Oxford, MI 
Seymour Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG   (Taken 5/2008)
Park Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 

1    5/11/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: Chris.converse
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great shots, lotsof good mixes between long and short holes
Cons: seriously? the bridge in the swamp? i got trapped in the middle for about 45 minutes since the wood sinks and stays down.. no direction/hole lay out short tee pads flooded all over the place/

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Seymour Lake course

1    4/20/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: cleona03
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I liked that they had a bit of everything throughout the course! Nice bright markers on the baskets.
Cons: Not very easy to navigate through and the course was under construction. Do not go over the long bridge through the swap!!!!
Other Thoughts: It seemed to be windy but it was an odd day!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Looking better these days...

5+    4/20/2008   12/17/2008
Review By: donnyv
Played: 36  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/30/2013
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: UPDATED...

Designed and opened in 2001 by "Mr. Discraft" Jim Kenner, Seymor Lake (AKA Devils Ridge) is a larger park and a nice area for a DG course. A little water, a few elevation changes, open and wooded holes, it has a little of everything and serves the area's DG needs well.

Some of the highlights...
1. It's FREE to play here. No park pass or course fee to play.

2. Encouraging Design ~ The first few holes are out in the "mostly" open fields. You can work on your D without fear of hitting the first tree on the right. They also cut the grass more than once a year, so losing a disc in waist deep grass is rare. Rough/OB is more forgiving than most courses I've played.

3. Signature Shots ~ You get to throw from the top of a sledding hill over a big pond. Pretty cool unless it lands in it and it's your only disc. A few other holes also have some unique designs that you don't see everyday. There used to be this LONG pallet bridge that was challenging to cross. I'll never forget those days.

4. No Wait times ~ The DG course is not overly crowded. You still get a few punks messing around breaking stuff but we never had crazy wait times like nearby Stony Creek.

5. Good baskets and tee pads. No spit-outs if you know how to putt clean. Last I heard they are all back in working order.

6. Course Improvements ~ Thanks to some great community involvement by locals and businesses the course has made a turn for the better. People are returning to the course and are very pleased with the changes.
Cons: Just a couple minor things that bugged me over the years...

1. Mysteriously Windy ~ I'd be damned, somehow it's ALWAYS windy when we've played here. It can really throw your game off track especially on those open holes in the front. It can't be windy here all the time can it?

2. Very Busy Park ~ There is a ton of other things going on at the park. Soccer, softball, baseball, playgrounds, waterpark, etc. It can get crowded at the park on any given day. Soccer field near the back makes you think twice about huking it to the basket.

3. Vandalism ~ This was getting to be a little too much with benches and tee signs broken. They had a few signs saying that there are cameras watching the course, but I'm sure it's just BS. Last I heard there has been improvements to the course but it's been a while since I've been able to play here to know for sure.
Other Thoughts: Knowing what it takes to get courses in the ground, I appreciate all the hard work that was done to make this course a reality. My hope is that DGer's can do their best to keep the place nice and in the ground for a long time.

I hope I'll be able to give the place a 4.0 the next time I can get out there.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

2-4    8/9/2008   9/24/2008
Review By: VeeAreSix
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.7 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Challenging course with a nice mix of wide open holes and wooded holes.

Hole 2 is probably my favorite hole to shoot out of any course.
Cons: Someone stole the first basket so you start at hole 2 over the pond now.
Other Thoughts: It's a great course and it's well worth the drive no matter where you live!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

8/3/2008   8/3/2008
Review By: eugy9228
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Awesome course planning and maitnence. Good variety of holes, always keeps your game at best.Loved the back nature trail to 16 very nice walk.
Cons: Course and hole maps/descriptions would be great. Also next hole markers could be better presented.
Other Thoughts: Great play, course is changing hole design from one to another. Good play from amature to pro.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent

7/22/2008   7/25/2008
Review By: DGPlayer7
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some variety in holes. A few wooded holes. Good upkeep. A lot of good driving holes
Cons: No maps or signs make it extremely difficult to follow the course. I had to walk around to find the right pin for a lot of the holes. Not a lot of technical holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a pretty decent course. I'd rate it a little higher if they had some sort of map or signs.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Nice course

7/22/2008   7/23/2008
Review By: goob069
Played: 100  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mowed fairways, good pin placement.
Friendly park staff. This was the first time I played there and the staff was very helpful in leting me know where to start and general course layout. Very east to follow with signs in the ground around each basket showing where the next tee is. Many chances for nice long drives. Some technicial holes add to the fun.
Benchs and trash cans are very abundant at almost every hole
Cons: No signs on tee boxs to show pin placement so I found myself walking every hole to find the pin. No maps available.
Other Thoughts: The park manager said vandelism is becoming a problem and the city might pull the course. I hope they do not do this. Hole one was pulled for park improvements. They have room to expand this course to 24 or more and I hope that happens. Park manager said they are possibally re-arranging some holes .

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Seymore Lake

5+    5/4/2008   5/6/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 111  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2012
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: --Seymour Lake is in a big park with alot of recreation in it, very typicall southeast michigan park and course in my opinion. Also every hole has concrete tees which is nice. As far as the layout goes it's for sure a "big arm" course, but it does still have a couple "tech" holes in the woods. For the most part the holes are on slighlty hilly fields with a random bushes & small patches of woods.
Cons: Course Navigation--
No maps at the course and no signs at any hole. The map on here is very helpful and you must print it out if your playing for the first time.

--A few years ago Seymour Lake was easily a 3.5 rated course, and the first few years it was built, it was easily a 4 rated course! A couple things have happened since it first was built though. First of all the original hole #1 was removed and replaced with a spray park, so now you start on the new hole #1 (old #2) which is a 371 ft. bomb off of a sledding hill over a pond. A couple years ago you would only have to throw about 275 to clear the pond, or you could even throw to the left side of the fairway and choose not to play directly over the water. Now though, the spray park drains its water into that pond and its about 3 times as big as it used to be. Now the pond can extend all the way to the basket of hole #1 and the fairway of hole #2.

--Besides all that, the biggest con is the bridge after hole #14. It's a long bridge through a swamp that looks legit untill you get about half way down and it starts sinking. Some people ninja across it, but most people take the long walk all the way around the swamp. If you have a bag with valuables in it I don't recommend you try it.
Other Thoughts: {Update}- A new hole 1 was built, but it sucks. The bridge area is fixed, and the pond is in a little better shape. (Good job to whoever try'd to restore it!)

Hazards--
Pond on hole #1 & #2 // Creek on hole #10 // Swamp on hole #11 // Pond comes back into play on hole #17.

Access To Course--
From I-75, get off at baldwin rd. and go north untill you come to seymour lake rd., then turn right and the park is on the right hand side.

Once in the park, pass the playground on the left and park in the lot by the big hill, Start on top of the big sled hill.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.