Layout Extinct

Oak Brook, IL 
Central Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: jenco Hole #4 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 210ft.   3 / 210ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beginner/Intermediate

5+    6/8/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great use of the woods to make challenging holes. Some of the holes are lightly wooded, others can be quite thick. Even the more "open" holes use trees well to force lines.
- Nice mix of shots needed. Mostly right-turning holes, but a good mix of left and straight as well.
- Very slight elevation changes make as big a difference as they can. #6 has a small hill to get over, which can really prevent a straight shot to the basket. Hole #7 is a tunnel shot that has a teeny upslope, which is so slight, yet makes me rethink it over and over again.
- Nice tees, signage, and garbage cans. Good baskets as well
- A mando on #6 is a rare sight around these parts, and makes the hole nice and tricky.
Cons: - Some of the holes get a bit repetitive. Right turn around the trees, right turn around the trees, etc.
- The short holes are very short. Not much they could do, as the space is somewhat limited.
- Bit of a walk from #5 to #6 isn't that bad, but really kills the secluded atmosphere.
- Some of the holes are near to others, as I have been pretty close to getting hit by errant discs. Impossible to warn people, as the trees make a lot of shots blind.
Other Thoughts: - I think the small ditch for the water runoff might really help keep #9 from becoming a wading pool. This would be a pro, but I am only speculating as I haven't been to this course when wet.
- This course has made me an expert with my RHFH. I feel very sorry for those who only sport the RHBH with little ability to turn right.
- Only an orange ribbon on the mando tree on #6. There was a sign, must have been stolen.
- Good luck if they have leagues. Can get pretty crowded on any given day anyway.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/27/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This definitely ranks among the best 9-holers in the chicago area. I was familiar with this area before the course was put in, and thought there was no way a decent course could have been installed on such a small tract of land, but the course designer did a fantastic job creating a challenging, enjoyable course.

This course has a really diverse range of shots, all of which are challenging in unique ways. There are short technical shots, long bombs, and some tough mid-range shots.

All of the little things you look for in a course are here: great signs posted on wood posts, nice concrete tee pads, a course map by the first tee, and garbage cans at every hole.

The landscaping here is impeccable. I've seen work being done on this course on multiple occasions, and it shows. All of the trees are well trimmed, loose branches are removed, the creek that runs along the 9th fairway is lined with rocks, etc.

This course is harsh on RHBH players and isn't a beginner friendly course, but you can really improve your game by playing here.
Cons: In a few spots the navigation gets confusing. Walking from #5 to #6 you actually pass the tee for #9, but a "next tee" sign is present, so this isn't a huge problem.

Parking could be an issue at times. This course shares a lot with a large soccer facility as well as overflow parking for events at the Oak Brook Park District facilities on site. 9 out of 10 times this isn't an issue, but it's an inconvenience if you come at the wrong time.

A few holes have spots where it is pretty easy to lose a disc, namely #5, which has thick grass on both sides of the fairway and a few large pine trees that have potential to eat a disc as well.

As with most good courses in the suburbs, this place gets very crowded at times, but most of the people I've seen here are pretty respectful of course etiquette.
Other Thoughts: The course is located on the grounds of the Oak Brook Park District, so it should be easy to find. Once you turn into the park district, you take the first right after the baseball field and follow the road until you see the soccer fields. The course is across the road from the soccer fields and the sign and first tee are visible from the lot.


9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/25/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: Two_Bearded_Dudes
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 21.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2010
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good Energy
Well-Maintained Course
Nice Pads w. Great Signs
Short, Technical Shots
A few of these whole are a whole hella lotta fun with a couple legit acing opportunities.
Cons: Needs a few longer holes.
A very quick 9 (just run through it twice)
Other Thoughts: Overall, a very nice course. Plenty of complex, tough-to-navigate shots set in a nicely wooded backdrop. It definitely has a park district vibe with well-manicured trails, lawns etc.

