Kenosha, WI 
UW Campus - Parkside Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 189ft.   3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Pro Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Thick, but Fun

2-4    6/6/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Gorgeous half-wooded, half-open course with incredibly thick shule throughout. The natural beauty of the course itself was fairly stunning in places, although that beauty often came with the added risk of losing a disc or two in the sometimes impenetrable rough.
- Outstanding long/short concrete tee placements, including an elevated wooden "deck" style tee on #4.
- Outstanding use of elevation including raised baskets perched atop rocks.
- Outstanding risk/reward. The thickness of the rough greatly encourages taking a conservative approach, and severly but fairly punishes wayward shots.
- Several "thread-the-needle" style holes. Long tee placements increase the difficulty on such holes.
- Alternative pin placements add variety.
- Accurate signs prevent any issues with getting lost. Great flow.
- Free, clean, upkept very well. Trashcans (albeit small) at every hole.
Cons: - Although not incredibly difficult for most experienced players, this course might be intimidating for some beginners due to the rough.
- Insects, poison ivy, and a bit of mud.
Other Thoughts: -I played this course mid-transit between Milwaukee and Chicago. I was pleasantly surprised at not only the stunning mid-Western half-prairie/ half-wooded natural beauty, but also the great variety this course challenges you with. The long tees are outstanding.
- Seriously. In the summer, this course is THICK. Groups of roving disc golfers united in the common purpose of finding wayward discs in the impossibly thick vegetation during my round.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 B = Be a little too short

2-4    9/17/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
6 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: I am only reviewing the 18 main holes since IMO, the new 9 holes are a completely different course (and are not developed to a point to really be playable).

What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 (and more) hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B
(Over half the holes will dole out punishment enough where recovery for par after an errant drive is a real challenge.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B-
(Most of the holes are too short to be rewarding. Almost all of the long tees that are over 300' are pushed back to outside of my max D. This makes them not even worth playing as all I can possibly get is a par 3.....or downside bogeys. No added fun or challenge added for me on those.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A-
(Several of the new holes are tight wooded holes....but are too short. There seems to be a good balance of right and left turns a few of which are pretty severe turns that push the limits of disc flight....in a good way!)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B
(There is a nice mix of prairie feel, wooded feel and the last 3 holes even offer a manicured campus lawn and tree fairways. Only one or two beautiful spots.....and the rest is just ho-hum in the beauty department. Seclusion is surprisingly good for a course on campus. Around 2/3's of the course does allow you to feel like you are getting away from it all for a bit.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (149 18-hole, 91 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

6 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Great Blend of Holes

2-4    8/30/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: StrikerME02
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is extremely well kept and clean right by a small university. There are two sets of concrete teepads for the majority of the first 18 holes. Just this year there were an extra 9 holes added (no concrete teepads, but at 27 holes what more can you want).

Great signage is present everywhere on this course and if it is your first time playing it is almost impossible to get lost (unless of course you head into the thick rough looking for your beloved disc).

The first few holes on the course are very open but with some heavy rough off to the side that you want to navigate around, or you may very well be searching for your disc a long time. It would be very helpful to send out a spotter in certain holes like these. Due to the more openness of these holes they provided very reachable deuces and some very exciting ace runs.

Hole #4 has to be one of the coolest holes on the course. The basket is placed on top of this mound of boulders/rocks a little over 300 ft straight out from the tee. After your drive, you get to make the decision if you want to go for the birdie putt and risk having your disc roll all the way down the borders, and be left for a tough par to save, or just lay up and easily get par.

Hole #5s long tee is also very interesting. The tee is elevated 10-15ft above the ground with rails along the side so you don't fall off of it after your release. This makes for a very tough drive as you are throwing from about the exact height of a bunch of trees leaves and if you try to go around them to much you will end up in the woods that runs along hole #5s right side. The shorter tee has no elevation and make for a much easier shot.

Many of the wooded holes in this course are not that long, but are very tough because they have extremely narrow fairways. Many people like to tomahawk their drives for these holes. The good tomahawkers usually get somewhere close to the basket and the basket and the ones who aren't so good will be spending some time looking for there discs. I recommend just throwing what you are comfortable with on these types of holes and always making sure you know where the basket is before you throw.

