Temperance, MI 
Vienna Park Share
Uploaded By: TROUTEN25 Hole #3
3 / 205ft.   3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 3



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Toledo's best is in Michgan!

1    8/15/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well conceived holes offering lots of variety and good disc play, featuring an decent mix of hole lengths and types:
- Open fairways that don't require any particular line or type of throw.
- Moderate to densely wooded fairways that make you commit to one of a few possible lines.
- Challenging tunnel shots with trees and brush that pretty much give only one feasible line and make you execute it with good control.

Nice size, dual concrete tees. Along with distance, Pro tees require more control to hit tighter windows than Am tees. Additionally, switching tees changes your drive from hyzer to annie (or vice-versa) on several holes.

I like the way the first few holes ease you in before the course kicks things up a notch. Vienna gets more interesting the further you get into it.

Interesting and unique pin placements on several holes make great use of guard trees, baskets tucked away in pockets off of fairways, and blind holes that aren't stupid.

Park is flat, but course makes good use of changes in elevation where possible.

Nice clean, quiet park - not overrun like some courses.
Cons: Tricky to navigate in spots (particularly in the middle holes), and while the holes themselves are well designed, the course doesn't always flow to well from basket to tee - course map was a huge help. Tee signs/posts would really help things out in this respect. I like the idea of painting basket spokes (red for shorts, blue for longs) as a navigational aid, but a few aren't pointing the right way, which only adds to confusion. Pretty sure they moved some baskets, but as a first timer here, was following the spokes to ... where?

Fence along the left side of holes 1 & 2 (AM) and hole 5 (Pro) run parallel to what I think is private property - not a fan of hopping fences onto someone else's property to retrieve runaway discs.

More elevation changes would be nice, (but I didn't ding the ratings for this - they made the most of what they have).
Other Thoughts: Have to say this is a gem of a coure in it's own right and I really enjoyed playing here, Would love to play another round after new holes are added (see ChrisWoj's Other Thoughts, below).

I mostly played longs while my son played the shorts, so I was able to get a bit of a feel for how very differently your approach to the hole will be depending on the tee you select. Best course in the area, and well worth a couple of hours if you are driving by on I-75 and have the time.

Do yourself a favor - print the map!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A pretty nice course

1    6/10/2010   6/15/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tee's. All of the tee's that I threw from were in good shape and were long enough to accomodate a good run-up. Also the Long and Short tee's compliment each other very well. Each set offering different looks at the same hole as well as changing the distance.

The course design really maximized the available land in this fairly small park. There is almost no elevation at all but where there is a pin was put on it to add difficulty. Also there is a creek, and some standing water (I am hesitant to call it a pond since it seems a little more like a swamp) that is brought into play on a few holes. Also as mentioned in previous reviews the course increases in difficulty as you go along. I have never played a course that did this before and I kind of like it. It works well since it warms you up for the harder holes.

There is a great variety of holes and shots on this course. Some holes you need a driver, some just a well thrown putter. Forehands and backhands. Wooded, open and a combination of both. I really liked the narrow wooded holes. Not very long but brought some nice obstacles into play

Each hole had a fairly well defined fairway and although I am not 100 percent positive, it looked like multiple pin placements.

Cool locals. We had a group that offered to play in front of us to show us the way and another local joined our group to keep us on track (he also shared his much needed bug spray). Also it looks like the locals keep this course in good shape. There were sticks in the way or any real debris

Nice little playground in the middle of the course which would be great to bring your kids to as you play some disc golf. There was also a port-a-john but no water that I saw.
Cons: Course signage really needs to be improved. There are no tee signs and no next tee signs. Combine this with a fairly confusing layout and you have trouble. I am greatful we had some locals there when we showed up since I am confident that we would have gotten lost a couple of times. We needed help just finding hole number one, since there is no indication of where it might be in the park.

This is not a very challenging course but I think it would be fun to play a couple more times, if only it wasn't kind of in the middle of nowhere.

Bugs. The skeeters were outrageous on this course. We were told it was because of the recent rainy weather but we did not see any on other Michigan courses on the same weekend.

