Cedar Rapids, IA 
Shaver Park Share
Uploaded By: medicinalfunk Hole #6 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 280ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Great fun

1    8/9/2015   8/12/2015
Review By: mgcoleman
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2015
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A shot-maker's course, not just bombing and putting. Well-wooded (in a good way). Good elevation changes. Most holes have several options for playing it. Being tucked in the woods, this provides nice shade.
Cons: If wet, there can be some traction issues moving around the course (a few short, but steep slopes).
Some litter, mostly beer cans and empty cigarette boxes dropped around tees.
Other Thoughts: It is a tough course, but you only get into trouble on this course if you invite it - play the course, don't let it play you.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 This course has gotten better

5+    7/5/2015   7/5/2015
Review By: Mullin1343
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has gotten better. The guys down at titan disc golf have modified this course to make it longer and more challenging. Theres a few old hole they took out to give it a lot more lenght (but those holes will mot be missed).all the tee pads have been leveled out and the baskets have very nice landscapeing work around them for a spectacular look.very challenging and fun to play.
Cons: Since the work has been done there is very little signage and some times hard to navigate (stop by titan disc golf next to the entrance of the park. they should have a map to help navigate). Not fun after it rains very muddy and slick. Plus the folage gets thick in the middle of summer and in the fall with the leaves falling makes it tricky so be accurate or you'll be looking for your disc alot
Other Thoughts: This course is the most challenging in the cedar rapids area so if you in town stop and play you will not regret it.
Thanks to the guys at titan disc golf shop and the people how helped
for making this course the best in town
Fyi the pictures on dg course reviewer have been updated for a wile so they won't help much

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, Needs "Next tee" signs.

1    8/4/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: leftyhasrights
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice baskets, nice tee pads, If you're in the area and it's dry, this course offers fun disc golf.
Cons: DANGEROUS when wet, and zero signs to where the next T pads are. We couldn't find hole 2? We played after it had rained and there were a few times we almost really hurt ourselves. Bridges were super slick and very loose mud in many areas. Staying off the beatn' path is advisable when it has recently rained or is raining.
Other Thoughts: We played on a wet course and it also had rained on us. This added to the frustration of not knowing where the next tee box was. Had we played on a dry sunny day It most likely would have been a better experience. There we a lot of fun shots but was hard to get into a good shot with the t pads being being slick.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

An Iowa Gem!! Shaver is a must play!

1    5/26/2014   6/4/2014
Review By: RussMB
Played: 110  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 11.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent course that is mostly wooded. Plays up into a bluff with spectacular scenery and tall cliffs
The Titan Disc Golf Store is located at the entrance to the Park
Teepads: Concrete, Tee signs,*numbering, some benches.
Varying terrain that plays up and down hills through the woods.
Tight lines that will require subtle finesse shots, without disappearing into the woods
Risk/Rewards are plentiful here. You'll have multiple tee shots that require you to thread tight gaps right off the tee, as well as long distance tunnel shots. (I can't remember if it's 6 or 7, but the tee that throws over the trail is one of my favorites!)
Control is Key here, though there are a few open field shots. Fairways can be slightly forgiving, to a degree, towards errant shots, you will find yourself throwing around some blind doglegs.
Great Fun Factor and Healthy Challenge Factor
Well designed layout here. No two fairways play the same, and there were no filler holes. The fairways were designed with purpose, strategy and challenge.
Well maintained and attractive fairways. They have built up the fairways with the use of concrete, railroad ties, and other landscaping. Shaver Park has a great appearance and a great feel to the course and the trails around it.
There is a cool view over the parking lot around #10. I didn't realize how high up I had gotten.
Cons: Navigation; It isn't terribly difficult, but it can throw a player at certain points. Next Tee signs would be extremely helpful on some of these hole transitions .
Lack of a map; The course has been upgraded and holes have been rearranged. The maps haven't reflected this. I was able to figure out my next move, but on more than one occasion, I had to look for a couple of minutes.
A few fairways do play close to each other. I think it was 12, comes down parallel to 18's fairway. My disc came down near a group of players on 18. I had no idea they were there, and they didn't see it coming.
If it rains, it gets muddy and sloppy. I was slipping and sliding all over the place. Even unintentionally slid down a long pathway that went down a hill.
Other Thoughts: Shaver Park is a fantastic Disc Golf course! Definitely a must play if you are in Iowa. Shaver Park will have you climbing up and down hills, throwing tight gaps, and working every throw in your arsenal. The first hole simply plays out to the road, and it will be your only open out of the woods shot. You'll know that it's going to be a fun ride as soon as you enter the woods on your way to the second teepad. There is nothing simple about Shaver Park and I cannot wait to return to play here again!

