Oxford, MI 
Seymour Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #18 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 547ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket (looking up at Hole #2 tee)



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Stop By Its Pretty Good - Be Prepared

1    11/8/2016   11/9/2016
Review By: MisterJ
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 18.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenge - First time here it was challenging, strategically placed baskets tucked in the woods on most holes, or right behind trees. Some elevation changes, and all par 3's makes it tricky to get in position for lots of birdies with eight holes of 400ish+ feet that are technical drives.

TeePads/Baskets - nice, liked them.

Fun - I do think this course has is in the Pro side for fun. It plays really nice, because of the technical nature, and as soon as you struggle with some long technical holes, you get to some nice short ones to make you feel like a champ again.

Congestion - I went in November, 1 other person on the course, little to no congestion.

Maintained/Bugs - In November, no bugs, and the grass was fine, I thought maintenance was great.
Cons: Aesthetic - Not great compared to northern Oakland county.

Signage - at least there are signs stating distance and which tee you are on, and at basket an arrow to next. But wish for more.

Variety - Struggled with if this was pro or con. But really, there isn't that much variety. Park setting, little elevation, almost no water (unless you make my mistake). Most holes tuck the basket into the the trees, just which way, right, left or in the middle of the fairway.

Locatability - the park easy to find, the first teepad is easy to find right off the parking lot. But first-timers take a picture of the course with all the holes, run out and make sure you are shooting the right hole. Sometimes there are 3 baskets within 100 feet of each other. With as much as baskets are tucked into the trees, it can be hard to spot unless you walk down the fairway and find it.
Other Thoughts: So this was my first time out to Seymour Lake. And when you get to the teepad, it points in one direction, the sign with distance points kinda in another direction and you wonder, which way is the basket. Like on Hole #2, elevated, pond in front you, basket 402ft, I throw about 350. Straight out from the direction of TeePad 2 is the pond and a basket. Although there is another basket right and another left. I naturally thought must be the one straight ahead, looks 402, nope, that was like 600+ so my 350 put me in the middle of the pond, I liked that crank. Hole 2 was to the left of the pond which is not the direction of the tee pad.

So I learned, take a picture of Seymour Lake disc golf course. It is tricky and the baskets can be tough to find. But I do like this place. I can't say I played it well my first time out. But I did have a good time and it was a challenge the first time out and I really did like to see what it had to offer.

If you like to try out new courses, this is one to stop by, may not be your top choice, but it will have some inherent challenges, and remember, basket #2 is left of the pond, if you happen to bring your bathing suit, let me know, my Crank is still at the bottom of the pond with everyone else's


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    9/24/2016   9/24/2016
Review By: dwindacatcher
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A nice mix of left and right baskets, utilizing elevation changes, and some water. Wide fairways and we'll placed guardian trees. Great tee shots are rewarded with birdie looks, but bad ones don't mean bogey like most of the courses within 45 minutes of Flint.
Cons: Signage. Every hole had a number, distance, and every pin had a painted rock pointing to the next hole, but a sign upgrade showing the general shape if the fairway would be nice. Also a sign for which parking lot to go in would help as well.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the better courses I've played. The course goes around the baseball fields, but you are never close enough that it is a bother to them or you. Some of the ruff is thick, but most isnt.

Parking lot is the second lot on the right.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good course

1    6/20/2016   9/16/2016
Review By: Klingmeyer
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Some long holes and some not so long. This course plays on a typical large open park area with pockets of trees placed strategically. This is a fairly open fairway course. Hole #2 is challenging due to the basket placement behind/between a pond and a marshy area. It also plays downhill, lay up or gamble throwing a disc into the pond.
Cons: The signage on this course is lacking, really no pictures of the holes, just distance. It is a long walk, not much elevation change.
Other Thoughts: Not a very exciting course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

gets better every time

5+    9/22/2015   9/22/2015
Review By: jamesdevin
Played: 85  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation
#2 pond/sledding hill signature hole
clean park (many trash cans and benches)
Good pin placements
Mostly long with some easier short holes
easy navigation
#18 is a great way to end a round
free to play
Bugs are gone!! (except near 14 and 15)
Cons: Pond on #2 is getting smaller (good or bad)
long walk between 14 and 15
Other Thoughts: The rating for this course should be better. there are many types of shots needed and the pins are in good places to make it more interesting. It is mostly an open course but throwing in the woods can make it difficult. #2 is one of my all time favorite holes where you throw down a sledding hole and over a pond. Wind can make this hole very difficult but the pond is shrinking by the day. there are plenty of chances to air it out and the last hole #18 is the best one. Finish your round with a 540' downhill shot next to the softball fields with a pond behind the pin. I recommend this course to all.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best Place I've Ever Given Blood!

