Streamwood, IL 
Shady Oaks Park Share
Uploaded By: El Mexicano Hole #9 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 325ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
sketchy shady

1    9/13/2014   9/13/2014
Review By: dskr
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging holes
Pro level course
Good mix of difrnt shots
Natural setting
Real disc golf xperience
Cons: Messy swamp-land
Kinda hard to navigate
A few stupid shots
EASY TO LOSE DISCS
Other Thoughts: Very strong risk/reward throws
Hard course makes a betr playr
Good compliment/contrast to bartlett
Needs sum tweaking on a few holes
Not worth going into the swamp 4 discs

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great for intermediate players

2-4    8/15/2011   8/15/2013
Review By: Jagidlund
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -18 long holes to play
- pretty open course with a few wooded holes
-most trees do not present a hazard when throwing
- a few water hazard holes
-great course to practice those long drives
-close to a couple other decent courses
Cons: -not much cover to filter out wind
-cat tails make water hazards even more difficult to play around
-flat, depressed fairways on a few field holes flood easily
-hard to navigate in the middle of the course by the subdivision
Other Thoughts: This is a great course in my opinion. You get a little of everything here. The holes are long enough to make a decent day out of one round and there are 2 or 3 other courses relatively close by that are worth checking out. One in particular is black bear-only a couple miles away.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Cattails Beware!

2-4    3/30/2013   3/31/2013
Review By: alexjensen
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great 18 hole course with good length. Course has a wide variety of hole types, and requires many different shots. Primarily very open, however, hole 15 is a nice shot through ticker tree cover. All trees on the course are very well established and large. There are two small creeks that offer a nice water hazard throughout the course. Stay out of the cattails!!! You will loose a disc, but if you find mine please call.

This couse is one of my favorites this close to Chicago, and I definitely recommend a play. The course is very open, but still very challenging because of the length. The majority of holes are over 300ft however, there are still several that are nice shots under this length. Nice cement tee pads on just about every hole except for a few of the shorter ones.Course is failry well marked, and in general is not too crowded.

Though it's probably not legal we were able to drink throughout the course with no problems and there are plenty of trash cans.
Good course to take both beginners, because of the lack of trees, and experienced players, because of the distance, and everyone should have a good time.
Cons: I still have yet to find the first hole tee pad and I have been there three times now. We consistently start on hole 2. Though the cattails are an excellent hazard, be aware that you WILL NOT FIND YOUR DISC if you throw into them. The course is almost too open with not enough trees, but luckily the length of most of these holes makes up for it, especially the 800 ft bomb you get to throw on 16. The course is also covered in goose droppings, but this is invedible because cook county does not allow duck hunting as far as I'm aware. Currently a low spot has filled with water and presents an extra pond to throw over for several of the holes, but you can wade in an find your disc quite easily.

In general this couse could certainly be a phenominal course if it had two things, elevation changes, and more trees. Imagine your favorite course without the trees and without the hills and you get this one. I really like it because I just get to bomb every drive with no thoughts of hitting a tree, but you literally do the big drive, lay-up, put combo every single time. Great practice for those courses where you really want your game at the top.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for those living in Chicagoland. It's open, but a little far away from the city. If you want a nice open couse that you can drink at with little risk of consequence this is your course. Similar courses in the area that are a little closer include Madison Meadows in Lombard, as well as Katherine Legge Memorial Park. I have had a blast playing this course every time, but just beware that the cattails eat your frisbies and don't spit them back. If anyone finds a new sidewinder with my name please call, my girlfriend is not happy I lost her disc, you will be rewarded. Happy discing.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 just ok

1    10/28/2012   10/29/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 78  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -awesome signs( like the best i have ever seen)
-good cement pads
-nice park
-lots of options with alternate pads and a few alternate baskets.
-the first few holes are solid being under big oak trees(i am a big fan of this). and have a creek that comes in to play on 2,3,4
-hole 4 i like a lot with the basket on the other side of the creek
-i like the holes on the back side that go along the woods that are near the school(12,13,14)
all of these have woods that come in to play 12,13 on the right side and 14 on the left that make you keep your shots straight.
Cons: - a lot of open shots, one of these is 750 feet. some people might like this but i thought that the long field shot was just kinda lame.
-so much water on the course. me and a friend even spent a while looking for a disc that ended up being in a little creek that was like 2 feet across but like two feet of deep stagnant gross smelly water. and the thick groups of cattails seem like they would be brutal to look for a disc in with lots of water in them. lol and even the paved paths that lead from the pad near the baskets were flooded and we had to get around on random wooden pallets that made a makeshift bridge through the marshes
-a lot of repetitive holes
Other Thoughts: i was not a big fan of this course maybe i just need to play it when it is dryer out. a few more trees would really make the course better.
this being said it was solid for a course built in a multi use park, and if i lived close i could see myself playing it.but being a 30 min ish drive north from my house. i would much rather just go down south instead to any of the courses down by Joilet

