Grants Pass, OR 
Riverside Park Share
Uploaded By: dg_hudlow Hole #8
3 / 255ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Grungy Feel But I Enjoyed The Course!

1    8/13/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Riverside Park in Grant's Pass was certainly a high usage park on a beautiful summer day in August. There was everyone in the park from mom's w/strollers to seniors strolling to joggers to people sunning to grungy teens to disc golfers to some really mangy looking homeless dudes and finally to more teen girl skateboarders than I've encountered anywhere.

Holes 1 & 2 play along the river so that's scenic and interesting with the raft traffic and all.

The course has the Horning's Hideout heavy duty truck rim model baskets. They seem to be vandal proof. The tee pads are short versions of rubber fly pads with a small metal plate with the hole # on it. That helps with navigation.

Holes 1 & 2 play in the main, green grassy area on one side of the bridge. 3-7 cross the street and under the bridge to the brown, more scruffy part of the part and you return back to green part for 8 & 9. The layout seemed to work OK for me. I had to ask a couple of teens for directions.

The hole lengths are rec/beginner, 200 feet average. There are ACEs to be had here.

I liked # 6 and 7 both. # 6, if you throw from atop the little hill is a neat little ACE run. And # 7 is a little longer with the basket tucked into trees maybe 250' away.

The course finished with a very short little ACE 130' run.
Cons: Lots of shady characters from homeless dudes to obnoxious teens.
Chance of your disc landing in the river on # 2.
Park gets crowded.
Just a 9 hole Rec course.
Not too much in the way of a challenge.

Other Thoughts: Hey, if you're looking for more of a challenge, take the short drive out to Tom Pearce to play a more challenging 18. If you just want to chill with your friends, play here. This is a perfectly playable, enjoyable little 9 hole course. These little recreational courses are found in city parks all over the country and, SURPRISE! they're usually filled with rec and beginners players enjoying the hell outta them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beginers under the bridges

2-4    6/8/2012   8/3/2012
Review By: humchris85
Played: 113  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great for beginers and kids allmost all the holes are short and straight ahead.
- Right next to the river
- Bridges add some interesting visual aspects to the course
- Some of the first and last holes play through some nice shortly cut grass
- Lots of chances for aces
- Free to play
- Some wooded holes and some that are wide open
- Prety easy to find your way around on
- Close to major freeways, easy to find and quick to play make it a good stop off for people on the I-5 or 199.
- Most of the course could be played with a putter and a Roc
- Playground onsite for the kids if they arn't into disc golf. (and they were smart enough to not put any holes neer it)
- The white color of the baskets made them easy to see
Cons: - Holes are allmost too short. I was having trouble not over throwing hole 1 with my putters.
- Only 9 holes
- Some holes play on the other side of the road causing only a slight bit of navigation issues
- Most holes are straight ahead without alot of variation
- Homless people sleeping next to hole 8, with others asking me for money around the course
- Baskets are homemade and felt like they were a little narrow and seemed to spit out alot
- Teepads are rubber and some are prety uneven
- Crowded, lots of people playing on the Friday afternoon that I was there.
- No real teesigns, though they arn't realy needed as most holes you can see the basket from the tee
- A badly shanked drive on hole 2 could end up in the river
Other Thoughts: I think alot of the previous reviews on here were from before the redisign as they seem to be quite off from how the course was when I was there.

It seems like a good course to take the kiddies or your girlfriend that is just learning how to play to so they can learn to play without feeling overwhelmed. It is definatly not a course for advanced or pro players to do anything but practice their putting. If your looking for a course to play in the area, and can only play one I would recomend skiping this one and going to Tom Pierce Park.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Local Hangout

1    8/26/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: PDXDisc
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Small little local park course in the middle of town that is free to play.
The locals are pretty mellow and friendly(especially the guys on the edge of the fairway on hole 4 giving the lighter a workout) .
Cons: Very small - 5 holes are all on an empty lot next to the park.
Very crowded - must be the entire class of 2011 from Grants Pass High hanging out there that afternoon.
Other Thoughts: Even though it is a small and crowded course it's still worth a round if in the area. Hole 4 by itself is woth the time. 315 ft next to the Rogue River and under the 6th St bridge. The locals even though crowding the course are still cool. Especially the Centrum Silver gang that let me play through and followed along in their electric scooters. Very cool guys!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 easy to access when transiting are

1    7/2/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: joeroyer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Closeness to road, ample parking, can be played quickly for a short stop, then get back on the road. Very cool use of bridges tunnels through trees and elevation.
Cons: can be difficult to navigate
Other Thoughts: Homemade baskets were great, tees were a little difficult to locate, but were ample for the length of the course. Overall I had a great experience on my short stop

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sneak attack

1    6/17/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: wavehawk
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course made in quite a small area. The course winds under the two bridges and around the back for the last few holes except 9.
The baskets are all custom made and even though some only had one ring of chains, the chain seemed to be heavy enough (probably heavier than a mach III's) to catch any disc. Holes are challenging and well designed considering the layout of the park that they had to work with.
Cons: While I did have some great tree love on hole 7, almost giving me an ace, hole 9 was the exact opposite. Hole 9 starts out by the river and ends up and to the right on the grass. I like the layout and it is challenging. Only problem is I hit a tree trying to get into the clear and it bounced my disc into the Rogue river :(
one or two of the tee pads was missing the metal hole info.
Other Thoughts: This course was nicely done in a small area. Fairways don't really cross and it was a nice fun short nine hole course.
Watch for the water hazard

