Summit, IL 
Summit Park Share
Uploaded By: fractalzoom Hole #17 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 203ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Slim and shady fairways.

2-4    7/21/2012   11/4/2012
Review By: LeddZepp8687
Played: 79  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.3 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Suuuuuper tight fairways in a heavily wooded corner of a park

-Great place to practice your "Get out of jail" shots here if you don't hit your lines.

-Good/lucky shots will be rewarded

-Very shady and playable even when its very hot outside

-Lots of risk here as losing discs in these woods is a very good possibility. Some may find this to be a con, but that adds an element to the game that myself and others like.

-A good place to come break in some new mids
Cons: -This place can be very swampy, When I was here it had rained pretty hard two days prior and the place was a swamp. We actually had to skip a few holes because of this.

-Navigation is brutal, We had a very tough time finding our way around and to the next hole.

-This course is so wooded that you almost feel like in order to shoot really well here you need to wear your lucky underwear and bring your rabbit's foot. Luck is a big factor in how well you will shoot. Skill is obviously a big factor as well though.

-Some of the holes are so tough all you can do is laugh.

-There is a creek (if you could call it that) that borders a few fairways that is really nasty. I'm all for going in after a disc if need be but I think that if I couldn't see the disc I would just count it as gone and move along.

-A little bit too urban for my likings, The highway is loud and close by and there is also a nearby factory that was stinking the place up when we got there but it went away after a little bit?
Other Thoughts: I fancy myself as quite the outdoorsman and I like the scents and sounds and everything else that nature has to offer but this course offers almost none of that in my opinion.

I do, however, love how technical this course is. I have been meaning to go back for that reason and that reason only. It is a good change of pace instead of wide open fairways that can be found at many of the other courses around.

Bottom line is this: This course is weird, it smells weird and its in a weird location but it is worth playing at least once. Its another notch in the belt and because it is so strange you have to see and play it for yourself.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 repetitive but enjoyable

1    5/29/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: sandford
Played: 25  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.6 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: OVERALL FUN FACTOR (16% weight) - 3.5 - Pretty fun course even though the holes are repetitive. Has a different feel to it than any other course I've played.
SIGNS/MAPS/MARKERS (11% weight) - 3 - nice little signs that show the yardage and shot path, but no arrow signs pointing to the next tee and that made it difficult to navigate to the next hole on several different holes.
BASKETS (5% weight) - 4 - baskets in good condition
SHOT VARIETY (5% weight) - 3.5 - If you can hit all the intended flight paths, most every hole is RHBH hyzer through tight woods. However, it's very easy to get yourself stuck in the brush or behind trees off the drive, so a variety of shots end up being needed to get out of trouble.
OVERALL CHALLENGE (3% weight) - 4 - I found it very challenging of a course because it demands accuracy and the ability to get yourself out of trouble.
CROWDED? (3% weight) - 4 - I was there on a Saturday afternoon and it played quick.
PARKING (2% weight) - 5 - plenty of free parking
Cons: COURSE DESIGN (14% weight) - 1.5 - Course design is not a strong point. Most all of the holes favor a RHBH throw with tight fairways.
TEE PADS (8% weight) - 2 - rubber tee pads were nice, but it had been raining recently and they were not set up for good drainage - many were big puddles
ELEVATION (8% weight) - 2 - flat on almost every hole, but this is Illinois after all.
SCENIC BEAUTY (8% weight) - 1.5 - noting too scenic... it's an urban park.
EPIC HOLES (5% weight) - 1 - No holes stick out as an epic hole. Most holes are boring and a bit forgettable.
DISTANCE VARIETY (5% weight) - 1 - only 3 holes over 300 feet and just barely. Most are around 200 to 250, not much variety.
FOLIAGE MAINTENANCE (3% weight) - 1 - i realize this course is supposed to play tight through the woods, but even still there could be much more brush cut back.
BENCHES / TRASH BINS (3% weight) - 1 - A couple benches and trash cans in the main park area, but none in the disc golf course.
MIX OF TIGHT AND OPEN (3% weight) - 0.5 - All holes are really tight in the woods except maybe 2 that throw into our out of a field.
Other Thoughts: Easy to get to course for people living in the city. I used to live in Chicago, but didn't play disc golf at the time. If I did I would have come here a lot.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Bring out the Champ plastic

5+    12/23/2010   2/19/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A super tight, very challenging wooded course.

- This is the perfect place to practice your "get out of trouble shots".

- Rubber tees and signs with accurate distances.

- Mostly tunnel shots that force accurate RHBH hyzers with a low ceiling that makes overhand shots difficult.

- For many living in the city of Chicago this is the closest 18 hole course in the area.

- A ridiculous risk reward course that can be very frustrating and rewarding all at the same time.

- Almost no crowds or waiting around, if you go on a weekday you could very well be the only person there (this can also be a con)
Cons: Navigation can be very tricky, some holes double back or follow the paved path for a while with not clear next tee signs. When in doubt follow the most worn trail.

Lack of variety, it seems like every hole is a RHBH hyzer.

