Sioux City, IA 
Sertoma Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #6 (Taken 3/2010)
4 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Sertoma Park

5+    10/5/2012   10/13/2012
Review By: kmhaan3
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like this course because of the variety that it has. There are some holes with elevation (throwing both up and down hills). There are some relatively long holes and some blind throws.
#1 Slightly uphill, no trees, straight throw
#2 Slightly downhill, tree line on the left, slight right to the basket
#3 Large uphill all the way to the basket
#4 Blind throw to the left. Trees on both left and right all the way to basket. Basket is on a hill which makes putting interesting sometimes
#5 Trees to throw around with a blind throw curving to right
#6 Blind shot with a ridge to throw over. Go hole for a hammer throw
#7 Severe right curve down a hill. Blind shot. You can spend time looking for a frisbee on this hole
#8 blind shot with a left curve. If you throw too far it will be down a very large hill
#9 Straight throw down big hill. Probably farthest hole but is wide open.
Cons: 1. There are only 9 holes
2. Hole 4 is kind of hard to find if you are a first time player (Up the hill to water tower, then turn right, turn right by first trail)
3. I personally think the pars are a little forgiving if you are more experienced.
Other Thoughts: First time playing is a little tough but after that it is a lot of fun. My record is a -6!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bring Your A Game!

2-4    7/14/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: FredHJ12
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very challenging course!
-The location of the course makes it very tough but not unbearable.
-There are 2 holes that stick out: Hole 3(which is straight uphill) and Hole 9(which is straight downhill.) Each of them is a very fun challenge!
-Some nice dog leg holes(Holes 5 and 7 come to mind.)
-As mentioned before, Hole 9 is just plain awesome! Straight downhill at about 450 feet-- Let your driver do the talking here!!
-All of your discs will be needed here because of the elevation and distance variation.
-I got to work on my tomahawk since I threw my driver into some trees about every other hole! I got pretty good too :)
-The baskets are in nice shape and the tees are for the most part.
-This is a park and there is playground equipment, restrooms, and a drinking fountain nearby.
Cons: -Hole 3 is killer! Went through 3 times and was out of breath after climbing up the hill each time.
-There fairway on 2 intersects with Hole 3's tee. Can be a hassle due to the rather heavy traffic of the course.
-Not a beginner's course--I struggled here!
-MUST be careful on most holes because of the trees and brush around the course. Holes 4 and 7 are ones especially. If you misthrow or completely bomb a throw, you may be looking for a while.
-The tee signs were not helpful and a few were unreadable.
-There was a bit of litter here.
-Not a whole lot of shade here except for Hole 5.
-No benches on the course.
-There were a few people that I thought were a bit disturbing here--that was only 1 of the times I went though.
Other Thoughts: One of two choices: be conservative or go for it all! This is a pretty decent course which is designed for Intermediates and Experts. I recommend stopping here if you are in the area!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Xtreme Elevation

5+    6/16/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 352  Reviewed: 345  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots and lots of elevation make this course unique and set it apart from the typical city park.
-The rough isn't too rough and you should be able to find your disc.
-There is a pretty good variation in distance and the elevation really makes it difficult to just each and every throw.
-Hole 3 is a monster. It is around 300 feet in distance but it gains at least 100. It is scary!
-This course isn't for beginners, some holes are longer and the uphill makes it seem even longer. Couple that with the rather thin fairways and you have a very challenging course. The rough isn't too bad that you shouldn't have a decent throw out of there.
-Nice baskets
-Some decent views from the top of the hill.
-This is a city park so you may see other park users but it seems to be mostly a disc golf park.
-Lots of trees but they are mostly in the rough. With a good shot you won't have to deal with them much.
-They have scorecards sometimes
-A trash can and a place to sit if you decide to play two rounds, they should have one in the middle of the round too
-Decent cement pads
Cons: -This is the only course in Sioux City (metro area of over 100k I think) so it gets crazy busy.
-#2 is in the way of 3 and when you couple that with how busy it is and how some people aren't considerate it can get scary.
-As cydisc said, the layout is interesting and limiting to how you can score. The only thing I could see happening is if you had a very accurate overhand shot that would go over the trees.
-Tee signs are there but could be a little better on the blind shots.
Other Thoughts: I think that this course could be a lot better than it is. There is land under-utilized here and with an expansion and tweaking of some of the holes it could be a 4 disc course maybe. They could comfortably fit 12 holes in here. I don't know if anyone would want to play 18 with the up and downhill walking that would have to occur. Even in it's present state, the fun factor was there for me. It was a tiring but fun round.
-You can buy discs at inflated prices at the scheels across the street.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My legs are killing me.

1    5/9/2012   5/9/2012
Review By: ben1982
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging course that has a beautiful view from the top of the course.
Cons: Hole three will kill you if your even slightly out of shape. It's distance of about 300 feet with an elevations change that rivals that.
Other Thoughts: nice course that I look forward to hitting again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/21/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: Schuur451
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a lot of elevation change, and plenty of length for driver-bombers.