The gap into the woods on hole 18 needs to be widened or something. It is kind of a cool hole but you are really just hyzer (RHBH) crashing the trees to get near the pin. I think if there was a little more of a gap this would be a great hole to finish on.
Other Thoughts: My group stopped to play this course on our way to Toboggan and we chose it since it got a 4 disc rating. I was a little dissapointed when we got there because my version of 4 discs is significantly different. We were told by the locals that the reason it gets high ratings is becuase the nearby courses are quite a bit worse (Parmalee). Oh well, I am still glad I got to play this fun little course and compliments to the designer or designers who made the most out of this course.

If you are ever heading through the Toledo area this would be a good course stop at to get your DG fill.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Vienna

5+    4/20/2012   5/4/2010
Review By: Huckfreely
Played: 81  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 4/23/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of tight and open. Pins are well placed with a few close to ob water.

Blue and Red arrows painted on baskets Point to the next hole.
Cons: Confusing layout around holes 7-14.
Other Thoughts: Long and Short play differently. Try em both.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Local Advantage

5+    1/3/2010   1/16/2010
Review By: ChrisWoj
Played: 108  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Vienna Park is really two completely different courses. The long tees and the short tees are very different. Not only do they differ in distance, but they often differ in type of shot required completely. A clear long tee forehand could be a backhand and nothing else from the shorts.

Overall - this course has just as many forehand holes as backhand holes, for those that are equally strong in both. There are just as many power hyzers as short anhyzers and just as many bomber drives as putter shots. There are a few holes where a roller is the smartest play. There are multiple pin placements on many holes.

Additionally the course has a clear escalation of difficulty as you go through the round - if you start at hole 1. Holes 1-6 are clearly the easiest holes on the course. 7-12 ramp it up a little. 13-18 is clearly the roughest stretch.

The wooded and open holes are varied nicely, as well. There is no definite sequence of holes that is a long stretch of wooded holes. 1-4 is the closest to a stretch of purely open holes. There are also a few holes where a bordering creek comes into play - holes 2 through 4.
Cons: The biggest problem with Vienna Park is the complete lack of elevation. Holes 11 and 13 have slightly elevated greens, on small inclines. Otherwise elevation is all but nonexistant on the course. This makes the greens very easy, there is little risk to the putts. Only hole 3 truly has a risky putt, with a creek behind the basket if you happen to come in to the right of the placement, and the basket is in its placement tight to the creek (a lot of 'ifs').

Additionally - from the long tees Vienna Park is a very local friendly course. Holes 5 and 6 require hitting a gap at just the right point as your disc fades in or turns in. Holes 5, 6, 7, 9, 17 (long pin position), and 18 all require you to walk more than halfway up the fairway to see the pin.
Other Thoughts: Vienna Park is a very nice course held back by the fact that a lot of the pin placements are hidden, and the fact that there is no elevation. All told it isn't even using the most prime property in the park either.

However that is going to change soon - current plans involve expanding the course to 24 holes by the end of 2010 with six new holes in the deep woods to the left of hole 16. Three of the holes are already carved with minimal clearing left to do. Three more are planned, and work will begin in the late spring of 2010. Funding to be approved, with any luck, during the summer of 2010.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Even Buckeyes will like this MI course:)

2-4    6/27/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: bthoma1
Played: 37  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2010
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice course with great mix of shots.
There are a few holes that shoot off to the right and some that shoot off to the left.
a few wooded holes, and the tiny bit of elevation is used well.
course punishes you for errand shots.
Placement is everything
Cons: crappy tee signs, they are just labeled on the ground.
needs better direction from hole to hole.
no bathrooms that I remember
Other Thoughts: Overall I liked this course, I live in Oregon now but anytime I will be back in the area I will play this course.
There are open holes and wooded holes a like, and the wooded ones challenge your
accuracy.
There is a school area right by the beginning of the course. Which doesn't effect much, but kids tend to walk "through" the first holes, well atleast in my experience
A few holes require delicate landings

