Barre, MA 
Barre Falls Share
Uploaded By: DeafDiscGolfer Hole #5 (Taken 5/2009)
5 / 691ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Fairway



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 BARRE FALLS DAM

5+    7/6/2014   7/9/2014
Review By: VIBRAM1414
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: ALTHOUGH THE LAYOUT OF A FEW HOLES HAVE CHANGED. IT'S STILL A GOOD COURSE TO PLAY. IT'S MARKED WELL, SCENIC, AND A GREAT CHANGE FROM OPEN HOLES TO WOODED HOLES
Cons: GETTING BACK TO THE HOLES THAT HAVE BEEN CHANGED A BIT. HOLES # 6,7 AND 8 ARE NOT AS OPEN AS THEY COULD BE. YES I KNOW IT'S A SPORT THAT REQUIRES ACCURATE SHOT MAKING. BUT ON THE ABOVE HOLES MENTIONED. EVEN SEASONED PLAYERS WILL NOTICE DIFFICULTY FINDING THEIR DISCS IN THE HIGH GRASS ON THESE HOLES. THE MOWED FAIRWAYS ON THESE HOLES SHOULD BE MADE A BIT WIDER TO AVOID SLOW PLAY REGARDLESS OF ONE'S ABILITY. ON A BUSY DAY, YOU WILL WAIT.
Other Thoughts: WITH THAT SAID, JUST GO OUT TO BARRE FALLS DAM, PLAY A ROUND, HAVE A COOKOUT AND COUPLE OF BEERS, THEN PLAY ANOTHER ROUND

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Mostly Open Early, Mostly Tight Late

1    10/12/2013   4/2/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Course has a nice blend of open/wooded/mixed holes, elevation changes, distances (ranging from 158' to 691', averaging ~355').

5'x10' rubber mat tees. Good teesigns. Next tee arrows at baskets. Good online map.

Scattered remnants of stone walls along/amidst the treelines.
Cons:
Single tee/basket position.

A few baskets/tees/fairways are a bit close together - be prepared to "fore!"
Other Thoughts:
From the top of the dam, you can see the near entirety of the course in front of you - the open space immediately below you, running down to the water and stones, which separate holes 1-2 and 17-18 (number-18 is in the treeline across from, and running parallel to, the parking lot) from the remainder of the course. Past the water/stones, the open space begins to gain elevation and widen, with a patch of woods nearby to the left, bordered by the road you (likely) came in on, Trees farther back/to the right border the open space on the far side.

For those who like their disc golf mostly open and long, the front half of the course (includes the three longest holes) will provide opportunities to let loose - but still needing some control, as the water looms nearby on the early holes, and some tees and/or baskets are tucked inside treelines or have chokepoints to pass through.

For those who prefer more of a control game, the latter half will provide the majority of these type of challenges, with the trees creating fair-but-challenging throwing paths, some alternate risk-reward options, lefts/rights/straight needed from the tee, and elevation change added into the mix.

Favourite hole: #14. A mixed hole, starting in the woods, requiring a moderate right-turn at the optimal mid-fairway window to have a clean run to the basket. Loss of elevation, beginning at roughly the midpoint, too, adds to the challenge The basket sits in the open, with a small window cut in a not-overly-tall hedgerow providing the most direct path to it.

Good course, enjoyable play, decent variety. While it was fine when I played in mid-October, it appears it could be quite susceptible to dampness.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Barre Falls Beauty

1    9/14/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: dkmcphil
Played: 60  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 30.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. the course is well laid out with a good selection of open and technical holes. One some you have to have a good long drive and on others you have to use finesse and control. Overall one of the better courses i have played.
Cons: No real cons to speak of.
Other Thoughts: If this course were not 80 miles form home I would enjoy playing this course a few times per month.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

2-4    9/3/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: KCole
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout: Great layout. Excellent use of not a ton of elevation change. Some holes felt uphill the whole way, others allowed for enormous throws downhill. Great change from the largely wooded courses found in NE. A few wooded holes, and almost ever hole had some little intricacy, some group of trees or otherwise to throw around.

Tees: Most tees are rubber mats. Some felt a little short.

OB: Several holes have OB/Mando rules. (water, roads, narrow fairways. This adds some excellent technical aspects to a few holes on course.
Cons: When I went, the fields were completely mowed (tournament play). I heard this is not always the case, and that the grass gets pretty high, making discs hard to find in the many holes in the fields. The park has many benches, but not really set up around the disc golf holes. Imagine a bench or picnic table half way down the fairway for other park-goers.
Other Thoughts: Don't park your car by hole 18. Errant drives are dangerous. I got lucky and it only hit my windshield for no damage.

Bring sunscreen/hat/sunglasses if you need it. Lots of open field walking to get burnt on.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/24/2011   7/24/2011
Review By: MrHighlandPark
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.4 Years
Pros: Really open and roomy by Massachusetts standards. Most of the wholes had well defined and maintained fairways, and they required a good variety of shots (hyzer bombs, turnovers, short & sharp anhyzers, etc).

Most of the baskets had arrows pointing to the next tee pad, and most of the tee pads had good signs.

A really beautiful property with great views, and a scenic windy road on the way there.
Cons: Holes 4 through 7 need some upkeep - we spent a lot of time searching for discs, because the fairways weren't maintained at all (in sharp contrast to the rest of the course). Hole 4 didn't even have a fairway! Unless you can park a 420 foot anhyzer around a blind corner, you are searching in 3 foot weeds.

