Gurnee, IL 
Warren Township Park Share
Uploaded By: #19325 Hole #2
3 / 219ft.   3 / 219ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Better than most Chitown 9s

2-4    5/1/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 119  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in a big multiuse park with all kinds of other activity. To get to the first tee, drive all the way to the back of the parking lots and park just before the begining of the wooded area.
Variety: Holes 1-6 relatively short, defined fairways through trees. Hole 7 is mostly open (with some trees in the fairway) and longer than the most of the course. Hole 8 throws down a sled hill. Hole 9 pin is backstoped by a pond.
Nice roomy concrete tees and Mach III baskets in good shape.
Although much of the course plays through dense trees, there is no rough to speak of making finding stray shots a breeze.
Alternate tees on a couple holes increase variety and lengthen a fairly short course.
Hole 9 should be an easy two (it's short and wide open), but the basket is on a small ridge with a pond behind. It would be very easy to go long on this one.
Although I think the basket could be in a better spot, Hole 8 allows you to throw from an elevated tee (a rare treat in these parts).
Cons: Too short overall, a few of the holes could use some more D.
Hole 1 can be very swampy, encouraging you to take the easy, hyzer route rather than the more direct, more fun, slight anny route.
Navigation could be a problem for first time players (see other thoughts)
I would have loved for 8 (the downhill shot off the sled hill) to be longer, as is, the hole requires a kind of sawed off hyzer. With this tee location and the basket placed considerably farther out, the hole could be much more fun.
Other Thoughts: Navigation tips: After hole 2 cross the parking lot to your right, hole 3's tee is directly on the other side. After hole 7, walk straight ahead to steps in the side of sled hill. The tee for 7 is on top of the sled hill on the path. After 9, be careful walking back to hole 1. If you make a bee-line for it, you will cross 7's fairway. Follow the park road along the side of the sled hill, and you won't get in anyone's way.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Quick Course

5+    3/17/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: ltkettch17
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a lot of variety for a short course, without much risk. Most of the year, the course if very well maintained. Hole 8 is interesting in that it tee's off a sled hill. The course maintains it's difficulty in that most of the holes are heavily wooded. However, there is a pre-determined (walking) path to the that your disc should follow. If you can mirror this path, you can easily make par. Holes 5 and 7 have short tee's.
Cons: The entire course gets very muddy after rain, hole 1 and 7 especially. Hole 1 can be unplayable, or at least undesirable, when flooded. Hole 7 is still playable, but caution is recommended.
The park can be very busy with the proximity to the High School, sport fields, walking path, and skate park. Teenagers often like to 'make out' on top of the sled hill (hole 8), they generally don't bother golfers, but could distract some players.
Tee signs are missing, and there's no arrows pointing to the next hole. Players new to the course could have a hard time finding the next hole unless other players are on the course to help.
Other Thoughts: Definitely an excellent course for all skill levels. It doesn't offer a lot of distance, but forces players to use different shots on almost every hole and focus on form rather than power.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Gurnee Good

5+    10/29/2009   1/18/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Warren Township Center is a great facility which includes a skate park, playground, tennis courts, basketball courts, football fields, softball fields, walking trails, sled hill, and more. This is a great place to bring the family.

Signs help you find the first tee on there course.

The course plays amongst large trees. There is no rough at all. The first 7 holes are flat with #8 playing from the top of the sled hill and #9 basket raised up with a pond backstopping it.

For playing in the woods it's doesn't get too muddy. There are nice wood chip fairways.

It has nice DGA Mach 3 Baskets.

Most of the cement tee pads are nice and large. Holes #5 and #7 have a long and short pads.

There are some challenging shots with a good mix of distances. Even though there are a lot of trees it is beginner friendly since it lacks rough.
Cons: #1 and #9 tee pads are very short.

#1 can have standing water in the fairway. If you play the shot down the middle it is a good mid range turnover shot. The designer left open the right side for a righty to throw the hyzer out and around. Poor design.

#8 used to be a really nice long downhill shot but they moved the pin shorter and right next to the volleyball court.

A walking path comes into play on many holes. This course has quite a few pedestrians walking around. Please be careful.

