Cedar Rapids, IA 
Shaver Park Share
Uploaded By: medicinalfunk Hole #15 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 481ft.   4 / 481ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

5+    4/12/2012   4/13/2012
Review By: HamNThemGoinHam
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've grown up by Shaver my whole life and was excited when they added a disc golf course there back in the day. I've watched it evolve and loved playing it my whole life. It's always offered a challenge in the way of trees and varying shots (although fh or bh works on nearly any hole). All in all I think it's the best and most challenging in Cedar Rapids.
In the past year they've changed the course plenty. While some of the changes are for the better, some I feel are not.
Some of the better changes recently have been the addition of a new 18 and an extension of 15 and 17 a year or so I believe. They've added a total of 4 new holes and recently added wood stairs to 7a and 18 along with a dirt platform for the pin on 5 which can save your ass from rolling down the hill.
Cons: Some of these changes have not been totally for the better however. With the addition of these newer holes came the subtraction of two old holes and the combining of 13 and 14. Most recently has been the loss of the basket on hole 1 which is a staple for the start of the course. I say the more holes the merrier.
The only problem with the new 7a and b are the fact that they don't lead back to the rest of the course well. This forces you to take a steep deer trail to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Don't forget to bring a towel as there is a dirty dirty creek running through the course.
Also make sure to watch out for people cutting across the field from the disc golf shop to 3 as we've been budged in front of numerous times only to be stuck waiting behind groups.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of a kind!

5+    3/20/2012   3/21/2012
Review By: Iowa420DG
Played: 162  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 4.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: WILDLIFE! Despite the fact that Shaver Park is located in the heart of the city, it is no stranger to wildlife. Just yesterday, while standing on tee pad #10, a coyote darted out of the woods right in front of us! It ran around aimlessly, trying to avoid running into people who crowded the park at the time of day. It was in sight running around the course for about 20 seconds.
Two holes later, we spotted 3 large white tail deer who just stood there and watched us play the entire hole. They were merely 50 ft away, standing still as we putted on hole #12. I've also had a deer literally come with 10 ft of me, only to stand and stare for nearly a minute! I've also spotted a lot of wild turkey around here.

VARIETY -- This park is 80% wooded, with only 2 fully open holes. The wooded holes, however; provide a large variety of different challenges, with distance variations, elevation changes, and tree placements. You will need many shots to score well, and you will find yourself testing your escape shot ability!
Cons: FAIRNESS -- in my opinion, not every hole on this course is entirely fair. Particularly holes #5, #9, #14, and #16. By unfair I mean there is extremely little to no fairway. Hole #7, #10, #11, #17, #18 have very difficult fairways as well.
Other Thoughts: Hole #5 is incredibly tricky! Barely missing a putt/midrange can cost you dearly!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    12/27/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 446  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 12.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a city park with lots of trees and hills. There is a walking path that comes into play in a few spots, but not too badly. Other than that, a playground, and a basketball court, the disc golf is well separated. Shouldn't be any conflicts.
- Almost every hole here is set within the dense woods, which provide a ton of tight windows, tough lines, and tricky approaches. There are some easier shots, like a RHBH anny on #9 through some medium trees, and the last few holes, which don't demand pinpoint accuracy. Others are extremely tight, like the tee shot off of #5, #6, and #7, for instance. Many holes have pinch points at a later point as well. Lines here must be hit, a good forehand definitely helps.
- Great use of the hilly terrain to provide elevation changes. Some good uphills, like #3, #4, and #12. The downhills are more noticeable, like a tall, steep shot off of #7, or some gradual slopes like #13 and #14. Gulches/ditches provide some difficulty here and there, both off the fairways, or by the basket, like #17 (both ways).
- Large variety in hole lengths, with some uphills that play pretty long for their distance, and downhills that play way shorter. A good look all around, with two monsters over 500'. #13 offers a few paths to the baskets, but choose wisely! Staying to the left of the jail near the basket is crucial! And #18 is a big bomb out of the woods, followed by an approach to a treacherous green. Tough, due to design and length.
- A lot of protected baskets, due to placement near trees, sloping greens, and water in a few spots. Some tough approaches to be found. The water is also in play throughout a few holes, which adds some challenge.
- Good teepads and baskets. Tee signs are good, when present (a few missing). The redesign seemed to have thrown a few out of whack; like a short hole after #7. Navigating can be a little odd even with the map. But, it isn't impossible.
Cons: - It seemed like a lot of the holes were pretty similar here, a ton of RHBH flex shot s-curves to be found, especially near the end. A bunch of different looks, but the end result was the same. Definitely felt repetitive, especially with all the holes being in the same woods.
- Navigation was a pain, actually. Differing hole numbers between signs and a few basket markings made for some guessing. Without the info on this site, it would have been a major headache.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a course that has a pretty high fun factor with plenty of elevation changes and tough lines. Definitely some memorable holes, especially the longer, tougher ones, as well as some tricky shorter ones. Scoring well can be a challenge if you miss your lines, with plenty of punishing jail/rough around. If there was some more variety it would be extremely well rounded.
- Beginners might want to hold off on this course, it could be frustrating. Everyone else should find some challenge and fun, even advanced players will enjoy some of the difficulty here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tight Woods