Some holes are so tight that it's hard to find a defined fairway.

After 18 holes it starts to feel really short and repetitive.
Other Thoughts: I have to agree that this course borders the line between a risk/reward course and a luck course. I guess it takes both.

When I lived in Chicago this was my home course because it was the closest 18 holer. It is a great course to play as a change of pace but it will drive you crazy after 2 rounds.

All in all a decent course if you are in the area but play it too much and it will make you want to go out into an open field and just let a few rip.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 *VERY* many trees

1    7/12/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: omightytimm
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Holes are well-marked - tees with hole map, baskets with hole number.

Somewhat challenging due to narrow tracks through trees.
Cons: A bit monotonous, many holes with slight left or right dogleg through narrow tracks through woods.

A bit difficult finding next hole, could really use just an arrow indicating the direction one should walk in from basket.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Kierkegaard would love this course

5+    4/18/2010   4/19/2010
Review By: fractalzoom
Played: 49  Reviewed: 4
41 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: close to Chicago, very challenging, narrow fairways, forces you to use a variety of shots, playing here will likely make you a better player.
Cons: so many trees that it seems as though the gods of fate have more influence on how well you do than any amount of skill you may have.
Other Thoughts: Summit park is a must for any student of existentialism. Kierkegaard portends that individuals are responsible for giving their own lives meaning and that one should live that life passionately in spite of nontrivial existential obstacles and distractions such as despair, angst, absurdity, alienation, and boredom. Summit exemplifies these existential obstacles quite well. For instance:

Despair: Did you not happen to throw a perfect drive with your mid? The amount of error you are allowed at Summit is practically nil. After playing this course a couple times, you will become familiar with despair. Nearly every single shot will be affected by you hitting a tree. Where it bounces is anyone's guess - but more often than not, your disc will be in some nasty shule. Futility sets in when you get excited about a par, and then you realize that you were just incredibly lucky.

Angst: The general feeling of angst will creep in during the later holes at Summit park. You will remind yourself frequently telling yourself how boring disc golf would be if there were no trees… but the feeling of strife remains. Around hole 13, you no longer blame the trees, but a sinking feeling overwhelms you as you try very hard to find something specific to blame. You may believe you hit the perfect line, but when the disc inevitably hits a tree and then manages to avoid all trees and land 30 feet into the shule, your feelings will have a lot in common with a rich, white, emo kid from the 'burbs who paints his fingernails black - because that's what his soul feels like.

Absurdity: Look at the picture for hole 8. What you see is a wall with the largest "fairway" you've seen. The hole is not long - it's easy to overshoot… the problem is that there is an opening about 280 feet down the fairway with the pin tucked in about 50 feet. It is tucked in surrounded by impenetrable shule and is at an acute angle back from the "fairway". The only way to ace this hole is if you were to throw 40 feet beyond the pin - straight.. then use telekinesis to halt your disc in midair about 10 feet off the ground, then slowly bring it back 120 degrees for about 40 feet. You can't have the disc more than 10 feet off the ground or else you'd hit a tree. Hole 9 is not much better. See that picture… what you don't see is that the pin isn't over there to the left…. Oh no.. it's pretty much straight ahead 200 feet beyond that first batch of trees. If you are able to bend your shot such that you can park your disc within 30 feet of the pin on your drive - you will be my new messiah.

Boredom: I would be very interested to play this course with someone who can only throw back hand and is left handed. There are hardly any holes in which are left to right. After awhile, each hole begins to blend in to each other. What's this? You may ask… another "fairway" that is littered with trees? Another right to left hyzer shot? Didn't I hit this tree in the middle of the "fairway" already?

Alienation: The person who made this course hates you. The designer wants to see you suffer. Sure, you will be tempted to come out on a nice day to play a free course with nice baskets. There aren't many courses close to downtown Chicago, after all. Remember bloody knuckles? The person who stops punching the fist of the other person "loses" - as if tolerating more pain than another is somehow desirable. Coming out of the woods, you will feel as though you've survived more than anything. Did you throw par? You most likely feel as though you were lucky rather than skillful.

Should you be able to rise above these existential obstacles, you will likely be rewarded with a fulfilling day of disc golf. If you really, truly enjoyed yourself and threw as well as I did - you either have no sense of competition or should check yourself into a mental ward.

41 of 44 people found this review helpful.

 Tight, Wooded, Lucky, Repetitive

2-4    5/18/2007   1/17/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This park is very unique with it's close proximity to Chicago. It is one of the very few true wooded courses in the Chicagoland Area. Every holes plays down tight fairways lined with skinny trees. It is flat as a pancake.

Tee pads, tee signs, and baskets are nice.

Works on mid range and putter accuracy.
Cons: Course can be muddy after rain.

Super short and repetitive.

There are a few ridiculous and odd shaped fairways.

There are a few holes that have no route at all. To get the birdie you have to throw some crazy roller or pitch a 100ft shot to the corner, pitch up 100ft, and take a 3. That is not fun.

