Cedar Rapids, IA 
Shaver Park Share
Uploaded By: medicinalfunk Hole #5 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 205ft.   3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee: Basket located down the hill to the left at the start of a large slope



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 home course review

5+    4/21/2014   4/22/2014
Review By: Razz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a great variety in shot selections that are needed/usefull off the pad.
Each hole is unique and usually plays differently after the tee shot each round.
Shot lines must be hit however, bad shots usually aren't overly punished.
Course is underpopulated unless it's league night.
There are many risk/reward baskets, especially 4, 5, 14, and 17. There are dangerous approaches on other holes as well but these stand out.
Best challenge in Cedar Rapids.
Punishing lines. You see what you want... can you throw it?
Disc golf shop at the entrance!!!
Bathrooms and water fountain in parking lot.
Playground out of errant discs way.
Local club appears committed to improving course.
Cons: Lack of sinage. This course could use a major sign overhaul. Pamphlets at hole 1 would help.
Ample garbage cans seem to be ignored by discers and/or neglected by workers.
Hole 14 and 15 have reasonable chance of hitting people on hole 16's tee. There is a good fallen tree block but, still possible.
Parking. Although there is ample parking there is no warning on the west side of the lot that hole 17's tee pad can cause disc/car collisions.
Other Thoughts: This is the course I've called home for several years. I both love and hate the wooded layout at different times. This course has undergone a series of changes for the better in recent years thanks to titan disc golf shop.

It's lopsided in scoring with the hardest holes being13, 17, 15, and 11.

If you are in Cedar Rapids play shaver. Wildcat is 30 miles away... PLAY IT!!!!, Shaver has been a solid good course for years and it keeps getting better.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/22/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: jacobsladder
Played: 135  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Many challenging shots.
Nice tree cover that would provide plenty of shade in the summer.
Cons: If played in the fall, you may lose a disc under all of the leaves
Other Thoughts: Hole #1 was recently shut down because a child was hit with a disc on the playground nearby.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of a kind!

5+    3/20/2012   3/21/2012
Review By: Iowa420DG
Played: 154  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 3.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: WILDLIFE! Despite the fact that Shaver Park is located in the heart of the city, it is no stranger to wildlife. Just yesterday, while standing on tee pad #10, a coyote darted out of the woods right in front of us! It ran around aimlessly, trying to avoid running into people who crowded the park at the time of day. It was in sight running around the course for about 20 seconds.
Two holes later, we spotted 3 large white tail deer who just stood there and watched us play the entire hole. They were merely 50 ft away, standing still as we putted on hole #12. I've also had a deer literally come with 10 ft of me, only to stand and stare for nearly a minute! I've also spotted a lot of wild turkey around here.

VARIETY -- This park is 80% wooded, with only 2 fully open holes. The wooded holes, however; provide a large variety of different challenges, with distance variations, elevation changes, and tree placements. You will need many shots to score well, and you will find yourself testing your escape shot ability!
Cons: FAIRNESS -- in my opinion, not every hole on this course is entirely fair. Particularly holes #5, #9, #14, and #16. By unfair I mean there is extremely little to no fairway. Hole #7, #10, #11, #17, #18 have very difficult fairways as well.
Other Thoughts: Hole #5 is incredibly tricky! Barely missing a putt/midrange can cost you dearly!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    12/27/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a city park with lots of trees and hills. There is a walking path that comes into play in a few spots, but not too badly. Other than that, a playground, and a basketball court, the disc golf is well separated. Shouldn't be any conflicts.
- Almost every hole here is set within the dense woods, which provide a ton of tight windows, tough lines, and tricky approaches. There are some easier shots, like a RHBH anny on #9 through some medium trees, and the last few holes, which don't demand pinpoint accuracy. Others are extremely tight, like the tee shot off of #5, #6, and #7, for instance. Many holes have pinch points at a later point as well. Lines here must be hit, a good forehand definitely helps.
- Great use of the hilly terrain to provide elevation changes. Some good uphills, like #3, #4, and #12. The downhills are more noticeable, like a tall, steep shot off of #7, or some gradual slopes like #13 and #14. Gulches/ditches provide some difficulty here and there, both off the fairways, or by the basket, like #17 (both ways).
- Large variety in hole lengths, with some uphills that play pretty long for their distance, and downhills that play way shorter. A good look all around, with two monsters over 500'. #13 offers a few paths to the baskets, but choose wisely! Staying to the left of the jail near the basket is crucial! And #18 is a big bomb out of the woods, followed by an approach to a treacherous green. Tough, due to design and length.
- A lot of protected baskets, due to placement near trees, sloping greens, and water in a few spots. Some tough approaches to be found. The water is also in play throughout a few holes, which adds some challenge.
- Good teepads and baskets. Tee signs are good, when present (a few missing). The redesign seemed to have thrown a few out of whack; like a short hole after #7. Navigating can be a little odd even with the map. But, it isn't impossible.
Cons: - It seemed like a lot of the holes were pretty similar here, a ton of RHBH flex shot s-curves to be found, especially near the end. A bunch of different looks, but the end result was the same. Definitely felt repetitive, especially with all the holes being in the same woods.
- Navigation was a pain, actually. Differing hole numbers between signs and a few basket markings made for some guessing. Without the info on this site, it would have been a major headache.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a course that has a pretty high fun factor with plenty of elevation changes and tough lines. Definitely some memorable holes, especially the longer, tougher ones, as well as some tricky shorter ones. Scoring well can be a challenge if you miss your lines, with plenty of punishing jail/rough around. If there was some more variety it would be extremely well rounded.
- Beginners might want to hold off on this course, it could be frustrating. Everyone else should find some challenge and fun, even advanced players will enjoy some of the difficulty here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tight Woods

