New Boston, MI 
Willow Metropark Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
4 / 285ft.   4 / 385ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Long Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 good long course for die hards

5+    10/1/2007   7/4/2008
Review By: compn
Played: 43  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: highway accessible. nice long course to work out the kinks. holes are a mix of open and well designed tunnels. mix of shade and sun.

starting holes along the river are difficult tunnel shots with creeks on both sides.
Cons: airplane noise pollution keeps the conversation to bursts. mosquitos are absolute game-killers during any spring-summer months.
Other Thoughts: tried to play with lots of bug repellent, but gave up after one hole when 100s of bugs were bouncing off me + friends.

watch out for ranger bob, even tho there isnt a person in the booth most days, he will ticket you if you dont have a metroparks pass on your car.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very challenging, technical course

1    9/11/2001   6/11/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As with all the Michigan Metroparks, the course has great signage and tee pads. Also, the fairways are mown tightly.

The biggest pro with this course is that it is very challenging and will give your game a very complete workout. Most of the holes are moderately long, so power comes into play, but only if accompanied by accuracy and smart shot selection.

The course has some very good holes as well as a couple par 4's.

There are many points where choices need to be made, particularly in regard to how hard to get on the throttle.

It's likely that you'll not see any other park users during a round and the wooded seclusion is very attractive.
Cons: Willow does have significant drawbacks, however, as the previous reviewer has pointed out. The course is a bit of a beast and I think would be best as an 18 hole layout, instead of 24. This is particularly true in light of the fact that many holes are redundant in terms of design.

Although I prefer tight, technical courses, I feel that this course takes it too far for 90% of players. Many of the holes could be greatly improved by removing a few trees and widening the fairways at key points.

Particularly in the summer months, the schule can be very nasty. Some blind shots, coupled with the schule can make for lots of time hacking through the brush looking for discs.

A lot of the time the course can be quite swampy and full of mosquitoes. The months when you have the best chance of a good experience are only May-June and September-December.
Other Thoughts: Remember: Don't be a dirty disc golfer. If you pack it in, pack it out!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/1/2007   6/10/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2009
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
Course Navigation-
This course is very easy to follow and has tee signs on every hole. It would be hard to get lost.
Cons:
Hole Variety/Course Layout-
Basically every hole is heavily wooded along the sides, with long, straight, needle threading throws. If your disc knicks a tree along the edge and heads into the woods its pretty much gone! All the holes are VERY similar. Too add on, there was even random water patches (some almost uncrossable).

--I dont mean to hate on this course, but at the same time I do. I played this course somewhat decent, so Im not just saying this because I had a bad round. I played with a group of 2-4 year exp. players, and we had to stop about 10 min. at each hole to search for a disc or two in the THICK THICK. Also the bug swarms were really bad.
Other Thoughts:
--The only reason I even gave this course a 2 rating (reasonable) is because there are both pro and am concrete tees, 24 chainstar baskets, and 24 tee signs, but besides that I believe this course hurts the sport more than it benefits it!!

{Note}--- I played here on an average August day and all the cons I listed were present. I can see this course being more enjoyable on a DRY early spring/late fall day. But on a wet day with fully grown brush, this course can be unplayable!

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.