The course involves both right and left hooks, uphill and downhill, good woods obstacles, and some (perhaps too many) blind shots. The variety has kept me entertained in the 30+ times I've played the course.
Cons: There is a certain lack of finesse to this course. You cannot be successful if you don't drive for ~250' consistently. You have to throw hard on many holes, and rarely have to think over shot selection too much. I only throw one shot overhand, and the rest left-hand forehand with a little anhyzer.
Other Thoughts: I think this course requires a great deal of accuracy and strength, but not much more than that. There are very few "curvy" shots that would require a good s-curve or anhyzer type shots.

That said, there is a good deal of variety in terms of direction of hook and elevation. I think the course could be expanded to 12 holes with better use of the bottom of the park and the elevation.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging/frustrating

1    8/15/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: tlandegent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.6 Years
Pros: Great shot variety, used elevation decently, most holes were full of obstacles, left hooks and right hooks.
Cons: The elevation could have been used much better. Course map was very vague. The park is very large, but it seems like the course was smashed into a very small space.
Many many blind shots (#5, 6, 7, 8) - better elevation use could have brought this number lower.
Other Thoughts: This is not a beginner course. Uphill shots with woods on both sides is not a great first date if your date has never played disc before.

The basket for #9 has been replaced.

Some reviewers mentioned that this starts at the top of the hill, but the tee for #1 is clearly at the lower parking lot down the hill.

Though the shots are hard, the designated par was silly. I shot -5 my very first time out there, and I'm just an average player. Play 3 par for all the holes and give yourself a balanced challenge.

 Up, Up, and Away..

1    3/28/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is built on the Water Tower Hill in Sioux City. This course has elevation, trees, wide-open shots, hard lefts, hard rights, and even some risk reward type greens. The first hole has a nice seating area, trashcan, and I think a mailbox that holds scorecards. This course certainly has some extreme elevation involved. The signature #3 hole is a straight shot up such a steep slope that it almost seems like you are leaning forward to walk up it. (Sadly, that photo did not turn out. Hopefully someone else will get that one soon.) If you are not accurate with your shots, some of these holes will cause your disc to go way down the hill and find yourself working hard for a recovery. The tee signs and cement tee pads are fairly clean and in good shape. This park is fairly clean.
Cons: At the time of this review, #9 basket was missing (someone there told me it should get replaced soon). #3 tee is basically in the line of fire from #2 tee. This part of the design should have been modified. The tee signs are original looking (see photos), but the "map" portion only gives you a general throwing direction. This place got crazy busy on the weekend, as it is the only game in town.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor at this course for me was actually very high for me. Even though the middle holes were somewhat short for a while, the shots were not all that simple. I really liked the accuracy type holes and wanted play this one even more than the two times I did play it. I feel that if you were anywhere near by, you would find this course worth the stop. The uniqueness of the hole layouts on half the holes made it fun.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/9/2009   11/10/2009
Review By: DiSCRoCKeR
Played: 107  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 14.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation change including a big downhill toss to 9's basket and a steep uphill toss to 3. The downhill toss is just a toss for fun as it really isn't a numbered hole. Decent scenery to be found here. This course will also provide different shots. Hyzers, anhyzers, thumbers, they're all going to be used here.
Cons: Starts from the bottom and works up and around the hill. You'll be winded once you reach the top on 3. Tees 2 and 3 sit in the fairway of the previous holes. Some of the holes could have been designed better. Several blind shots but still fun. No alternate pin placements. Some par listings are kind of ridiculous, one of which is a par 4 that's right around 250 feet. Should be par 3 for all of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course but definitely not great. A good course to practice different throwing techniques.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 So much potential, so little realised

2-4    8/24/2006   11/24/2008
Review By: cydisc
Played: 170  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 18.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: More elevation than you'll know what to do with, kinda scenic on top of the hill, Lots of trees
Cons: awkward in places, poor use of land and available elevation
Other Thoughts: I was licking my chops when I drove up to this course. So much elevation and trees available, it had to be a great course. What I soon learned was whatever potential this place had was severely underutilized.

The course starts on top of a tall hill where the opening hole bombs all the way to the bottom, about 100' vertical drop and the basket is tucked back up the hill hidden in some trees. Little chance for anything other than a drop-in 3 or you could try to punch it through the trees for a chance at 2.

From there, the course is one uninspired hole after the other. After #2 you are required to walk back along the fairway to the tee that is *in #2's fairway*. Then you are required to throw straight back up the hill on a slope that a billy goat would hate to climb. Not fun.

#4 is probably the best hole of the bunch as it throws a nice right to left shape along the ridge line with trees on both sides.

#5 is what I like to call a "J" hole. It's simply shaped like a J. You throw straight down a tunnel for 150' or so and then throw back to the basket tucked into some trees. Automatic 3. No real chance for birdie.

#7 is fairly interesting where you throw straight out for a couple hundred feet and then a 90 degree angle to the right and down to a basket on a steep slope.

#8 and #9 are ho-hum wide open shots to close out the round.

There is so much good land out there that this could have been one of the best 9-holers in the state. A few design tweaks could make that happen.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.