2-4    8/23/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: sasscers7
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.6 Years
Pros: Extremely challenging course with very tight corridors, blind drives, and elevations that can kill great drives that roll 100 feet down the hill. Forces you to think about not just getting the disc there, but landing at the right place and in the right way to stick it.
Cons: Must have been recently reorganized as there were two #16 baskets. Some of the other baskets were not well-marked and with all the trees and elevation, it is hard to find your way through the first couple of times.
Other Thoughts: Cedar Rapids is a great hotbed of DG. Enjoyed this course and a couple of other my two weeks in town.

 Better Hit Those Lines

1    6/22/2011   6/22/2011
Review By: Tricky
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, any course that has a pro shop that's well stocked right by it is a huge plus. The guys inside the shop were friendly and helpful. The shop had a good amount of inventory.

The course teases you for the first two holes, like a spider web just waiting to catch you. Then you get to hole #3 and the lines you have to hit become smaller and smaller.

Great use of land. Elevation changes create difficulty on holes that don't posses the distance factor. Hole #5 just begs for you to try to make the birdie putt and go long. Though the gaps and lines are small, they are reasonable. I've played a fair share of "poke and hope" courses and this isn't one of them. The course usually has a good number of people playing, but we didn't have any problems with pace of play. Everyone we ran into was friendly and helped us navigate the course since we were first timers. Each hole had good signs, some may need to be updated soon. Distances seemed to be fairly accurate.

I love courses where you can't just "grip it and rip it" and with Shaver, you have to have touch and accuracy to score well.
Cons: I would love to see some "next tee" indicators by the baskets to help new players navigate their way through the woods.

Some holes could stand to be cleared out a bit, but I would love to play this course when the leaves are falling!

Hole #18 has a tree limb as a bridge to cross the creek and I can see that being a hazard for some to get over. My parents were with me and were forced to walk back around 17 and through.

Hole #17's basket has #18's number on it and hole #16 has two hole baskets and tees it looked like. It was a little confusing.
Other Thoughts: This is the course to go to when you want to be challenged. This will improve your game and show you that accuracy is always KING! I would recommend this course to all my friends and will definitely be coming back!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/5/2011   5/6/2011
Review By: gassal01
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I would probably consider this my home course. Not that it is my favorite course, but it is less than 10 min from my house and is a very nice challenging course.

There is a nice mix between open shots and wooded shots.

The disc golf shop that opened up next to the park has been very nice. They also have been helping keep the park much cleaner and have even changed some of the holes around to make the course more of a pro course. Props to you guys who have been helping with this. But get beer in that shop of yours. You will make a killing

All the baskets are in relatively good shape. Although some arsehole stole basket #8 so hopefully the city replaces that soon.

Nice big concrete pads. Some have weird slopes though.
Cons: Trees will pop out and get you on this course. The course has a nice layout but some of the holes you have to walk back on which makes for dangerous play if you have someone behind you.

Getting really buggy now that the foliage is in.
Also, you may spend some time looking for your disc on some holes, but you can also find some!

People dont really respect this park and tend to throw their trash/beer cans everywhere.

Some unsafe hills and bridges. Which you make lose your footing and fall.

Other Thoughts: Its a very solid course and now that people are actually taking care of the course. It is much nicer.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, tight, technical

5+    1/29/2005   1/30/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.6 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: While not terribly long, Shaver Park still has the ability to manhandle even the best of players. Most fairways are quite technical and require precision but at the same time, there are a lot of birdies out there for the taking! Off the tee, you'll find a lot of variety in terms of shot selection and even a few open holes in the front to get warmed up for the woods on. This isn't really a course that you will figure out the first time around so expect to learn a few things the first couple of trips here. Even on good rounds you'll likely find yourself in a tough place or two and will need to rely on some creative saves to maintain a good score. After you figure out some of the lines, the course really opens up. The course also plays pretty well for most skill ranges (except perhaps beginners) and a mixed group of pros and ams will probably all find some enjoyment on the course.

