Olympia Fields, IL 
Sergeant Mean's Park Share
Uploaded By: PSC_wicked_clown Hole #5
3 / --   3 / 250ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 The Dude Abides

5+    11/21/2010   1/16/2011
Review By: Mbagnola1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -21 very different holes
-Low trees make for difficult shots
-Few open field shots
-Left and right hand shots
-All par 3 makes for a tough course
-Most tees are rubber and well maintained
Cons: -Low trees make for difficult shots
-Houses line the perimiter of the park so be careful when throwing
-Playgrounds,Soccer fields, and a baseball diamond all within the course. Socccer fields come into play on a few holes
- Only 1 water fountain so plan ahead
-Rain destroys a few holes
-Few holes missing signs
-Very buggy in mid summer
Other Thoughts: Means is one of my favorites but is also the course i hate the most. My score changes everytime i play this course. One day ill come out down 6 the next i will be up 6. Good challanging course. For a easy way to change things up try a shotgun start at 10.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Orchard-style Park

5+    11/21/2009   6/25/2010
Review By: orion487
Played: 108  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beautifully manicured and maintained
-This is the only course I've really seen with this kind of "orchard"-style landscaping, rewarding accuracy to split the perfectly spaced rows of trees (especially #4) and creating some interesting lines.
-With the exception of a few unnecessary holes (see below) the limited terrain is used exceptionally well, even managing to squeeze some elevation in #11,12.
-The holes don't feel repetitive, with each one offering something new to the course, whether its a low ceiling, slightly sloped green, or guarded pin
-Even though there isn't much space, it doesn't feel like a 9 hole course where they threw in more just to make it 18
Cons: -The course was altered from 18 to 20 holes, and some of the additions leave you scratching your head. Space has always been at a premium here (the longest hole is only 315'), so cramming in holes like #2 and #10 seem pointless. Plus, these require you to walk back towards the tee to get to the next hole, forcing those behind to wait. If this gets too annoying, its easy enough to skip a few and play a solid 18.
-Baseball games and soccer games can easily get in the way of 3-5 holes, and parties at the pavilion can interfere with #3 (little kids have a blast rolling down that hill)
-As others have said, the rubber tee pads can be uneven at times and some get real slick after rain. Plus, the holes near the baseball field do not drain well and occasionally have to be skipped
Other Thoughts: -This was my home course through high school and college, and its where I learned to play. Don't let the orchard holes fool you, they were simple when the trees were young, but they're closing off space in a hurry!
-While some of the tighter holes can be frustrating for novices, the course has more than enough easy, birdie-able holes to make up for this. Though honestly, that and the lack of any challenging distance may make much of the course too easy for the more advanced player. Worth checking out if you're hanging around Chicago's south suburbs, but there are better courses around Joliet if you can make the trip.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 This course is not mean.

5+    4/4/2008   1/17/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park is a very well kept. It is pretty flat and has quite a few trees. The fairways are mowed and this is a very nice walk in the park.

If you like overhand shots you will like this course. There are quite a few holes where throwing over the top is the best option instead of throwing thru the tight orchard trees.

There are some tight shorter holes that will work your mid range and putter game. There is a good variety of shorter holes.

This is a very beginner friendly course.

It is pretty easy to navigate and will not take long ot play.

The baskets and tee signs are adequate.
Cons: The tee pads can get very slick and muddy when they are wet.

It is very short and lacks holes that you can throw drivers. The longest hole is 315ft.

Be careful not to hit other players. Some of the holes play very close together. Tee pads can be somewhat close to baskets.
Other Thoughts: If I were traveling thru this area i'd consider playing Mokena the Oaks over this course.

This is a small multi use park and pedestrians can be a problem.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Windy golf

6/22/2005   6/22/2007
Review By: innovaetor
Played: 45  Reviewed: 22
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well designed park, Minutes off RT 80. The park is totally groomed, so almost no chance of lost discs. Short holes make for low scores, scratch is around 48.
Cons: Can be very difficult in the wind, and playground equipment is behind the basket on 2 holes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.