Layout Extinct

Oak Brook, IL 
Central Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: jenco Hole #8 (Taken 10/2011)
4 / 272ft.   4 / 272ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 A lunchtime regular

5+    8/21/2008   8/21/2008
Review By: m1ke
Played: 41  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ditto all the Pros the first two reviewers said, plus...
-Density of wooded areas means this course doesn't lose as much challenge as some courses in winter when leaves are down.
-For the area, this course is less waterlogged than most the day after rain.
-UPDATE: They've added trash cans at every tee.
Cons: -Poison ivy in places, especially around hole 2.
-The only maintenance failing is that the park district has been slow to remove large trees knocked over by storms (one was on a fairway for a week or two, one is still hanging over the path from basket 7 to tee 8 many months later).
-The green for 9 is occasionally still flooded after a heavy rain.
-Around Halloween, some holes are obstructed/closed for a week or two by park's decorations.
Other Thoughts: Our company used to be located a half-mile from this course and it's still less than a ten-minute drive, so my group plays it often over our lunch hour. It's definitely given us all plenty of practice at recovery shots from difficult lies! We enjoy this course a lot.
UPDATE: As of 5/9/09, work is underway to lengthen all the tees by a bit over 2 feet, plus some work around the basket areas, I presume to address what muddiness does occur (will update this review again with more info as work is completed).

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

6/23/2008   6/23/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technical without being discouraging. Nice balance of lefty and righty holes. Rubber tees easy on the feet and ankles. Well maintained, clean multi-use park. A well kept secret in the Chicago area. Long and short holes balanced nicely.
Cons: A little tricky to find, hidden in the back corner of a multi-use park, surrounded by gated communities and corporate headquarters.
Other Thoughts: Wasn't very busy for a Saturday afternoon when we played it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nicely layed out course!

5/15/2008   5/27/2008
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very beatiful landscaped park. Challenging layout, especially with the limited space available in the park.
Cons: Limited space makes longer holes impossible. course is tucked around soccer fields, softball fields and indoor gym.
Other Thoughts: Great little course, much nicer than you'd expect to find in a city park. I'll go back next time out in the area!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.