Cedar Rapids, IA 
Shaver Park Share
Uploaded By: medicinalfunk Hole #15 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 481ft.   4 / 481ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
An Iowa Gem!! Shaver is a must play!

1    5/26/2014   6/4/2014
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: • Excellent course that is mostly wooded. Plays up into a bluff with spectacular scenery and tall cliffs
• The Titan Disc Golf Store is located at the entrance to the Park
• Teepads: Concrete, Tee signs,*numbering, some benches.
• Varying terrain that plays up and down hills through the woods.
• Tight lines that will require subtle finesse shots, without disappearing into the woods
• Risk/Rewards are plentiful here. You'll have multiple tee shots that require you to thread tight gaps right off the tee, as well as long distance tunnel shots. (I can't remember if it's 6 or 7, but the tee that throws over the trail is one of my favorites!)
• Control is Key here, though there are a few open field shots. Fairways can be slightly forgiving, to a degree, towards errant shots, you will find yourself throwing around some blind doglegs.
• Great Fun Factor and Healthy Challenge Factor
• Well designed layout here. No two fairways play the same, and there were no filler holes. The fairways were designed with purpose, strategy and challenge.
• Well maintained and attractive fairways. They have built up the fairways with the use of concrete, railroad ties, and other landscaping. Shaver Park has a great appearance and a great feel to the course and the trails around it.
• There is a cool view over the parking lot around #10. I didn't realize how high up I had gotten.
Cons: • Navigation; It isn't terribly difficult, but it can throw a player at certain points. Next Tee signs would be extremely helpful on some of these hole transitions .
• Lack of a map; The course has been upgraded and holes have been rearranged. The maps haven't reflected this. I was able to figure out my next move, but on more than one occasion, I had to look for a couple of minutes.
• A few fairways do play close to each other. I think it was 12, comes down parallel to 18's fairway. My disc came down near a group of players on 18. I had no idea they were there, and they didn't see it coming.
• If it rains, it gets muddy and sloppy. I was slipping and sliding all over the place. Even unintentionally slid down a long pathway that went down a hill.
Other Thoughts: Shaver Park is a fantastic Disc Golf course! Definitely a must play if you are in Iowa. Shaver Park will have you climbing up and down hills, throwing tight gaps, and working every throw in your arsenal. The first hole simply plays out to the road, and it will be your only open out of the woods shot. You'll know that it's going to be a fun ride as soon as you enter the woods on your way to the second teepad. There is nothing simple about Shaver Park and I cannot wait to return to play here again!

You'll be in the woods, under the canopy of the trees for most of the course. This should offer some relief during the hot days. I'm not going to say don't wear shorts, but my legs did get tore up on some of the plant life. I had a brush with something that didn't have any visible thorns, but immediately made my wrist itch something fierce! There aren't any gas stations or restaurants nearby, so make sure you've got some liquids before you arrive.

One last tip, my GPS took me to some back entrance that dead ends into to the park. I guess you could park there, because you'll see where one basket ends and another begins, but it's not the main entrance. Use the address to Titan Disc Golf. The store and the entrance to Hole #1 are right next to each other.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/26/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: mgsmarcus
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I am a Beginner. Very Nice Course. Hilly Terrain. Good Variety All Wooded. small creek. dont worry about losing your disc in water. Pro shop nearby and is very helpful. Most holes are marked with good signage
Cons: A ton of trees. Hit a least one tree per hole with a disc. Not a very easy course if our a beginner. Harder to play in late summer when the weeds grow tall
Other Thoughts: Very nice challenging Course!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Woods Golf

2-4    10/6/2013   10/8/2013
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 64  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 14.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Bathrooms and water at beginning of course
- All baskets are very well marked and numbered. Yellow plastic around poles help visibility.
- Great elevation changes on this entire course.
- Good variety of shot shapes required, a few that an "S" drive is quite useful. Otherwise lots of reward for hitting your line, and have a few different tools in your bag.
- Not a lot of underbrush on this course, you pay for hitting a tree or missing your line, but you'll be able to find your disc, and find some sort of path back to the fairway, toward the basket.
- In general, I find most of the holes on this course to be fair, and not overly punishing. Never felt like I had to just plod along 75-100 ft at a time.
- Playing this course really is like a nice nature hike in the woods.
- #4 makes you split a 3 foot gap between trees right off the tee, followed by a putt/approach that, if you go long, sends you 20, 30, or 40 feet down a steep face. Sick.
- #15 & 16 play along and in a creek bed. Not much of a creek though, with the deepest water just being a couple inches, and no flow. Very cool couple of holes.
Cons: - Erosion an issue on many holes, which is to be expected for the deep, wooded course it is. Very evident around some of the wooden stairways. Still seemed sturdy enough, but for how long?
- Signage is lacking. Much of it is out of date, many distances and pin placements are obviously incorrect.
- No map at the beginning of the course, or anything but the #1 basket to give you a clue that you're in the right spot.
- A few flow issues, no exactly evident where to go next, and I had to pull up the map on DGCR. (3-4, 9-10, 14-15). Some painted basket rungs would help out.
- Graffiti everywhere, sometimes on the signs.
- Nice amount of trash cans, but the days I went they were completely overflowing.
- It appears that a good portion of players park on the back side, and start on #14. Not a problem so long as people are courteous and wait for a gap in players, but you can't see #13 tee from #14 tee, to make sure you're not budding in. I'll bet this is frustrating when the course is packed.
- #7 tee is some sort of makeshift, paver pad, with inch gaps between the pavers.
- #16 tee is very much in line with a bad drive on #15 fairway. Wayward drive could get someone in the back if they weren't paying attention. They've piled some logs and sticks to help create a barrier, which is better than nothing I guess.
Other Thoughts: - I very much enjoyed my time here. I played 3 times over a two day period, and enjoyed finding new lines and taking different approaches on holes.
- I played the course the couple days after a solid rain it was definitely playable, which somewhat surprised me.
- Accuracy is premium on most holes, not very many places to grip and rip.
- Nothing quite like a good round of wooded disc golf, listening to the thuds, thwacks, and cursing of other players on the course having just as rough of a time as you….great stuff.
- With great upkeep, paths, and good signage, this course could be a 4.5. Just not quite there.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best of CR-IC area? Possibly