This course can be difficult to navigate. Many tee signs missing and vandalized.
Other Thoughts: This course has been tweaked and changed since it was installed in 2004. The photos in these pictures are incorrectly numbered and a few are no longer the same.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Decent 9 holer

5+    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 230  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 22.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2010
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course is in a very well maintained public park. A nice man-made pond comes into play on the final hole. Holes 1-7 play through the trees and force you to make accurate shots. These are fun holes. Holes 1, 2, 6, 9 are < 250 foot deuce holes. Holes 3, 5, 7 offer a significant challenge for even pro-caliber players. All holes are par 3.
Cons: I respectfully disagree with the review that says this is the 2nd best Chicagoland course. This is decent for a 9-holer, but don't expect too much. Hole 8 plays off a sled hill, but is only about 280 feet which is kind of a waste. Most of the land isn't used out here. With long tees the course could have been a great challenge and fun for all players.
Other Thoughts: Land isn't bad for disc golf and could have been used much better. Holes could have been lengthened quite a bit and some variety could have been added (hyzer/anhyzer) to make the course more fun to play for all. All in all, one of the better 9 hole courses in Lake County and you can work parts of your game out here.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best maintained course . . . alightly above average layout . . . ok difficulty.

1    8/2/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) This is by far the best maintained park and course I have ever seen. It is obvious when you pull in what you are going to be playing. Signage directing you all around, a big Hole #1 disc golf sign (although the sign that tells you where to park for disc golf is wrong you should park to the right of that sign by the sled hill). The park has so many activities and people seem to flock to this property for their recreational needs.

2) Facilities to use multiple times through the course (not usually necessary for a 9 hole disc golf course) but it goes to show how much this community appreciates this park.

3) Mulch path runs from hole to hole and even shows you the fairway on multiple holes. Off to the sides in those wooded holes however they have obviously cleaned things up. There dont look to be too many stumps and all of the leaves and debris must get removed from time to time because it was very clean.

4) Nice variety in his course design. There is a downhiller off the sled hill which is cool. There is a basket tucked about 15' short of a pond that you cant see (but can assume it is a pond behind the basket). They have some nice wooded holes on the rest of the course. There isn't a single wide open hole which is positive. There are some trees affecting how you play all the other 7 holes.

5) Holes turn different directions forcing different shots which is nice.

6) Beginner friendly. Something I always like to see. If oyu bring a beginner here they will most certainly want to play again because it isnt too punishing, and it is very scenic and very clean and well maintained.

6) Nice big concrete tee pads on 7 of the holes. There are a couple small ones which I mentioned down below.
Cons: 1) Too many activities and other things going on to safely have a disc golf course during the mid day. I got their when it opened so I only had a few walkers to worry about, but mid day I would assume you would encounter too many other people and other activites.

2) Short stubby tee pads on a couple holes. They went to the effort of making them a trapezoid shape which I like, but they didnt hardly allow a runup even (maybe 6 feet long).

3) Distances on the signs seemed wrong, I think they have not been updated since the course recently changed. I think theonly holes that changed were #1, 2 and maybe 3.

4) Move the basket away from the volleyball courts on #8 it is too close and an errant or weak shot will curve left right into the court.

5) Fences on the #8 hole are also in the way. I know they are there to protect the courts and the pavilion but just move the basket up to the right under the big oaks and you will have a better hole to begin with and one that won't bring other people into harms way.
Other Thoughts: As I said this is the best maintained course I have ever seen. it is 5 years old and shows no signs of wear. It has recently been changed slightly. It is an average to above average layout and challenge. It isn;t very difficult because the distances are short enough to have one errant throw per hole and still be able to recover for par.

Great overall experience!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Decent little course

1    4/28/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly flat wooded park. Most of the holes play through fairly dense trees that force accuracy and punish errant drives. The one open hole plays off the top of a sled hill, making for a fun spot to empty your bag. The last hole plays near a pond that adds a little bit of risk/reward to the course.

The course has decent concrete pads that seemed plenty big for the mostly short holes on this course. The baskets were in fine shape, and caught well. The park is nicely maintained without a ton of trash, and the grassy areas are well-mowed. There are holes that force different lines, and don't allow for an easy hyzer shot on each hole.