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/23/2012   10/7/2012
Review By: Stankyjahnke
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -love this course
-hole 2 is awesome you can make a choice to go for a ace birdie or play it safe and lay it up before the creek
-great course to work on it distance drives and accuary
-has some elevation changes alot of cat tails and hazards
-definitely a long one
-never had a problem with it being crowded or waiting on people
Cons: -cat tails are rough and will steal ur disc but it's been super dry this year so at least you can look in there
-a couple holes play right up against people's backyards
-not a course for beginners there's some long holes and it gets windy there
-navigation is a little weird first time there
Other Thoughts: Great course to make a day of. Takes about an hour and a half to play I'm sure a second round would just be exhausting. Bring bug spray in warmer months

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  get serious or have some fun

5+    10/5/2012   10/7/2012
Review By: phish sticks
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like this course a lot. it was the first course I started playing on and have been for almost 10 years. It has a lot of trees and obstacles to go around and tall grass and small creeks to avoid. Its a great change to some of the other courses around that are just plain open with no obstacles. the par's are what they should be for a course which makes it fun and competitive for all. The course has recently been redone with all cement tee pads and some new baskets and they moved some of the baskets around for a little change. If your a pro or a beginner you can have fun on this course!
Cons: to me there never really is a con to a course because if it has something you dont like its good to work at it to try and be better so nothing on a course will phase you.

BUT the one thing I would complain about at this course is maintenance. Always a lot of garbage floating around. I try and pick it up when I see it and throw it away when a garbage can is around but they only have cans at holes 1,7,10,18

Also as mentioned the remodeled the course and added new signs and tee pads and baskets and a few of the signs have been damaged or knocked out of the ground. It seems the used about a shovel full of cement and about half a foot in the ground and thought they would stay in the ground. ~trees and creeks are not a con. thats part of disc golf learn to play around~
Other Thoughts: FIRST TIMERS!!! READ HERE!!!

if its your first time coming to this course check out the map on here(http://www.dgcoursereview.com...f75d9764.jpg)it will help you A LOT. I cant tell you enough how many times I see people throwing hole 8 into the 9 basket.

ALSO the course is located on bartlett rd right across from Grace Lutheran Church. if you use GPS try searching 42.019211,-88.182185 Parking lot is located BEHIND the building and hole 1 starts where the bike path goes into the field you should see it once you park.

one more thing. keep an eye on your disc! I just lost an eagle the other day on hole #14 Its pretty easy sometimes to loose a disc on this course.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Birds!

