Oxford, MI 
Seymour Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #15 (Taken 5/2008)
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  It's free and still one of my favorite courses.

5+    5/28/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: Vinnie21
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice open fairways for most of the holes with a variety of woodsy shots. As of this year it seems to be taken care of a lot better than the past couple of years. Short walking distances between each hole.
Cons: Only Single chain baskets and longer tree pads would be nice (especially on hole one).
Other Thoughts: Just glad that the bridge has been fixed and I am looking forward to playing here a lot this summer.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Devil’s Ridge is Born Again! (see Other Thoughts)

2-4    4/5/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 212  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a quiet, multi-use community park with ball fields, soccer fields, splash park, tot-lot.
• Most of the course is relatively isolated from other park activities (although a few holes do bring you near areas frequented by other park visitors).
• Well designed, and challenging, with very good shot variety, nice mix of fairway shapes and distances.
• The first several holes are fairly open, with well-utilized trees, water, brush, to keep you honest; prevents you from simply running straight at the basket. Hazards are well-placed to make you choose a line or landing spot and execute, without forcing one specific line.
• Brush gets a bit thicker as you progress towards the middle of the course, but never gets truly tight. Nonetheless, shots that stray far from those fairways may be hard to recover from... but at least they gave you a few fairly open holes to warm up, doesn't start off with thick stuff right off the bat.
• Nice use of elevation throughout the course: downhill, uphill, gullies, gently rolling terrain -keeps things interesting.
• Good use of hidden and tucked baskets - forces players to hit a window to score par or better.
• Fairly spacious concrete tees on most holes.
• Many benches located along the course.
• Direction of next tee indicated by bricks/pavers (with # of next hole and arrow) imbedded in the ground near each basket - gets you moving in the right direction to easily find next tee.
• Restrooms near hole 4.
Cons: Overall, Seymour Lake Park (also known as Devil's Ridge) is a pretty solid course - really not much to rip on. These are somewhat piddly, but certainly true:
• Tee posts with hole #, distance and fairway shaped arrow (straight, curved, S-shaped) would help on this course. Even with the directional markers pointing you toward next tee, navigation can be tough for first time or infrequent visitors; easy to find the next tee, but which direction is the basket? Tucked and blind baskets aren't visible from tee. Be prepared to walk a several fairways to see where you're throwing. Print the map: it's still correct (except for hole 1), and will help if you're unfamiliar with this course.
• Tees for 9 and 16 are pretty much next to each other, with no way to ID which is which, until you walk the fairway and see the number on the basket. That being said, I suppose this makes it convenient to skip holes 9-15, for a quick 11 holes if you're pressed for time. :-
• New 1st hole is a 270' (or so) straight shot in an open field. Maybe they were thinking "Ace Run," but I think it's pretty "meh." I suppose it's a decent warm up hole, and better than no first hole, at all (see Other Thoughts), but it doesn't do much to enhance the course... plus the tee pad's too small.
Other Thoughts: If you're wondering how this course merits ratings ranging from 0.5 to 4.0, IMO it pretty much depends on when it was played:
• First played here in 2007: course was good.
• Returned 2010: course was bad.
• Came back in 2012: course has been nicely restored - I'll be coming back!

Except for 1st hole, layout remains unchanged since my first visit. Old hole 1 (used to be across the main park road from the rest of the course) was pulled out and replaced with the existing splash park by the time I visited in 2010. By that time, they hadn't replaced the missing first hole (so it was only 17 holes), the boardwalk/bridge from 14 to 15 had deteriorated (badly), and a previously good course was spiraling into disrepair as the area's economy tanked and tax base eroded (read Dirty Mitten's Other Thoughts regarding course starting out nice,and going downhill).

They've since given Devil's Ridge some much needed TLC, adding a first hole (albeit a yawner), to make it a full 18, as well as giving the previously scary return from 14 to 15 a complete overhaul, and making sure the course is in otherwise good shape. Willing to bet that if those who reviewed it during its dark ages were to play it again today, they'd bump they're rating at least a 1/2 disc.

Wind is definitely a factor here - not a pro or a con - just part of the game, and should be treated as such. Particularly frustrating is that the wind seems to change direction virtually the entire round.

