Olympia Fields, IL
Sergeant Mean's Park Share
Uploaded By: PSC_wicked_clown Hole #10
3 / --   3 / 220ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Felt like a Forced Course

2-4    11/27/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Incorporated a lot of holes with trees and had19 holes. It was a little different to play something other than the traditional 18
Cons: The tee pads were horrible, the rubber wa like an ice rink I got more grip throwing from the mud. on one hole if you are RHBH there is a light pole right in your line, and it is obvious that it gets hit. The holes with trees are ridiculous, the gaps are literally a foot or two wider than the tee pad. Not a beginner friendly course. It just seems like a lot of the holes were placed there for the sake of making a course.
Other Thoughts: They should consider moving to 9 holes and consider alternate tee pads to make it play like 18. If the park could actually turn the drainage area by 10-12 into a pond it would be neat. get rid of 10 and 11 and make 12's tee from where 10's pad is and make it a nice water hole as the alternate pad. there is a lot of space to make an excellent 9-hole course that is far better than the 18 they currently have. 3 and 19 are probably my favorite holes. good distance and accuracy is needed for a chance at a 2.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 B- = Be a little too open and a little too bland

1    8/1/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 (and more) hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C+
(The holes through the trees offer good punishment and require accuracy, but never enough punishment to expect a bogey for one's errors. At least half the holes are wide open and offer zilch in this department.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B-
(Most of the wooded holes make for fun and rewarding birdies - several are too short of my liking. About 1/4 of the open holes are challenging for me. Given the land the designer had to work with only a few small improvements could have been made in this area, IMO.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B-
(There are a bunch of finesse/touchy shots required that take a variety of throws - rollers are recommended on several. IMO, this is the strength of this course.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B-
(The park is attractive and well maintained and has a nice vibe. Seclusion is poor as you are playing around ball fields and through picnic areas the entire round.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 City Course

1    8/3/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 407  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -short and beginner friendly
-creative holes for a small park
-well manicured
Cons: -a little difficult to follow in some places
-some holes throw very close to places that other park goers use (basketball courts, benches, etc)
-some signs point to wrong baskets and distances aren't accurate
Other Thoughts: This course is primarily open, with a few wooded holes, and some holes that really have no lanes to throw through and shouldn't be a part of the course. I can see where it'd be a good place for locals to start, or to take a friend that you want to teach, but this course isn't challenging enough for the advanced player.

It can be difficult to follow in some places because the paths are not always worn and there are multiple tee signs in some areas where the signs have been stolen and you don't know which hole it is.

Fun course, not worth going out of your way for.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good course for the location

5+    7/29/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: dwebb
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 4/17/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained and open, very easy to find any stray shots. Grass is always short and trees are always trimmed, no poison ivy here.
Cons: Large amounts of trees creating unnecessary blocks on many holes, soccer and baseball game crowds may block some holes during the day. Some holes backtrack over eachother which can be confusing and cause course backups.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth your time

