Barre, MA 
Barre Falls Share
Uploaded By: goofboy Hole #5 (Taken 9/2010)
5 / 691ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Approach



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Mostly Open Early, Mostly Tight Late

1    10/12/2013   4/2/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Course has a nice blend of open/wooded/mixed holes, elevation changes, distances (ranging from 158' to 691', averaging ~355').

5'x10' rubber mat tees. Good teesigns. Next tee arrows at baskets. Good online map.

Scattered remnants of stone walls along/amidst the treelines.
Cons:
Single tee/basket position.

A few baskets/tees/fairways are a bit close together - be prepared to "fore!"
Other Thoughts:
From the top of the dam, you can see the near entirety of the course in front of you - the open space immediately below you, running down to the water and stones, which separate holes 1-2 and 17-18 (number-18 is in the treeline across from, and running parallel to, the parking lot) from the remainder of the course. Past the water/stones, the open space begins to gain elevation and widen, with a patch of woods nearby to the left, bordered by the road you (likely) came in on, Trees farther back/to the right border the open space on the far side.

For those who like their disc golf mostly open and long, the front half of the course (includes the three longest holes) will provide opportunities to let loose - but still needing some control, as the water looms nearby on the early holes, and some tees and/or baskets are tucked inside treelines or have chokepoints to pass through.

For those who prefer more of a control game, the latter half will provide the majority of these type of challenges, with the trees creating fair-but-challenging throwing paths, some alternate risk-reward options, lefts/rights/straight needed from the tee, and elevation change added into the mix.

Favourite hole: #14. A mixed hole, starting in the woods, requiring a moderate right-turn at the optimal mid-fairway window to have a clean run to the basket. Loss of elevation, beginning at roughly the midpoint, too, adds to the challenge The basket sits in the open, with a small window cut in a not-overly-tall hedgerow providing the most direct path to it.

Good course, enjoyable play, decent variety. While it was fine when I played in mid-October, it appears it could be quite susceptible to dampness.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Death to Mosquitos!

1    8/25/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course at Barre Falls is very well designed and offers a little bit to everyone and gives a chance to all levels of players. The use of the changes in elevation makes your workout strenuous but offers quite a different variety of shots. Rubber tee pads are a great addition here as some of the tee pads are on a slope and wet grass sucks. It was just recently mowed (which made discs easier to find but let all the bugs come out) and the fairways were clearly defined by lower green grass. Paths were made out so you knew where the next tee box was. This was especially helpful because you would be lost without them. All of the holes except for the first two have very legible colored tee signs: this is a huge plus because on more than half the holes the baskets are out of sight. You can see multiple baskets from some of the tees; all of the baskets are numbered though so you can always go and see where you are throwing to. Public restrooms available in a shelter by hole one.
Cons: The baskets are rusting and could defiantly use some TLC. A couple of tee signs are missing. Even though the grass was recently cut(ankle high, but I am told it gets up to chest high) it still made for rough going as it was thick and all the dead stuff was left on top. The bugs are a killer and are after you every hole so bring lots of spray (even though it didn't work for me). Some of the rubber is either worn or broken off in chunks on the tee pads which can make it a difficult drive.
Other Thoughts: Orange caps are required between Columbus Day and December 31st because of the hunters. If you don't play with a local you will more than likely get lost. Hole 17 is right after the dam building off to the right. Hole 18 is across the street from 17's basket. There was a bulletin board but lacked course information. The course does look decently maintained and the park in general is very well kept up. A big thanks goes out to the Army Corps of Engineers for doing the course.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 decent

1    6/4/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: dukdukgolf
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: good layout. Some very nice holes. Pretty wide open course so a nice change for me. You can really just let it rip.
Cons: The tall grass is a bit crzy. So hard to find discs if your not in fairway. my wife gave up after like 6 holes.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wet and buggy

1    8/1/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: Tippie4
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was very well laid out, it felt very natural, none of the holes felt like they where just squeezed in. There is a nice picnic area with public restrooms. The course was full of people the day we played but the views make it a really enjoyable day.
Cons: For me this course was to wide open mowing a fairway in a field and leaving waist high grass is not my idea of shaping a course. Granted the not all hole are like that but there are too many for my taste. The baskets have a hand made inner ring of chains, didn't know what to think about them. The extra set of chains where rusty, and where not connected at the bottom of the basket. The course was flooded so bad that the 1st basket was in 6 inches of water making the 1st hole not playable. I guess one of the downfalls of being part of a damned lake.
Other Thoughts: Be ready to fight the mosquitoes I was there they where out in full force. There were also a few wet areas from the large amount for rain that has fallen this year.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/1/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: shamroc333
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is a wide open course so it is a nice play to practice distance throws. I think it is a nice walk also. Well marked off you will not get lost. It is a very playable course. Nice place to bring a dog or family.
Cons: Not much devirsity in the holes. They are all pretty wide open shoots.
Other Thoughts: This was where I played my first round ever and it was a great place because I didn't hit a tree every throw. I still play it every now and then to whip the disk around. It is fun to see how far you can throw.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.