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Horrible

5+    6/6/2009   6/6/2009
Review By: Zerox169
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a city park so access is free. The scenery is also breath taking. And a couple holes do pose some minor challenges but over all it is a beginner level course.
Cons: While the layout is straight forward it doesn't make much sense. Hole 1's tee is place with a tree in a right-hand person swing/throw line. So unless you throw perfectly straight, you hit the tree every time. From there, everything goes fairly smoothly until you get to holes 8 and 9. While there is nothing wrong with hole 8 the trek from 8 to 9 is ridiculously long and in addition hole 9 is almost unplayable, playable if you want to risk loosing between 10 and 16 dollars per disc. In addition, there is no direct path to tee 9, you also have risk falling on your butt to get to it. This course isn't long enough to be tournament regulation size for 9 hole course.
Other Thoughts: Most people replay hole 3 as hole 9. On another note, this is not the original layout for this course. The original layout while heavily wooded which made it challenging on many holes but was also a 9 hole tournament regulation size course. At current this course doesn't even equal beginner regulation distance which is 2010ft. The city changed the course because of the concerts in the park which ironically no longer happen or happen on rare occasions. By comparison, this course is a joke. However if you're just starting out, I do recommend Holes 1 through 8.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 OK

5+    8/21/2008   2/25/2009
Review By: runnaman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2010
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Holes 5-9 are in a moderately wooded area making them more difficult than holes 1-4.
- Hole 5 is fun because it requires a perfectly straight shot through trees.
- Hole 9 is heavily wooded and right next to the river which some people don't like, but the feeling of getting your disc through the trees and to the hole is awesome.
- Holes lengths are not long making this a great course for beginners or casual players.
Cons: - The course needs a few longer holes.
- Hole 9 needs a concrete tee pad.
- Because it's a public course there are often people walking and it can take a while before you can throw.
- Baskets are homemade and don't work very well.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 FUN AND QUICK

2-4    7/17/2011   12/27/2008
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ***UPDATE ON 18JULY2011***
The new layout is very short, and quite easy. So easy in fact it's almost not worth coming down here unless you are just looking to improve you putting, or only have a vey short time to play.
If you are looking for a challenge, this is not it. I played the whole course with no problems what so ever with just a Innova Roc, and only RHBH shots the who way through.
From what I remember before, I think this course got worse. And definately got shorter, from an already VERY short course.

***************************
FREE COURSE!!!
Baskets were all white (same ones as at INDIAN MARY DGC) and easy to see from a distance. They also painted arrows on the bottom of the basket pointing to the next tee box (VERY NICE).
The tee pads had metal plates attached to them which showed tee, hole, and tree locations as well as hole number.
Course flow was pretty good, not too hard to play without a map.
The use of bridges was pretty cool.
There was a nice sign with rules, and a map near the first hole.
Cons: Tee pads are rubber (easy to find) but are so small that they are almost in the way more than they are helpful. The tee pads are not level.
#9 tee pad is missing.
Baskets were home made and made well, but only had a single ring of chains, which I've seen a disc go through the chains and bounce off the center poll out of the baskets as well and a disc going through both sides of the chains past the poll and out the other side.
Most shot types are straight types.
There are no distance markers on the metal plates or anywhere else to let you know how far the basket is.
Other Thoughts: I PLAN TO PLAY THIS COURSE AND RE_REVIEW IT IN THE SUMMER.
Good beginner course, definitely worth the price.
#9 with the missing tee, from what I got from some of the local players is that you can tee off from on top of the hill shooting under the bridge towards the hole, or tee of from under bride. Also I was told that many people don't play this hole since it is the only hole that you may loose a disc to the Rouge River. I say play it... it's pretty far to the river even though a roller will go into the water since it's slightly down hill to the water.
Need lager tee pads, and distance markers. Or make sure to bring a map for this course if you want to know the distances... I'm not sure where you can get a map on the course, so print one out off this site before you go.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 My

1    4/15/1994   10/29/2008
Review By: Ninja_Disc_Master
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Perfect baskets with easy to figure out mapping. This is a great introductory course with an easy access location being in the middle of town. Riverside Park is a beautiful park as a whole with an awesome playground for kids!
Cons: Some of the pro's are the con's...the fact that this is a PUBLIC park with what can be massive amounts of people can make this course unplayable.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played when I was in High School on a field trip. I didn't even care about frisbee at the time much less frisbee golf as I called it back then. When I was done, I realized it was a fun sport but, didn't decide to pick up again until 15 years later and can't wait to go back and play it again!!!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Locals Course

6/22/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: dg_hudlow
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Some cool use of city and natural elements.
I enjoyed playing under the bridges next to the Rouge.
Cons: Lots of people so it took awhile to play 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: Nice little city course but can get very crowded.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.