Disc Golf Store
Kenosha, WI 
UW Campus - Parkside Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 218ft.   3 / 269ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Pro Tee (10' up on a wood structure)



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Definitely worth it!

2-4    8/4/2013   10/8/2013
Review By: lddake
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really like this course. The holes and tees are marked out fairly well. There are a wide variety of different kinds of shots. there are a few short holes, and some really long ones. They have some elevated tees, and elevated baskets. Wide fairways and narrow corridors. Not too tough for the beginner, or too easy for the pro.
Cons: There are a couple places where the signs pointing to the next hole could be clearer. I know we skipped a couple holes first time through without realizing it till later.
Other Thoughts: I wish I could go back here. I used to work in the area, and if I ever do again I will be stopping here.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/26/2013   5/26/2013
Review By: Lucky4sav
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you haven't banged out your first ace, this is the course it could be done at. Hole #5 has an awesome pro tee off of a 10' wooden structure.
Cons: If you haven't played here before its easy to get mixed up or even confused on where the next hole is.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun to be had

2-4    4/6/2013   4/7/2013
Review By: beeyang78
Played: 63  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging wooded shots that require control and finesse. Long open bombers for the big arms. This course really is made for all skill levels. Half are open and the other half are in dense wooded areas where an errant throw could potentially be a bogey or worse. The longs tees are very challenging and have different looks than the short tees. Great use of elevated tee pads on a few holes to give some change. Also the elevated pin on 4 is really neat and can cause problems of roll outs.
Cons: The course could use some elevation, but does have some elevated tee pads and pins to help. There aren't many benches around so if it gets crowded, it could be a problem. Hole 2 and 3 are very close to each other and can cause some issues with errant drives.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I really liked this course from the long tees. It was very challenging, but had a lot of deuce opportunities. I think this course is very balanced and does a great job of changing it up from open to wooded to open to wooded to open.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Prairie Land

5+    8/20/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 172  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There are two sets of concrete tees here with good signage. The man made green on hole 4 is awesome. Check out the pictures. There are some good wooded holes here such as holes 6, 12,13, and 15. Hole 18 pretty much forces the roller which is unique.
Cons: A pretty short course with too many open holes. 18 ends pretty far from hole 1. It can be frustrating looking for discs in the tall prairie grass,
Other Thoughts: Don't bother playing the other course on campus, it is not worth your time.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I miss the old Parkside

5+    8/10/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located on the campus of UW Parkside. There are many holes that are in the open and lined with prairie grass. Some holes are lined with thick woods. The rest of the holes play in the woods. Most of the course is flat as a pancake.

The old holes have 2 very nice concrete tee pads. The newer holes have 1 nice concrete tee.

The baskets are good Mach 2's with chain upgrades.

2 pin positions on all the old holes. I don't play here often enough to know how often they are changed. They used to be changed often.

The tee signs are very good here.

If you play a round from the long and shorts there is pretty good diversity.

The mound green on hole #4 is very cool. It adds a ton of challenge.

The elevated tee on #5 is a great addition to a flat course.
Cons: The tee to #1 and #18 are very far apart. After making the trip there I always play 2 rounds. It's even a longer walk to get to the tee of the other course if you're playing both.

There are many open holes and the course is rather short now.

The carpet on the elevated tee #5 is pretty much gone.

During the week you have to check in and pay a couple of bucks for parking. If you don't you'll get nailed with a ticket.
Other Thoughts: I really miss the old parkside course :( . If you read some of the older reviews the course was a 4 to 4.5 disc course. Old holes #1 thru 4 are gone. Those were great. It also lost several really good wooded holes. The holes that were added don't come close to replacing the old ones. Current hole #1 is old #5. This used to be one of the best kept courses in WI. It's slowly fading away. Current hole #4 (mound hole) used to have a long tee 3rd tee pad in the woods that you'd have no idea is there now. It's overgrown and has been taken away by nature.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Prairie Open '12 Intermediate

