Sioux City, IA 
Sertoma Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #9 (Taken 3/2010)
4 / 440ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Bring Your A Game!

2-4    7/14/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: FredHJ12
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very challenging course!
-The location of the course makes it very tough but not unbearable.
-There are 2 holes that stick out: Hole 3(which is straight uphill) and Hole 9(which is straight downhill.) Each of them is a very fun challenge!
-Some nice dog leg holes(Holes 5 and 7 come to mind.)
-As mentioned before, Hole 9 is just plain awesome! Straight downhill at about 450 feet-- Let your driver do the talking here!!
-All of your discs will be needed here because of the elevation and distance variation.
-I got to work on my tomahawk since I threw my driver into some trees about every other hole! I got pretty good too :)
-The baskets are in nice shape and the tees are for the most part.
-This is a park and there is playground equipment, restrooms, and a drinking fountain nearby.
Cons: -Hole 3 is killer! Went through 3 times and was out of breath after climbing up the hill each time.
-There fairway on 2 intersects with Hole 3's tee. Can be a hassle due to the rather heavy traffic of the course.
-Not a beginner's course--I struggled here!
-MUST be careful on most holes because of the trees and brush around the course. Holes 4 and 7 are ones especially. If you misthrow or completely bomb a throw, you may be looking for a while.
-The tee signs were not helpful and a few were unreadable.
-There was a bit of litter here.
-Not a whole lot of shade here except for Hole 5.
-No benches on the course.
-There were a few people that I thought were a bit disturbing here--that was only 1 of the times I went though.
Other Thoughts: One of two choices: be conservative or go for it all! This is a pretty decent course which is designed for Intermediates and Experts. I recommend stopping here if you are in the area!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Xtreme Elevation

5+    6/16/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots and lots of elevation make this course unique and set it apart from the typical city park.
-The rough isn't too rough and you should be able to find your disc.
-There is a pretty good variation in distance and the elevation really makes it difficult to just each and every throw.
-Hole 3 is a monster. It is around 300 feet in distance but it gains at least 100. It is scary!
-This course isn't for beginners, some holes are longer and the uphill makes it seem even longer. Couple that with the rather thin fairways and you have a very challenging course. The rough isn't too bad that you shouldn't have a decent throw out of there.
-Nice baskets
-Some decent views from the top of the hill.
-This is a city park so you may see other park users but it seems to be mostly a disc golf park.
-Lots of trees but they are mostly in the rough. With a good shot you won't have to deal with them much.
-They have scorecards sometimes
-A trash can and a place to sit if you decide to play two rounds, they should have one in the middle of the round too
-Decent cement pads
Cons: -This is the only course in Sioux City (metro area of over 100k I think) so it gets crazy busy.
-#2 is in the way of 3 and when you couple that with how busy it is and how some people aren't considerate it can get scary.
-As cydisc said, the layout is interesting and limiting to how you can score. The only thing I could see happening is if you had a very accurate overhand shot that would go over the trees.
-Tee signs are there but could be a little better on the blind shots.
Other Thoughts: I think that this course could be a lot better than it is. There is land under-utilized here and with an expansion and tweaking of some of the holes it could be a 4 disc course maybe. They could comfortably fit 12 holes in here. I don't know if anyone would want to play 18 with the up and downhill walking that would have to occur. Even in it's present state, the fun factor was there for me. It was a tiring but fun round.
-You can buy discs at inflated prices at the scheels across the street.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My legs are killing me.

1    5/9/2012   5/9/2012
Review By: ben1982
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging course that has a beautiful view from the top of the course.
Cons: Hole three will kill you if your even slightly out of shape. It's distance of about 300 feet with an elevations change that rivals that.
Other Thoughts: nice course that I look forward to hitting again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/21/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: Schuur451
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a lot of elevation change, and plenty of length for driver-bombers.

The course involves both right and left hooks, uphill and downhill, good woods obstacles, and some (perhaps too many) blind shots. The variety has kept me entertained in the 30+ times I've played the course.
Cons: There is a certain lack of finesse to this course. You cannot be successful if you don't drive for ~250' consistently. You have to throw hard on many holes, and rarely have to think over shot selection too much. I only throw one shot overhand, and the rest left-hand forehand with a little anhyzer.
Other Thoughts: I think this course requires a great deal of accuracy and strength, but not much more than that. There are very few "curvy" shots that would require a good s-curve or anhyzer type shots.

That said, there is a good deal of variety in terms of direction of hook and elevation. I think the course could be expanded to 12 holes with better use of the bottom of the park and the elevation.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging/frustrating

1    8/15/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: tlandegent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.4 Years
Pros: Great shot variety, used elevation decently, most holes were full of obstacles, left hooks and right hooks.
Cons: The elevation could have been used much better. Course map was very vague. The park is very large, but it seems like the course was smashed into a very small space.
Many many blind shots (#5, 6, 7, 8) - better elevation use could have brought this number lower.
Other Thoughts: This is not a beginner course. Uphill shots with woods on both sides is not a great first date if your date has never played disc before.

The basket for #9 has been replaced.

Some reviewers mentioned that this starts at the top of the hill, but the tee for #1 is clearly at the lower parking lot down the hill.

Though the shots are hard, the designated par was silly. I shot -5 my very first time out there, and I'm just an average player. Play 3 par for all the holes and give yourself a balanced challenge.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center