Grants Pass, OR 
Tom Pearce Park Share
Uploaded By: domromer  



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
If your are in the area don't miss this!

1    6/1/2014   6/6/2014
Review By: Outhousekilla
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: From trees with thight windows and low ceilings to wide open big arm throws. Close to Hwy 5 and parking was only $4.00. May wife and I enjoyed the techy lines of the threes. The course lay out is easy to follow the tarrain forgiving.
Cons: It's popular so you get to hang out in the line up for your turn on the weekend. Midweek? I don't know.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Addictive Course

1    11/24/2013   11/24/2013
Review By: heitzmidan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.7 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Challenging 18 basket course and not boring. First basket is easy, but most have some sort of obstacle or the basket can't be seen from the t-box. Not a course for beginners. There are a few creeks and a pond, but no running water this time of year.
Cons: None unless you are not willing to risk losing your disk in the brush on a few baskets. Have to pay $4 to get into the park for the day or purchase a $30 yearly pass, but it is worth it. It does cost money to maintain the course. Money well spent!
Other Thoughts: Some up hill hiking. Love the remnant of the Ament Dam on 16. A bit of history. It use to be a damn across the Rogue River and used for mining purposes, but was torn down because it killed a lot of salmon.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

I Didn't Realize The Roman Empire Reached Into Southern Oregon!

1    8/13/2013   8/22/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tom Pearce Park is large sprawling county park located just outside Grants Pass, Oregon. It's squeezed in between the Rogue River on one side and the railroad tracks on the other. The course makes for a great stop on the drive down I-5 as well as a great compliment to the smaller 9 hole Riverside City Park course within the Grants Pass city limits.

One of the great features about this park/course is the wide range of terrain that you'll encounter, it varies from starting across a open mowed ball field to wooded to river basin to rocky outcrops. Very few courses features this kind of variety.

The course has long and short concrete tee pads. The tee signs are little wooden w/maps, hole # and distance, they're simple but very adequate. There is a $4 fee to enter the park but many cars were parked on the street just outside the gate.

The course has some very creative holes and basket placements. # 4 was a neat toss across a ditch and through the trees.

# 9 throwing from the raised box up by the RR tracks was a anhyser shot through the trees.

I liked everything about hole # 13. First it's a big sweeping hyser throw around the corner with one of the basket placements tucked cleverly up on the hillside into the trees. Big arms could reach this but with a couple of basket placements up there, it will always be exciting!

# 16 is a one of a kind type hole. You're throwing towards an old dam which looks like an old Roman aqueduct. It has the arched columns on the bottom and they serve as mandos. They're probably less that 200' from the tee box and are not all that difficult to hit. But even after getting through, the basket was in a nifty little rocky outcropping with steep a drop-off on one side.

Even from the longs, the course doesn't play all that difficult. I'd say it's intermediate level playing from the longs. Probably recreational level from the shorts.

Cons: The first part of the course is pretty standard issue and mundane.

I didn't like the second part of the mando on # 16. Going through the bottom arches is great but having the option of throwing through the top part of dam would be too open to question as to whether you actually made to through the arch opening or not.
Other Thoughts: Great solid course with a couple of really creative holes. The aqueduct hole could easily be made more difficult for tournies by forcing players to go through only one or two of the openings, That'd be a fun option, huh?

You definitely want to make this a stop on your drive up or down I-5. Just watch out for the Roman Legionnaires. I heard Maximus is leading them and they're taking prisoners in these parts.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    8/8/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: jburgi1
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of variety, great map to help you not get lost, well maintained tees and baskets. Pretty quiet on the back 9
Cons: The rough is rough, but just stay out of it!
Other Thoughts: Lost a disc on the ninth hole. Friendly local called me up the next morning, so I was able to pick it up before leaving town! Thanks!!!!!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course along the Rogue

1    8/3/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: Chisel
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of variety, from wide open long shots, to harrow heavily vegitated disc munchers. It is really fun to play, is very clean, and located right on the Rogue River. We took a swim after our match. Also, in mid summer the black berries are THICK - great snacking along the course. There is a mandatory obstacle feature using an old defunct dam that costs a drop shot if you miss it. Very fun use of natural features.
Cons: Poison Oak. If you don't know what it looks like, you will suffer for it when you dig a disc out of the rough, especially on the back 9. They seem to keep it cut away from the paths.
Other Thoughts: It does cost $4.00 to enter the park but that's how the county funds its parks - no taxes go into it; only user fees. Please pay - you're voting with your dollars. Throw a pair of work gloves in your bag to work with the blackberry bushes if you throw a wild disc now and then.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and Rewarding

1    6/17/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: DiscAddict22
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers some very fun and challenging tosses, good use of elevation change, especially around pins. Espect to have some wicked downhill rolls. Some nice tightly wooded holes. Good variety of grass, packed dirt, and rocky ground. Good use of trees and bushes to create throwing lanes and obstacles. I love the bridge, or dam hole, whatever you wanna call it.

