Layout Extinct

Oak Brook, IL
Central Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: jenco Hole #5 (Taken 10/2011)
5 / 333ft.   5 / 333ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Ok Course

5+    5/5/2012   5/10/2012
Review By: southside5
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: pretty wooded
good mix of throws
some holes have garbage cans
signs are pretty accurate
Cons: construction last time i was there, which made me notice some trees being cut down, i think it was on the right side of hole 7.
not too much distance
other frolfers were there for the first time and got a little lost
not too much elevation change
there was a soccer tournament when i went and some kids were warming up in front of the first tee and parking was horrendous
Other Thoughts: Solid 9 hole course.
not sure what theyre doing with the construction.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Better 9 holer in Chicago

5+    10/7/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: whitechocolate
Played: 371  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Solid Tee Signs
-Boxed Fly Pads Tees
-Lots of Additional Park amentities
-Mach 5 in great shape
-Shaped Fairways
-Course doesn't really share ground with other activities

For another Chicagoland nine hole course, this one has a little more to offer than most. Although the park is current dominated by soccer fields and baseball diamonds, its course holds its own against the other features of the park. The two soccer fields directly across for the course is a great place to warm up on your drives. The park also features a jogging path, multiple playgrounds, tennis courts, sand volleyball courts, pools, and the people of Oakbrook has a sports facility their as well with contain racquetball courts as well as other indoor activities in two different buildings. There is something for the whole family to do while you pound out a round or seven.

The pads, although a little short, are decent boxed flypads. Although the are not concrete, they do the job rather well. The Mach 5 are all still in great shape and catch well. Most of the fairways are shaped well to force an average player to generally have only one line. The rough is thick enough in places to potentially force a four on an errant shot. There are more right turning shots at this course than most nine holes. Holes 1 and 4 are left turning. Holes 2, 3, and 8 are right turning. Holes 5, 6, 7 and 9 are more or less straight shots. Although hole 6 has a nifty mando, which adds to need a slight turnover (RHBH) and keeps the cars safe in the parking lot. The course is also more or less secluded from other activities. The do sometimes put in a Halloween walk for the kids which will wrap through parts of the course. Please be aware and courteous of this if this is the case.
Cons: -One set of tees/pads
-Slowly have been losing obstacles
-Gravel under baskets

The biggest problem I see with this course is the lack of diversity from round to round. There is only one set of tees and one set of baskets. Most of the tees are back as far and they could go, so the only way to make additional tees on most holes would be to make them shorter. With a total length of around 2500' (less than 300' a hole average) that would not add to the challenge for most players, but take away from. The best option would be a second set of baskets to add a little length or pin placement challenges. And that wouldn't even be vary realistic on a few holes either. The course is pretty close to maxed out as it's current set up.

The second thing that I do not like is this year they put gravel underneath the baskets. Although it looks nice and make it easier to tell where "not to mow", it eats away at the putter if you miss a putt. I also do not use any of the baskets for putting practice anymore.

The park district, over the last couple of years, have trimmed off the bottom of the pine trees to eliminate some climbing. I understand why they did it, however, it made hole 9 dramatically easier. It used to be a hole where if you try to curve your shot too much you would clip them and potentially be in a position to four the hole. It is much more forgiving now. Even though it is a 360' it is relatively easier to have a easy layup for a three and I do not have a big arm. Also with the storms over the summer, the course has lost a handful of trees on numerous holes. Although the challenge of the course is still there, it is easier than it has been in the past. It is most noticeable on Hole 6. Places that were high robbers of shots are gone. As long as you make it all the way through the mando slope, it is a lot easier to 3 the hole.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is one of the best 9 hole courses in Chicagoland. It's unique by comparison. I could see how a seasoned player could get bored playing here on a daily basis. I tend to switch up my shots here just to try different things out. It is great to work on different shots at open courses, but here if you miss a line, the course does let you know.

This is one of my favorite 9 hole courses in Chicagoland, and probably in my top 5. The only 9 hole course that stick outs and being noticeable greater than this one is Brickyard in Menomonie, WI. It is worth checking out if you are in the area, and by comparison to what is close, it is probably your best option without driving to Joliet, Mokena, or Crown Point, IN.

If this ever course going to a 18 hole course it has the potential to be the best 18 course in Chicagoland. With the small rolling hills, the trees, and the small creek (and potentially the retention ponds) it could have some amazing options. Oakbrook park district does an amazing job upkeeping their park.

I rated the course a 3.0 which is good. By comparison, this course in excellent to everything else the area has to offer by a nine hole course. If the tees pads weren't torn on a couple holes, and the gravel wasn't under the baskets, I would give it a 3.5 (Very Good). If there were multiple pin or teepad locations I would probably bump it up to a 4.0 (Excellent). This is definitely one of my favorite local places to play, but had to ranked it based on what I have seen across the country. If the park district does some of the things they have been talking about doing, the will become the course to play in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 And if you can't be with the one you love, Honey love the one you're with.

