Grants Pass, OR 
Tom Pearce Park Share
Uploaded By: timg  
that ditch is now filled in.



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 First Course I Ever Played On

5+    9/14/2008   3/4/2009
Review By: runnaman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has nice concrete tee pads. The holes are challanging but still really fun. The first time I went there, a few years ago, it was really over grown but they have since trimmed the place up and made it a much funner place to play disc golf.
Cons: The second half of the course is pretty much all in direct sunlight and during the summer it can be exhausting with temperatures reaching 100s. The baskets are home made and it seems to me that they are narrower than should be.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played on, that was in 2000, and got me hooked on disc golf. It was a great course then as it still is now.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Tom Pearce Rust

5+    1/12/2009   2/15/2009
Review By: discgolforegon
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unique Fairways and shot types.
Good mix of long and Short fairways.
Ample parking
Concrete Teepads, Multiple pads on some holes.
Multiple bathrooms, Vending machines
Lots of benches
Very Close to major freeway!
Cons: Some Graffiti on signs, and benches.
Baskets are getting old and the chains are very rusty.
The course can become very crowded
$2 to park, not really a CON but not really a PRO either.
Other Thoughts: This course is great if you are wanting to hop off the freeway for a quick round. There is alot of shopping close to the course and alot of food places also.
This is a natural 2 courses in 1 day stop... Tom Pearce then Lake Selmac, That makes for an AWESOME summer day! :D

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 good course.

5+    11/12/2008   2/12/2009
Review By: jacobhanson13
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: i like the mixture of long open holes and short enclosed holes. it was alot of fun. not to many hills which i liked.
Cons: didn't like the hole throwing directly onto rocks it was pretty hard on my disk and didn't like paying the fee cause i didn't know there was one. but 2 dollars aint bad.
Other Thoughts: it was over all a real good course. liked walking up on the structure and throwing from the top of it

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/7/2008   1/26/2009
Review By: mike shoys
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-not crowded at all
-bathrooms and water
-concrete tee pads that are level
-great mando through an old dam makes for a memorable signature hole.
-good length
-right by a river (not a factor on any holes) good for those hot days
Cons: -a little too open for my liking. small trees and not that many of them.
-pay $2 to park. big deal. you can walk in if you need to
-some people don't like the homemade baskets. i thought they were fine... a little skinny. just bring your putting game...
-hot hot hot! it was the middle of july, but my coastal ass got fried that day.
rough landing for discs on rocky terrain.
Other Thoughts: this course is set on a dry, arid rock bed along a river. the terrain can be a bit rough and there are lots of thorny bushes. terrain aside, this course was obviously designed very well, with complete variety of shots and good length. this is a good course, but i don't know why someone would give it a 5.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hiking while throwing...

1    12/23/2008   12/24/2008
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.1 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every hole had a nice concrete tee box for "long" and "short" tees.
Tee were all level to fairly level.
There were signs to tell you were the different tees were at since most of the time they were not on the same path, which in my mind made this 18 hole course a 36 hole course since the long and short tee normally were not in line with each other and the hole. (I played the long tees only)
Friendly locals with lots of feedback and helpful advice. (Thankx to Lynard and his grand-sons for showing me the ins and outs of the course)
Each sing had a hole and distance marker and I'm pretty sure all the short tees did also.
The grounds were well kept and cut back and down where they were needed.
Baskets were very easy to see from far away.
This course had a lot of diverse shots, but mostly straight with trees in the way to test your accuracy.
Hole 16 has a very interesting mandatory shot on it (This hole falls under the "epic hole" category).
Some good elevated tee shots and up hill shots as well and some bomb shots.
Had bathrooms on site.
Cons: No course maps on site that I saw.
Some of the course was on types of grounds that you wouldn't want to throw your disc on... but not very many areas were like this and a well placed shot could avoid it all together.
This course may be hard to find the baskets on some holes without a guide or a map... but the tees were well marked on were the next ones were, as well as obvious paths to follow. (I still strongly recommend trying to play with one of the locals for your first time)
(I love free courses) This one will cost you $2.00 per car to get into the park which is well worth it... however with the amount of people that I saw coming in to play disc golf, I would thing that the park over-seer would allow them to replace the homemade baskets one at a time instead of demanding them all be done at one time. From what I heard from many of the locals is that the people who are in charge of the park aren't really into the disc golf scene.
If you don't want to pay the $2, or just don't have it... then you could park up the road from the entrance and walk down to the park for free.
Other Thoughts: Home made baskets... I liked them a lot. They were easy to see and seemed to catch the disc very well. They are made out of old truck rims. They are big rims and seem to be the same size of most professional baskets.
This course is a bit on the rugged side... you will be hiking just a bit... not too bad though. There is black berry bushes that are probably more of an issue in the summer.
Even in the 38 degree temp, there was a fair amount of people on this course... could be crowded in the warmer months.
Running water, bathrooms, awesome scenery, camping, dogs "on leashes" welcomed... all and all a great place that I look forward to playing in the summer.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 great times

1    11/8/2008   11/11/2008
Review By: kinfolkfan
Played: 96  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2009
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Had it all.
- Very fun.
-Maps at first tee made it really easy to find our way around.
-Bathrooms.
-Creative holes.
-Alt tee pads.
-Fun for all skill levels.
Cons: $2 per car. Not bad.
Other Thoughts: I really loved this park. Lots of fun. Check it out.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A hidden gem in the Rogue Valley.

2-4    8/16/2007   10/27/2008
Review By: domromer
Played: 42  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 12 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has everything, long shots, twisty tight shots through the woods, shots on top of hills and shots down hills.

There are homemade baskets which are actually really nice. Many of the pads also have homemade benches as well.

A lot of thought and care went into designing this course and it shows. Use of the natural terrain is excellent. They also incorporated an old dam into a shot.
Cons: Muddy in the winter..but hey it's Oregon right.

Bring a map. Sometimes it's tough to figure out which way to go.
Other Thoughts: This course is often overlooked in the Oregon DG scene. it's well worth checking out.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Impressive Southern Orgegon Course

1    10/4/2008   10/7/2008
Review By: disconsolator
Played: 61  Reviewed: 7
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The layout of the course was very well thought out using lines of trees, creeks, and rocks in a very creative way. The holes start out shorter and technical and get longer which makes for a good range of shots. These go from huge bombs, to hyzers, to sky forehands, to straight alley shots.
Cons: Homemade baskets. They aren't actually that bad. I didn't have too much problem with them catching if you hit them reasonably.
Other Thoughts: Everyone knows when you miss a putt because of the sound the baskets make when you hit the "basket" part of it. The baskets are big rig wheel rims with a pole and metal circle on top. Then chains hang down the middle. They aren't nearly as bad as people say they are for being home made. It's a really decent course that you should check out. It's not too far off I-5 if you have time to stop.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Variety

7/30/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: dg_hudlow
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice surroundings and use of old dam is fun and challenging. Lots of distance and shot variety on this course means lots of disc variety, so pack all your discs.
Cons: Very easy to lose your disc so pay a lot of attention. The baskets are not good and don't catch your disc which can be very frustrating.
Other Thoughts: It gets hot and lots of the holes are in the open sun so pack WATER and bring your map.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Don't Miss It

4/9/2008   4/9/2008
Review By: waywu2001
Played: 28  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Wonderfully challenging! Take a deep breath and look at your surroundings when you're playing too. A great mix of elevation changes and open vs tight shots.
Cons: While neat at first, half-way through you'll be wishing the home-made baskets weren't homemade.
Other Thoughts: Make sure to bring a map

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.