New Berlin, WI 
Valley View Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #6
3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 

5+    1/28/2009   1/28/2009
Review By: B-nels54
Played: 47  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is difficult and small. It is a great course to work on your short game. The course itself is decently well groomed.
Cons: The holes are pretty short. It can get very buggy and wet. After playing the course a few times it is no longer very challenging

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Scrubville

2-4    4/17/2008   12/25/2008
Review By: Stashride
Played: 20  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 18.5 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Short and tight on most all of the woodsy holes..Play the road on the 2nd and 3rd holes for some huge skips of some considerable distance..
Cons: Usually crowded and too saturated with teens..Not too challenging as far a distance is concerned anyway..
Other Thoughts: My buddy just told me hed give me a buck for every positive vote I get for my review! VOTE..He doesnt believe people use this site..What a dumb dumb!

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Short but sweet

5+    11/8/2008   11/8/2008
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2009
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -a few cool elevation change shots
-technical short holes
-fast rounds
-new cement pads
-mulched paths
-a bunch of ace-able holes
-funfunfun
Cons: -can be wet post rains
-too many fade right holes on back nine due to being up against forest
-can have a "douche" factor due to some lamers that play here
-no long ripper drives holes
-a bunch of short tree holes that will feel the same
Other Thoughts: This was the very first course that I played and always thought of it as kind of cool, but nothing special. As I was away over the summer, Terry Miller along with some eagle scouts "retook" the park back from the scum that used to steal baskets, litter, and just laid waste to the course. Rather impressed by the re-holing, new baskets, mulch paths, and new cement tees.They took this course from 2.0 to a 2.5 in a few months. You can blast through this course in 45 minutes or so and get another round in with ease.

Tee 1 is cool as it's the big elevation change downhill, but it still doesn't let you just rip a long drive. There is however a lesser known pro tee pad for tee 1 back and to the right another 100 feet which completely changes the way #1 is played. #3 also has a "pro tee" marked on the concrete. Only true ripper holes. This happens to be one of the major gripes to this course for me. I can think of only one true possible rip hole at 14 but that is through, or around a tree tunnel.

This is just a great small, but not too small, fun course that can cater to every level of play.

UPDATE 11/09 Well, the douche factor took a good three weeks to destroy all the signs...albeit they were cheap signs that were put up, but still. Fun park with the right peeps, but the douchebags dominate here, especially weekends and post school time.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 My First Disc Golf Course

5+    6/1/2009   10/27/2008
Review By: Doctor Faustus
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2009
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A good mix of open and wooded holes. #1 is always a fun way to start a hole. They move pins to keep things fresh. #17 was a lot of fun throwing down the soapbox derby hill.
Cons: Gets very busy, dirty, swampy.... Not everyone is a good custodian of the park. Can get trashy.
Other Thoughts: If you are going to play this course, get there early in the day. After working hours 3:30 - 7 can get crazy. It was very windy when we played.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/7/2008   7/7/2008
Review By: Iceman
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2011
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fun course and a great confidence booster for intermediate players. With good controlled throws deuces will be plentiful. The woods are beautiful and if you play it in the spring or after heavy rain there may be water hazards which are shallow so you don't lose discs.
Cons: There are no signs marking the hole lengths on some holes because they have either rotted away or people have torn them out. Although, thanks to some help of recent volenteers these problems are being fixed. New tees should be poured by the time you read this and new signs and basket placements are soon to follow.
Other Thoughts: I always bring a trash bag when I come to this course because it is one of the dirtiest courses I've ever played. I believe it is the younger crowd that tends to play that simply has no respect for the environment or other people who share the course. Please show some respect people.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Blast

9/4/2007   6/4/2008
Review By: andymeunier
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.7 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: A fun short course to play, alot of short wooded holes to throw at. If your not long this course is great because you can go at just about every basket if you can avoid tyhe trees.
Cons: Very buggy and wet everytime I played.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Some great holes

5/30/2008   5/31/2008
Review By: TenaciousMV
Played: 25  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2008
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some very challenging holes; elevation changes that are rare for the area; requires precision; nice area
Cons: Course is not clearly marked; some holes have no clear tee pad; one basket is stolen (we used a tree next next to where it was and managed); will get muddy/messy/buggy very quickly after a rain; seems to attract a crowd that could annoy the 25+ population; deep grass and weeds just off many fairways may make locating your disc difficult; no holes require a driver.
Other Thoughts: The majority of the cons I've listed are quite minor, while the pros are significant. Several of the holes are great fun and should provide a new story every time you go. One note though - you do NOT want to lose you disk in the deep grass/weeds. A fried of mine did just that. It lead to 10 minutes of searching with no result and very itchy legs!

EDITED on 7/18: now that I've played several other courses, I feel that is unreasonable to rate this course as 'good'. I did enjoy my time here, but I've found that the average disc golf course is almost as good as what's found here. I'm revising my score from a 3.0 down to a 2.5. I'd still recommend checking Vally View out - it's a fun course to practice approaches and putts.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Fun MKE Course

5/8/2008   5/13/2008
Review By: KKolande
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: This course forces you to make some interesting shots through the woods. There are some fun elevation changes and a good mix of distances.
Cons: Can get pretty muddy after a good rain.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.