5+    7/15/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: WindyCityROCer
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course set in what used to be an old nursery/orchard converted to a multi-use park (see cons). Terrain is used pretty well, aside from a few spots.
Good variety of holes (open, tunnel, tight).
Baskets are generally kept in good shape.
Next to no chance of losing discs, there's one really wooded area, chances are you'll stick it into the orchard trees before you lose it in schule.
Course routing is straightforward, asside from the add-on holes.
Accuracy is rewarded over power, even the open holes are deceiving.
The park district keeps the course in great shape along with the help of Red Roc DGC.
Memorable holes include...
#5 L>R shot through/over an orchard to a basket nestled in trees.
#10 tight hallway shot, should go slightly right at the end, to a pretty green
#12 Tee off in the trees to a basket on top of a mound, looks wide open and easy, but elevation change and wind will screw with this "simple" shot.
#16/17 Located in the more wooded part of the course, require very accurate tee shots.
#20 A sub 200ft shot once again through the orchard, over a fence to a basket with old guardian trees, 2 lane are provide for spike hyzers, although some will opt-out for a tomahawk.
Discs and scorecards are available in the park office.
Cons: Multi-use park, some holes are next to soccer fields/tennis courts... when the park has a game going it WILL get crowded with people roaming everywhere. Park is also available for parties.. once again people everywhere, #3's fairway seems to be the favorite volley ball area.
The holes can seem a little repetative, though not as bad as a course like The Oaks in Mokena.
Tee pads, while generally in good shape, get very slippery after rain... overall the course drainage could be better.
The "new" 20 hole routing is just senseless in spots, requiring you to play a hole, walk back to the tee and then play next hole (cough) #2,7... the 10/11 problem is usually solved by throwing 1st shots on each, then putting out, unfortunately this requires a lot of discs. I'll agree that it seems as though holes were added just to have more. (Personally I don't agree with this theory).
While not a pitch n putt, the course is very demanding on the tee shot, particularly through the orchard, this would be a turn off to novice player. Also as the trees grow in the course gets harder, once again frustrating for lower skill levels.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, been playing it for years. I miss the old 18 hole layout, particularly old #11. The course can be enjoyed by all skill levels (I played my 1st round ever here), although it would lose it's attraction to a very skilled player (say 875+) as it's not that long. I'm going to give it 3.5 discs. If the routing was fixed as to interfere less with soccer/tennis, drainage was addressed, the port-o-potty was put back in on the far side of the course, and the routing was fixed, it could be a 4 disc course.
Parking is ample when in DG "mode"... weekdays.. when soccer/parties occur the lot fills VERY quick... additional parking is available to the north on the street that borders the course, just start your round from hole 10 (being courteous of course).

League Doubles are on Thursday nights.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Over-rated

1    7/6/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: Zach_Mance
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is AWESOME design of each holes. Nice signs with lots of detail. Pretty hard to loose a disc unless you threw a huge hyzer on 5 like I did...
Nice wildlife!
Cons: Terrible parking...Terrible design of the course. The person who designed it probably was on crack and didn't care about other people in the park.
Other Thoughts: It was a very over rated course. All my friends thought it was an awesome course. Which it is! But when I went yesterday it was horrible there are so many people around and the odds of you hitting one are pretty high. I dont know about you but I that is one thing I dont like to worry about when I go disc golfing,

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/17/2008   1/8/2009
Review By: bjfergus21
Played: 87  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my "home course" it is always refreshing to go out and play this course whenever I feel and it gives me a good challenge. The course is short but for someone who is an adequate disc golfer the challenges are there every time as well with cannopies and tough basket placements. Terrain is well used and once the trees grow bigger the course will add toughness.
Cons: The cons of this course is that there is 20 holes which is a strange number and two holes should be taken out to make it 18 (preferably # 7 and #10). Sometimes there is tennis, baseball, and soccer games in the park that can interrupt disc golfers and making them skip holes.
Other Thoughts: The course is great for the person who doesn't want to lose a disc, still get a challenge, and practice their shots. There are 'launch' holes and tighter cannopy holes. I am biased with my rating of the couse since its my home course but if you are ever in the South Suburbs of Chicago and want to play disc golf, Sergeant Means is a great place to fling a few discs and have a good time.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/26/2008   11/26/2008
Review By: KG_MCDGC
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good layout with the amount of land available. Some very fun,difficult holes. I agree that the short holes equal a low score. I also aced hole 2!
Cons: Seems that a few holes were put in just to make more holes. You play one, then walk back down the fairway you just threw down to play an adjacent hole. Semi-pointless.
Other Thoughts: This is where it all began for me. I first started playing this course in 1995, then I moved to Washington state.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Windy golf

6/22/2005   6/22/2007
Review By: innovaetor
Played: 45  Reviewed: 22
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well designed park, Minutes off RT 80. The park is totally groomed, so almost no chance of lost discs. Short holes make for low scores, scratch is around 48.
Cons: Can be very difficult in the wind, and playground equipment is behind the basket on 2 holes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.