Hole #10 is one of the longest holes from the long tees on the course. The long tee starts out elevated on this hill and the basket plays to a slight right that you have to navigate you drive around some bushes scattered throughout the fairway without getting it lost in the thick rough on the right side of this hole. The short tee is located at the bottom of this hill, still around 300ft from the basket.
After Hole #10 the tougher woods holes come in to play with lots of trees engulfing many of the holes.

Hole #14 produces lots of ace runs from either of the tees as it goes straight through a medium-narrow sized farrow and takes a slight left into the open.Many of these ace runs com for RHBH players. In my 3 rounds I have played at this course. I have seen someone hit the chains and out in 2 of my 3 rounds. Very deuce-able.

Hole #16 plays of a tee that is placed right behind this hedge that makes driving very interesting as it force people to throw much higher than normal or over think some of their drives. Is a relatively short hole only somewhere around 250ft that doglegs to the right.

Hole #17 is also a pretty short hole, but much higher scores are seen on this hole as rolling hills and a tree canopy knock many drives down. I have found that the best approach for this hole is the release a very huge hyzer around everything and it will get somewhere around the basket if it doesn't get knocked down by a tree as it hyzering back.
Cons: There are very few cons on this course. Whenever I have played here the bugs have not been too bad.

You can lose a lot of discs in the rough if your the type of person that stops watching their disc as soon as they realize it's a bad drive.
Other Thoughts: This course is well suited for players of all ages and skill levels. The shorter tees make it still a very exciting course for the younger player, and produce tons of exciting ace runs for the more experienced. The long tees make this course an extremely challenging, while the distance might not seem too far the placement of the long tees and the areas you have to navigate around are key to the toughness of the longer tees.

This course is currently 27 holes. The disc golf club in this area already has plans to add an extra nine, they have the baskets just sitting inside waiting! The only problem is they need to get approval first. Once it is approved look to see UW Parkside as 36 hole course and cement itself as definitely one of the best in Wisconsin, and maybe even in the Midwest region.

If you are in the area you HAVE TO COME AND TRY OUT THIS COURSE. You will not be disappointed, I guarantee it.

There are also nice, clean bathrooms inside the school for use, and they sell new disc golf discs in the student bookstore(although the price is pretty expensive, ($18 for star plus tax is an additional fee).Mostly Innova brand, with all lines of plastic.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of variety

2-4    8/30/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2010
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays in an area of a college campus that is almost completely devoted to disc golf. The course occasionally comes close to roads and paths, but for the most part feels pretty isolated. There isn't a lot of elevation, but the variety of types of holes mostly makes up for this. There's a great mix of open holes where the wind is the main challenge, and tight wooded holes where accuracy counts.

There are various different lengths of holes, from ace runs to some where if you brave the wind you can air it out a little, especially from the back pads. Depending on the pin settings, there is a great variety of left and right turning shots that force you to use many different shots to score well. Many holes offer different lines that all offer different types of risk/reward decisions, and I like this kind of mental challenge on a course.

There are multiple pin positions on just about every hole on the main 18, and it looked like they often completely changed the hole. There were also dual pads on most of the holes, both nice concrete, and with their own tee signs. The signs were nice, with all the distances and layouts to the various alternate placements.

The area was very well taken care of, with no trash around, and nicely mowed fairways through the prairie grass areas of the course. A lot of work has obviously gone into this course, and it shows. The elevated pin and tee were some really cool added features that gave this course a little something special.
Cons: I'm not a huge fan of prairie grass rough, and there are some holes here where the main risk is losing your disc in tall grass. It doesn't really punish bad shots by costing you strokes, just time and possibly plastic. At least the course isn't all made up of the prairie type holes, but the hole design of just throwing straight ahead and working to stay out of the tall grass doesn't appeal to me.

The last time I played, there were some navigation issues, but apparently that has been resolved with better signage now. Some of the long or super-long tees were overgrown and didn't feel as well maintained, or perhaps just not as well used.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun to play, and offers something for every kind of player. It's worth the drive to play if you get the chance, though it seems like your best bet is to go on a weekend when parking is easier and classes won't be in session. I think it's awesome that a college campus has such a fantastic course exposing so many people to the sport.

