New Boston, MI 
Willow Metropark Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
4 / 281ft.   4 / 365ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Long Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
the typical metro park feel.

1    4/8/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through a low land area in a large-ish metropark in a small town on I-94 and 275. Plays very close to the highway and airport and is LOUD most of the round.

Teepads-- huge and in good repair. because they are built on mounds, they aren't wet while the rest of the course is drenched.

Teesigns-- typical metropark signage. not overly descriptive. shorts do NOT have signage.

Routing/nav-- easy peasy. follow the trails and it's a snap.

Baskets-- all in good repair. could be a little more visible in the thick thick woods.
Cons:
Water-- this course must be built on the lowest piece of property possible... by the time we got to #10 there was near a foot of water on the fairways. We had to turn around and go back to 18.

Variety-- the course does have a nice mix of straights/rights/lefts but there is no difference in the terrain you're playing on. spotty trees, scrubby, thorny rough dominate the scene.

Risk v Reward-- none really. aside from leaving the fairway, the water doesn't really come into play much (unless you're b3nder)
Other Thoughts:
stereotypical metropark setup. nothing special.
wasn't overly impressed.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Free to play inside the Metropark

2-4    8/23/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: Trizzor
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice mix of holes
Free to play (Kensington and Hudson charge)
Generally low traffic, from my experience.
The Tee signs are top notch!
Cons: Bugs - see other thoughts.
Brush/rough, in some spots is very very brutal. It takes much longer finding errand shots if you're the type that doesn't give up.
Other Thoughts: The bug situation was, unbearable.
First time here, we left after 6 holes because it was so bad.
The second time we brought Picardin on clothes and Deet 10-15% for us. This was not enough, by hole 8 we still were being eaten alive. At hole 9 we met another group that was using Deet 95%... that seemed to work. Until I got home and discovered my first tick bite. Not fun at all.
The next time I goto Willow, it will be early Spring, Fall or Winter.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Truly great course if the time is right.

5+    6/23/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: Robocision
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Excellent signage depicting hole layout and distance.
-Best concrete teeboxes I've ever come across.
-Wonderful individual hole layout.
-Most holes are actually carved out of a dense woods. This gives a great sense of individuality to each hole.
Cons: -Insects are the worst I've ever seen.Seriously, don't even bother coming without bug spray in the warm months.
-The majority of the course is in a lowlands or wetlands type location. If it has rained at all in the last couple weeks, the course is nothing but mud. The wettest, squishiest place I've ever been.
Other Thoughts: If the timing is right and you have bug spray, this can be one of the best disc golf experiences you can have around here.

I highly recommend this course if you enjoy fall and winter play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Swampland Special

5+    5/23/2013   6/1/2013
Review By: Seraph
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/8/2014
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Not much new to add here. Everybody is petty spot on with their reviews. I would like to add that i find this is a very good course to practice on. I'll play weekdays later in the day and have time to make multiple throws per shot per hole without disturbing the play of other players. No other course near me has that.
Cons: Wet throughout the spring/early summer.

Bugs.

Nothing new to report here.
Other Thoughts: I just like this course to practice on with a friend or two. So that merits a better than average rating in my book.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Willow

5+    4/28/2013   4/29/2013
Review By: TuRbii
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 24 holes!
Variety of holes
2 tees
Signs at each hole
Maps for new players to help you not get lost.
Lots of parking
Buy a metropark sticker and play for free!
Cons: Lots of trees on some holes
If it rains the course tends to stay wet for a while
Bugs in the summer - bring spray
Other Thoughts: Overall great course. My favorite in the area. There are always friendly people around. If you show up alone you'll be sure to find a group to hop in.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Short but very techical

2-4    8/26/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: kjmaclean
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very tightly wooded course especially in summer when everything is leafed out. I like this course because from the back tees you must shoot straight or find yourself in the bushes. Excellent for training you to hit gaps and not overthrow off the tee.
Cons: So much growth that the course forces you to shoot putters and mids from the back tees on some holes, unless you are a good pro. You can luck out on a bad shot and find the fairway, or you can bounce off on a good shot into the trees.
Other Thoughts: Very technical. Great course for beginners or experienced players, if you want to learn how to control your disk. Any error you make off the tee will be magnified, especially if you play from the back tees.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Variety, Fun Course, Area's Best

5+    6/18/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: MrDiscinox
Played: 43  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Technical without being too challenging. I've taken a lot of beginners out here for their first round.
- GREAT winter course. Opens up the fairways and no bugs!
- Big drives, putter flicks, left and right... This course is only lacking more extreme elevation changes. They use all that is available though.
- Good shots are mostly well rewarded.
- Usually not crowded.
- Metropark maintains the course very well with updated signage, scorecards, message board and regular mowing.
Cons: - Luck plays on bad shots. Very wooded in some areas leading to good shots going bad and bad shots going good. As mentioned, good shots are mostly well rewarded.
- Summer brings mosquitoes by the millions. Wear pants and bring strong bug spray and you should be fine. Keep your disc out of casual water.
Other Thoughts: An excellent course. Doesn't see much play due to mosquitoes. Personally, I like having the course to myself. There have been times where I didn't play more than 3 or 4 holes before returning the car, defeated by the bugs.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well kept course

2-4    6/30/2012   6/30/2012
Review By: PerfectPair
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is maintained well, minimal trash left about, well layed out, well marked. Friendly locals. Some nice challanging shots with wooded areas without having to feel like you are on a jungle safari to retrieve a disc if it gets away.
Cons: mosquito heaven...bring BUG SPRAY, or prepare for a transfusion lol! :)
Other Thoughts: We are new this year to disc golfing and have found that we are hooked! Though I have found quite a few courses that I like for many different reasons, it seems that the metro/county parks tend to be a little better maintained and alot less trash tossed around.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Willow

1    2/27/2012   2/28/2012
Review By: Haynes
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very well Maintained
Secluded
Extremely Technical
Ace runs
Picnic Tables and trash cans at nearly every tee
Very friendly locals
Practice basket before entering course.
Really nice tee signs at every hole
Course maps / score cards / pencils in the mailbox by tee 1
Cons: Very Flat
Floods
Other Thoughts: Great Course, Great locals. No one was at the gate when we went so it was free 2 play. I would recommended this course to anyone.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    7/16/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: dlask1981
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Well marked course very easy to navigate. The heavily wooded areas create plenty of shade even in july its not to hot. Almost no traffic. Nice mix of ace runs and longer challenging holes.
Cons: Bugs can be a huge problem. The first time I went it was almost unbearable. Thick rough makes finding discs very time consuming. Plenty of picker bushes.
Other Thoughts: 7/15 Bugs were not bad at all. I went around 12pm. I think this dry hot weather may be keeping them away. No flooding at all the creek beds are totally dry.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.