You'll be in the woods, under the canopy of the trees for most of the course. This should offer some relief during the hot days. I'm not going to say don't wear shorts, but my legs did get tore up on some of the plant life. I had a brush with something that didn't have any visible thorns, but immediately made my wrist itch something fierce! There aren't any gas stations or restaurants nearby, so make sure you've got some liquids before you arrive.

One last tip, my GPS took me to some back entrance that dead ends into to the park. I guess you could park there, because you'll see where one basket ends and another begins, but it's not the main entrance. Use the address to Titan Disc Golf. The store and the entrance to Hole #1 are right next to each other.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/26/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: mgsmarcus
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I am a Beginner. Very Nice Course. Hilly Terrain. Good Variety All Wooded. small creek. dont worry about losing your disc in water. Pro shop nearby and is very helpful. Most holes are marked with good signage
Cons: A ton of trees. Hit a least one tree per hole with a disc. Not a very easy course if our a beginner. Harder to play in late summer when the weeds grow tall
Other Thoughts: Very nice challenging Course!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 home course review

5+    4/21/2014   4/22/2014
Review By: Razz
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a great variety in shot selections that are needed/usefull off the pad.
Each hole is unique and usually plays differently after the tee shot each round.
Shot lines must be hit however, bad shots usually aren't overly punished.
Course is underpopulated unless it's league night.
There are many risk/reward baskets, especially 4, 5, 14, and 17. There are dangerous approaches on other holes as well but these stand out.
Best challenge in Cedar Rapids.
Punishing lines. You see what you want... can you throw it?
Disc golf shop at the entrance!!!
Bathrooms and water fountain in parking lot.
Playground out of errant discs way.
Local club appears committed to improving course.
Cons: Lack of sinage. This course could use a major sign overhaul. Pamphlets at hole 1 would help.
Ample garbage cans seem to be ignored by discers and/or neglected by workers.
Hole 14 and 15 have reasonable chance of hitting people on hole 16's tee. There is a good fallen tree block but, still possible.
Parking. Although there is ample parking there is no warning on the west side of the lot that hole 17's tee pad can cause disc/car collisions.
Other Thoughts: This is the course I've called home for several years. I both love and hate the wooded layout at different times. This course has undergone a series of changes for the better in recent years thanks to titan disc golf shop.

It's lopsided in scoring with the hardest holes being13, 17, 15, and 11.

If you are in Cedar Rapids play shaver. Wildcat is 30 miles away... PLAY IT!!!!, Shaver has been a solid good course for years and it keeps getting better.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Woods Golf

2-4    10/6/2013   10/8/2013
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 84  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 15.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Bathrooms and water at beginning of course
- All baskets are very well marked and numbered. Yellow plastic around poles help visibility.
- Great elevation changes on this entire course.
- Good variety of shot shapes required, a few that an "S" drive is quite useful. Otherwise lots of reward for hitting your line, and have a few different tools in your bag.
- Not a lot of underbrush on this course, you pay for hitting a tree or missing your line, but you'll be able to find your disc, and find some sort of path back to the fairway, toward the basket.
- In general, I find most of the holes on this course to be fair, and not overly punishing. Never felt like I had to just plod along 75-100 ft at a time.
- Playing this course really is like a nice nature hike in the woods.
- #4 makes you split a 3 foot gap between trees right off the tee, followed by a putt/approach that, if you go long, sends you 20, 30, or 40 feet down a steep face. Sick.
- #15 & 16 play along and in a creek bed. Not much of a creek though, with the deepest water just being a couple inches, and no flow. Very cool couple of holes.
Cons: - Erosion an issue on many holes, which is to be expected for the deep, wooded course it is. Very evident around some of the wooden stairways. Still seemed sturdy enough, but for how long?
- Signage is lacking. Much of it is out of date, many distances and pin placements are obviously incorrect.
- No map at the beginning of the course, or anything but the #1 basket to give you a clue that you're in the right spot.
- A few flow issues, no exactly evident where to go next, and I had to pull up the map on DGCR. (3-4, 9-10, 14-15). Some painted basket rungs would help out.
- Graffiti everywhere, sometimes on the signs.
- Nice amount of trash cans, but the days I went they were completely overflowing.
- It appears that a good portion of players park on the back side, and start on #14. Not a problem so long as people are courteous and wait for a gap in players, but you can't see #13 tee from #14 tee, to make sure you're not budding in. I'll bet this is frustrating when the course is packed.
- #7 tee is some sort of makeshift, paver pad, with inch gaps between the pavers.
- #16 tee is very much in line with a bad drive on #15 fairway. Wayward drive could get someone in the back if they weren't paying attention. They've piled some logs and sticks to help create a barrier, which is better than nothing I guess.
Other Thoughts: - I very much enjoyed my time here. I played 3 times over a two day period, and enjoyed finding new lines and taking different approaches on holes.
- I played the course the couple days after a solid rain it was definitely playable, which somewhat surprised me.
- Accuracy is premium on most holes, not very many places to grip and rip.
- Nothing quite like a good round of wooded disc golf, listening to the thuds, thwacks, and cursing of other players on the course having just as rough of a time as you....great stuff.
- With great upkeep, paths, and good signage, this course could be a 4.5. Just not quite there.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best of CR-IC area? Possibly