Perhaps skewed a bit in favor of those with big arms.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  They fixed the course

5+    3/18/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: hawknest94
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: They added a new hole #1 to replace the old one, and they bushwhacked and built a new path over the bridge in the swamp, no more walking a half a mile :)
Overall great par 3 course, many interesting drives and quality tees
Cons: Always windy! I dot know what it is but it has never been calm while I'm on this course.
They really could use some signs on the tees showing where the basket is, because that can get very confusing, I'm thinking about calling the city and volunteering to do it myself

 Cool...kind of

2-4    7/18/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: Wolfpackdiscs
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Their are some great holes on this course. Really challenging blind approaches and water shots that make you really think you drive.
Cons: Holes are missing, their is a long walk on the back 9 to get to the final few holes where you options are walk over a sinking bridge or walk back 5 holes to get to the ones you need. If the town put a little work in this could be an all star course. Hole 1 was taking out for a splash pad BTW.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  not going back any time soon

1    8/24/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: tunabow
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Free to play
Cons: Blind tee shots required course walkthrough. I do not find that fun. Holes 2 and 3 over the swamp - would be a better challenge later in the course, not at the start. The floating boardwalk - not floating, would be a nice walk with 30' sections hinged together, supporting each other.
Other Thoughts: August 2011 is my second month playing this game. I am 60 years old and do not need to be challenged by steep hills and blind shots. This seems to be a "kids course", not designed for all age groups.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 good ole time

5+    8/20/2010   4/19/2011
Review By: intimadator
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 17.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: sweet course really liked the hole in the woods was bit of a change since the hole course is out in the park! liked the different holes they really encorperate lots of trees and bushes as hazerds which make it more enjoyable then your typical county park course.
Cons: to many people all over the course from runners to dogs watch ur disc! easy to loose a disc in the swamp on the back holes be careful, lot of cops in the area be careful with ur beer!
Other Thoughts: ive seen better but it will do- played good here everytime but thats not what im looking for!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Course Now in 2016

5+    12/2/2013   9/1/2010
Review By: kw83028
Played: 51  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2016
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Update since my review a few years ago:

-Baskets and teepads are good
-Lots of variety
-The pond on 2&3 has changed and now it is feasible to go for it now. I love it
-Next tee arrows in the ground
-Benches and trash cans
-Well maintained
-Had a good time today and it's definitely better than I remember it.
Cons: All of my cons from my 2010 review are gone.

- Hole 1 is now just a short straight "warmup" toss
- kind of a long walk between 14 and 15 I think it was
- A few blind shots, but nothing a quick walk ahead wouldn't figure out
Other Thoughts: After playing this course again, I really like it. Lots of variety, quite a few longer holes, good use of the terrain.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bad Course

1    6/25/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: CCADGL
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: none
Cons: There was no first hole-spent half an hour looking for it.
The Tees were very poorly marked.
From each pod you had no idea where the hole was.
Some holes were placed very very poorly such as at the edge of a lake or surrounded by thick brush and trees.
After hole 14 there is a bridge that goes across a swamp but the bridge is sinkiing into the water. There are also holes in it. The worst part is that it was not marked and there was no warning ahead of time.
Other Thoughts: Overe all it was a very bad course. The layout of each tees was just terrible.There would be pods with a strait fairway ahead. but once you threw it you had no idea where the hole was. After a while looking for it. you would realize that it was tucked in the deep brush 100 feet ahead and then to the right.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/20/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: Adaven
Played: 22  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice park, Well maintained for the most part with a wonderful variety of holes that make for a challenge. Large cement tee pads which are definitely a plus and beautiful new baskets. many elevation change shots which add to the course. Hole 18 especially, shooting downhill to the tee next to a water hazard, that was great fun. the layout was fun, shooting through forest into the open, many doglegs that added a challenge.
Cons: NO SIGNAGE. this was a terrible disappointment for my first time at this course. I was unable to find the first hole and the tee to the second so I had to start at #3. Lack of signage made it very difficult to find the right hole as many baskets were in close proximity to one another or hidden from view. I was unable to play 15,16, 17 because the path to them was threw a swamp with heavy foliage on either side and you have to cross on a narrow floating bridge. I got about 75' in and had to turn around because I was calf high in muddy swamp water and part of the bridge was missing so I could go no further. There are signs in the ground at each basket that point you to the next tee though, but sometimes those could be misleading because there were two right next to each other.
Other Thoughts: I rate courses not simply on the obvious conditions but also on how much fun it was. missing 5 holes because there was no signage or because certain holes could not be reached because of bridge issues this course was not fun. although this course had many things I look for in a great course they seem to have overlooked some very basic things. If you are going to spend the money to get new baskets and maintain a beautiful park, get some signs. Finally I believe the course map on this site is old and some of the holes have been changed.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Better if it was maintained

5+    7/10/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: phishbrained
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variation. Wooded and open, elevation changes, holes that curve left and right, short and long holes.
Nice use of bushes and obstacles make this course more challenging than others around it.
Arrows to next tee pad.
Cons: Kinda confusing layout if it's your first time since there is no 1st hole right now. Gets really buggy in the back of the course. Lots of trash and graffiti.
The bridge between 14 and 15 is now underwater and you must walk all the way around, walk up the fairway on and use the path on the left to play 15.
Other Thoughts: Would be nice if there was more maintenance done. There is too much trash and graffiti for my liking and walking around the swamp bridge is a far walk.
I played with old locals of this course and the first few years it was a beautiful course and the lake was much smaller. Sad to see a good course get let go by poor maintenance.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.