New Berlin, WI 
Valley View Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #16
3 / 178ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    9/17/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: VIRUS8
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course easy to follow except from hole 9 to 10 and 15 to 16.
Ample parking.
Nice little park.
Very easy par 3 course.
Baskets are moved around.
Cons: Alot of garbage around some tee pad's.
Need more blind holes.
Very busy.
Hole sign's all broke or missing.
Need longer holes.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Shake my head..

5+    8/20/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: Dr.Hyzer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As you walk up to the first tee box you will immediately realize the reason for the name of the course.
The tee box is elavated 75 ft higher than the pin while overlooking a good 2/3 of the course.
Getting started: The first 3 holes are somewhat typical disc golf set ups. Good solid shots resulting in good scores.
Getting woody: The next 7 holes are in the woods with tricky routes and skinny lines to be hit.
Getting back out in the open: Some anny- BH/flick lines with slightly longer but less wooded holes, followed up by hole 15 that goes back up the hill leading you back to the parking lot.
The Final 3 holes are also somewhat typical. 16 is perched up on a big mound with 17 following that up, and then hole 18 letting you get one last "View" of the beautiful "Valley"-also leading you back to the parking lot.
If you can throw some solid approaches from out of trouble area's or just hit great lines with mid-ranges, there is no reason this course wouldn't be a good time for discer's of most ages and skill levels.
You might need to bust out the driver here and there, but not more than 2 or 3 times.
-Drive for show and putt for doe.
They also have two set ups as I have found out today.
Cons: A little on the easier side. Shouldn't have any issue saving par.
It gets packed! Way too many noobs, way too many punks that litter!
The signs for the holes are mostly written and tagged all over, finding any given distance on more than half the holes is pointless. Play it by eye, most holes are just a standstill off the teebox with a good solid mid or putter. Although the teepads could be a little bigger, you really only need enough room to do a standstill anyways.
The course also has some high brush in certain spots, making it extremely difficult to find an errant drive.
This course has turned into a pigstye! It's not even my home course, I only play it 2-5 times a year, but it's absolutely disgusting. It makes me sick. Trash is scattered by any given tee box, basket's are a little sketchy from vandals, the list goes on.
Other Thoughts: It's a good course to play on. It's a fun time and worth a little trip. It's very clear there is no regard for course upkeep by the grounds-crew, but (I don't blame them one bit). Mostly high-school kids go out there and just trash it. This puts a damper on the entire round. It's reasonable becuase it's alot of fun for alot of different level players. It's a decent lay-out as well. But no where near as enjoyable as it should be due to the trash. Shake my head...

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Pitch and Putt

5+    4/10/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: widiscgolfguy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Helps you build on your technical shots. Without a crowd you can get a round done in a short about of time. There seems to be A lot of different types of shots needed to play the whole course well.
Cons: Being in a valley, it's wet most of the time, there tends to be a more rowdy younger crowd there, signs are all broke. Basically one tee pad with one pin. THere are a few exception where they have a second type of pads and some of the holes can be moved, but half of them can't. PLan to pack in pack out, not many places to get rid of garbage. Although you will see piles of it all over.
Other Thoughts: I think the course can be fun, love the wednesday night league there, easy course to get to, great for newcomers or people who want to work on the short game.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

What's special about Valley View

5+    6/2/2014   1/29/2011
Review By: JAR3
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Entertaining, technical course

*You don't need a cannon of an arm to compete here. Most holes are small and relativity easy.

*An ace is a possibility on nearly every hole

*By Playing at Valley View you can play a few fun rounds while improving your short game.
Cons: * The weeds and foliage grow out extensively during the spring & summer months. A poor shot can result in a lost disc, especially on holes 13 & 14.

*The bugs become quite annoying during the summer.

*The course gets flooded very easily. Make sure you bring an extra set of socks in case you don't keep your disc in the fairway.

*On occasion there are large groups of people who have no etiquette, or respect for others on the course. However, the majority of people I've encountered are very kind.
Other Thoughts: Although it has its downsides, Valley View is what disc golf is all about. A variety of folks coming together to play an extremely fun sport that is meant for people of all walks of life.

