Streamwood, IL 
Shady Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: El Mexicano Hole #9 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 325ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great for intermediate players

2-4    8/15/2011   8/15/2013
Review By: Jagidlund
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -18 long holes to play
- pretty open course with a few wooded holes
-most trees do not present a hazard when throwing
- a few water hazard holes
-great course to practice those long drives
-close to a couple other decent courses
Cons: -not much cover to filter out wind
-cat tails make water hazards even more difficult to play around
-flat, depressed fairways on a few field holes flood easily
-hard to navigate in the middle of the course by the subdivision
Other Thoughts: This is a great course in my opinion. You get a little of everything here. The holes are long enough to make a decent day out of one round and there are 2 or 3 other courses relatively close by that are worth checking out. One in particular is black bear-only a couple miles away.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/23/2012   10/7/2012
Review By: Stankyjahnke
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -love this course
-hole 2 is awesome you can make a choice to go for a ace birdie or play it safe and lay it up before the creek
-great course to work on it distance drives and accuary
-has some elevation changes alot of cat tails and hazards
-definitely a long one
-never had a problem with it being crowded or waiting on people
Cons: -cat tails are rough and will steal ur disc but it's been super dry this year so at least you can look in there
-a couple holes play right up against people's backyards
-not a course for beginners there's some long holes and it gets windy there
-navigation is a little weird first time there
Other Thoughts: Great course to make a day of. Takes about an hour and a half to play I'm sure a second round would just be exhausting. Bring bug spray in warmer months

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/17/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: Andy in Lisle
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads and signs
-Most players are expienced
-Multiple tee locations and baskets are moved occasionally
Cons: -The marshes are discs eaters
-Gets mushy in quite a few places after even a light rain
-Variety of distances but lacking obstacles other than the wet areas
Other Thoughts: If you do throw a disc in the marsh the little kids who spend the afternoon looking for discs in there usually call

The hole sign are helpful but confusing with all of the alternate tee location and disctances. Sometimes I was really sure how long the hole really was.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Potential

5+    7/13/2010   9/22/2009
Review By: chiefcastor
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A stream and cattails are in play on a few holes making this course a decent challenge. On more than a few holes, the stream and cattails make you question whether you should lay up or go for it.

The course makes good use of the little available elevation change. Hole 2 is downhill with the stream just behind the basket. The basket on hole 5 is located on a steep slope that you play along instead of up.

There is quite a few longer holes to really let loose on. Hole 15 is 739 feet.

Brand new concrete teepads.

Brand new Chainstar baskets have been put in and a lot of holes got new basket placements.
Cons: Signage for course is ok at best and it can be confusing if you don't have a guide. Alternate tees are almost impossible to find even with a guide as they are marked by two bricks in the ground.
Other Thoughts: The course is set back in a neighborhood. Backyards butt up against the edge of the holes at the edge of the park.

It can be quite soggy for a few days after a good rain.

There is a local club that is actively trying to improve this course. So, many of the cons could disappear within the next few years which would make it easily one of the better 18 holers in the area. Brand new concrete teepads and baskets are in and signs are on the way.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course design, but flawed

2-4    8/26/2008   8/26/2008
Review By: m1ke
Played: 44  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Outstanding variety of holes, with plenty of interesting twists; holes on sides of hills, among thick saplings, at bottom of hill in front of creek, on other side of creek from most of fairway, etc.
Most fun I've had playing in western suburbs of Chicago.
Cons: Wet, wet, wet ground- I think I'd wait for at least a week after the most recent rain to play here, otherwise a third to half of the fairways have standing water.
Definitely possible to lose a disc, between the stream and some large areas of dense brush.
Poor signage makes it hard to navigate for first-timers (I threw from 8's tee to 9's basket my first time and didn't realize my error until I saw the next tee said 10).
Wood-chip tees are annoying if you're not used to them, but I suppose better than the mudpits they'd be if this wet course tried dirt tees.
Other Thoughts: Obviously, reading my review and others', this course has problems. In my opinion, the playing experience makes it well worth coming anyway, although I'd certainly try to wait for a sunny day after a string of other sunny days.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.