Cedar Rapids, IA
Shaver Park Share
Uploaded By: medicinalfunk Hole #8 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee: Basket located straight ahead from the teepad



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 

5+    3/21/2009   3/21/2009
Review By: Conler Milrad
Played: 114  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2009
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Technical with distance. Shade over most holes in the summer. Easy to navigate.
Cons: Few garbage cans.
Other Thoughts: Technical and very wooded. Risk/Reward course. Find the right line and you can do well. A lot of elevation change.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    10/16/2008   3/4/2009
Review By: zoieblud
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Definitely makes you work at the shots. Not an easy course, so you have to try alot harder.
Cons: Lots of trees. The leaves make it really bad in the fall, use a BRIGHT disk for playing, even if it's not the best disk for the shot.
Other Thoughts: I learned to play on this course, so I'm partial. I've played all the other courses in the CR/Marion/North Liberty/Coralville area though and I always come back. It's definitely my favorite -- but I like a challenge.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

good for C.R. courses

5+    8/20/2008   2/21/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A park that is pretty much just for disc golf now. Heavily wooded throughout the course. Line shaping abilities are needed here. As a more exerienced player, I enjoyed the technical requirements that this course has, a beginner won't. Large teesigns on most holes. Large cement teepads are big, flat and level. Baskets are in great shape with a couple of new ones throughout. Recent changes include new holes which actually add a fair amount of elevation to them, especially hole 7 that drops about 80 feet or more. Park is secluded so you don't have to worry about other park users.
Cons: Navigation is continues to be a big issue. Very confusing layout after some of the new holes are added. As is stands of 08/13/2012 the signs are messed up and you can easily get lost. However based on the recent improvements to this course, I can see this being changed as well, and hope. Next tee signs on the ground near the baskets would be of big help here. Trash is definately an issue as well. All the trash cans were overfilled and random beer bottles/cans throughout the course. Benches and teesigns are marked throughout as well.
Other Thoughts: This is definately the best course in Cedar Rapids area. Heavily wooded and hilly courses are my favorite and this is just that. The new holes really work well and are much fun to play. A few new benches and teepads are signs that this course is in the state of improvement. Unfortunately I don't live close by to play this on a regualr basis, but always look forward to coming back to Cedar Rapids to play this course. Will update this review in the future as this continues to transform into a better course. Update: lanscaping continues to improve, and the new holes are being broken in. The locals are working hard on this course. Still waiting to see all new signs and navigation aids though.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course!

5+    11/14/2008   11/14/2008
Review By: ziggy5250
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love this course. I learned at this course and it rules. It's tough, but nice shots are real nice here. You can almost always find at least one good line through the trees. It's the definition of a risk/reward course. The fall is a tough time to play it though, I lost my first disc of the year there this week in an open fairway just cause of the leaves.
Cons: Some people aren't very good about carrying their trash out but that's about it. Some people complain about the parking and that the park closes in the fall but there is a back entrance that is always open.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course at least a hundred times and its a blast, if like courses in the woods you've gotta check it out.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/4/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: Pinto
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's a very challenging course through the woods. The signs and holes are in good condition, little waiting, and a good mix of different hole types.
Cons: One of the back nine holes had a basket missing, which was present before 2008. Some holes have too many trees in the fairway to have clean shots. The parking isn't the best.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a beginner's course, however I've warmed up to it and love the challenge and low crowding unlike Jones and Legion.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5/28/2008   5/31/2008
Review By: Squirtismv07
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Excellent course, majority of the course is through the woods, very well marked holes.
Cons: Nothing is really bad about it, can be a bit buggy when wet but thats all
Other Thoughts: Very fun course, so far i believe its the best one in Cedar Rapids but i have yet to play Jones yet.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.