Temperance, MI 
Vienna Park Share
Uploaded By: TROUTEN25 Hole #17
3 / 264ft.   3 / 313ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 17



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Shaken, not stirred

1    3/10/2014   3/10/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic- plays around the perimeter and through some woods in a large multi-use park. Course comes in close proximity to some of the pavillions at times.

Teepads- amazing, and shoveled/salted! Made for a truly enjoyable round.

Baskets- all in really good shape. painted tines attempt to help you.

Variety- plenty of variety here. there are bombers, shorties through tight woods, lefts, rights. Also, multiple tees give you unique (or just longer) views of each tee. Also, there are multiple basket sleeves in the ground so pin position could be easily changed.

upkeep/maintenance- the paths through the woods with the 4x4's and wood chips are a fantastic touch. I'm assuming this area holds water really well and these will help to keep your toes drier.

Map- the map does a good job helping to route. it's amazingly difficult to nav this course at times.
Cons:
Teesigns- Yep, there are teesigns, BUT, they are flush with the ground and only include hole number and distance. I will say that the teesign lists the distance to the pin, if there are multiple, it lists both positions as "a" and "b."

Routing/nav- hard here. there are some definite flow issues with this course. most notably on the woods holes. 8-9 is especially hard.

places to sit- I wish there were more places to sit for a minute on this course. Just a pet peeve more than anything
Other Thoughts:
Good course sure. add some stand up signs and it'll be even better...

there was some construction equipement and stumps on #5. these were a pain to throw around.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/9/2012   11/6/2012
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Vienna Park has two sets of concrete tees and a small concrete square on the ground next to it that indicates the hole number and distance. The lettering is color coded to correspond to the short tees in red and the long tees in blue. On the bottom catching part of the basket, one spoke has been painted red and one blue to point you in the direction of those pads on the next hole. There is a good variety of hole distances. The two sets of tees do a great job catering to a wide variety of players and the long tee almost always changes the shot and/or adds to the difficult of the hole. Some of the holes have multiple pin placements.

There is a great variety of wooded, semi wooded and open-ish holes. The wooded holes have tight but fair fairways forcing you to hit your line for a birdie, or miss it and scramble to recover for par. While the park is mostly flat, the few elevation changes here are incorporated into the course well to make some cool holes. There's a good shot variety here with a number of holes forcing RHBH turnover shots and a couple more have multiple routes to the basket.

The course fits in the park well and stays away from the other park activities.
Cons: This is a tough course to navigate if you aren't familiar with it. There are two sets of tees per hole, but you often have to stop and look for them if you don't know the course well. The painted spokes on the basket are a good way to point you in the right direction... until you come to a basket that is in an alternate sleeve. Then it's pointing you in the completely wrong direction.

In a couple places like 7 to 8 and 10 to 11 the course doesn't have a very good flow forcing a convoluted and long walk past other, closer tees.

Some of the holes in the wooded area of the course are rather close to each other.

Actual tee signs with hole diagrams would be useful when trying to find the basket on some holes. It would be especially helpful on hole 4 where you can see a basket straight ahead but that's actually 11's basket.

There's a large pile of debris rather close to and left of hole 11's basket. It is an eyesore and would be tough to traverse if your disc happens to land there which it easily could.

Most of my con's are about navigation so once you've played the course a few times this becomes a non-issue.
Other Thoughts: Overall I found this to be a very fun course. This is a great place for players of all skill levels. Less experienced players will like the short pads and could have little problem with lost discs but it didn't seem terribly thick on the handful of holes where it is present. More advanced players will like the ample challenge the long pads present.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Mix of Shots

5+    10/4/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: hooked312
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well maintained park with not a ton of traffic or pedestrians.
- Two sets of tee pads. If the shorts get too easy for you the longs are a very nice challenge.
- Although there is a lack of elevation, the use of the woods and the little hill creates a nice mix of holes.
- Some of the holes have two places for the baskets, so this provides for a unique game when they are changed every so often.
Cons: - There is a lack of signage that could be confusing your first couple times out. And I haven't spotted a course map on site.
- Only one of the times I have played there was random port-o-potty, other than that No Restrooms.
- Often gets muddy in the woods. It just seems like the water collects there.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think Vienna is the most challenging course in the Greater Toledo area. It provides that mix of holes that the other two courses in the area are lacking. It is quite the hidden gem as I have never had to deal with long waits or big groups.
If you are looking for the most diverse course in the area come to Vienna and you won't be disappointed. Just bring your bug spray if its spring or summer!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 All Skill Levels Welcome

