Oxford, MI 
Seymour Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #14 (Taken 5/2008)
3 / 464ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Stop By Its Pretty Good - Be Prepared

1    11/8/2016   11/9/2016
Review By: MisterJ
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 18.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenge - First time here it was challenging, strategically placed baskets tucked in the woods on most holes, or right behind trees. Some elevation changes, and all par 3's makes it tricky to get in position for lots of birdies with eight holes of 400ish+ feet that are technical drives.

TeePads/Baskets - nice, liked them.

Fun - I do think this course has is in the Pro side for fun. It plays really nice, because of the technical nature, and as soon as you struggle with some long technical holes, you get to some nice short ones to make you feel like a champ again.

Congestion - I went in November, 1 other person on the course, little to no congestion.

Maintained/Bugs - In November, no bugs, and the grass was fine, I thought maintenance was great.
Cons: Aesthetic - Not great compared to northern Oakland county.

Signage - at least there are signs stating distance and which tee you are on, and at basket an arrow to next. But wish for more.

Variety - Struggled with if this was pro or con. But really, there isn't that much variety. Park setting, little elevation, almost no water (unless you make my mistake). Most holes tuck the basket into the the trees, just which way, right, left or in the middle of the fairway.

Locatability - the park easy to find, the first teepad is easy to find right off the parking lot. But first-timers take a picture of the course with all the holes, run out and make sure you are shooting the right hole. Sometimes there are 3 baskets within 100 feet of each other. With as much as baskets are tucked into the trees, it can be hard to spot unless you walk down the fairway and find it.
Other Thoughts: So this was my first time out to Seymour Lake. And when you get to the teepad, it points in one direction, the sign with distance points kinda in another direction and you wonder, which way is the basket. Like on Hole #2, elevated, pond in front you, basket 402ft, I throw about 350. Straight out from the direction of TeePad 2 is the pond and a basket. Although there is another basket right and another left. I naturally thought must be the one straight ahead, looks 402, nope, that was like 600+ so my 350 put me in the middle of the pond, I liked that crank. Hole 2 was to the left of the pond which is not the direction of the tee pad.

So I learned, take a picture of Seymour Lake disc golf course. It is tricky and the baskets can be tough to find. But I do like this place. I can't say I played it well my first time out. But I did have a good time and it was a challenge the first time out and I really did like to see what it had to offer.

If you like to try out new courses, this is one to stop by, may not be your top choice, but it will have some inherent challenges, and remember, basket #2 is left of the pond, if you happen to bring your bathing suit, let me know, my Crank is still at the bottom of the pond with everyone else's


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  2014 April

5+    4/22/2014   4/26/2014
Review By: Dirk van Galen
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The local clubs keep making changes and minor modifications to the course every couple of months. Good mix of long and short holes with pins for both left and right approaches. Risk reward opportunities on several holes #2 , 6, and 15 among others.
long holes favor big arms with hazards to keep it honest.

The #1 hole has been lengthened and a new longer concreate tee pad has been installed to make it a little more challenging. The #2 hole is the signature hole over the pond but there is a stone foot bridge and areas to layup for those that don't want to take the risk going over from the tee.

Fun course and nice changes. A lot of triming and cleanup was done over the last year.
Cons: Signage still an issue, though the local club is raising funds to add them.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 better than the rating

1    12/2/2013   12/2/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 292  Reviewed: 283  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through a large multi-use park. area is NOT disc golf exclusive and runs close to ball fields in several locations. be on the lookout for walkers and cross-country.

Teepads-- in great shape. nice and level.

Baskets-- Innova discatchers. some were a bit slanty but for the most part played fine.

Balance-- nicely balanced. course is fairly long. well, longer than I expected with many holes in the 300-400ft range, but there are a fair shake of shorties too.

Risk v Reward-- use of the ponds is nice. I heard horror stories of how high those ponds can get but it looks like the club have added a bridge across the ponds. the rough here is seriously gnarly. it presents it's own set of challenges.

Routing and nav-- with the addition of the bricks with the next hole number and arrow, routing is pretty easy.