Cons: There's not a ton of distance or real difficulty here, despite the wooded fairways. Only the 8th hole off the sled hill was really memorable, the rest seemed fairly similar to me.

Most of the tee signs were broken, vandalized, or missing. There were some places where there were awkward walks between holes without any kind of next tee marker to make the navigation easier. The park had lots of other people, and there were a few places I had to wait for joggers etc.
Other Thoughts: This course plays well for a beginner while still being fun for more experienced players. There's not a ton of challenge, and no real places to lose discs other than the pond at the end of the course. New players might find the navigation an issue their first time through the course.

This is an ok little course, but nothing really to distinguish it from the many other mediocre 9 hole courses around. Don't drive way out of your way for this one, but play it if you're in the area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 poor course

2-4    7/2/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: markfrolfs
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: nice holes, at a park so you can ditch the family to enjoy a quick 9 hole game, great maintence and not as many bugs as i thought there would be. challenging paths from tee to basket, lots of potentioal
Cons: tees are confusing with no signs sinced they re arranged the course, vandalism high due to idiot kids

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Nine Holer

5+    5/19/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: StrikerME02
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great nine hole course with noth wooded and open holes. Its very good considering that its only nine holes. It might look easy, but all the trees produce quite a challenge. Many of the holes are very ace-able. Hole 8 is probably my favorite hole on the course. You throw of a decent sized hill and watch your disc catch the wind and land by the basket. This is one of the few completely open holes on the course. This hole would also be a great one to practice accurate drives as there is nothing to get in the wayof you and the basket. I usually throw at least two of my discs when I get to this hole.
Cons: Sometimes when playing this course I feel like there might be just too many trees. There is a small pond by hole 9 that many players have lost their discs in. This would happen if you overshot hole 9 as your disc would make a decent splash in the water. Finally, since this is a park for things other than disc golf it is usually busy. By this I mean there are always joggers, bikers, and even landscapers (now and then) that you might have to wait a couple minutes for them to clear.
Other Thoughts: To sum up this is definately a course worth playing if you are in the area. Like "steven2361" mentioned this course has changed a little bit from 2008. He pretty much covered all that needs to be said. Although it was a better course before the changes it is still a very good and FUN nine hole course

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pros/Cons + Course Changed

5+    5/19/2009   5/19/2009
Review By: steven2361
Played: 170  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of shots, it'll challenge your accuracy if not necesarily your driving power. Hole 8 of the sledding hill is great. I usually end up throwing all my discs before i go down to finish the hole.
Cons: Very Wooded, trees help and hinder. Many runners, bikers, sports ect. Park itself gets very busy. Water Hazards come into play when it has rained recently and lake is by holes 7 & 9.
Also, it's usually very muddy. All signs are gone/stolen. There is also much litter.
Other Thoughts: The course is changed from whats in the pictures. Old 1 is the new 2. New 1 is from the road to near new 2's tee. Old 2 & 3 no longer exist. :( I guess they took it away because it was too close to the high school. The new 3 is now nearer to the parking lot and straight towards near the baseball fields. Also Hole 9 was changed to go towards the lake on the left. It is also a very short hole, dont overthrow it into the lake.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A- = Almost as good as a 9-holer can be

2-4    4/12/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/28/2011
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B+
(Playing fences, paths and seasonal standing water (hole 1 & 7) as OB the trees give the fairways defined shape and decent punishment for errant shots. Definitely a technical course.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == B+
(From the long tees where they exist, this course is a challenge to get to 4-5 down on. True, there are a few very short holes, but those are balanced by some long and tight ones. I score well on many courses using one driver, one mid and one putter......not this course - I need multiple discs to score well. I think this is the x-factor that bumps my overall score to an A- from what otherwise averages out to a B+.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B+
(This course has variations of right, left, straight and down that is pretty good for only 9 holes. At least 1/2 the holes really force you to throw on a specific line. I would say the designer maxed out the land given.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B-
(Clean park that is well maintained and pretty. Seclusion is minimal.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == +1
(Bonus point added for hole 5 that is unreachable and requires good placement on the drive to get a decent look for your up and down to the basket. A little short for a really good par-4, but kudos for including this sort of hole on this course!)

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.