Layout Extinct

Oak Brook, IL 
Central Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: jenco Hole #6 (Taken 10/2011)
5 / 398ft.   5 / 398ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Oakbrook

5+    6/1/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: tjclassic82
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well kept course right in the middle of Oakbrook Park District. Great mix of shots for a 9 hole course. You don't have to throw 400 feet to play this course well but you do need to know how to hit your lines. Each hole will give you it's own set of unique problems and no hole is necessarily a guaranteed birdie like a lot of other shorter 9 hole courses in the area. It's not the most technically challenging, but it's a great course and fun to play over and over again.
Cons: It can tend to get crowded very quickly because of it's location, many casual players will tend to group up in 4's and 5's and clogs happen quickly. Too short!!!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Agree!

1    5/22/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: giddyup
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I was going to be in Chicago for a busy few days so I wanted to get the best bang for my buck the one time I got to play DG while I was there. All reviews pointed to this course and it definitely delivered. Central Park is in a pretty affluent suburb of Chicago, so it's a nice area and the park was very well kept. There was no signage for the course driving up to the park, but the park building was open on a Sunday morning at 8 AM, so it was easy to find someone to point us in the right direction.

The course is pretty flat (go figure, it's in IL), so there is not much elevation to speak of. But I don't think it's a black eye to this course. There are still plenty of trees and dog legs to make it interesting.

There is one hole where you walk right by the park office building, but other than that, it's got a pretty nice secluded feel.

Nice concrete tee pads, good baskets, and great signage (once you get to the course) round it out to make it a must play in the Chicago area. From what I've seen, I don't think you'll find a 9 hole rec course to match it!
Cons: The one thing this course lacks is distance. It really is a one dimensional course. While it provides a lot of opportunities to work on some technical shots, hole nine is the only hole to step up to the tee pad and let 'er eat. Hole six looked like that, but there is a mando tree that forces you back into the woods. Along with that, the pars were a bit generous.
Other Thoughts: Honestly, the 4.0 rating I gave would be a little inflated next to some courses because of the lack of variety. But, when you consider some of the common pitfalls of other courses on busy Chicago parks, this one pulls ahead.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9-holer in Chicagoland

5+    11/6/2009   1/6/2010
Review By: goalkeeper19
Played: 124  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great rubber tee pads
-Lots of shot variety (straight tunnels, right and left turns, 2 double doglegs, open shots)
-Well-designed, very challenging layout
-No holes over 400', but the terrain and trees are used in such a way that only 2 holes are must-deuce
-Several difficult anhyzer holes, which is rare in Chicagoland
-very well maintained, no trash
-what little elevation exists is used well on a few holes
-a beautiful par 4 hole (#6) has a tough mando left , with shule guarding the left side of the fairway
-fair golf, if you hit your lines, you'll shoot well. you miss your lines, you'll take a bogey or worse.
Cons: -only 9 holes, this would be a spectacular 18 hole course if they could continue in the same way
-somewhat flat course
-difficult to find the first time, it's tucked away into the park
-need to walk past hole #9 to get to #6, can be a little confusing
Other Thoughts: This is definitely the best 9 hole course that I've played. It's better than many of the 18-hole courses in the Chicagoland area. Shooting an even 27 here doesn't really feel bad at all, and shooting better than 2 under feels great! Rack up your must-make birdies on #4 and #7, and don't get chewed up by #3, 5, and 6! Getting birdies on the other holes is an accomplishment as well.

You definitely need a full bag of tricks for this course, and it's perfect for working on line shaping and hitting lines. Great for anhyzer practice as well.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 good course

2-4    9/22/2009   9/23/2009
Review By: jea103
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -nice layout
-pars are high, i shot 8 strokes under and do not play that often
-easy holes
-mats to throw from
-signs at each hole
-well kept, grass cut regularly
Cons: -hard to navigate the first time you play, had to ask someone where a few holes were
-the pine trees in the course will eat up a bad throw and may take a half hour to locate or to get a bad throw down from the tall trees
-make sure you watch where all disks land there are tall shrubs and thick rough through out the course
Other Thoughts: -very fun to play, not many good courses in the aea i live (midway) i will definitely come back again
-beginer friendly, not many other frolfers when i played, weekdays around noon

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun course!