This course also plays as a great complement to the other courses in the area which don't have quite as high of a technical factor.
Cons: I would say that this is really not the best course to bring newer disc golfers out to. The extremely tight woods and somewhat longer hole lengths are going to prove a bit frustrating at times. I'd recommend Jones Park for the up-and-comer to figure out disc flights on a more forgiving course a bit before hitting up Shaver.
Other Thoughts: It is a bit sad to hear all of the problems associated with garbage - I used to frequent Shaver back in 2004-2005 and it was almost always empty with very little garbage. Hopefully those new trash cans a previous reviewer mentioned will help with the litter problem.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/14/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: medicinalfunk
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2011
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - emphasis on controlled, precise shots through difficult tree lines favors finesse players. a good technical course
- dense tree cover keeps most of the course cool during hot sun. also makes wind a near non-factor
- usually not very crowded (especially before 4 or 5).
- basket placements in relation to teepads provides a mix of holes that favor both orthodox throwers and southpaws
- teepads and baskets in good shape
- new garbage cans recently added, so 80% of the holes now have receptacles which should cut down on the litter
- always new lanes to discover, every time i play i end up with a look i've never had before. some of the holes give you a front door/back door approach option off the teepad, others are obviously intended for a nice big turn or a floaty glide through a clearing. a solid mix.
- lots of discs stuck in trees around baskets for you to collect and/or return
- serves the purpose of the local "woody" course in the cedar rapids area
- have yet to have a negative experience with another player i've met on the course, including stolen discs, basic etiquette breaches, and that sort of thing. that is, except for litterbugs.
- easy to navigate, both due to layout design and from pathways being made from people walking and eroding away dirt. was built by the same guys that build the great eastern iowa course Wildcat Bluff
- located in north eastern cedar rapids, very easy to get to from the city or interstate
- as of late fall of 2010, the course is undergoing changes including 2 new holes and 3 new placements
Cons: - foliage thick around fairways, squirrly throws usually have to be bushwhacked for. nettle and poison ivy patches create what i guess you could call "bunkers" near some greens
- lots of litter around teepads, mostly empty beer cans, despite garbage cans on most holes, plus things written with marker on some signs (not to the point where they aren't readable though) and vandalized benches/garbage cans
- a few holes are pretty much no fly zones all around the tee thanks to slews of both mature and young trees
- hole 13 has a sewage drain right in the middle of it, and sections of the fairway are almost always mucky almost every time i go
- the teepad on the seventh hole is on a very noticeable upward slope
- there is parking in the back at hole 15, but i see broken glass back there sometimes from people's windows getting broken out. probably better off parking up front near the entrance, but dont park too far from the bathrooms on that side of the lot: shanks from the 18th hole will nail your car
Other Thoughts: this course is currently undergoing some big changes and will soon be even more challenging to the player. litter is being cut down on, two

navigation: after hole 4, take a right and walk down the road. you will see the fifth tee to your right. the sixth is down the hill to the left of the basket for hole 5. after hole five, walk back across the road and you will see the path leading up to the seventh hole. after hole 15, the 16th hole is located down the hill to the right of the 15th, almost running parallel. every other hole should be easy to find for first timers, as paths have been walked into the forest.

oh yeah, and bring bug spray. i consider this somewhat of my "home course" as i play here most every day regardless of weather. if any dgcr members happen to be in the area and are interesting in playing the course/just having a casual round, i'd be more than happy to come out and shoot with you.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A Texan in Iowa.

2-4    8/14/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: insobox
Played: 76  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It was a fun course, met up with two guys in the parking lot and they let me play with them. A third friend of theirs showed up and played as well. Sorry to the Iowa boys that I crushed, but it was great game!
- Beautiful course, huge elms, great green areas.
- Nice mix of elevation changes
- Nice variation on shot selection
- I can't remember what hole it was but the short hole where you play from the edge of the road to a little hill island and it's sloped on either side is quite a dandy, parked it right on the back side of the basket without it rolling down.
Enjoyed it, will play again next time I'm in Iowa.
Cons: - Trash overflowing in places.
- Very thick 'rough' off the fairways
- Can kind of get lost when you have to cross back across the road to move to the other holes.
- It was a sunny day when I went but had been rainy recently, kind of muddy but that is not a con, however, some fairways were not clear and could use some cleaning up, mowing, brush and leave collection as well.
Other Thoughts: Upgrades:
- Add trash cans every 3 holes or so.
- Clean park (possibly the local Disc Golf club can sponsor an event/tournament to do this)
- Very wooded possibly clearing some of the trees out or stripping them down from 6 feet to the ground to make it easier to see through the woods.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.