2-4    2/28/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 135  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 19.3 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: To me Central Park is a really good example of what a recreational course should look like. The course makes use of the very little elevation changes it has to give you some up and down shots, and the moderate woods are used to define your routes and create a bit of challenge to the holes. There is a mix of short and long-ish holes, so there is a nice variety in the shots. The overall design of the holes is quite good. The course has good tee signs with a hole map and distances. In a few places where there is a long walk between holes there are directional signs. There are benches and trashcans on the course. The tees are built up and have a rubber coating on them. The overall park is very nice and the course seems to be very well taken care of. All in all, it's a very nice 9-hole recreational course.
Cons: In the end, it's a 9-hole recreational course. The longest hole is 398 ft, and the course isn't technical enough in its challenge to make up for what it lacks in length. The course makes good use of the elevation changes available, but there really isn't much of that available. It really is a mostly flat, fairly short, somewhat technical course. Anyone over an Intermediate level of play probably won't find a lot of challenge to this one. Intermediate and below will have a lot of fun with this one.

A few holes are fairly close together, and the basket for # 2 is basically in #9's fairway. It's not nearly as bad as a lot of other courses in the area, but you need to be aware of others on the course.

The tees are fairly short, and on the longer holes I was wishing for more tee to use.
Other Thoughts: The course gives me a weird effect where in a lot of spots you can feel like you are in the woods, but you can hear the traffic roaring by on the nearby highways. It's a nice nature oasis, but you can't really escape the urban reality.

The thing that stands out in my mind about Central Park is that the course uses the land available about as well as it can be used, and the course fits into the overall park design. The course does not create a lot of conflict with other users. In our rush to push disc golf courses in, the need for disc golf to fit into the overall park is often lost. The designers who worked on Central Park used what little they had and made a very nice course from it, and that's a lesson many course designers could learn from.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 The Best Niner Around

5+    12/23/2010   2/21/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 71  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A surprisingly fun and challenging 9 holer in chicagoland that does not dissapoint.

- Excellent use of obstacles, with trees in play on every hole. Even the more open holes punish errant shots.

- A bunch of right turns, or RHBH anhyzers which is a refreshing change of pace.

- A good variety of lines and distances, most holes play longer than your average 9 hole course.

- The course is in great shape, well maintained. With good signage and tees.

- Navigation is fairly easy for first timers, and the park is usually well used so it's easy to follow groups in front.

- A great degree of risk/reward. The thick trees can be unforgiving while you are rewarded if you hit the right lines.
Cons: The biggest con about this course is that there isn't enough room to put up 9 more holes just like it.

Fairways can also overlap with several blind shots with opportunities to get hit by a disc, so be alert.

Other Thoughts: Overall this is one of the best 9 hole courses I have ever played. The designers did a great job to make the best of the space and the obstacles available.

This is a great course for both beginner and experienced, making it a standout in the area.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

5+    6/8/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great use of the woods to make challenging holes. Some of the holes are lightly wooded, others can be quite thick. Even the more "open" holes use trees well to force lines.
- Nice mix of shots needed. Mostly right-turning holes, but a good mix of left and straight as well.
- Very slight elevation changes make as big a difference as they can. #6 has a small hill to get over, which can really prevent a straight shot to the basket. Hole #7 is a tunnel shot that has a teeny upslope, which is so slight, yet makes me rethink it over and over again.
- Nice tees, signage, and garbage cans. Good baskets as well
- A mando on #6 is a rare sight around these parts, and makes the hole nice and tricky.
Cons: - Some of the holes get a bit repetitive. Right turn around the trees, right turn around the trees, etc.
- The short holes are very short. Not much they could do, as the space is somewhat limited.
- Bit of a walk from #5 to #6 isn't that bad, but really kills the secluded atmosphere.
- Some of the holes are near to others, as I have been pretty close to getting hit by errant discs. Impossible to warn people, as the trees make a lot of shots blind.
Other Thoughts: - I think the small ditch for the water runoff might really help keep #9 from becoming a wading pool. This would be a pro, but I am only speculating as I haven't been to this course when wet.
- This course has made me an expert with my RHFH. I feel very sorry for those who only sport the RHBH with little ability to turn right.
- Only an orange ribbon on the mando tree on #6. There was a sign, must have been stolen.
- Good luck if they have leagues. Can get pretty crowded on any given day anyway.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/25/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: Two_Bearded_Dudes
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 20.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2010
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good Energy
Well-Maintained Course
Nice Pads w. Great Signs
Short, Technical Shots
A few of these whole are a whole hella lotta fun with a couple legit acing opportunities.
Cons: Needs a few longer holes.
A very quick 9 (just run through it twice)
Other Thoughts: Overall, a very nice course. Plenty of complex, tough-to-navigate shots set in a nicely wooded backdrop. It definitely has a park district vibe with well-manicured trails, lawns etc.

Heading back a second time and had an easier go finding that 1st Tee. Once you hit the lot, you'll see a white "bridge" on your left side. There's a couple vending machines in a brown wooden structure, park at the first one you see across from the soccer field and you're there.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 fun 9 holes

1    7/25/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 32  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2009
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: nice rubber tee pads, nice signs/tee markers, good baskets, has left-right right-left holes, uses space well, clean, use trees well to protect some holes or at least make it challenging to get to them, was only 1 other group there in late afternoon
Cons: a little short for me, no elevation but it doesn't make the course bad
Other Thoughts: at oak brook park district, its tucked away in the back, best 9 hole course i have played at, give it a go.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 B = Better than average 9-holer

1    4/9/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B-
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.