1    7/26/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: gsmit
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1.) Beautiful course with great atmosphere!

2.) A wide variety of throws needed at this course. Each hole weaves in & out of the forest. Most holes dog-leg left or right. And all vary in length.

3.) Very easy to navigate, with a map in front of the first hole.
Cons: 1.) The course lists each hole with a par # that is way too easy. There are a few par 5's that should be Par 3. I would suggest playing this course, but changing the par to all 3's or 4's.
Other Thoughts: One of the more fun courses I have played. I played this course and Lombard's Madison Meadow on the same day, so it made for a great day of disc golf. I would suggest playing both, since they are both great courses, and both close to each other.

If this course was more that a 9 hole, it would be AMAZING. It was really an awesome course, but left me wanting more after I finished, because it was only 9 holes.

I highly suggest playing this course. It is very fun course to play. It is worth the drive, because of the variety of throws needed for each hole.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Of course in Oak Brook

5+    5/28/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: davidwebb
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of short technical shots and long holes. Nothing that's so long to make you feel bad about your driving though. Lots of obstacles but the ground is pretty clear. 3 or 4 times I thought I had lost my disc only to realize it was in plain sight. The park is beautiful (it's in one of the richest suburbs in the U.S. so I would expect that). It was the first time I played on rubber tees, which was another plus. The soccer fields across the parking lot were where I learned how to stabilize my drive (finally got it consistently over 350ft!) and it is easy to judge how far you drive there (a soccer field is 360ft long). Rock surround the base of the holes, and, while there is some mud there, it minimizes the amount of times you have to use a towel on your discs. I came after 3 days of decent rain and it was not really that muddy at all, there was also a minimal amount of bugs around. I played Knock Knolls (in Naperville) the day before and was absolutely swarmed by gnats and mesquitos.
Cons: Hmmm. I guess you could say that it might be a little short for people who drive over 400ft consistently, but I think all of the positive aspects here make up for that, and then some...and then some more.
Other Thoughts: The neighborhood is safe and beautiful. I work at the community pool in Hinsdale so this is a 6 minute drive from my work up Route 83. A gated community (the good kind) is across the road. I did not give it a 5 because I don't consider it the "ultimate" disc golf course. Its pretty darn good though.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A lunchtime regular

5+    8/21/2008   8/21/2008
Review By: m1ke
Played: 41  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ditto all the Pros the first two reviewers said, plus...
-Density of wooded areas means this course doesn't lose as much challenge as some courses in winter when leaves are down.
-For the area, this course is less waterlogged than most the day after rain.
-UPDATE: They've added trash cans at every tee.
Cons: -Poison ivy in places, especially around hole 2.
-The only maintenance failing is that the park district has been slow to remove large trees knocked over by storms (one was on a fairway for a week or two, one is still hanging over the path from basket 7 to tee 8 many months later).
-The green for 9 is occasionally still flooded after a heavy rain.
-Around Halloween, some holes are obstructed/closed for a week or two by park's decorations.
Other Thoughts: Our company used to be located a half-mile from this course and it's still less than a ten-minute drive, so my group plays it often over our lunch hour. It's definitely given us all plenty of practice at recovery shots from difficult lies! We enjoy this course a lot.
UPDATE: As of 5/9/09, work is underway to lengthen all the tees by a bit over 2 feet, plus some work around the basket areas, I presume to address what muddiness does occur (will update this review again with more info as work is completed).

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nicely layed out course!

5/15/2008   5/27/2008
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very beatiful landscaped park. Challenging layout, especially with the limited space available in the park.
Cons: Limited space makes longer holes impossible. course is tucked around soccer fields, softball fields and indoor gym.
Other Thoughts: Great little course, much nicer than you'd expect to find in a city park. I'll go back next time out in the area!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.