2-4    8/24/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: haringj
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very fun course, well designed, fairly well maintained, can often spot deer.
Cons: Lacks a little signage directing to locations of next hole -noted by ourselves as well as a couple other groups of newbies - and hole number/yardage posts are in need of new faces as some unreadable, some yardages are considerably off from tees having been moved.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Unshaven Shaver

1    8/25/2012   9/29/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Decent homemade signs with Hole #, Par, Distance, and a map with plexi-glass protection.
2) The wooded areas on this course are very clean. There is very little underbrush or un-navigable rough. You should be able to throw a good recovery shot to get back on the fairway or near the basket in most portions of this course.
3) Mach baskets with the number plate (although number plate is missing on some).
4) Plenty of garbage cans and benches for those long rounds when the course is full.
5) Extremely mature tree help make this course what it is. There are some seriously old trees and still plenty of smaller ones that are growing underneath to replace the old ones as they die. This course should remain fun and challenging for a long time.
6) Yellow PVC around the poles help you find the Mach baskets in the woods.
7) There is a major drainage slough that runs through the elevated portion of this course which must be a major feed for the surrounding community. I imagine it ends up in the river which is just across the road from the course. I imagine it might be flowing with water in spring, but after the drought we had this summer it was dry.
8) Excellent use of elevation on this course which is always a fun combination with mature heavily wooded courses.
9) Very diverse shot making needed here with some holes going both ways and a couple holes needing a double breaking disc.
10) Hole #5 is sadistic and I love it. No margin for error.
11) Excellent distance variation is a great source of adding variety and challenge.
Cons: 1) This is definitely a course you might want to consider avoiding when it is wet. There is a lot of bare soil all through the course which would be slick when wet.
2) Compaction from a lot of use has lead to erosion and the poor surface conditions on much of this course.
3) Hole #1 is currently missing unfortunately.
4) There are some pretty dangerous steps on this course, which happens over time. I like to see things done properly even though it costs more money and time. It is more sustainable and something I think we (as a sport) need to be paying attention to.
5) A directional would be helpful on a few spots to direct you to the next tee. It is hard to figure it out for the first time through because there are no clear paths with the ground being bare everywhere.
6) There are a couple spots where holes come very close to other holes. Hole #16 fairway passes #17 tee very closely and could easily be seen as a danger spot.
Other Thoughts: This course is open from 6AM to 10PM. There is a pro shop right next to the course. All in all I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Cedar Rapids and Shaver was the highlight of the ones I played. It has a little of everything and will never leave you bored or feeling like you own the course! Judging on the disc golf alone this course deserves a 4 disc rating for sure, but because of the erosion, compaction, and some poorly constructed stairs, and a few dangerous pinch points I want to give this a 3.75. I simply cannot drop the overall rating to a 3.5 because the disc golf is just too good and too enjoyable. So I am giving this a 4.00 even though I consider it on the very low end of the 4.00 rating.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/12/2012   4/13/2012
Review By: HamNThemGoinHam
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've grown up by Shaver my whole life and was excited when they added a disc golf course there back in the day. I've watched it evolve and loved playing it my whole life. It's always offered a challenge in the way of trees and varying shots (although fh or bh works on nearly any hole). All in all I think it's the best and most challenging in Cedar Rapids.
In the past year they've changed the course plenty. While some of the changes are for the better, some I feel are not.
Some of the better changes recently have been the addition of a new 18 and an extension of 15 and 17 a year or so I believe. They've added a total of 4 new holes and recently added wood stairs to 7a and 18 along with a dirt platform for the pin on 5 which can save your ass from rolling down the hill.
Cons: Some of these changes have not been totally for the better however. With the addition of these newer holes came the subtraction of two old holes and the combining of 13 and 14. Most recently has been the loss of the basket on hole 1 which is a staple for the start of the course. I say the more holes the merrier.
The only problem with the new 7a and b are the fact that they don't lead back to the rest of the course well. This forces you to take a steep deer trail to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Don't forget to bring a towel as there is a dirty dirty creek running through the course.
Also make sure to watch out for people cutting across the field from the disc golf shop to 3 as we've been budged in front of numerous times only to be stuck waiting behind groups.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best Cedar Rapids course

