Layout Extinct

Oak Brook, IL 
Central Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: jenco Hole #2 (Taken 10/2011)
4 / 248ft.   4 / 248ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 

1    5/27/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This definitely ranks among the best 9-holers in the chicago area. I was familiar with this area before the course was put in, and thought there was no way a decent course could have been installed on such a small tract of land, but the course designer did a fantastic job creating a challenging, enjoyable course.

This course has a really diverse range of shots, all of which are challenging in unique ways. There are short technical shots, long bombs, and some tough mid-range shots.

All of the little things you look for in a course are here: great signs posted on wood posts, nice concrete tee pads, a course map by the first tee, and garbage cans at every hole.

The landscaping here is impeccable. I've seen work being done on this course on multiple occasions, and it shows. All of the trees are well trimmed, loose branches are removed, the creek that runs along the 9th fairway is lined with rocks, etc.

This course is harsh on RHBH players and isn't a beginner friendly course, but you can really improve your game by playing here.
Cons: In a few spots the navigation gets confusing. Walking from #5 to #6 you actually pass the tee for #9, but a "next tee" sign is present, so this isn't a huge problem.

Parking could be an issue at times. This course shares a lot with a large soccer facility as well as overflow parking for events at the Oak Brook Park District facilities on site. 9 out of 10 times this isn't an issue, but it's an inconvenience if you come at the wrong time.

A few holes have spots where it is pretty easy to lose a disc, namely #5, which has thick grass on both sides of the fairway and a few large pine trees that have potential to eat a disc as well.

As with most good courses in the suburbs, this place gets very crowded at times, but most of the people I've seen here are pretty respectful of course etiquette.
Other Thoughts: The course is located on the grounds of the Oak Brook Park District, so it should be easy to find. Once you turn into the park district, you take the first right after the baseball field and follow the road until you see the soccer fields. The course is across the road from the soccer fields and the sign and first tee are visible from the lot.


9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A solid 9 holes

2-4    5/6/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: skinner21
Played: 22  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is in a very well populated area, yet it does a nice job of being away from the rest of the multi-use park and throwers never have to worry about throwing on non-dgres. This course is very well kept and the tee signs are great. There is a map by the first tee, and it is a good idea to look it over, but the Next Tee signs and paths they have making navigation very easy. There were a few blind holes that I used only the tee sign to figure out wher the hole was and it never led me astray. I even parked one of them (the 2nd hole). The Tee Pads are well kept rubber. There were a bit on the small side, but were very nice and gave solid footing.

The course itself is very wooded, and plays pretty short. There are only 2 holes that reach much beyond 300'. Because the trees are of the needle variety, trees catch discs very well and often force tough 2nd shots. The course puts a premium on accuracy. This is a pretty challenging 9 hole course. There is good left/right mix and tunnel shots. A big drive only available on the last hole, and maybe one other hole but only if you choose to throw towards the parking lot.

It's one of only a few courses in the area, so treat it well. One of the better 9 hole courses out there, especially in this area.
Cons: It is in a multi-use park and while they are never obstacles while you are throwing, it did take away from the "nature" feel I like while DGing.

This course is very flat, as much of IL is. I would like a little more distance.
Other Thoughts: Finding the course itself is kind of tough, but that won't be held against it. If Google wouldn't have told me get there from 83, I would have been fine. Follow the directions posted on this courses details page.

This is a very nice 9 hole course that I would definitely play again, but only if I were in the area. If this course were 18 holes similar to the 9 they have now, I would drive the hour or so from my house to play it again.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9 hole course in 'burbs

2-4    8/6/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: WindyCityROCer
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Pretty well maintained
-rubber tees, while maybe a bit small, are in GREAT shape
-Baskets in great shape
-Excellent use of the natural terrain
-Pretty challenging layout requiring tight lines, multiple lines on most holes allow for both BH and FH shots, but L>R shots have the advantage
-Most of the schule had paths in it make disc retrieval not too bad
-course routing and sinage is great
Cons: -Lots of schule, probably not the most beginner friendly course in the area.
-favors L>R shots on over half the course
-Was crowded when we were there, lots of waiting around...
-While in very good condition, some of the schule could use trimming (seemed to be a few gaps that were overgrown) and there were some (few) stumps and other debris in fairways.
Other Thoughts: Great tight, technical heavily wooded course. It will call on almost every trick in your bag, most of all a good long, low L>R shot. While theoretically not that difficult, the tight fairways will challenge most players, and the long arms will be very quickly put in check.

The rest of the park looked beautiful, bathrooms available, ample parking (when we played) although I can imagine on a weekend with 2 soccer fields, it will fill up quick.

Overall, a good experience. In my opinion, this couldn't really be a 5 star course, but if some of the rough edges were cleaned up, it could go up another .5 in my book.

-edit- after looking at the pictures again, the course was MUCH tighter today than portrayed in the pictures

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Compact Course

5+    5/7/2009   5/12/2009
Review By: manzilla86
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first time I played this course I played through it 4 times. It is a well designed course for the space that is allowed for it. I like to rate courses on how they utilize the space that they are given, and they do an extremely good job mixing up holes with left, right, and straight holes.

As for navigation, I found the course pretty easy. I had no guide and was there alone, but figured out the course quickly without getting lost.
Cons: When I played the course, it was very muddy, but I think that was more because it was spring and not something that is normal at the course.