2-4    8/23/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: sasscers7
Played: 56  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extremely challenging course with very tight corridors, blind drives, and elevations that can kill great drives that roll 100 feet down the hill. Forces you to think about not just getting the disc there, but landing at the right place and in the right way to stick it.
Cons: Must have been recently reorganized as there were two #16 baskets. Some of the other baskets were not well-marked and with all the trees and elevation, it is hard to find your way through the first couple of times.
Other Thoughts: Cedar Rapids is a great hotbed of DG. Enjoyed this course and a couple of other my two weeks in town.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best Cedar Rapids course

5+    9/7/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: wadeG
Played: 50  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good elevation and heavily wooded with tight fairways. Has a challenging variety of shots with a few longer holes as well as memorable holes, all of which make it the best course in Cedar Rapids. DG shop at the entrance.
Cons: A few of the holes could use next tee signs for direction.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Better Hit Those Lines

1    6/22/2011   6/22/2011
Review By: Tricky
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, any course that has a pro shop that's well stocked right by it is a huge plus. The guys inside the shop were friendly and helpful. The shop had a good amount of inventory.

The course teases you for the first two holes, like a spider web just waiting to catch you. Then you get to hole #3 and the lines you have to hit become smaller and smaller.

Great use of land. Elevation changes create difficulty on holes that don't posses the distance factor. Hole #5 just begs for you to try to make the birdie putt and go long. Though the gaps and lines are small, they are reasonable. I've played a fair share of "poke and hope" courses and this isn't one of them. The course usually has a good number of people playing, but we didn't have any problems with pace of play. Everyone we ran into was friendly and helped us navigate the course since we were first timers. Each hole had good signs, some may need to be updated soon. Distances seemed to be fairly accurate.

I love courses where you can't just "grip it and rip it" and with Shaver, you have to have touch and accuracy to score well.
Cons: I would love to see some "next tee" indicators by the baskets to help new players navigate their way through the woods.

Some holes could stand to be cleared out a bit, but I would love to play this course when the leaves are falling!

Hole #18 has a tree limb as a bridge to cross the creek and I can see that being a hazard for some to get over. My parents were with me and were forced to walk back around 17 and through.

Hole #17's basket has #18's number on it and hole #16 has two hole baskets and tees it looked like. It was a little confusing.
Other Thoughts: This is the course to go to when you want to be challenged. This will improve your game and show you that accuracy is always KING! I would recommend this course to all my friends and will definitely be coming back!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Shaver Park

5+    6/16/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: detra319
Played: 43  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has quite a bit going for it. After some recent modifications it has added some length that was sorely needed, and some of the filler holes have been removed.

Many different types of shots to throw, with the exception of anhyzer/lefty throws. Really only 2 holes that can be considered lefty, maybe 3 if you want to be frisky.

Course design- this course is very interesting, with lots of elevation in the early holes to mix things up, and every hole can be birdied on the front 9. Several blind pins make for good placement golf. The new hole 6 which replaced the short lefty hole is a nice change, with a blind tee shot through a tunnel to the pin. About 360 ft, its a fun fun new hole to throw, definitely a score separater. The back 9 offers several more challenging holes, with 3 holes that can truly be called par 4's. There a several routes on most holes that can be taken, with some definite risk reward.