With an ace never being out of the question, Valley View is a good place for new players to start versus other local courses. Additionally, it's a great place for advanced players to test out a new disc, or refine their skills.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Fun Course

1    7/2/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: shinypickle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A good mix of open bomber holes and wooded holes
-Great variations of elevation throughout the holes
-Great course map right next to hole #1
-Very clean course
-Small concrete Tee-Pads but they are plenty big enough considering how long the holes are
-We went on a friday morning so we didn't run into people on the course
-Great course for beginners
-They have little block by all of the signs to sign you name if you got an Ace. This helps so people don't write there names elsewere.
Cons: -If it has rained recently, then expect a wet and muddy course
-Lots of mosquitoes so pack your bug spray
-There are no signs that say the disc golf course is is this way, so it took us a while to find the course (We had to stop and ask for directions)
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course despite the short holes. I would definitly recomend bringing a towel to this course to clean up the mud and dry your discs.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short and technical

1    5/23/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays half in an open grassy area with elevation, and half in dense woods with thick rough and some small creeks for a little water hazard. The open holes take advantage of the steep elevation changes to keep things more interesting, especially the very fun downhill 1st hole. The wooded holes are short but tight, with narrow fairways and some punishment for errant shots with lots of trees and some brush.

There are a couple of the open holes that play a little longer and let you throw a mid or fairway driver. The shorter holes offer some good ace runs, and have a good balance between right and left turning holes to keep it fair to righties and lefties.

There are decent concrete pads, that are plenty large enough for the lengths of the holes. There are basic hole signs with distance and layout, and despite vandalism most were intact. The baskets showed their age, but for the most part still caught fine.
Cons: The course gets a bit overrun with large groups of less experienced players. This combined with how close many tees are to the previous hole makes for some close calls if you're not paying attention to the group coming up behind you. It also means a round can take quite a while on a nice day. It may also be the reason there is lots of vandalism here.

The course gets a little repetitive in spots. The middle of the course is nicely technical, but all the short putter shots in the woods start to run together a little. The last few holes are just plain boring, and lose the seclusion that's so nice on the rest of the course. You can easily play this course with just a mid and a putter, it doesn't really test many different disc golf skills.
Other Thoughts: There are some fun holes here, and the wooded section of the course gives you a chance to work on shaping lines with your putters. Beginners will find the course technical but approachable, while more experienced players will find the course pretty easy without too much challenge or variety. It's not a must play by any means, but it's not one to avoid, there is some fun to be had here.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Valley View Park

5+    5/30/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: jrymaszewski
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are some challenging holes due to elevation, distance, etc.

Good course to brush up on your putting.

No water as of right now it has been unusually hot in this part of Wisconsin. so in the summer when it has rained previously be sure to look for some water before you tee off.

From my experience there were some very nice people there. But also some kids who really had no pace or etiquette.

The course Has some challenging cage locations.
Cons: There is a lot of trash lying around the course.

It is a pretty short course. But many people lose their disc so a lot of waiting for the people in front of you to find there's. So usually it takes a while to play eighteen.

There is also a lot of vandalism on the trees of people writing that they go an ace. Which is idiotic on their part considering the course has a little block, on the hole map, by the tee where you're supposed to inscribe your name if you get an ace.


There are a lot of trees that your disc goes off of no matter where you shoot it. This can be a good or bad thing.

Usually pretty crowded on the weekends or on nice days.
Other Thoughts: The course is extremely wooded with basically no open holes.

In the spring and summer it is a very nice looking course.



If you're looking for more of a challenge try Abendschein Park which is 10 mi. away in Oak Creek it is a better park to test your driving and approach skills. Or Village Park in Sussex. This is ten mi. away from valley view.

Also gps's do not pick up on the location of the course very well; I know mine had trouble finding it. But all you need to know is that it is on s. small road not Sunny Slope road. And you should be able to figure out where it is.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 If you are a veteran to disc golf, I suggest you pass on this one.

1    5/16/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: Gambl3r
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -18 hole course that utilizes open space and woods.

