Grants Pass, OR 
Tom Pearce Park Share
Uploaded By: dg_hudlow Hole #15
3 / 210ft.   3 / 296ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
If your are in the area don't miss this!

1    6/1/2014   6/6/2014
Review By: Outhousekilla
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: From trees with thight windows and low ceilings to wide open big arm throws. Close to Hwy 5 and parking was only $4.00. May wife and I enjoyed the techy lines of the threes. The course lay out is easy to follow the tarrain forgiving.
Cons: It's popular so you get to hang out in the line up for your turn on the weekend. Midweek? I don't know.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I Didn't Realize The Roman Empire Reached Into Southern Oregon!

1    8/13/2013   8/22/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tom Pearce Park is large sprawling county park located just outside Grants Pass, Oregon. It's squeezed in between the Rogue River on one side and the railroad tracks on the other. The course makes for a great stop on the drive down I-5 as well as a great compliment to the smaller 9 hole Riverside City Park course within the Grants Pass city limits.

One of the great features about this park/course is the wide range of terrain that you'll encounter, it varies from starting across a open mowed ball field to wooded to river basin to rocky outcrops. Very few courses features this kind of variety.

The course has long and short concrete tee pads. The tee signs are little wooden w/maps, hole # and distance, they're simple but very adequate. There is a $4 fee to enter the park but many cars were parked on the street just outside the gate.

The course has some very creative holes and basket placements. # 4 was a neat toss across a ditch and through the trees.

# 9 throwing from the raised box up by the RR tracks was a anhyser shot through the trees.

I liked everything about hole # 13. First it's a big sweeping hyser throw around the corner with one of the basket placements tucked cleverly up on the hillside into the trees. Big arms could reach this but with a couple of basket placements up there, it will always be exciting!

# 16 is a one of a kind type hole. You're throwing towards an old dam which looks like an old Roman aqueduct. It has the arched columns on the bottom and they serve as mandos. They're probably less that 200' from the tee box and are not all that difficult to hit. But even after getting through, the basket was in a nifty little rocky outcropping with steep a drop-off on one side.

Even from the longs, the course doesn't play all that difficult. I'd say it's intermediate level playing from the longs. Probably recreational level from the shorts.

Cons: The first part of the course is pretty standard issue and mundane.

I didn't like the second part of the mando on # 16. Going through the bottom arches is great but having the option of throwing through the top part of dam would be too open to question as to whether you actually made to through the arch opening or not.
Other Thoughts: Great solid course with a couple of really creative holes. The aqueduct hole could easily be made more difficult for tournies by forcing players to go through only one or two of the openings, That'd be a fun option, huh?

You definitely want to make this a stop on your drive up or down I-5. Just watch out for the Roman Legionnaires. I heard Maximus is leading them and they're taking prisoners in these parts.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    8/8/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: jburgi1
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of variety, great map to help you not get lost, well maintained tees and baskets. Pretty quiet on the back 9
Cons: The rough is rough, but just stay out of it!
Other Thoughts: Lost a disc on the ninth hole. Friendly local called me up the next morning, so I was able to pick it up before leaving town! Thanks!!!!!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the stop

5+    7/25/2011   4/6/2011
Review By: wildrivers
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Solid tee's pads.New baskets just put in. there are two baskets now per hole. Great variety of throws. Dogs allowed on leash. River close by. One hole close to the river for fun.Short and long tee pads. Clean park. I will play this course again. Maps on bullitin board at tee 1. If you dont want to pay the $2 parking fee, park before entrance by creek on left and walk in. I paid it, support the parks!

Cons: First 7 holes follow the circle around the parking lot, not too attractive. However, those holes are tight and fun. The last 11 are more quiet and set away from road noise/loud car speakers.
Other Thoughts: I always stop here and play when driving I-5.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 make this a stop on any road trip!

