Summit, IL 
Summit Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #3 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 209ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
  One of a Kind

1    9/11/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: lungtuggler
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extremely challenging course that tests your ability not only to throw straight as an arrow but also having the precision to thread a whole lotta needles. Not too many newbies or kids. One of the few courses around this area. This is a place I come to learn new shots; tomahawks, rollers, thumbers, etc...If you're in Chicago on vacation or business this is a must play if you're using Midway Airport, its about ten minutes away. All in all this is one of the most challenging courses in Chicagoland and I strongly recommend it to anyone who loves wooded courses.
Cons: Most of the left-fading fairways are very similar. Caters to right-handed backhand throwers. Leftys and sidearms may never play this course twice, but a left-handed sidearm thrower might enjoy it. The trees in the middle of each fairway are very dense and present extremely grueling obstacles and challenges. Holes 1, 9, 12, and 14 require just as much luck as skill with the trees involved. It does occasionally reak in this part of town but you get used to it after 10 minutes. Creek along west side of the course appears to contain sewage! Study the map hard! Drawing a little one for yourself is good for your first time out.
Other Thoughts: The locals here are way better than they're aware of because there isn't much around summit as far as disc golf goes. The challenge of this place is something you take home with you! Truely a course that is one of a kind.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice accuracy test

1    7/19/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a heavily wooded area in the corner of a large flat park. Nearly all the holes play down tight fairways with lots of small trees and some brush off the fairways. The course will make you throw accurately, or pay the price trying to get back to the fairway, which makes a fun risk reward decision between going for it, and playing it safe. There are a few holes that are more open, adding a nice break from the more technical holes and giving the course a little variety.

There are rubber tees on every hole, and they were all in really nice shape. They were leveled and installed well, so they provided good footing for teeing off. There are also hole signs at every tee with a basic hole map and distance, and they were easy to read and accurate. There is a nice course map and a practice/putting area by the first tee which are nice to have.

This course provides a real test of your mid and approach game, and I really enjoyed the challenge of hitting smaller gaps and trying to get the perfect line through the trees. A number of the holes offer different options to get to the hole with different levels of risk/reward, and I found myself wanting to throw multiple shots to try out the different routes.
Cons: The course can get a little repetitive, with many of the holes feeling similar even when they are not exactly alike. The course could have used more holes that played left to right so that it wasn't quite so RHBH friendly. There were a couple holes with silly fairway shapes that didn't really offer a realistic line to the hole.

The tees, though nicely installed, were too short and didn't offer enough space for a tee shot, especially on a couple of the longer holes. The signs could really use 'next tee' information, as there were some places where the course navigation wasn't entirely obvious. Make sure to check out the course map by the first tee ahead of time.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a fun little course that's worth playing if you're in the area. There are better courses in the Chicago suburbs, but there are also a lot of worse courses. It's a nice place to play on a hot day, as you're in the shade for most of the round, and there's mini golf and a water park for after the round. The office for the mini golf has a few discs for sale at decent prices if you need something.

I wouldn't recommend this course for beginners, as the tight fairways and punishing rough will likely be frustrating. For more experienced players, this course offers a real chance to test your accuracy, and definitely has enough difficulty to be fun and interesting.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Okay course, I guess.

2-4    5/2/2009   5/12/2009
Review By: manzilla86
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well, it is a disc golf course, so it has that going for it. There are a couple of fun holes that are like my rating for this course-reasonable. I would have to play the course more to get a better grasp on the review, but since it didn't catch my attention as being very good, I don't feel a pull to go back to it.
Cons: It get beyond muddy and practically turns into a swamp. I don't mind courses in the woods with long tight fairways, but courses in the woods with no fairways and just trees are pretty annoying. Not all the holes are annoying, but most are.
Other Thoughts: Chicago has better courses not too far away, try those before you try this one.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/14/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: Disc Golf Greg
Played: 21  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Challenging tight and technical
- Rubber tee pads
- Not Crowded
- DISCatcher baskets
- Putting/practice basket
- Unique design nothing like it in the immediate area
- Nice signs, I've noticed the wooden posts typically get damaged/vandalized the least.
- Hardly any trash on the course
- Nice escape considering the city borders this town doesn't feel like Illinois almost.
Cons: - Like the other reviewers said pretty much every hole is a 200-300 ft hyzer shot.
- Wet and muddy
- Funky smell
- No variety
- It's impossible to successfully throw through a fairway with the insanely small gaps followed by huge doglegs
- A lot of times you're at the next tee pad and it turns out to be the wrong one, so directions to next tee are needed. Even if I played 5+ times I know I would still get lost.
- Some of the rubber tee pads were kind of warped but could be solved with some work from whomever maintains the course.
Other Thoughts: Summit is not particularly a good town. Known around the Chicago area as "Scum-It". I don't think I would ever play this course alone once dusk is close for safety reasons, but I would for sure play some more rounds here.

Oh and the course record as of the day I'm writing this is -6, good luck beating that, this course will test your precision and accuracy every throw.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Go somewhere else

2-4    8/1/2008   4/1/2009
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 147  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2009
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very technical, almost too much so.
Only Course in this part of Burbs.
Cons: This course is so frustrating for me.
No fun.
Stinks (smells f'n terrible). Almost every hole is the same (200 ft hyzer). Super narrow, 90 degree turn fairways.
Other Thoughts: Skip it.
Really Skip it.
This course was probably the inspiration for the term "pinball fairways", because there is nothing but.
Some people seem to dig this course, but it never equals a fun round for me, and I'm usually the most upbeat guy.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A must play!

5+    10/3/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: njoyntheride
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: This is one of Chicagoland's finest. Very technical. I appreciate a challenge and this is a good one. If you want easy, this is not it. If you want to improve your game, come on out!
Cons: No elevation changes which would make this course a rating of 5.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely put this course in the top 5 for the Chicagoland area. I don't understand why this course would get a bad rating.

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Too much of all trees

5+    7/15/2007   8/13/2008
Review By: m1ke
Played: 44  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2010
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging and different.
-Rubber tee pads; new since last time I played (although the centers have sunk on some of them).
-Can be scenic if dry; shady and green, kinda peaceful.
-Tight fairways in the middle of thick forest (smaller trees densely packed) make you realize that every course should have 1-3 holes like this.
Cons: No course needs 18 holes of it, which is basically what this course is. Very little variety-this course itself is very different from other courses, but the holes all feel the same.
-Hard to navigate; even on my 4th visit I had trouble finding the next tee a couple times.
-There are funky odors on some holes, both from the brackish water along some of the course and from nearby industry (smells like asphalt).
-Very easy to lose a disc in the dense brush, especially on the holes whose fairways run 10 ft. from a reed-filed stream.
-Not a course for beginners.
-Course can be wet for a while after a rain.
Other Thoughts: This is really a specialty course. If you live in the area, I'd recommend trying it to see what you think. If you're from out of town and want to sample a course here, this is NOT it. I play this course about once a year- it's a bit of variety to change things up from most other courses- but that's often enough for me.
I've played this course 5 times, but when I think about it I can only envision 3 hole images in my mind- one that runs down what looks like a pre-exisiting old service road and then turns sharply left into the woods at the end, a couple open holes in a field alongside the edge of the woods which then turn sharply left into the woods at the end, and then every single other hole that all look the same - a tight fairway in dense trees that turns once or twice to one degree or another.
I love technical courses- I don't have that much of an arm so big open shots just don't interest me- but this is a technical course with no variety in it.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.