-All concrete tee pads

-Good for beginners/amateurs & dates

-All tees labeled and easy to navigate the course (except for 16 through 18 -- see Cons)
Cons: -Tee pads set up too close to previous baskets; you have to be weary of whats going on behind you.

-If it's rained recently, it can get really muddy -- to the point of being undesirable to play. Could see bugs being a serious problem in the summer.

-Main entrance of the park has no indication or direction to the Disc Golf Course location; the parking lot with playgrounds, soccer fields & basketball courts do not connect to the parking lot for the Disc Golf Course.

-Course appears to end at hole 15. No directions to point you to cross the parking lot to get to hole 16.
Other Thoughts: If I lived in New Berlin and this course was in my neighborhood, I would not complain. It really is a nice looking course and a good walk in the woods for a city park.

On the other hand, if you are a veteran to disc golf and traveling to Milwaukee for an event and decide to hit a disc golf course while you are in town, I suggest you pass on this course and seek out something more difficult.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Still an awesome course to play

5+    10/1/2009   3/29/2010
Review By: cheesy_gordita_crunk
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Short, but technical holes. A great place to practice accuracy apporach shots.

Alot of people complain that the holes are are too short and are all ace runs, but since when was that a bad thing? Courses do not have to be all 350+ foot holes to be a good course.
Valley View makes good use of the park property and offers a good mix of shots/approaches to take on each hole.
Cons: Alot of punkass "frolfer" teenagers who go out to the course to do nothing more than drink and cause trouble. This is in my opinion the only thing that would deter someone from wanting to play at Valley View. I started playing about six years ago, and the number of high school kids there has only gotten worse.

I am not bashing all the younger people who play there (I am only 21 myself), I am bashing the ones who go to the course and cause problems for everyone else.

Don't be suprised if a huge group of teens (10+ people) randomly pop out of the woods and cut you off on a tee pad. This has happened to me and my friends at least four times.

Also, bring TONS of bug spray. The course gets overrun with mosquitoes during the summer months.
Other Thoughts: I learned how to play disc golf on this course so it will naturally always have a place in my heart. I wish they could have kept the old configuration but the troublemakers ruined that for everyone.


Overall, still a great course to brush up on your short game.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Short but fun technical course

5+    1/30/2010   2/16/2010
Review By: esjaygee
Played: 131  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Cement tee pads for every hole. These pads have also been cleared every time I've played in the winter as well. Kudos to whoever has done this.
- Multiple pin positions on most holes. I'm pretty sure these were put in last summer, but it's a nice addition to the course.
- New signs as of summer 2009, though somebody already tore off the sign for 14.
- Good use of existing terrain making numerous uphill and downhill holes. There's even a few blind holes where you can't see the pin from the tee (#13 and #17)
- Good mix of straight, hyzer and anhyzer holes. The multiple pin positions can drastically change the feel of the hole by moving the pin from way left to way right.
- Open almost all year long
- Weekly leagues in the spring, summer and fall. I haven't played in them yet, but I look forward to this coming spring!
Cons: - Can be a bit crowded, especially with younger kids who don't follow DG etiquette. I've been thrown at a few times as I'm removing my putter from the basket.
- Shares a sledding hill in the winter and can lead to slippery trips up and down the slopes and moving targets that don't always pay attention to the DG going on around them.
- Bugs in the summer can be bad with a stream flowing through the course. I sometimes find frozen pockets of water in the winter and you have to be careful or you'll step into an ice cold patch of water when you least expect it.
Other Thoughts: Valley view is mainly a short technical course with very few ripper holes. I love hole one which plays 290 downhill, it's a great way to start a round. There's a new pin position in back by a tree making it a bit trickier than it use to be. The bulk of the course is played in/alongside the woods. If you've got a good grasp of your short technical game, I imagine there's ample opportunity for birdies (and "Valley View Aces") galore here. Unfortunately, I haven't mastered that skill yet, but it's nice to have a course close by that will force me to practice that aspect of the game. The first time I played here and I saw the plastic tubing on the trees… I was like, "Why is that on there"… thwack, ah for hacks like me! As I mentioned before, it is open year round and after navigating your way around the sledders and down the slippery hill, it's a fun course to play in winter.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.