Heading back a second time and had an easier go finding that 1st Tee. Once you hit the lot, you'll see a white "bridge" on your left side. There's a couple vending machines in a brown wooden structure, park at the first one you see across from the soccer field and you're there.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A solid 9 holes

2-4    5/6/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: skinner21
Played: 22  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is in a very well populated area, yet it does a nice job of being away from the rest of the multi-use park and throwers never have to worry about throwing on non-dgres. This course is very well kept and the tee signs are great. There is a map by the first tee, and it is a good idea to look it over, but the Next Tee signs and paths they have making navigation very easy. There were a few blind holes that I used only the tee sign to figure out wher the hole was and it never led me astray. I even parked one of them (the 2nd hole). The Tee Pads are well kept rubber. There were a bit on the small side, but were very nice and gave solid footing.

The course itself is very wooded, and plays pretty short. There are only 2 holes that reach much beyond 300'. Because the trees are of the needle variety, trees catch discs very well and often force tough 2nd shots. The course puts a premium on accuracy. This is a pretty challenging 9 hole course. There is good left/right mix and tunnel shots. A big drive only available on the last hole, and maybe one other hole but only if you choose to throw towards the parking lot.

It's one of only a few courses in the area, so treat it well. One of the better 9 hole courses out there, especially in this area.
Cons: It is in a multi-use park and while they are never obstacles while you are throwing, it did take away from the "nature" feel I like while DGing.

This course is very flat, as much of IL is. I would like a little more distance.
Other Thoughts: Finding the course itself is kind of tough, but that won't be held against it. If Google wouldn't have told me get there from 83, I would have been fine. Follow the directions posted on this courses details page.

This is a very nice 9 hole course that I would definitely play again, but only if I were in the area. If this course were 18 holes similar to the 9 they have now, I would drive the hour or so from my house to play it again.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9-holer in Chicagoland

5+    11/6/2009   1/6/2010
Review By: goalkeeper19
Played: 124  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great rubber tee pads
-Lots of shot variety (straight tunnels, right and left turns, 2 double doglegs, open shots)
-Well-designed, very challenging layout
-No holes over 400', but the terrain and trees are used in such a way that only 2 holes are must-deuce
-Several difficult anhyzer holes, which is rare in Chicagoland
-very well maintained, no trash
-what little elevation exists is used well on a few holes
-a beautiful par 4 hole (#6) has a tough mando left , with shule guarding the left side of the fairway
-fair golf, if you hit your lines, you'll shoot well. you miss your lines, you'll take a bogey or worse.
Cons: -only 9 holes, this would be a spectacular 18 hole course if they could continue in the same way
-somewhat flat course
-difficult to find the first time, it's tucked away into the park
-need to walk past hole #9 to get to #6, can be a little confusing
Other Thoughts: This is definitely the best 9 hole course that I've played. It's better than many of the 18-hole courses in the Chicagoland area. Shooting an even 27 here doesn't really feel bad at all, and shooting better than 2 under feels great! Rack up your must-make birdies on #4 and #7, and don't get chewed up by #3, 5, and 6! Getting birdies on the other holes is an accomplishment as well.

You definitely need a full bag of tricks for this course, and it's perfect for working on line shaping and hitting lines. Great for anhyzer practice as well.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 good course

2-4    9/22/2009   9/23/2009
Review By: jea103
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -nice layout
-pars are high, i shot 8 strokes under and do not play that often
-easy holes
-mats to throw from
-signs at each hole
-well kept, grass cut regularly
Cons: -hard to navigate the first time you play, had to ask someone where a few holes were
-the pine trees in the course will eat up a bad throw and may take a half hour to locate or to get a bad throw down from the tall trees
-make sure you watch where all disks land there are tall shrubs and thick rough through out the course
Other Thoughts: -very fun to play, not many good courses in the aea i live (midway) i will definitely come back again
-beginer friendly, not many other frolfers when i played, weekdays around noon