1    4/1/2012   4/3/2012
Review By: CConnors3
Played: 92  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Some open shots over grassland that lets you actually use some of your fairway or distance drivers
- Some tight wooded holes that require finesse and touch
- Elevated tee pads and baskets add a little more difficulty but makes it more challenging for some players
- Well manicured course and good signage
- Course designed for all types of throws from the tee pads which plays for a versatile round
Cons: - Shorter holes may discourage those looking to dig a little deeper in their bag for distance throws
- Some holes are pretty muddy and have potential for bad mosquitoes once the spring/summer roll around
- Some of the signs appear to be inaccurate in their distance readings
- No mando's- some holes you could enforce them to make it a little bit harder
Other Thoughts: Loved the Prairie Open '12 on March 31st and April 1st this year- great sponsors and coordinators for the event. Both days had a great turn out including many Women and Junior Division players! Some holes had out of bounds but no mando's. I had a great time and look forward to playing this course when I'm in the area!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

2-4    2/11/2012   3/29/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 416  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set on the large grounds of this college campus, plenty of space for all the holes. Some of the course is a little close to a few roads, and the last few are near a sidewalk by a building. Shouldn't be any interference though.
- Holes are split between prairie and forest, with a few in between. Tall grass and scraggly trees are used to shape fairways in the front portion; some are pretty simple like #1 and #4. Others are tighter like #7 and #16. Wooded holes include some very tight shots, like #6, and more open ones like #14 and #15. A very good range of length and difficulty overall, there are short and long holes both in and out of the woods, tight and open. #10 is a nice 440' bomber from the longs.
- All in all, a good range of hole lengths. Most of the holes in the woods are par 3 design, from either set of tees, ranging from low to high 200'. Bombers out in the open with four over 350', with hazards to worry about.
- Hazards include some water on the right of #10, some nasty jail on #6 and #7, and dense woods in the forest. A very elevated basket on #4 demands an accurate upshot/drive to avoid racking up the putts.
- A few holes have noticeable elevation changes, like a good, long downhill on #10, a super elevated tee on #5, and some slight ups and downs here and there. Helps to add some fun to the course.
- Great signs, tees, and baskets. Navigation is pretty easy, especially with a map. Biggest key is walking across the road to #12.
Cons: - Some holes out in the prairie are pretty straightforward, and don't need a whole lot of line shaping - especially from the shorts. The longs do a good job of forcing some lines, but nothing too crazy overall. Staying out of the grass or avoiding some trees here or there is the key.
- As a whole, the course itself is pretty flat, with a few exceptions. A few holes have a good change, but the majority are slight if anything. Just the flat terrain, can't be helped really.
Other Thoughts: - A very well balanced course, with holes in, out, and next to the woods. Good mix of lines inside the forest, with some pretty tricky ones. Some nice, longer holes out in the open that need some basic lines. While nothing here is extremely exciting, and a lot of it is mostly flat, it is a good challenge with fun. More advanced players will be able to carve it up, everyone else should have to work for good scores.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Rethinking my college choice

1    11/20/2010   1/23/2011
Review By: ArcheType
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course has sweet diversity in its types of hole. With the beginning starting out more open in fields of tall grass with some trees, it progresses into shorter, more wooded holes. Tons of variety in this course.

-It has some sweet special holes. Hole 4's basket is elevated on a small hill of rocks (which make a painful noise when you smack them off the tee or longer upshot!) Hole 5 has an awesome elevated pro tee about 14' up on a raised wooden deck. Of the courses I've played I haven't seen anything like this.

-Almost all the holes have pro tees that serve in not only adding length, but difficulty. Several holes give the illusion of a route, only to punish shots slightly off the intended line.

-Good risk/reward for this whole course.

-I didn't get to play the alternate pin positions, but several showed different feels for the holes.

-The flow of this course is great, super easy to follow. And the signs here are also very good.
Cons: -Some of the beginning holes only have tall grass as the rough, which really isn't too punishing. More experienced players probably won't have too many challenges throughout.