Ammenities-- there is bathroom facilities here and a splash park. the park is really nice for being a non-pay park.
Cons:
Lack of teesigns-- lack of tee signs makes this course a challenge to know where you are throwing to. when you are in the 11-14 field, there are certainly challenges in knowing where you are throwing to...the lines are NOT immediately apparent.

challenge-- not a ton of challenge here. there are certainly some throw away holes here. #16 for example is straight ahead and definitely a putter hole.
Other Thoughts:
this course is so much better than I expected. had a blast, last of three big courses and a total of 72 holes on the day! :)

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Challenge in Oxford

5+    6/15/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: rdblake01
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of variations in shots required, both forehand and backhand. There are shots in the open, and thru some narrow tree shots. Well maintained.Course is isolated from other activities, although if you are really wild you can hit the baseball fields on #18.
Cons: First hole is a warmup, but it is a good place to start.
Other Thoughts: While playing a few years, I am not a long thrower. This course always challenges me due to the distance on some of the holes to get par.They really fixed this place up from a few years ago.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    6/5/2012   6/6/2012
Review By: HappyKilmore
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course has a seemingly simple layout with mostly non obstructive trees but many of the holes require precision drives and even more so, mid-range approach shots that span throwing styles and shot types if played well.

This course requires controlled drives and finesse approaches from serious golfers but is open, clean and fun for beginners and families too.

Layout makes busy days tolerable, and yes this once left for dead course is getting busy from time to time.
Cons: The new hole one is kinda junk but it makes for a full 18 and a good warm up hole.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  It's free and still one of my favorite courses.

5+    5/28/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: Vinnie21
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice open fairways for most of the holes with a variety of woodsy shots. As of this year it seems to be taken care of a lot better than the past couple of years. Short walking distances between each hole.
Cons: Only Single chain baskets and longer tree pads would be nice (especially on hole one).
Other Thoughts: Just glad that the bridge has been fixed and I am looking forward to playing here a lot this summer.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Devil’s Ridge is Born Again! (see Other Thoughts)

2-4    4/5/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 212  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a quiet, multi-use community park with ball fields, soccer fields, splash park, tot-lot.
• Most of the course is relatively isolated from other park activities (although a few holes do bring you near areas frequented by other park visitors).
• Well designed, and challenging, with very good shot variety, nice mix of fairway shapes and distances.
• The first several holes are fairly open, with well-utilized trees, water, brush, to keep you honest; prevents you from simply running straight at the basket. Hazards are well-placed to make you choose a line or landing spot and execute, without forcing one specific line.
• Brush gets a bit thicker as you progress towards the middle of the course, but never gets truly tight. Nonetheless, shots that stray far from those fairways may be hard to recover from... but at least they gave you a few fairly open holes to warm up, doesn't start off with thick stuff right off the bat.
• Nice use of elevation throughout the course: downhill, uphill, gullies, gently rolling terrain -keeps things interesting.
• Good use of hidden and tucked baskets - forces players to hit a window to score par or better.
• Fairly spacious concrete tees on most holes.
• Many benches located along the course.
• Direction of next tee indicated by bricks/pavers (with # of next hole and arrow) imbedded in the ground near each basket - gets you moving in the right direction to easily find next tee.
• Restrooms near hole 4.
Cons: Overall, Seymour Lake Park (also known as Devil's Ridge) is a pretty solid course - really not much to rip on. These are somewhat piddly, but certainly true:
• Tee posts with hole #, distance and fairway shaped arrow (straight, curved, S-shaped) would help on this course. Even with the directional markers pointing you toward next tee, navigation can be tough for first time or infrequent visitors; easy to find the next tee, but which direction is the basket? Tucked and blind baskets aren't visible from tee. Be prepared to walk a several fairways to see where you're throwing. Print the map: it's still correct (except for hole 1), and will help if you're unfamiliar with this course.
• Tees for 9 and 16 are pretty much next to each other, with no way to ID which is which, until you walk the fairway and see the number on the basket. That being said, I suppose this makes it convenient to skip holes 9-15, for a quick 11 holes if you're pressed for time. :-
• New 1st hole is a 270' (or so) straight shot in an open field. Maybe they were thinking "Ace Run," but I think it's pretty "meh." I suppose it's a decent warm up hole, and better than no first hole, at all (see Other Thoughts), but it doesn't do much to enhance the course... plus the tee pad's too small.
Other Thoughts: If you're wondering how this course merits ratings ranging from 0.5 to 4.0, IMO it pretty much depends on when it was played:
• First played here in 2007: course was good.
• Returned 2010: course was bad.
• Came back in 2012: course has been nicely restored - I'll be coming back!