5+    9/7/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: wadeG
Played: 50  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good elevation and heavily wooded with tight fairways. Has a challenging variety of shots with a few longer holes as well as memorable holes, all of which make it the best course in Cedar Rapids. DG shop at the entrance.
Cons: A few of the holes could use next tee signs for direction.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Shaver Park

5+    6/16/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: detra319
Played: 43  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has quite a bit going for it. After some recent modifications it has added some length that was sorely needed, and some of the filler holes have been removed.

Many different types of shots to throw, with the exception of anhyzer/lefty throws. Really only 2 holes that can be considered lefty, maybe 3 if you want to be frisky.

Course design- this course is very interesting, with lots of elevation in the early holes to mix things up, and every hole can be birdied on the front 9. Several blind pins make for good placement golf. The new hole 6 which replaced the short lefty hole is a nice change, with a blind tee shot through a tunnel to the pin. About 360 ft, its a fun fun new hole to throw, definitely a score separater. The back 9 offers several more challenging holes, with 3 holes that can truly be called par 4's. There a several routes on most holes that can be taken, with some definite risk reward.

The shule on this course used to be much much worse than it is now, as throughout the years the increased level of play has thinned things out. This course is also one of the easiest to play after rain as it drains very quickly. Its bad RIGHT after the rain, but several hours later it is fine.

The signs on this course are well maintained and designed, and the navigation flows very well except for one spot. Since the course is older and played fairly heavily it is easy to tell where to walk to the next pad.
Cons: Lots and lots of erosion. Hard to figure out where to go between hole 4 and 5, but thats the only navigation issues.

Some nettles/ragweed around holes 10-13, but just a recent thing.

Some trash issues, but it has improved this year with quite a few more trash cans being put in and awesome volunteers to empty them.

Other Thoughts: This course is very fun. Well worth the trip if you are in the CR area. Challenging shots that place an emphasis on control, with a few chances to rip it. Come to shaver!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My new new "Favorite"

1    6/11/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: GabeEtzel
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets - all are fine and in working condition

Elevation - massive changes in elevation make playing here very fun, yet challenging

Level of enjoyment - extremely high

Pro shop located right outside the course, that has the best selection and pricing around

The feeling of this course is just so amazing

Very straight-forward in where to go after finishing a hole
Cons: Landings - most are fine, but some are too short or too narrow, sometimes extremely muddy

Terrain - all paths and fairways are dirt so they turn to mud very easily

Wooding - be good and throw accurate vs powerful because there are trees all over and finding discs is hard

Hole 1 and 2 go by a play ground and basketball court, so make sure you're warmed up

Hole 2 is located right by a street so don't over throw
Other Thoughts: I saw Adam Olsen here, and at Titan Pro Shop when I was here and there!

Extremely muddy after rain, and longer than usual

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Variety of Challenges

1    3/8/2011   3/8/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Primarily disc golf. Some of the holes approached other user areas, an errant shot could end up in the road, but for the most part disc golf is the only activity this area is used for.

Well maintained. The locals do a great job of maintaining this course, keeping the fairways clear, tee pads swept (cleared in winter), and picking up trash, and there was a trash can provided on nearly every hole (some of these were overflowing and could use to be emptied).

Local Scene. Local leagues and tournaments available, if you hang out at hole 1 a local will probably show up and be happy to show you around.

Variety. Good variety of distances and technical variety with few legitimate ace runs, most of the time you have to work for your birdies, and even some "true par 4" holes exist. Most holes were tight, technical, and challenging with an occasional open hole to relieve the frustration that's sure to build.

Baskets. All baskets are in good condition (no practice basket).

Tees. Concrete tees were mostly level and in good condition (one tee pad was significantly uphill, and one was too short).

Signage. Most holes had signs with accurate dist, hole # and a map of the hole. (some new holes were just put in and were missing signage).

Scenery. A very nice wooded park had a "going for a hike" feel.

Access. Just off the freeway, easy to get to.
Cons: The other park amenities are not immediately accessible from the parking area if you need a restroom, playground, or basketball court.

Navigation. Not exactly straightforward, keep an eye out for the large blue garbage cans, they can usually point the way, or get a local to guide you.

Not exactly beginner friendly. As a beginner this course could be overly frustrating with several long technical holes.

(several minor cons were mentioned alongside of the pros)
Other Thoughts: My recommendation for the course to hit if you only have time for one in the area, compliments the other area courses well and the Cedar Rapids area is a great DG destination area, a good weekend could be had playing here.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.