Newer players will likely be frustrated by the difficulty of the course, though the distances are pretty reasonable from the short tees. More experienced players will have fun shooting for birdies from the short tees, and will find some fun challenges from the longs.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed Review

1    8/7/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: heywillard90
Played: 28  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Of the holes I found, this is how I felt:
-Extremely well manicured
-Great Accuracy challenge
-Well kept signs, pads and baskets and fairways
-Nature friendly course playing through tallgrass prairie and large woods
-Alternate tee pads at most holes
Cons: -Some extremely challenging shots that frustrated me (intermediate skills)
-Thin fairways cut out of prairie will make it very hard to find your disc if you dont keep it in
-A lot of short (low 200's) shots through a tunnel of woods which was not that amusing to me.
-I got lost many times trying to figure out where the next tee was.
-I had to feed a parking meter because I could not find any free public parking
Other Thoughts: As I read through the other reviews, it is obvious that I must have missed something. Perhaps there was alternate baskets and holes that I could have played for some more distance or open shots. But coming for the first time and not knowing the area, 3 is the score that this course gets. I feel that other players that come for the first time and do not know where all the baskets are would have similar issues. I can tell that much work has gone into this course and I know it is very popular with a lot of people in the area. It is important for the readers of this review to know that this is an initial reaction to just figuring out UW Parkside.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 East 9, Mighty fine

5+    7/30/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Have been back here to play a few times since my orig review. Much better feel for the place now. Front 18 are truly a nice course. 1 - 5 play in the open with mowed fairways nicely carved from meadow. Sig basket on 4. Rough is just that, but not too bad that you will lose a disc. 6 is a hint of what is to come in the woods later on.7, 8, 9 are amongst the trees but not quite woodsy. 10 and 11 are back to mowed prairie. I made a donation on 10 of $15.95 in the form of a lost disc. I used the pro tee pad (nicely elevated). Disc went into rough just to left of shorter tee pad. Has my area code 847 phone number on it... If you find it. Discraft Xpress in crystal Z, yellow. Thank you for calling me to give it back. 12 thru 16 are all great woodsy holes. Liked the basket on 12 with its elevation. 17 and 18 play in the open and feel like afterthoughts just to finish 18 and get you back near the start. A few holes are aceable...many are definitely birdieable.
Cons: The addtl. back 9 is not fully developed. A nice bonus for some addtl. play, but not as complete as the front side. Not a lot to gripe about here in general… a few legit things. By comparison with so much good the gripes can seem petty, but as disc golfers we seek nirvana and look for little things.
Rough can eat discs as I did lose one today, but whose fault is that? Bugs can be bad in the woods, but knowing that and bringing spray you will be o.k. Mentioned earlier 17 and 18 are sort of afterthoughts, but the trees make for some option and hazard. No fun to have to pay to park. Not really paying to play, just playing to park. Hint… use the metered spaces and bring quarters instead of buying the pass.
Other Thoughts: This was my first course that is not a clean shot with some trees. More cut out of overgrown prairie. This has hedges and natural obstacles and blind shots and lots of optional approaches. Spotters recommended. Good fun. A must play. Discs available at bookstore in main building. Nice assortment, more than before, prices are standard.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 best course in southern wi

5+    7/2/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: markfrolfs
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: this is the best course in southern WI testing your skill at the same time a great course to learn on. some unique holes and great atmosphere.
Cons: wooded parts can be harsh
Other Thoughts: i would recommend this course to anyone who appreciates disc golf

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Wooded Course

1    5/28/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: QbertPrime
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very well maintained. A wooded course that is still easy to play. I typically don't like wooded courses, but this one was a lot of fun.
Cons: I was a little confused on some of the tee boxes. I was not sure exactly which tees where the red, blue, or whites. Some holes had both red and blue on two different tee boxes. Maybe I am just not used to it being displayed this way. Not really a con, but it made the round a little confusing.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very good course. It I am ever near the Chicago area again I plan on playing this course another time.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One Not To Miss

1    5/10/2008   4/16/2009
Review By: tmgoff
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22.3 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The holes play distinct from on another. One or two of the tee locations are some of the most interesting I've shot from to date. And, if you can hit this course in the Spring everything is so frickin' green. Very, very nice. If you're in the area, don't miss this one.
Cons: Finding the fist tee can be a bit confusing. You'll want to circle all the way around the campus to the dorm area parking. You'll find the 1st tee and accompanying info board over a small rise directly beyound the parking area.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/15/2008   4/15/2009
Review By: sdecker
Played: 27  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 22.3 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Really nice course. Well laid out and maintained and a good mix of shots is required.
Cons: None that I recall.
Other Thoughts: Played this course while visiting Chicago with friends and loved it. Heading back this summer and will happily make the 1 hour drive from Chicago to play it again.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.