1    10/10/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: clutchcrusher
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A lot of different types of holes, long, short, open, wooded. Hole 15 was the mando through the dam I think, that was a fun one. Very friendly and helpful locals. I played a few holes with a guy named Danny, he was a really cool older guy. The hard packed ground was giving me awesome skips.
Cons: Watch out for the rocks! Watch out for the river on a couple holes, with the length of them and a good gust or bad skip and it's "bye-bye" disc. My approach shot on 5 almost skipped into the river. The last 8 or 9 holes are home made and only have one set of chains.
Other Thoughts: The locals told me they were collecting money for the last of the home made baskets to be replaced. The place really was awesome. I wish me had more courses like it in SW Washington. Good job to the crew of no doubt, dedicated locals on keeping their park so nice and working on improving it!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/7/2008   1/26/2009
Review By: mike shoys
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-not crowded at all
-bathrooms and water
-concrete tee pads that are level
-great mando through an old dam makes for a memorable signature hole.
-good length
-right by a river (not a factor on any holes) good for those hot days
Cons: -a little too open for my liking. small trees and not that many of them.
-pay $2 to park. big deal. you can walk in if you need to
-some people don't like the homemade baskets. i thought they were fine... a little skinny. just bring your putting game...
-hot hot hot! it was the middle of july, but my coastal ass got fried that day.
rough landing for discs on rocky terrain.
Other Thoughts: this course is set on a dry, arid rock bed along a river. the terrain can be a bit rough and there are lots of thorny bushes. terrain aside, this course was obviously designed very well, with complete variety of shots and good length. this is a good course, but i don't know why someone would give it a 5.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hiking while throwing...

1    12/23/2008   12/24/2008
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every hole had a nice concrete tee box for "long" and "short" tees.
Tee were all level to fairly level.
There were signs to tell you were the different tees were at since most of the time they were not on the same path, which in my mind made this 18 hole course a 36 hole course since the long and short tee normally were not in line with each other and the hole. (I played the long tees only)
Friendly locals with lots of feedback and helpful advice. (Thankx to Lynard and his grand-sons for showing me the ins and outs of the course)
Each sing had a hole and distance marker and I'm pretty sure all the short tees did also.
The grounds were well kept and cut back and down where they were needed.
Baskets were very easy to see from far away.
This course had a lot of diverse shots, but mostly straight with trees in the way to test your accuracy.
Hole 16 has a very interesting mandatory shot on it (This hole falls under the "epic hole" category).
Some good elevated tee shots and up hill shots as well and some bomb shots.
Had bathrooms on site.
Cons: No course maps on site that I saw.
Some of the course was on types of grounds that you wouldn't want to throw your disc on... but not very many areas were like this and a well placed shot could avoid it all together.
This course may be hard to find the baskets on some holes without a guide or a map... but the tees were well marked on were the next ones were, as well as obvious paths to follow. (I still strongly recommend trying to play with one of the locals for your first time)
(I love free courses) This one will cost you $2.00 per car to get into the park which is well worth it... however with the amount of people that I saw coming in to play disc golf, I would thing that the park over-seer would allow them to replace the homemade baskets one at a time instead of demanding them all be done at one time. From what I heard from many of the locals is that the people who are in charge of the park aren't really into the disc golf scene.
If you don't want to pay the $2, or just don't have it... then you could park up the road from the entrance and walk down to the park for free.
Other Thoughts: Home made baskets... I liked them a lot. They were easy to see and seemed to catch the disc very well. They are made out of old truck rims. They are big rims and seem to be the same size of most professional baskets.
This course is a bit on the rugged side... you will be hiking just a bit... not too bad though. There is black berry bushes that are probably more of an issue in the summer.
Even in the 38 degree temp, there was a fair amount of people on this course... could be crowded in the warmer months.
Running water, bathrooms, awesome scenery, camping, dogs "on leashes" welcomed... all and all a great place that I look forward to playing in the summer.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 great times

1    11/8/2008   11/11/2008
Review By: kinfolkfan
Played: 96  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2009
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Had it all.
- Very fun.
-Maps at first tee made it really easy to find our way around.
-Bathrooms.
-Creative holes.
-Alt tee pads.
-Fun for all skill levels.
Cons: $2 per car. Not bad.
Other Thoughts: I really loved this park. Lots of fun. Check it out.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Variety

7/30/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: dg_hudlow
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice surroundings and use of old dam is fun and challenging. Lots of distance and shot variety on this course means lots of disc variety, so pack all your discs.
Cons: Very easy to lose your disc so pay a lot of attention. The baskets are not good and don't catch your disc which can be very frustrating.
Other Thoughts: It gets hot and lots of the holes are in the open sun so pack WATER and bring your map.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.