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 like the sausage

2-4    8/2/2009   8/2/2009
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/9/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice course. Great mix of open shots and wooded fairways. Some very challenging approach shots make sure you take nothing for granted. Each concrete tee has the sign in the ground next to it stating the hole number and distance. Very clean and well maintained. The last two holes are phenomenal drives that turn sharply through a holes in the brush, with their pins nestled under trees.
Cons: Could've used some "next tee --->" signs. A few times you backtrack from where you've been to get to the next hole. Mosquitoes were out but very tolerable. Bug spray mildly recommended.
Other Thoughts: Another great course in Monroe county, the other being Parmelee. Nice to make a day out of these two. I heard there are many events and tournaments held at Vienna, so best to check out and see what's going on before heading down. Enjoy!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/31/2009   3/29/2009
Review By: Ajnejedi
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A well laid out course with a good mix between technical and open shots. There's something for everyone here.
Played it on a Sunday morning and there was no one else on the course.
Great trees and brush, and a great water hazard on the front nine.
Cons: A bit muddy (up to my ankles in water and muck - although that does give the course a level of personality.
A little difficult to find the first hole, especially considering that the driveway into the park was gated off and we had to park on the road and wander through the course to find it.
Other Thoughts: Will play this course every time I'm in the area to visit my brother.
This is the best course I have played in my two years of amateur disc golfing.
Learned how to use a sidearm throw on this course and it is by far the best throw I have in my arsenal.

Finally got back to play on Halloween. Course was dry and the pin placement was changed up a bit. Still highly recommend this course to anyone in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Top Park in Toledo

5+    11/15/2008   3/15/2009
Review By: o01shadow
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course can be very challenging, for many holes are in a wooded strip and require good handling.

There are two sets of concrete tees on every hole, and multiple pin placements on most of them.

The course layout is great, combining several technical holes with a few long and open ones.

The park is beautiful, especially in the early fall.

The park is relatively easy to follow, for there are painted markers on pins to point to the next tee. Caution though, some may pointing the wrong way due to pin movement.

The locals are great, and will willingly help you out if you ask.
Cons: The course may be too frustrating for beginning players. During the summer and fall, it is painful to retrieve lost discs in the thick underbrush.

Bugs will be a problem if you do not bring bugspray in the spring and fall.

Also, it is the main course for the Toledo area, so if may be crowded during active seasons or on pretty days.
Other Thoughts: This probably takes the cake for my favorite course all around. There is a great diversity in hole design and required skill, and the course changes due to multiple pin placements every few weeks.
Apart from the oppressive flat land that is everywhere in NW Ohio and SE Michigan, this is a strong and dynamic course, which I highly recommend.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Top Toledo Area Course

5+    12/16/2008   3/10/2009
Review By: elahti
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great course with a lot of variety. Many wooded holes for accuracy and a few holes for the long bombs. Two, sometimes three different sets of tee pads that offer a completely different shot instead of just making the hole longer. Also, every few months, the pin placement also changes. Well kept and easy to follow due to painted basket markers. Not very busy, except for the occasional tournament. Also, there are several other recreational activities on site: grills, playgrounds, soccer fields, etc.
Cons: Bugs can be annoying in the summer time, so bring your spray. Discs can be easy to lose in the sometimes dense foliage (the locals are great about returning lost discs though if they find them). If you are looking for terrain change, this course isn't for you.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses by far! The diversity of shots needed for the course is excellent and, with the changing pin placements, rarely can played the same way twice. If you are having trouble with the woods, Parmalee Park is not too far off, which can provide some great practice for tight woods.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Class of Toledo

5+    10/26/2008   11/26/2008
Review By: OneBallWonder
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Vienna Park is a fantastic place to play. Amazing variations from hole to hole. A few bombs to challenge distance, while narrow wooded holes test accuracy and patience.

Short and Long tees provide a different challenge. Most long tee pads provide a completely different shot, rather than just moving back 25 feet.

Easy to follow and played constantly. If you're having trouble following, ask a local.

Blue and Red painted prongs on baskets point out directions to next tees.
Cons: On holes with multiple pin placements, the blue and red prongs are only correct some of the time. When moved to a different sleeve, they can be pointing in the complete opposite direction. This can cause confusion for first-time players. If you haven't played here before, you can print out a layout of both long and short tees at www.tadga.com

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.