Some of the baskets had rusty chains that don't catch the disc as well as I'd like.
Other Thoughts: My gripes about four holes are sincere, but they shouldn't discourage you from playing an otherwise great course that is accessible for beginners, and still a great skill workout for intermediate players.

A moderate amount of maintenance (mowed fairways, signs on every hole, replace a few chains) could raise this to 4.5 stars in my book.

Fun course that I will surely return to.

 Another Great Stop on Our Tour!

1    6/18/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: medi0crities
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
Pros: A driver's course for sure, Barre Falls is a course I wish I had 5 minutes from home instead of 85. The course covers a lot of property, so be prepared for good exercise. The property itself is beautiful and the course personifies it. The signs are easy to read and the holes are clearly marked with their distinctive yellow tops. Some holes are challenging for those still developing a good drive, but if you have a decent approach game, you'll do fine and have a good time.
Cons: I thought the only tricky thing we encountered was midway through the course, there were a few holes in the woods that were unmarked and hard to identify. After watching a group play through, we were able to figure it out. These tee's and baskets kind of overlapped each other, oddly. I've concluded the reason for not having signs at these few tee's was because they've would've obstructed the tee drives of each other.
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of Tully Lake in Royalston, MA which makes this course one the tops in New England. A very well-kept course for intermediate novices like ourselves who love the game and aren't nit-picky about tee's being level or clearly defined fairways (even though this course has both). Have fun! Go early!

 A Beautiful Blast!

2-4    5/30/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: Anselm
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I REALLY wanted to give this course a 4, because I had more fun playing here today for the first time (and the second) than I have had on any other course (Muldoon Park, Crane Hill, Devens…) in a very long time. That is because Barre Falls is a driver's course, where I could let my long discs rip without much risk. All the holes are open - not just by New England standards. Actually Barre Falls feels a lot like courses do in Florida or Texas; most holes are long (320+ feet) with one big obstacle or "main idea" to get around, usually with a drive. This might be a water hazard as on hole 3, a stand of trees, or a curvy line to the pin, etc., most of which can be almost always be handled with a solid drive. Truly crappy drives are hard to come by; most fairways are so open that you usually have a look at the pin on the par 3s with the second shot, though it may be far. Furthermore, the long holes really let you stretch out your arm, and the multitude of elevated tees give you a chance to reach those long pins that might be out of range on a flatter course.

As far as technique goes, Barre Falls will put your driving skills to a rigorous test. As a RHBH player, I found myself chucking big hyzer bombs, long distance lasers, a couple hyzer flips, and a flick or two. My Roc even came out on a few tees.

The amenities at the park were solid: rubber tee pads, generally decent tee signs, and bathrooms/outhouses. The mowed fairways and greens looked just like a ball golf course, and were a great change of pace from the typical wooded New England course. I also think no course is complete without some water hazards, and the Ware River gets that job done nicely. The scenery was beautiful (also due to the river), and the dam was simply impressive - it reminded me of the movie Goldeneye.
Cons: My biggest gripe with the course is the simplicity of the holes. Yes, there were some stunning open holes on this course, and like everybody I love a nice downhill bomb, but on too many holes the technical game ended after the drive. In two rounds, I threw 6 - 8 technical midrange shots. On all others I was either punching a straight approach at the pin, or putting. The combination of open fairways, scarce mandos, and unthreatening OB results in holes that are very simple after the tee, where you are your own worst enemy. That is, if something is going to go wrong, it will be because you over/under threw your disc, not because you hit a tree or something.

In terms of course design, the layout of holes 3, 10, and 11 is such that the tees, fairways and baskets of these holes all seem to be right on top of each other. There was a bit of a traffic jam at this spot on our first round, and we had to be very careful where we threw, and even where we walked. Also, the grass was very long on some holes, and we nearly lost a couple discs which drastically slowed our progress. Some tee signs lacked distance to the pin, and none of them were labeled with elevation change, which would have been very useful, as this is a very hilly course. Navigation was tough, but between my friend and I, we managed to complete the 18 without too much wandering around. Just keep your eyes open, and ask the locals - they're friendly!
Other Thoughts: Barre Falls course would easily be a 4 if the tee signs were fixed and the grass mowed more thoroughly. I think it has the potential to be a 5 star course, but this would require extensive and expensive redesign; wooded holes, more technical fairways, and concrete tee pads. The ingredients are all there, though; a huge property, great terrain with very interesting woods and water, and some great tee locations. As it is, Barre Falls DGC is a beautiful and above all FUN, open course - a great change of pace here in New England. Get out and play it!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 BArrE

5+    5/14/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: tmc3442
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: long tees shots
open fairways
large course w/ no cross holes
easy to stay in order
marked tees
never crowded
Cons: tall grass
ticks
sometimes extremely windy
Other Thoughts: good for large groups
no traffic and its quite
my personal favorite.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 worth the trip

1    10/3/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: eastcoastf
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: very nice course..beautiful..very scenic
Cons: make sure you enter from barre street /side..i entered from the other side and had to drive on rock filled rode for 10 minutes to get to it.
Other Thoughts: nothing..great course..with bathroom and information available.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  varied course

1    6/3/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: insulatedmemory
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nicely varied holes. clean mowed fairways. nice tees. spread out over the land lots of walking
Cons: dont realy have negatives for this course
Other Thoughts: if you throw rhbh make sure your good with your anhyzer. and have fun

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.