Streamwood, IL 
Shady Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: El Mexicano Hole #15 (Taken 8/2009)
4 / 739ft.   3 / 480ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
just ok

1    10/28/2012   10/29/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 75  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -awesome signs( like the best i have ever seen)
-good cement pads
-nice park
-lots of options with alternate pads and a few alternate baskets.
-the first few holes are solid being under big oak trees(i am a big fan of this). and have a creek that comes in to play on 2,3,4
-hole 4 i like a lot with the basket on the other side of the creek
-i like the holes on the back side that go along the woods that are near the school(12,13,14)
all of these have woods that come in to play 12,13 on the right side and 14 on the left that make you keep your shots straight.
Cons: - a lot of open shots, one of these is 750 feet. some people might like this but i thought that the long field shot was just kinda lame.
-so much water on the course. me and a friend even spent a while looking for a disc that ended up being in a little creek that was like 2 feet across but like two feet of deep stagnant gross smelly water. and the thick groups of cattails seem like they would be brutal to look for a disc in with lots of water in them. lol and even the paved paths that lead from the pad near the baskets were flooded and we had to get around on random wooden pallets that made a makeshift bridge through the marshes
-a lot of repetitive holes
Other Thoughts: i was not a big fan of this course maybe i just need to play it when it is dryer out. a few more trees would really make the course better.
this being said it was solid for a course built in a multi use park, and if i lived close i could see myself playing it.but being a 30 min ish drive north from my house. i would much rather just go down south instead to any of the courses down by Joilet

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Some tips

2-4    7/6/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: tdizzledre
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -It's very open
-It has alternate tees
Cons: -You lose your disc in the thick crap, It's gone for good unless you have the time to look for it.
-You can never find the alternate tees
- It gets really hot when you are out in the open cause of the sun.
Other Thoughts: This course is more for those who have a year or 2 of experince with the game. Just cuz it's open dont mean it isnt hard

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Where do I go?

2-4    10/18/2008   4/30/2009
Review By: Nosh
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Large park and quite challenging. A good variety of holes. Has potential to be a player favorite in the area.
Cons: Can get pretty swampy after heavy rain. Tees and basket locations not marked well at all and can get confusing. Can easily lose discs in tall grass/cattails. Course would do well with a restoration.
Other Thoughts: Map is available at the community center but not very helpful as course is not well marked. I've only played there twice and would have probably had a better time playing with someone who has played it more to show me around.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Confusing first experience

2-4    6/30/2008   4/30/2009
Review By: lko102
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well laid out course. Some good long holes mixed with some shorter technical shots makes for varied play. Minor elevation changes keep things interesting.
Cons: Very confusing for someone playing there for the first time. Very easy to play towards the wrong basket on several holes, as you don't know where you are supposed to be throwing towards. All the yards in the area seem to drain into the park, so any significant rainfall will flood the lower areas of the course.
Other Thoughts: Bring a spotter. Several holes play along, through, or over tall grass in swampy areas. You'd best be covered in bug spray, old shoes, and long pants if you are going to venture into there to look for your disc. Overall a decent course that is much more entertaining once you have struggled through your first round and know what you're aiming at.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not sure how I feel about this course...

2-4    10/4/2008   10/4/2008
Review By: krc1130
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent layout. I believe this course used to be nine holes only, and they've expanded to 18 in the last 5-10 years. Good amount of parking for this larger course. Decent obstacles, though not on every hole. Fair layout, providing a number of different challenges with tall grass and trees.
Cons: Please disregard where the course description says this course is "easy to navigate." While there may be markers at the tee area, they are very unclear as to where you will be shooting. No concrete tees is disappointing, and the first tee is pretty tough to find. The parking lot closest to the road has a sign saying "disc golf course", but the first tee is quite a ways from there. The baskets are terribly rusty and need updating in the worst way. Very murky/swampy, and not fun to navigate through in some points. Little change in elevation.
Other Thoughts: I was disappointed with this course. I might enjoy it if I play through again with someone to spot my discs (thankfully I didn't lose any), but I was just not pleased with this. '744 is totally excessive for a single hole, but I guess that's a personal preference. I wouldn't play this course alone again...very, very easy to lose a disc in the brush. I was thankfully able to find one after an errant throw on hole 9. Bottom line, not a great course to play. It was somewhat busy, but not the worst I've seen. Very friendly people at this course, but the course itself left a lot to be desired.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Bring your hip waders

