Gurnee, IL 
Warren Township Park Share
Uploaded By: #19325 Hole #5
3 / 292ft.   3 / 394ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good Niner

5+    8/14/2011   12/15/2011
Review By: hebsonc9121
Played: 74  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2013
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Elevated tee pad.

Through trees as well as some open shots.
Concrete pads.
Cons: The course is not incredibly difficult so you may find large groups and families.

Little elevation
Other Thoughts: This is a good course for the area it is in and is really clean and well kept. Fun shorter 9 hole course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

1    9/18/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: donnie
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Requires a player to choose and then hit a specific line on each hole. Missing your line or choosing to play a bad shot will result in bad scores. Holes curve both ways and don't favor one style of throwing. Very easy to find your way around. 7th and 8th holes provide variety, the first 6 holes are all through the woods. 7th hole was probably the funnest to play, especially for a rhbh player. Just bomb a hyzer over the pond and shorter trees while avoiding taller mature trees farther back.
Cons: Even though the wooded holes all require different types of shots they get repetitive. Some teepads are shaped oddly or too small, but for the most part they were good. The 9th hole is short and could've have been designed better. There is probably room for at least 12 holes here, which would be nice with all the 9 holers in the area. No tee signs but this wasn't a problem and didn't effect navigation.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course that has a decent variation of holes. Hole 9 is a bit squeezed in. On Hole 8 a fence restricts rhbh throwers, I don't know if this was intentional or not so I didn't list it as a con. Good course for a quick, enjoyable 9 holes.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Lanscaping

1    6/6/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: Jax11
Played: 97  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great variety in the holes. (Distance and layout).
- Elevation on hole #8.
- Beautiful landscaping.
- Fairways were defined by a light tan mulch which stayed dry through a rainfall.
- A lot of mature trees for obstacles. (Closest thing to a wooded course in the area.)
- No real rough in which you could lose a disc.
- Enough clearance to chose other lines besides the defined fairway.
- Minor water hazards. (If you play it safe you are in no real danger of losing a disc.)
- Decent seclusion.
- Tee pads were concrete and stayed grippy even when wet.
- Garbage cans through out the course to keep it clean.
Cons: - Navigation issue between #3 and #4.
- No tee signs.
- Hole 8 plays very close to sand volleyball courts which could cause potential problems.
- Several holes also play close to a road running through the park, we saw very few cars drive on it though.
Other Thoughts: Warren is a great course with beautiful landscaping. Whoever maintains this course did a great job of making it beautiful and fun. There is great variety in the holes and the setup leaves for lots of choices on what to throw on a given hole. #8 is a great hole that utilizes the sledding hill, its a wonderful change from most flat courses in the Chicagoland area. With tee signs and some navigational aids this course could bump to a 4/5. I highly recommend this course. If I could choose one course to play passing through the Chicagoland area this would be my pick right behind Adler Park in Libertyville.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quick Course

5+    3/17/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: ltkettch17
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a lot of variety for a short course, without much risk. Most of the year, the course if very well maintained. Hole 8 is interesting in that it tee's off a sled hill. The course maintains it's difficulty in that most of the holes are heavily wooded. However, there is a pre-determined (walking) path to the that your disc should follow. If you can mirror this path, you can easily make par. Holes 5 and 7 have short tee's.
Cons: The entire course gets very muddy after rain, hole 1 and 7 especially. Hole 1 can be unplayable, or at least undesirable, when flooded. Hole 7 is still playable, but caution is recommended.
The park can be very busy with the proximity to the High School, sport fields, walking path, and skate park. Teenagers often like to 'make out' on top of the sled hill (hole 8), they generally don't bother golfers, but could distract some players.
Tee signs are missing, and there's no arrows pointing to the next hole. Players new to the course could have a hard time finding the next hole unless other players are on the course to help.
Other Thoughts: Definitely an excellent course for all skill levels. It doesn't offer a lot of distance, but forces players to use different shots on almost every hole and focus on form rather than power.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

6/14/2008   6/15/2008
Review By: TenaciousMV
Played: 25  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots required to score well; no 'worthless' or 'throw away' holes; always easy to find your disc on poor shots; poor shots are still penalized; cement tee pads; wood chips on each wooded fairway; benches; decent signs on each hole; each wooded hole is unique to the others, as is each open hole; nice area; low 'bug factor'; multiple tees on some holes; doesn't seem to get busy (wasn't at noon on a Saturday at all)
Cons: No holes that dazzle, except maybe #9; some alternate tees don't provide much more challenge; elevation only comes into play on one hole; some longish walks between holes (200-300' - which i still prefer to a pointless, wide open hole)
Other Thoughts: I was really surprised by this one. Only 9 holes, in the middle of a public park, and not a lot of distance - it was still a lot of fun. I went to this course and one other in Northern IL yesterday from Milwaukee for a road trip. My friend and I both agreed we'll be back here the next time we're in the area. Even after playing 3 straight rounds, neither of us would have left if it weren't for time constraints.

The fact that this course requires a variety of shots, penalizes bad throws, and is well maintained gives it a 2.5 - above average. On top of this, there isn't one hole on the entire course that feels like a total gimmie. Number 8 is close, but it's a downhill shot which adds something.

What really stood out about this course for me is that there isn't anything that's clearly missing. I had a very difficult time creating a list of cons, as most of them are quite minor. Even courses that I've rated as excellent have things that really bug me - this one didn't. Even though it doesn't have any holes that will blow you away, this is a course that would be fun to play all day. Warren Township Park is 'Very Good - 3.5'. Worth the hour drive for me - check it out.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center