This course is really not fun for any skill player. It's going to be too tight for recreatoinal type players. It's too short and lucky for advanced/pro players to enjoy.
Other Thoughts: I found this course to be very repetive and boring.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Local course for Chicagoans

1    10/7/2009   10/8/2009
Review By: Noill Golf
Played: 112  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I consider this course to be my local course as I can get there in about 30 minutes during traffic from downtown Chicago...15 minutes without traffic (or better). The majority of holes are heavily wooded. This can lead to the hunt for the "local route" by trying to thread the needle. Many of these holes require trying to get an S turn that perfectly finds its way from tee to hole. When you do find that perfect route, it is one of the truly most beautiful moments in disc golfing. This course will force you to learn some "get out of trouble" throws. The scoober roller shot came in handy for me many times as I was trying to find a way out of the bush that could actually progress my disc toward the hole... This course is an absolute blast with glow or light-up discs for a night game once you know the course... I actually played the back 9 in the dark with regular discs and surprisingly did not lose any plastic...I was very lucky! This truly is the best course for developing the approach and put part of your game. There aren't too many people around besides disc golfers but there is an asphalt pedestrian path that runs through the middle...mostly runners use this and some people walking their football size dogs.
Cons: The 3 par holes can be difficult to birdie and can easily go badly if you're having an off-day or an off-hole. Sometimes there is an oily smell in the air from either the nearby industrial park or perhaps the highway...I just try to ignore it. No alternate tees though we make them up if we see a more interesting path. Can be full of bugs and does have some poison ivy so wear pants or stay out of the bush. All of the holes are very short. The 3 holes with what can be called a drive shot are a little clunky and not too interesting.
Other Thoughts: Not a great course to go by yourself...it requires a spotter on some of the holes or you could be diving into the bush without much of a clue where your disc went in. Not really a great idea for beginners...could be very frustrating. I gave it a 2.5 rating but was thinking of 3. It is a great course for the approach and put game but I then shaved off .5 b/c the 3 more open holes are a bit boring and should be longer or play deeper into the woods.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Nice accuracy test

1    7/19/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a heavily wooded area in the corner of a large flat park. Nearly all the holes play down tight fairways with lots of small trees and some brush off the fairways. The course will make you throw accurately, or pay the price trying to get back to the fairway, which makes a fun risk reward decision between going for it, and playing it safe. There are a few holes that are more open, adding a nice break from the more technical holes and giving the course a little variety.

There are rubber tees on every hole, and they were all in really nice shape. They were leveled and installed well, so they provided good footing for teeing off. There are also hole signs at every tee with a basic hole map and distance, and they were easy to read and accurate. There is a nice course map and a practice/putting area by the first tee which are nice to have.

This course provides a real test of your mid and approach game, and I really enjoyed the challenge of hitting smaller gaps and trying to get the perfect line through the trees. A number of the holes offer different options to get to the hole with different levels of risk/reward, and I found myself wanting to throw multiple shots to try out the different routes.
Cons: The course can get a little repetitive, with many of the holes feeling similar even when they are not exactly alike. The course could have used more holes that played left to right so that it wasn't quite so RHBH friendly. There were a couple holes with silly fairway shapes that didn't really offer a realistic line to the hole.

The tees, though nicely installed, were too short and didn't offer enough space for a tee shot, especially on a couple of the longer holes. The signs could really use 'next tee' information, as there were some places where the course navigation wasn't entirely obvious. Make sure to check out the course map by the first tee ahead of time.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a fun little course that's worth playing if you're in the area. There are better courses in the Chicago suburbs, but there are also a lot of worse courses. It's a nice place to play on a hot day, as you're in the shade for most of the round, and there's mini golf and a water park for after the round. The office for the mini golf has a few discs for sale at decent prices if you need something.

I wouldn't recommend this course for beginners, as the tight fairways and punishing rough will likely be frustrating. For more experienced players, this course offers a real chance to test your accuracy, and definitely has enough difficulty to be fun and interesting.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/14/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: Disc Golf Greg
Played: 21  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Challenging tight and technical
- Rubber tee pads
- Not Crowded
- DISCatcher baskets
- Putting/practice basket
- Unique design nothing like it in the immediate area
- Nice signs, I've noticed the wooden posts typically get damaged/vandalized the least.
- Hardly any trash on the course
- Nice escape considering the city borders this town doesn't feel like Illinois almost.
Cons: - Like the other reviewers said pretty much every hole is a 200-300 ft hyzer shot.
- Wet and muddy
- Funky smell
- No variety
- It's impossible to successfully throw through a fairway with the insanely small gaps followed by huge doglegs
- A lot of times you're at the next tee pad and it turns out to be the wrong one, so directions to next tee are needed. Even if I played 5+ times I know I would still get lost.
- Some of the rubber tee pads were kind of warped but could be solved with some work from whomever maintains the course.
Other Thoughts: Summit is not particularly a good town. Known around the Chicago area as "Scum-It". I don't think I would ever play this course alone once dusk is close for safety reasons, but I would for sure play some more rounds here.

Oh and the course record as of the day I'm writing this is -6, good luck beating that, this course will test your precision and accuracy every throw.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.