1    5/30/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 108  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Ample Parking
Multiple Tee Pads on Most Holes
Baskets Are In Good Shape
Multiple Pin Placements
Both Wooded and Open Holes
Distances and Shot Types Vary
All Skills Levels Can Play
Restrooms (Porta-Jons) On-Site
Picnic Areas/Pavillions, Playgrounds, Grills, and Other Amenities On-Site
Friendly and Helpful Locals
Painted Spokes on Basket Point to Next Tee Pad
Amazing Pin Placements
Cons:
Can Be Hard To Find First Tee Pad
Can Be Difficult to Navigate
Prone to Flooding
In the Spring/Early Summer There Are Tons of Mosquitoes
Very Little Elevation Changes (Not A Lot They Could Do)
Kind Of Out of the Way/Hard to Get to
Other Thoughts:
Vienna Park DGC is a well-thoughtout 18-hole course located in Temperance, Michigan. The course plays throuhgout a small community park that has baseball fields, picnic areas, and playgrounds, but does well to play away from these areas with other park users rarely getting in the way.

To reach the park from I-75 use exit 5 (Erie Road) and head west for 2.5 miles. Make a left on Telegraph Road for 1 mile and make a right onto East Temperance Road, just past the Erie Aerodome airport. Stay on Temperance Road for about 1.2 miles and make a right onto Half Mile Road. Half Mile Road will dead into West Vienna Road, make a left and the park entrance will be on your right.

Once you are in the park continue past the playground and park all the way in the back of the parking lot, straight ahead from the entrance. Once you are at the back of the lot you should see a picnic shelter/pavilion, the short tee is just on the other side of the shelter and the long tee will be up in the woods behind/to the left of the short tee pad. I highly suggest printing the course map for this course. Not only is the first tee pad hard to find, spotting the tee pads all the way through the course can be difficult since the tee signs/markers are small concrete slabs that are in the ground next to the tee pads rather than traditional upright/pole style tee signs.

While the course may be difficult to navigate, it actually flows really well. From hole to hole you never feel like you are throwing the same hole twice. Another great thing about the layout and flow of the course is the way the designers start you out in the open and ease you into the wooded holes before leading you back out into the open. Its a nice touch and makes the overall variety seem a lot greater.

One of the biggest pros of this course is the multiple ways you can play the course. Not only are there two tee pads on most holes, they also have two pin positions on most holes. I can't really say how often the pin positions are changed, but if its often it could really give this course a new look and a fresh feel each time you play it.

Overall Vienna Park is a pretty nice course. It offers a lot of variety and great pin placements. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone traveling up I-75 or US-23 and has time to stop by to give this course a chance, however I wouldn't go out of my way to play here. One thing to keep in mind if you are going to stop by is that the mosquito population is one of the worst I have seen. Be sure to bring bugspray or you will definitely regret it and I wouldn't be surprised if you actually gave up on the round once you get to the wooded holes.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Course

2-4    10/18/2010   3/28/2011
Review By: Nemer06
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: DISTANCE SHOTS, Huge course it is a very large park. some shots with heavy woods
Cons: BUGS are really bad. If your not a seasoned disc golf player this course will be pretty difficult. Also no course map and losing discs here wont be hard.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/10/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -good tee pads and baskets
-multiple tees and basket placements
-pretty easy to navigate but can be a little tricky
-good mix of distances
-good mix of open and wooded holes
-well maintained
Cons: -bugs are horrible in the summer
-thick on wooded holes can be very thick
-pretty flat
Other Thoughts: very fun course with lots of different shots and distances. this course compliments the ottawa hills and parmilee courses well. if you are in the toledo area i highly recommend checking out this course

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Loops

1    11/11/2010   11/11/2010
Review By: AKormendi
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good flow, easy to play partial sections of the course if you've got extra time after your round.
- Good variety in shots, some open fairways, some tight, varying distances. Hyzers and anhyzers, and even a few the probably would be best tackled with tomohawks and thumbers.
- It's even got a little bit of a water hazard, on the left at hole 3.
-Good use of land. All the elevation in the course (1 small hill and 1 hummocky area) is used to its fullest extent. The trees and brush give the course a lot of extra shape.
-Spraypainted spokes on the baskets to help you find the next tee.
Cons: - It's pretty flat.
- Holes 16 and 17 appear to have been modified at some point, as the directions to the tees and locations of the baskets are not as well marked as elsewhere.
-No parking at this time of year, had to park on the side of the road and use a foot traffic only gate. Started my round on hole 8, since number one was way on the other side of the park. Luckily the course loops well.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, but didn't find it quite as scenic as nearby Parmalee. Luckily it made up for it with more challenge and variety.
I think it was deer hunting season. Lots of gunshots in the background. I was a little worried about taking some buckshot on a woods hole, but honestly, that's probably pretty silly.
This course and Parmalee make this area an excellent daytrip destination, and I will certainly venture this way again. Hopefully I will be able to hit nearby Ottawa Park as well, next time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Toledo's best is in Michgan!