1    8/11/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Very nice mature Oak trees help to make this course special.
2) Nice concrete tees are always appreciated over turf or other natural tee surface.
3) Nice rolling hills and elevation changes on some of the holes out here. I always enjoy rolling terrain and moderate changes in slope to create some challenge.
4) There are many multiple shot holes out here which is always appreciated.
5) Distance variation is tremendous with lots of 200's, 300's and 400's and the non-standard 700' hole. I love being able to play some placement golf as well as being forced to throw a lot of different discs and shots. This course makes you bring it all for sure.
6) I will always remember this course because it is where I got to see a real life hawk attack a remote controlled airplane. It looked like they collided but both kept flying just the same.
7) You need to be able to work the disc both directions out here. There are left to right turning holes and right to left turning holes so be prepared. I even got to throw a couple rollers out here to try and get some extra distance.
8) Multiple pin placements and alternate tees are available to change this course up a bit.
9) Risk/reward on #2 going after the basket will end you in the river behind the basket. #4 can be a good risk/reward shot going for the green area depending on where your drive ended up.
Cons: 1) The walking path comes into play many times throughout the course. I always frown upon this, but I also understand disc golf needs to share space with other activities. I just wish all disc golfers were respectful of the others using the area, and I wish the others understood what it is we are doing.
2) There are a few boring holes set amongst some really good holes.
3) Lots of geese and goose poop on the course. I guess it goes hand in hand with a wide open field next to a wetland, but it sure would be nice if they would stay away or clean up their own poop.
4) Some tall grass annoyance here . .. although I avoided all of it, I am sure there is plenty of wasted time for people looking for errant shots.
5) I played during a 100 year drought but apparently this area will hold a lot of water. It is a lot of wetland surrounding the holes and is definitely in a river valley.
6) I parked and started on #13 because I could not find the course. I am not sure if that was my fault or the GPS, regardless I was able to play all of the holes, but it was an awkward start to the course.
Other Thoughts: I met up with a disc golf facebrook friend Julie Tucknott which was a little strange since I was 100 miles from home. I caught up to them on #16 and she asked if I played there a lot. I responded with no I am from Milwaukee, and she said are you Mike. I was kindof shocked, but she recognized me from my facebook profile picture, and perhaps read that I was going to be in the Chicago area playing a bunch of courses. This was my final course of an 11 course day (108 holes only . . . typical Chicago experience). I enjoyed playing a few holes with Julie and her friend and was glad to meet someone who I already knew from facebook. Disc golf is an interesting sport bringing people from all over together and people who wouldn't normally be friends to be friendly with each other. I also got to see a hawk attack a remote controlled airplane so this course will go down in infamy for me.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Why should the South Suburbs have all the Fun?

2-4    7/4/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 101  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 10.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of the better courses is the northern Chicago Suburbs. It is well worth playing regularly if you live in any of the neighboring towns.

*The best feature of this course is its distance challenge. While there are a few short holes, many of them let even experienced players to bring out the drivers and let it rip. The distances on many of them are long enough to potentially reach on the first throw, but only if the throw is on the money.

*Good variety. The area actually doesn't seem like it would be all that good for a course, but the designer seemed to make the best possible use of the land with most holes forcing different shots on each.

*A couple high risk/reward holes. Number 2 comes to mind... heavy tree-age lies between the teepad and the basket which is across a creek. a player can "go for it" by hitting a small gap with a forehand and risking going OB on the left, or they can lay up in front of the creek with an easy hyzer shot to the right.

*Multiple pin placements, good baskets, and GREAT SIGNS :)

*Good isolation factor... I enjoy that!
Cons: Several of these...

*Overall kind of a nasty little piece of land. Swamps abound along with the massive tall plants/grasses that normally accompany swamps. These will EAT UP YOUR DISCS! KEEP A WATCHFUL EYE ON THEM! Though these plants create some shot-shaping opportunities, they are definitely not pleasant.

*Flow is BAD! Fairways cross and teepads seem to be randomly next to each other so that your first time here you will say "what the heck." i recommend printing out a course map.

*Some holes don't have concrete tee pads... this is lame.

*Though the tee signs indicate the direction of the alternate pads, I did not see any markers on the gorund that indicated where these pads actually are.

*No indication of which pin placement the basket is in which stinks for people who don't play the course regularly
Other Thoughts: The parking lot is kind of weird and you may have a hard time finding it at first. It will feel like you are turning into the parking lot of a store (I can't remember for the life of me what that store is called) but the tee pad for hole one is actually located behind the store where the course's parking is actually located.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 So So

1    6/9/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: Marcus0613
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course starts off fun with hole # 2 going across a creek. Lots of long distance holes to let out some nice drives!
Cons: Very Very difficult to find where the next hole is. ended up throwing hole 8 into the hole 11 basket and then had to backtrack to find hole nine. Lots and lots of wind so you have to watch where you throw your disc because can be lost in the swampy marsh areas.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 shady oaks

1    5/8/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: BuzzArmStrong
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fair amount of obstacles
Some descent elevation change for the burbs
Couple baskets are on hills which make you think about how you're going to land as to not roll away
A few areas require good placement shots as well as a few good looks at aces
Good tee pads and signs, a few places were slightly confusing but not too bad.

Cons: As folks have said this course retains water really well. It rained a bit the day before I went and was pretty wet in some areas and I had to skip a hole due to the water.

Some of the bridged areas to get across marshy areas could use some repair.


0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.