The staff was super nice here, made me feel welcomed. Well taken care of property!
Cons: Gate closes at 8, so you will have to cut a round short to go repark your car outside the gate.

Rocks can eat up a disc on this course, as well as some thick foliage along the edges that looks full of blackberry thorns and probably poison oak/ivy.
Other Thoughts: This is a really well maintained course, The homemade baskets on this course are made really well, but they can be a bit hard to spot at times.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the stop

5+    7/25/2011   4/6/2011
Review By: wildrivers
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Solid tee's pads.New baskets just put in. there are two baskets now per hole. Great variety of throws. Dogs allowed on leash. River close by. One hole close to the river for fun.Short and long tee pads. Clean park. I will play this course again. Maps on bullitin board at tee 1. If you dont want to pay the $2 parking fee, park before entrance by creek on left and walk in. I paid it, support the parks!

Cons: First 7 holes follow the circle around the parking lot, not too attractive. However, those holes are tight and fun. The last 11 are more quiet and set away from road noise/loud car speakers.
Other Thoughts: I always stop here and play when driving I-5.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 make this a stop on any road trip!

1    10/10/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: clutchcrusher
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A lot of different types of holes, long, short, open, wooded. Hole 15 was the mando through the dam I think, that was a fun one. Very friendly and helpful locals. I played a few holes with a guy named Danny, he was a really cool older guy. The hard packed ground was giving me awesome skips.
Cons: Watch out for the rocks! Watch out for the river on a couple holes, with the length of them and a good gust or bad skip and it's "bye-bye" disc. My approach shot on 5 almost skipped into the river. The last 8 or 9 holes are home made and only have one set of chains.
Other Thoughts: The locals told me they were collecting money for the last of the home made baskets to be replaced. The place really was awesome. I wish me had more courses like it in SW Washington. Good job to the crew of no doubt, dedicated locals on keeping their park so nice and working on improving it!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course, good I-5 break

1    12/23/2009   1/4/2010
Review By: CVO2
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
- Technical, but not overwhelming for novices.
- Easy to get in a quick 18
- Friendly & helpful locals
- Nice break for I-5 trips
- Fine for winter play
- Good for dogs
- $2 per car is pretty reasonable, don'tcha think?
Cons:
- Dam hole is unforgiving! Lost a disc (smashed) here. Any way to make the concrete softer? :)

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hot, Windy

1    8/22/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: EclipticOne
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one nice course to take in.

Teepads are very nice, almost everyone is concrete and are a fitting length to the throws you would need.
The holes are set up to be challenging, yet rewarding for the well thrown shots.
Was nice start with shorter, straight narrow or slight turning shots to the latter half being wide open big arm throwers. The contrast to each other was nicely done and very good layout.
It is a $2 pay-to-play course, but is nicely cared for so paying is not a burden. Enjoyed the maintained park and the nice restrooms (even had a gatorade vending machine!)
Bathrooms and benchs are a nice touch to the tired and out-of-shape discers.
Enjoyed the hike and the terrain, but you probably will have to bring water with you. The sun can be quite brutal if you are out of shape, play your speed!
The homemade baskets are in good condition.
The two caretakers were nice and very friendly, enjoyed chatting and joking with the guy trying to run us over with his golfcart :-D
Cons: The homemade baskets are a little more slender than the regular baskets so putting was a little more difficult.
The weather was very warm and the wind was high, it isn't really a true con but was very difficult to play normally...
I think it was hole 15.. or 14, had a nice rock bed to greet your drive. You might want to use a high quality disc cause mine took quite the knock.
Other Thoughts: This was a VERY enjoyable course. Player the long tees, had fun throwing many types of shots required to score well. I do want to go back and play the short tees so i can see how they both play in relation to each other. I dont know how the campground was so i didnt add to either pro or con section, but it is there.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.