1    6/4/2014   6/4/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 53  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 4.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a large multi use park that is very busy, but there is ample parking in a few gravel lots and the course rarely goes too close to any of the other fields.

Has some challenging shots the first 8 that play fairly open and long but with tree islands in okay fairways that make you pull into your bag of tricks.

9-17 are more wooded but largely less technical, and play along a really pretty bog. If it were in the south I would be concerned about snakes and gators(none of those in MI) and the guy I played with said they didn't get many snakes there.

I used my regular flick drives a lot as well as some sky Tommy's and some slow fade approach thumbers as well.

Number 2 is the star of the course it's a 350 or so shot downhill across a (today quite flooded) pond. I poet to lay up on the lip and get the safe par instead of trying to get a birdie and losing the only driver I brought on this trip.

Number 18 is pretty cool too. Long 450 or so shot that playes through a valley between the baseball field and a thicket. It ends up right by the lip of the pond.

Teepads are all textured concrete and pretty nice, baskets were almost all in good shape.
Cons: Biggest one; Mosquitoes, mosquitoes and more mosquitoes! Didn't really notice it until number 8 but was getting either bitten or buzzing in my ears from there on.

Other than the throngs of tiny vampires the biggest issue was the lack of signage. No marker for where to start, no map, no direction by the teepads.

There were arrows by the baskets pointing in the direction of the next pad, but it wasn't always that helpful when there were multiple pads in that direction.

Honestly someone go out there with a can of paint and put the numbers on the teepads. It's mostly very well maintained otherwise so I can't imagine the club or park guys that maintain it would object.
Other Thoughts: I has a good time but some signs and Vietnam army issue bug spray would make this a solid 3.5 course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  2014 April

5+    4/22/2014   4/26/2014
Review By: Dirk van Galen
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The local clubs keep making changes and minor modifications to the course every couple of months. Good mix of long and short holes with pins for both left and right approaches. Risk reward opportunities on several holes #2 , 6, and 15 among others.
long holes favor big arms with hazards to keep it honest.

The #1 hole has been lengthened and a new longer concreate tee pad has been installed to make it a little more challenging. The #2 hole is the signature hole over the pond but there is a stone foot bridge and areas to layup for those that don't want to take the risk going over from the tee.

Fun course and nice changes. A lot of triming and cleanup was done over the last year.
Cons: Signage still an issue, though the local club is raising funds to add them.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 better than the rating

1    12/2/2013   12/2/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 292  Reviewed: 283  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through a large multi-use park. area is NOT disc golf exclusive and runs close to ball fields in several locations. be on the lookout for walkers and cross-country.

Teepads-- in great shape. nice and level.

Baskets-- Innova discatchers. some were a bit slanty but for the most part played fine.

Balance-- nicely balanced. course is fairly long. well, longer than I expected with many holes in the 300-400ft range, but there are a fair shake of shorties too.

Risk v Reward-- use of the ponds is nice. I heard horror stories of how high those ponds can get but it looks like the club have added a bridge across the ponds. the rough here is seriously gnarly. it presents it's own set of challenges.

Routing and nav-- with the addition of the bricks with the next hole number and arrow, routing is pretty easy.

Ammenities-- there is bathroom facilities here and a splash park. the park is really nice for being a non-pay park.
Cons:
Lack of teesigns-- lack of tee signs makes this course a challenge to know where you are throwing to. when you are in the 11-14 field, there are certainly challenges in knowing where you are throwing to...the lines are NOT immediately apparent.

challenge-- not a ton of challenge here. there are certainly some throw away holes here. #16 for example is straight ahead and definitely a putter hole.
Other Thoughts:
this course is so much better than I expected. had a blast, last of three big courses and a total of 72 holes on the day! :)

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Challenge in Oxford

5+    6/15/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: rdblake01
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of variations in shots required, both forehand and backhand. There are shots in the open, and thru some narrow tree shots. Well maintained.Course is isolated from other activities, although if you are really wild you can hit the baseball fields on #18.
Cons: First hole is a warmup, but it is a good place to start.
Other Thoughts: While playing a few years, I am not a long thrower. This course always challenges me due to the distance on some of the holes to get par.They really fixed this place up from a few years ago.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

2-4    4/3/2013   4/3/2013
Review By: dekdo
Played: 61  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/8/2016
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cons: ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Other Thoughts: -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    6/5/2012   6/6/2012
Review By: HappyKilmore
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course has a seemingly simple layout with mostly non obstructive trees but many of the holes require precision drives and even more so, mid-range approach shots that span throwing styles and shot types if played well.

This course requires controlled drives and finesse approaches from serious golfers but is open, clean and fun for beginners and families too.

Layout makes busy days tolerable, and yes this once left for dead course is getting busy from time to time.
Cons: The new hole one is kinda junk but it makes for a full 18 and a good warm up hole.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.