5+    3/26/2010   2/12/2008
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 140  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 19.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2013
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The area around Shady Oaks is dominated by 9 hole pitch and putt courses. Shady Oaks is 18 holes and has some decent distances, making it a favorite for the more serious players in the area. The majority of the area the park encompasses is a swampy area that is a detention basin for run off from the surrounding neighborhoods. It has some nice space, and one of the big selling points to disc golf is we can use "wasted" land that isn't good for anything else. This would be a classic example, as the land is really not appropriate for anything other than a walking path. Holes #1, #2 and #13 use a little elevation, otherwise the course is basically flat. Most of the holes are open (holes #1, #2 & # 13 are moderately wooded) but they offer a bit of distance. There are several shots in the 350'-400' range. The tee for # 1 is in an odd spot (the tee for # 2 is the easiest to find) but once you locate the first tee the course is relatively easy to follow.
Cons: The tees are dirt and in poor condition. Given the swampy nature of most of the course, the tees are often muddy and footing is treacherous, making those longer holes even more difficult. The swamp does come into play in a few spots, so waterproof socks are a good idea here. The swamp is also home to a healthy bunch of mosquitoes, so bug spray is highly recommended. There are few trees and not a lot of elevation, so the holes start to get monotonous. Hole #15 is 700'+, but it is a classic example of "long for long's sake." The baskets are old and mostly have the shallow basket attachments. The basket on hole #14 is badly bent. A new set of baskets would be an definite improvement. The beat-up rusty baskets are in keeping with the overall look of the park; lots of garbage and broken glass laying around, battered tee signs, broken-up slat bridges and the overgrown look of the swamp make this park less than attractive. The baskets for # 3 and # 18 are pretty close together, and there has been a general confusion over which basket was for which hole when I have been there. One basket has no number and the other has the number torn off the front of the number plate. There is an "18" on the back of the number plate, but it looks like a "3" filled in with sharpie to read "18." At any rate, if that was the basket for #18 you have to walk in front of it to get from the # 3 basket to the # 4 tee.
Other Thoughts: Because it is a detention basin for storm water run off, it floods pretty quickly in a hard rain. If you are there and it starts to rain heavily, you should run for the hills.

The Chicago area has very little in the way of good courses. Because of that, some lackluster courses are regarded very highly locally because they are the best that the area has. Shady Oaks would be one of those courses. Rated against the other nearby courses, Shady Oaks would have to be considered one of the best. Rated just on its own merits, it is far too flat and open to really be anything special. Add in the bad tees and bad baskets and it is a pretty disappointing course.

***UPDATE: It appears that concrete tees and new baskets have been installed since I last played the course.***

***Update Two - When I went back to Shady Oaks I was expecting to bump up my rating. I was under the impression that improved baskets and tees would make a big difference. In reality, it was more like lipstick on a pig. The course was still flat, open and swampy set in an ugly Water Reclamation District site masquerading as a park. There is a dedicated group that have done a lot of work on the course, and their efforts are appreciated and applauded. By raising the pins on #6 and #8, they are making an attempt to do something about the boring so-so golf this course has to offer. In the end, it's still boring so-so golf. It is still one of the best courses in the area, but that says more about how bad the courses in the area are.

When this was the closest course to my house I played it a lot. Probably 1/2 of the time I was so bored by the golf that I skipped #16-#17. It was just two more boring open shots, and you can just walk over to #18 from #15 and get out of there. Even now with concrete tees and new baskets, I had to force myself to pay #16-#17. Good courses make me wish I had time to play another round. This course makes me try to figure out how quickly I can get the Hell out of there. Even with the improvements, I can't raise my rating.***

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.