The biggest con is, while being in a big park is probably one of the reasons the course exists, it can get terribly crowded on weekends, and parking during a soccer tournament is a zoo. I went to play this course one Saturday and couldn't find parking, then got stuck in the park by other cars for about a half hour. Not fun, but also not the courses fault.
Other Thoughts: The course locals are very friendly, when I was playing there last a random guy told me how they have doubles play every Thursday and invited me to come. Also, the same group does volunteer maintenance, which is probably why the course is well maintained.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/6/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: Bytor
Played: 37  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nicely layed out course
good signs
very clean & well maintaned
Cons: Odd that you have to walk past 9th hole to get to the 6th hole.
Only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is great for beginners and
veterans alike.
If your in Oak Brook play it!!!!

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 It's a GEM!

2-4    4/30/2009   5/1/2009
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/2/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course exemplifies what a 9-hole park setting type course SHOULD BE! Let's face it, this course was designed to be part of a huge multi-use sport park that attracts alot of people. With that understanding in mind, it gives you a little different perspective if you have played several courses.

- Beautiful short course that is layed out within the woods at the edge of the park.
- Hole variety is great with 1 Straight/ 3 Left/ 5 Right.
- One of the best mix of hole types I have seen on a 9-hole course. You will experience a little bit of everything from an open tee shot into a tightly tree surrounded basket to a tree wrapped tee shot into an open fairway, and yes there are even a couple of corridor holes. GREAT overall mix of layouts.
- Very nice course map/sign at hole 1.
- Course is easy to follow without a map and well marked for hole transitions.
- Overall course beauty is a 7/10 IMO.
- Course design really allows the experienced player to utilize their bag of tricks. Just a great mix of approach shots and more experienced players should be putting for birdie on most holes.
- Overall course maintenance appears to be fantastic. This is most likely due again to having it within such a large well used park.
- Perfect length course for beginners.
Cons: - The tee pads are not even close to big enough. Roughly 4x8.
- Not much elevation change.
- Just a touch too short for the experienced player.
Other Thoughts: - Restroom located at 1st Hole.
- Benches and trash cans were scattered throughout. Course was very clean!
- Nice tee signs which were very helpful for a first time player.
- It would tremendously benefit from larger tees without question!

This is truly a GEM for a 9-hole course! For those who have not experienced the variety of courses out there, take my word this is one of the best there is when it comes to variety within one course.

For more information see my detailed course review in the links section.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite near Chicago

2-4    4/21/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: btank
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Peaceful and mostly secluded from the rest of the park. You could drink a beer without mothers giving you disapproving looks. Its through the woods some, but not too much.
Cons: Could be longer, I really wish there was 18 holes on this course.
Other Thoughts: This is arguably the best course near Chicago, or atleast that I have played.

How can Indianapolis have so many better courses than a city 4 times its size???

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    3/27/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 123  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/9/2010
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Oak Brook is a challenging, occasionally frustrating course.
-The majority of fairways are bordered with thick woods, forcing you to take a particular line down the fairway.
-Good, newer baskets
-While most of the holes are difficult, most are 2-able.
-Hole 6 is the exception, It's a monster, 398' It starts out with a mando on the right about 100' out followed by a narrow fairway for approx. 125 ft. before it opens up for the remainder of the hole. I have never seen (or heard of) this one deuced.
-This course has nice, large, rubber tee pads with adequate signs and newly added trash cans by tee pads.
Cons: Only 9 holes.
Very little elevation change.
Dense rough in summer.
Can get pretty crowded.
Only 1 set of tees.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Can be rough on beginners due to thick rough and evergreen trees.
This course is very different in summer vs. spring or fall. The already narrow fairways really fill in once the trees and bushes really puff up.
They do doubles leagues here Thursday nights in summer and Sunday day during eary spring, late fall.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Do yuppies disc golf?

1    11/7/2008   11/7/2008
Review By: ForehandMAN36
Played: 103  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 12.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Well maintained park
* Quality baskets
* Detailed tee signs
* rubber tee areas
* tight fairways really challenge your ability in 2 ways. 1. Putting thought into what path you wanna take on a throw and your ability to follow through on throwing it through a narrow fairway. 2. Really works on your short game, lot of obstacles!
* Layout easy to follow.
Cons: * Hole # 4 has skinny/young trees that stick out like a sore thumb smack dead in the fairway.
* Hole # 6 has a parking lot to the left with many expensive vehicles parked in it. Makes a player very cautious throwing.
Other Thoughts: Nice job of placing a quality 9 hole course in such a tight space. I'd gladly play again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun, tough course!

1    9/22/2008   10/1/2008
Review By: krc1130
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very pretty course in the middle of a MASSIVE park. Well marked holes, as well as a board at the first hole detailing the course layout. Some very tight shots, while a few let you open up a bit. Not the longest course, however, the tight fairways really make you work for a good drive. There may be no 500 footers, but definitely provides a great challenge. The rubber tees are quite nice, as well. Mostly wooded course, though a few shots allow you to open up a bit.
Cons: No elevation changes, but the course is so tough as is, I doubt that it is needed. Some holes are harder to get to, but everything is marked fairly well. If you lose a disc in the brush, you may have issues getting through some more dense areas. My legs and arms were irritated after getting jabbed with pine needles. I was lucky to not have to get into the poison ivy on the course.
Other Thoughts: Very challenging course - I'm not great, but I played with some better players who had trouble with a number of holes here. Though this course might be hard to find, it's pretty conveniently located off of some major roads. Just off 83 in Oak Brook, right by the McDonald's headquarters - you may just have to zig-zag a bit through the park complex. This is a very pretty, very fun course that requires a good amount of skill - hopefully you don't have to be roaming through the dense trees and brush too much!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.