-This course can feel repetitive, straight shots off the tee will get you by on most holes.
Other Thoughts: All in all, a fun course, nothing too exceptional, but it does everything well. It's a good time, well worth the stop if you're in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 attempt to convince myself failed

5+    10/28/2010   11/6/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 718  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hole #4 pin placement quite nice. Raised bucket surrounded by large boulders makes for nice aesthetic and interesting putt. Nice stairs up one side of this placement.
Hole #5 tee off raised deck. 10' walk up stairs and throw from deck. Also forces high release because of railing you must release over...interesting....
Hole #16 is 277 ft. Interesting thing, is early in the hole you go through a cut out portion of bushes/viney growth. This has been trimmed nicely each and every time I've been here. Makes for another quite unique view.
First four or so holes are somewhat prairie feel. After that, this becomes a fun, technical woods layout.
Two sets of tees.
Two pin placements.
39 holes total between the two courses here!
Good signage.
Concrete tees.
I am a tomahawk thrower; and this layout does offer opportunities to put this into practice for good result....especially short pins.
Cons: I end up wandering around to find hole #1 every time i come here. Stupid old hippy! But, it is a pain in the a$$.
In the short pin placements, this course borders on a deuce or die track. (Should be noted that the newer Orchid course has attempted to balance this).
As with the Orchid course, the prairie holes here; have the long grass to deal with. Even some of the more wooded portion, forces some play in this type of rough; as some pins end up just outside woods.
Other Thoughts: Paid the $2 parking fee for the first time; this trip. Didn't get a ticket the other times; but, probably a good idea to pay. Then, you don't have to worry.
I have played the original five times now; over a span of years. It's been raining a couple of times; and, even on this journey; it was overcast and pretty windy. So, perhaps this is part of my experience here. Mostly....
I JUST HAVE A HARD TIME BEING VERY EXCITED HERE.
Both courses seem somewhat repetitious to me. I really should enjoy the wooded section of the original. It fits a style I usually like, and the different pin placement possibilities offer a nice challenge. But, I always leave here wondering what I'm not getting; that others seem to enjoy?
The wandering around looking for #1 (though my own fault) bugs the crap out of me.
The shots are pretty interesting; but, if you don't tear it up, score wise, you end up feeling like you left too many shots on the course. A lot of tweener holes I guess. Narrow lanes are difficult on many of them; so, they're not easy; but, at the same time, you feel let down if you don't hit a bunch of them.
There are three unique areas of disc here; from prairie, to wooded, to manicured campus finish; but none are all that spectacular.
There are the three unique holes; and two of these three, I have not seen anywhere else. But, they aren't THAT special.
......I keep trying; but, can't convince myself that UW Parkside original deserves more than a 3 rating.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/28/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very good course set on some beautiful prairie land with several holes playing through wooded areas. Tight fairways and punishing OB add significant challenge and punishment on most shots.

The course's strongest aspect is the gorgeous land it plays through. The grass fairways were well manicured, and the tall grass OB adds a scenic touch (until you have to dig through it on a bad drive). Most holes have trees at various points on or along the fairway that require some line shaping to avoid.

This course had three really unique holes: #4 throws at an elevated basket surrounded by large rocks, #5 throws from an elevated tee, something I've never seen before, that felt like throwing off a balcony... this adds tree branches as obstacles. Don't even bother with the short tee on this hole, even if you're a beginner. The tee shot from the long tee on #16 was probably my favorite of the course. The shot basically requires you to drive through a window cut out of a large bush.

The signs here are very good… both tees had a sign with the distance for each pin location. The baskets are all in good shape, and the tees pads are excellent. Several holes had benches as well.
Cons: While consistently challenging, the course started to feel repetitive. Many of the prairie shots are straight, or have only slight angles to account for. Those who can keep it straight off the tee may get bored, and those who can't will get frustrated. Because of that, this isn't an ideal course for new players. There is also a lot of potential for lost discs here. Additionally, due to the open nature of the course and area as a whole, it seems like wind will usually be a factor here.

The wooded holes were alright, but nothing memorable. Especially compared to some of the great shots in the open, prairie areas. Due to the rotating pins, we had to walk the fairway on a couple of these wooded shots to find the basket. It would've been helpful if there had been some orange paint/tape, or a flag on these baskets so they were easier to see through all the trees.

For big arms who like to rip it off the tee, there isn't much room here. This is a course that favors accuracy over power
Other Thoughts: This course was a great challenge for me, and my personal experience was fantastic, but for the sake of writing a helpful review for everybody, the length, difficulty, and variety may not appeal to all. I think beginners will find it too difficult and advanced players will find it too easy.

Despite that, I would highly recommend checking out this course regardless of your skill level. The scenery is great, and this course is very well taken care of. For those in the Chicago area, this course is worth a drive up to.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.