2-4    8/24/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: haringj
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very fun course, well designed, fairly well maintained, can often spot deer.
Cons: Lacks a little signage directing to locations of next hole -noted by ourselves as well as a couple other groups of newbies - and hole number/yardage posts are in need of new faces as some unreadable, some yardages are considerably off from tees having been moved.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    11/22/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: jacobsladder
Played: 135  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 19.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Many challenging shots.
Nice tree cover that would provide plenty of shade in the summer.
Cons: If played in the fall, you may lose a disc under all of the leaves
Other Thoughts: Hole #1 was recently shut down because a child was hit with a disc on the playground nearby.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Unshaven Shaver

1    8/25/2012   9/29/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 871  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Decent homemade signs with Hole #, Par, Distance, and a map with plexi-glass protection.
2) The wooded areas on this course are very clean. There is very little underbrush or un-navigable rough. You should be able to throw a good recovery shot to get back on the fairway or near the basket in most portions of this course.
3) Mach baskets with the number plate (although number plate is missing on some).
4) Plenty of garbage cans and benches for those long rounds when the course is full.
5) Extremely mature tree help make this course what it is. There are some seriously old trees and still plenty of smaller ones that are growing underneath to replace the old ones as they die. This course should remain fun and challenging for a long time.
6) Yellow PVC around the poles help you find the Mach baskets in the woods.
7) There is a major drainage slough that runs through the elevated portion of this course which must be a major feed for the surrounding community. I imagine it ends up in the river which is just across the road from the course. I imagine it might be flowing with water in spring, but after the drought we had this summer it was dry.
8) Excellent use of elevation on this course which is always a fun combination with mature heavily wooded courses.
9) Very diverse shot making needed here with some holes going both ways and a couple holes needing a double breaking disc.
10) Hole #5 is sadistic and I love it. No margin for error.
11) Excellent distance variation is a great source of adding variety and challenge.
Cons: 1) This is definitely a course you might want to consider avoiding when it is wet. There is a lot of bare soil all through the course which would be slick when wet.
2) Compaction from a lot of use has lead to erosion and the poor surface conditions on much of this course.
3) Hole #1 is currently missing unfortunately.
4) There are some pretty dangerous steps on this course, which happens over time. I like to see things done properly even though it costs more money and time. It is more sustainable and something I think we (as a sport) need to be paying attention to.
5) A directional would be helpful on a few spots to direct you to the next tee. It is hard to figure it out for the first time through because there are no clear paths with the ground being bare everywhere.
6) There are a couple spots where holes come very close to other holes. Hole #16 fairway passes #17 tee very closely and could easily be seen as a danger spot.
Other Thoughts: This course is open from 6AM to 10PM. There is a pro shop right next to the course. All in all I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Cedar Rapids and Shaver was the highlight of the ones I played. It has a little of everything and will never leave you bored or feeling like you own the course! Judging on the disc golf alone this course deserves a 4 disc rating for sure, but because of the erosion, compaction, and some poorly constructed stairs, and a few dangerous pinch points I want to give this a 3.75. I simply cannot drop the overall rating to a 3.5 because the disc golf is just too good and too enjoyable. So I am giving this a 4.00 even though I consider it on the very low end of the 4.00 rating.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.