1    8/15/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 163  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well conceived holes offering lots of variety and good disc play, featuring an decent mix of hole lengths and types:
- Open fairways that don't require any particular line or type of throw.
- Moderate to densely wooded fairways that make you commit to one of a few possible lines.
- Challenging tunnel shots with trees and brush that pretty much give only one feasible line and make you execute it with good control.

Nice size, dual concrete tees. Along with distance, Pro tees require more control to hit tighter windows than Am tees. Additionally, switching tees changes your drive from hyzer to annie (or vice-versa) on several holes.

I like the way the first few holes ease you in before the course kicks things up a notch. Vienna gets more interesting the further you get into it.

Interesting and unique pin placements on several holes make great use of guard trees, baskets tucked away in pockets off of fairways, and blind holes that aren't stupid.

Park is flat, but course makes good use of changes in elevation where possible.

Nice clean, quiet park - not overrun like some courses.
Cons: Tricky to navigate in spots (particularly in the middle holes), and while the holes themselves are well designed, the course doesn't always flow to well from basket to tee - course map was a huge help. Tee signs/posts would really help things out in this respect. I like the idea of painting basket spokes (red for shorts, blue for longs) as a navigational aid, but a few aren't pointing the right way, which only adds to confusion. Pretty sure they moved some baskets, but as a first timer here, was following the spokes to ... where?

Fence along the left side of holes 1 & 2 (AM) and hole 5 (Pro) run parallel to what I think is private property - not a fan of hopping fences onto someone else's property to retrieve runaway discs.

More elevation changes would be nice, (but I didn't ding the ratings for this - they made the most of what they have).
Other Thoughts: Have to say this is a gem of a coure in it's own right and I really enjoyed playing here, Would love to play another round after new holes are added (see ChrisWoj's Other Thoughts, below).

I mostly played longs while my son played the shorts, so I was able to get a bit of a feel for how very differently your approach to the hole will be depending on the tee you select. Best course in the area, and well worth a couple of hours if you are driving by on I-75 and have the time.

Do yourself a favor - print the map!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A pretty nice course

1    6/10/2010   6/15/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tee's. All of the tee's that I threw from were in good shape and were long enough to accomodate a good run-up. Also the Long and Short tee's compliment each other very well. Each set offering different looks at the same hole as well as changing the distance.

The course design really maximized the available land in this fairly small park. There is almost no elevation at all but where there is a pin was put on it to add difficulty. Also there is a creek, and some standing water (I am hesitant to call it a pond since it seems a little more like a swamp) that is brought into play on a few holes. Also as mentioned in previous reviews the course increases in difficulty as you go along. I have never played a course that did this before and I kind of like it. It works well since it warms you up for the harder holes.

There is a great variety of holes and shots on this course. Some holes you need a driver, some just a well thrown putter. Forehands and backhands. Wooded, open and a combination of both. I really liked the narrow wooded holes. Not very long but brought some nice obstacles into play

Each hole had a fairly well defined fairway and although I am not 100 percent positive, it looked like multiple pin placements.

Cool locals. We had a group that offered to play in front of us to show us the way and another local joined our group to keep us on track (he also shared his much needed bug spray). Also it looks like the locals keep this course in good shape. There were sticks in the way or any real debris

Nice little playground in the middle of the course which would be great to bring your kids to as you play some disc golf. There was also a port-a-john but no water that I saw.
Cons: Course signage really needs to be improved. There are no tee signs and no next tee signs. Combine this with a fairly confusing layout and you have trouble. I am greatful we had some locals there when we showed up since I am confident that we would have gotten lost a couple of times. We needed help just finding hole number one, since there is no indication of where it might be in the park.

This is not a very challenging course but I think it would be fun to play a couple more times, if only it wasn't kind of in the middle of nowhere.

Bugs. The skeeters were outrageous on this course. We were told it was because of the recent rainy weather but we did not see any on other Michigan courses on the same weekend.

The gap into the woods on hole 18 needs to be widened or something. It is kind of a cool hole but you are really just hyzer (RHBH) crashing the trees to get near the pin. I think if there was a little more of a gap this would be a great hole to finish on.
Other Thoughts: My group stopped to play this course on our way to Toboggan and we chose it since it got a 4 disc rating. I was a little dissapointed when we got there because my version of 4 discs is significantly different. We were told by the locals that the reason it gets high ratings is becuase the nearby courses are quite a bit worse (Parmalee). Oh well, I am still glad I got to play this fun little course and compliments to the designer or designers who made the most out of this course.

If you are ever heading through the Toledo area this would be a good course stop at to get your DG fill.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Vienna

5+    4/20/2012   5/4/2010
Review By: Huckfreely
Played: 81  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 4/23/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of tight and open. Pins are well placed with a few close to ob water.

Blue and Red arrows painted on baskets Point to the next hole.
Cons: Confusing layout around holes 7-14.
Other Thoughts: Long and Short play differently. Try em both.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.