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9 hole course in 'burbs

2-4    8/6/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: WindyCityROCer
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Pretty well maintained
-rubber tees, while maybe a bit small, are in GREAT shape
-Baskets in great shape
-Excellent use of the natural terrain
-Pretty challenging layout requiring tight lines, multiple lines on most holes allow for both BH and FH shots, but L>R shots have the advantage
-Most of the schule had paths in it make disc retrieval not too bad
-course routing and sinage is great
Cons: -Lots of schule, probably not the most beginner friendly course in the area.
-favors L>R shots on over half the course
-Was crowded when we were there, lots of waiting around...
-While in very good condition, some of the schule could use trimming (seemed to be a few gaps that were overgrown) and there were some (few) stumps and other debris in fairways.
Other Thoughts: Great tight, technical heavily wooded course. It will call on almost every trick in your bag, most of all a good long, low L>R shot. While theoretically not that difficult, the tight fairways will challenge most players, and the long arms will be very quickly put in check.

The rest of the park looked beautiful, bathrooms available, ample parking (when we played) although I can imagine on a weekend with 2 soccer fields, it will fill up quick.

Overall, a good experience. In my opinion, this couldn't really be a 5 star course, but if some of the rough edges were cleaned up, it could go up another .5 in my book.

-edit- after looking at the pictures again, the course was MUCH tighter today than portrayed in the pictures

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun course!

1    7/26/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: gsmit
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1.) Beautiful course with great atmosphere!

2.) A wide variety of throws needed at this course. Each hole weaves in & out of the forest. Most holes dog-leg left or right. And all vary in length.

3.) Very easy to navigate, with a map in front of the first hole.
Cons: 1.) The course lists each hole with a par # that is way too easy. There are a few par 5's that should be Par 3. I would suggest playing this course, but changing the par to all 3's or 4's.
Other Thoughts: One of the more fun courses I have played. I played this course and Lombard's Madison Meadow on the same day, so it made for a great day of disc golf. I would suggest playing both, since they are both great courses, and both close to each other.

If this course was more that a 9 hole, it would be AMAZING. It was really an awesome course, but left me wanting more after I finished, because it was only 9 holes.

I highly suggest playing this course. It is very fun course to play. It is worth the drive, because of the variety of throws needed for each hole.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 fun 9 holes

1    7/25/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 34  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2009
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: nice rubber tee pads, nice signs/tee markers, good baskets, has left-right right-left holes, uses space well, clean, use trees well to protect some holes or at least make it challenging to get to them, was only 1 other group there in late afternoon
Cons: a little short for me, no elevation but it doesn't make the course bad
Other Thoughts: at oak brook park district, its tucked away in the back, best 9 hole course i have played at, give it a go.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 NIce little course

1    7/23/2009   7/24/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 766  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly flat area with lots of trees and a couple minor elevation changes. Most of the holes are pretty technical, with tight fairways and punishing rough. Bad drives will usually put you in a bad spot, while accurate drives are rewarded. The shorter holes are very tight and really test your accuracy, while the longer holes usually have a dog leg or a blind pin.

The space available here is used very well, with a nice variety of holes. There are some shorter ace runs if you can find your way through the trees, and there are some longer holes where you can open up a little. There are a couple places where you'll have to walk a little ways between holes, but they are marked with next tee signs and nicely groomed paths.

The fairways are all nicely mowed grass, with some brush and tall grass for rough on most holes. The tees are rubber, and are nicely leveled with well-compacted bases. The tee signs show the hole layout and distance, and make the course easy to follow. There is a nice course map at the parking lot that shows the layout of all the holes.
Cons: The tees were a little short, and didn't quite offer enough room on some of the longer holes. There was room for a little more length here, and that would add some nice challenge to the course. A couple of the walks between holes were awkward even though they were well marked, and took away from the course flow. The final hole was covered in geese and their droppings, and was a little nasty.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the nicer 9 hole courses I've played in the Chicago area, and offers a little more challenge than the ubiquitous pitch n putt courses around. It is a little easy for more experienced players, but is still a fun place to play. The course is mostly beginner friendly, though the rough is pretty punishing to errant drives, and there are some places where it's possible to lose a disc.

This course is worth a little drive to come play if you're in the Chicago area. Check out the Summer doubles on Thursday nights to play with some fun locals, everyone I met at the course was friendly and nice.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.