The shule on this course used to be much much worse than it is now, as throughout the years the increased level of play has thinned things out. This course is also one of the easiest to play after rain as it drains very quickly. Its bad RIGHT after the rain, but several hours later it is fine.

The signs on this course are well maintained and designed, and the navigation flows very well except for one spot. Since the course is older and played fairly heavily it is easy to tell where to walk to the next pad.
Cons: Lots and lots of erosion. Hard to figure out where to go between hole 4 and 5, but thats the only navigation issues.

Some nettles/ragweed around holes 10-13, but just a recent thing.

Some trash issues, but it has improved this year with quite a few more trash cans being put in and awesome volunteers to empty them.

Other Thoughts: This course is very fun. Well worth the trip if you are in the CR area. Challenging shots that place an emphasis on control, with a few chances to rip it. Come to shaver!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My new new "Favorite"

1    6/11/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: GabeEtzel
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets - all are fine and in working condition

Elevation - massive changes in elevation make playing here very fun, yet challenging

Level of enjoyment - extremely high

Pro shop located right outside the course, that has the best selection and pricing around

The feeling of this course is just so amazing

Very straight-forward in where to go after finishing a hole
Cons: Landings - most are fine, but some are too short or too narrow, sometimes extremely muddy

Terrain - all paths and fairways are dirt so they turn to mud very easily

Wooding - be good and throw accurate vs powerful because there are trees all over and finding discs is hard

Hole 1 and 2 go by a play ground and basketball court, so make sure you're warmed up

Hole 2 is located right by a street so don't over throw
Other Thoughts: I saw Adam Olsen here, and at Titan Pro Shop when I was here and there!

Extremely muddy after rain, and longer than usual

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/28/2011   5/28/2011
Review By: Come_Disc_Iowa
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: really its the best course in cedar rapids. since they modified the course to make it a lot longer. bring a new feel. they put in a new #6 witch is longer and a tuff drive off the tee. they also took #13 abd #14 and cabined them it to one long hole. making it a tuff par 3. they also made the new # 15 and pushed it back making it a over 600 ft. aslo #17 was push back and put on a small hill in the middle of the ravine. since they combined 2 hole they added a new hole witch is #18 and is a great hole tuff shot over the ravien with a little left to right bend to a elevated basket . great hole. the city of cedar rapids did a great job revamping this course making it long and more challenging (knowing it was kinda tuff before)
Cons: they only a couple things that really sucks about this course.
it get muddy after a good rain and sincr it all pretty much in the woods it take a couple of
days to dry out in thr spring and fall and the stinky creek is nasty all the time so try to stay away from it.
the ont reall beef i have abut this course is that the #7 tee pad is at a angle. it slant up tord the basket really off setting urx step aproach. some day they will fix it.
Other Thoughts: if u come to cedar rapids u must go and play this course if ur up for a challenge i live in cr and i play this course lots its worth playind.
Plus they open a disc golf shop next to the front entrance of the park. thank god it is about time.

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/5/2011   5/6/2011
Review By: gassal01
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I would probably consider this my home course. Not that it is my favorite course, but it is less than 10 min from my house and is a very nice challenging course.

There is a nice mix between open shots and wooded shots.

The disc golf shop that opened up next to the park has been very nice. They also have been helping keep the park much cleaner and have even changed some of the holes around to make the course more of a pro course. Props to you guys who have been helping with this. But get beer in that shop of yours. You will make a killing

All the baskets are in relatively good shape. Although some arsehole stole basket #8 so hopefully the city replaces that soon.

Nice big concrete pads. Some have weird slopes though.
Cons: Trees will pop out and get you on this course. The course has a nice layout but some of the holes you have to walk back on which makes for dangerous play if you have someone behind you.

Getting really buggy now that the foliage is in.
Also, you may spend some time looking for your disc on some holes, but you can also find some!

People dont really respect this park and tend to throw their trash/beer cans everywhere.

Some unsafe hills and bridges. Which you make lose your footing and fall.

Other Thoughts: Its a very solid course and now that people are actually taking care of the course. It is much nicer.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.