1 you will unload your bag, Huge downhill, watch it glide forever (very cool)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very Fun Course

1    7/2/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: shinypickle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A good mix of open bomber holes and wooded holes
-Great variations of elevation throughout the holes
-Great course map right next to hole #1
-Very clean course
-Small concrete Tee-Pads but they are plenty big enough considering how long the holes are
-We went on a friday morning so we didn't run into people on the course
-Great course for beginners
-They have little block by all of the signs to sign you name if you got an Ace. This helps so people don't write there names elsewere.
Cons: -If it has rained recently, then expect a wet and muddy course
-Lots of mosquitoes so pack your bug spray
-There are no signs that say the disc golf course is is this way, so it took us a while to find the course (We had to stop and ask for directions)
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course despite the short holes. I would definitly recomend bringing a towel to this course to clean up the mud and dry your discs.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course, bad manners...

5+    9/30/2009   12/3/2009
Review By: timmi_g
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of a pretty small area. nice elevation changes on a few holes. Good challenging pin placements, with alts on a few. Cement tee pads.
Cons: Mosquitoes abound here! Add to that the punk teenagers that have zero respect for the course, & it gets kind of old.
Other Thoughts: This park has a good, strong hardcore DG following. Weekly leagues a few times a year. Special weekend events as well. Check the board @ #1's tee.

This course can get crowded in the later afternoons & weekends. Early days are usually a nice couple rounds of golfing though (especially during school time). all in all a good course, with some dipshit youths on the field at times.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My First Disc Golf Course

5+    6/1/2009   10/27/2008
Review By: Doctor Faustus
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2009
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A good mix of open and wooded holes. #1 is always a fun way to start a hole. They move pins to keep things fresh. #17 was a lot of fun throwing down the soapbox derby hill.
Cons: Gets very busy, dirty, swampy.... Not everyone is a good custodian of the park. Can get trashy.
Other Thoughts: If you are going to play this course, get there early in the day. After working hours 3:30 - 7 can get crazy. It was very windy when we played.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Blast

9/4/2007   6/4/2008
Review By: andymeunier
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.4 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: A fun short course to play, alot of short wooded holes to throw at. If your not long this course is great because you can go at just about every basket if you can avoid tyhe trees.
Cons: Very buggy and wet everytime I played.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Fun MKE Course

5/8/2008   5/13/2008
Review By: KKolande
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: This course forces you to make some interesting shots through the woods. There are some fun elevation changes and a good mix of distances.
Cons: Can get pretty muddy after a good rain.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.