Except for 1st hole, layout remains unchanged since my first visit. Old hole 1 (used to be across the main park road from the rest of the course) was pulled out and replaced with the existing splash park by the time I visited in 2010. By that time, they hadn't replaced the missing first hole (so it was only 17 holes), the boardwalk/bridge from 14 to 15 had deteriorated (badly), and a previously good course was spiraling into disrepair as the area's economy tanked and tax base eroded (read Dirty Mitten's Other Thoughts regarding course starting out nice,and going downhill).

They've since given Devil's Ridge some much needed TLC, adding a first hole (albeit a yawner), to make it a full 18, as well as giving the previously scary return from 14 to 15 a complete overhaul, and making sure the course is in otherwise good shape. Willing to bet that if those who reviewed it during its dark ages were to play it again today, they'd bump they're rating at least a 1/2 disc.

Wind is definitely a factor here - not a pro or a con - just part of the game, and should be treated as such. Particularly frustrating is that the wind seems to change direction virtually the entire round.

Perhaps skewed a bit in favor of those with big arms.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Looking better these days...

5+    4/20/2008   12/17/2008
Review By: donnyv
Played: 36  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/30/2013
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: UPDATED...

Designed and opened in 2001 by "Mr. Discraft" Jim Kenner, Seymor Lake (AKA Devils Ridge) is a larger park and a nice area for a DG course. A little water, a few elevation changes, open and wooded holes, it has a little of everything and serves the area's DG needs well.

Some of the highlights...
1. It's FREE to play here. No park pass or course fee to play.

2. Encouraging Design ~ The first few holes are out in the "mostly" open fields. You can work on your D without fear of hitting the first tree on the right. They also cut the grass more than once a year, so losing a disc in waist deep grass is rare. Rough/OB is more forgiving than most courses I've played.

3. Signature Shots ~ You get to throw from the top of a sledding hill over a big pond. Pretty cool unless it lands in it and it's your only disc. A few other holes also have some unique designs that you don't see everyday. There used to be this LONG pallet bridge that was challenging to cross. I'll never forget those days.

4. No Wait times ~ The DG course is not overly crowded. You still get a few punks messing around breaking stuff but we never had crazy wait times like nearby Stony Creek.

5. Good baskets and tee pads. No spit-outs if you know how to putt clean. Last I heard they are all back in working order.

6. Course Improvements ~ Thanks to some great community involvement by locals and businesses the course has made a turn for the better. People are returning to the course and are very pleased with the changes.
Cons: Just a couple minor things that bugged me over the years...

1. Mysteriously Windy ~ I'd be damned, somehow it's ALWAYS windy when we've played here. It can really throw your game off track especially on those open holes in the front. It can't be windy here all the time can it?

2. Very Busy Park ~ There is a ton of other things going on at the park. Soccer, softball, baseball, playgrounds, waterpark, etc. It can get crowded at the park on any given day. Soccer field near the back makes you think twice about huking it to the basket.

3. Vandalism ~ This was getting to be a little too much with benches and tee signs broken. They had a few signs saying that there are cameras watching the course, but I'm sure it's just BS. Last I heard there has been improvements to the course but it's been a while since I've been able to play here to know for sure.
Other Thoughts: Knowing what it takes to get courses in the ground, I appreciate all the hard work that was done to make this course a reality. My hope is that DGer's can do their best to keep the place nice and in the ground for a long time.

I hope I'll be able to give the place a 4.0 the next time I can get out there.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

2-4    8/9/2008   9/24/2008
Review By: VeeAreSix
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.7 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Challenging course with a nice mix of wide open holes and wooded holes.

Hole 2 is probably my favorite hole to shoot out of any course.
Cons: Someone stole the first basket so you start at hole 2 over the pond now.
Other Thoughts: It's a great course and it's well worth the drive no matter where you live!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Nice course

7/22/2008   7/23/2008
Review By: goob069
Played: 100  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mowed fairways, good pin placement.
Friendly park staff. This was the first time I played there and the staff was very helpful in leting me know where to start and general course layout. Very east to follow with signs in the ground around each basket showing where the next tee is. Many chances for nice long drives. Some technicial holes add to the fun.
Benchs and trash cans are very abundant at almost every hole
Cons: No signs on tee boxs to show pin placement so I found myself walking every hole to find the pin. No maps available.
Other Thoughts: The park manager said vandelism is becoming a problem and the city might pull the course. I hope they do not do this. Hole one was pulled for park improvements. They have room to expand this course to 24 or more and I hope that happens. Park manager said they are possibally re-arranging some holes .

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.