North Liberty, IA 
Sugar Bottom Rec. Area Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #10 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 284ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
FUN!

1    5/31/2014   6/4/2014
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 64  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 14.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very nice park, with a great mix of open and wooded holes. And they're not all grouped together either, which is nice. A few open, a few wooded, a few open, a few wooded, etc. Most of the open holes are on undulating fairways, and not at all flat. Very well-manicured.
- Completely dedicated to disc golf in this part of the park. Very close, however, is a beach, bathrooms, and shelters. Also a very extensive biking/hiking trail.
- Trash cans here and there on the course, as well as benches.
- Plenty of parking, easy to find and start. Kiosk at the course start, with a map and scorecard pinned inside. You can take a picture of the course map if you'd like, but it's really not needed. Good signage for navigation, even though the layout is pretty obvious.
- Fantastic concrete tee pads and tee signs. Signs have movable bolts to show pin placement. Each pin has distance listed on the sign as well.
- Multiple pin placements on each hole, most have 3, a few have 2, and a few have more. Definitely adds good variety. For what it's worth, I talked to some of the caretakers in passing on the course. They mentioned that traditionally the pins have been changed 3 - 4 times each year, but they're going to try to be out to change them monthly. A course like this with so many pin options deserves great attention like this.
- I played a mostly longer setup today, and as would be expected it does seem as though it plays 3 or 4 strokes higher on a longer setup.
- #1 is a great opening hole. Plenty of room, but not overly easy.
- #4 is a long, wider tunnel shot that still requires very straight drives and approach shots.
- #6 is really the first encounter of a 'tight' wooded hole. Nice, small gap to hit right off of the tee.
- #10 is a wicked blind shot from the open fairway, hard left into the woods, with the pin 80' back into the woods. Cool design.
- #11 is a great downhill hole through the woods and across a dry creek bed. Not particularly hard to three, but probably decently hard to deuce. Great terrain.
- #18 was in the short position on my play-through, but I do enjoy long finishing holes, especially when they're not completely wide open. As if to say, "Whatcha got left in the tank son?"
Cons: - Looks like some holes can probably get wet and stay wet after a bit of rain. Was also extremely buggy the day I went. Some other players mentioned that's not uncommon.
- The course did get very busy on the Saturday morning/afternoon that I went. A few very large groups at that (8+).
- Erosion around most tee pads.
- Not particularly impressed with #7 or #8. Fine holes, and not many other choices. Just a nice reprieve I suppose.
- I saw some, but not a lot of poison ivy on this course. The conditions are perfect for it however.
- Graffiti on quite a few signs, including plenty of male genitalia. Boys will be boys I suppose, but it's really quite unfortunate for a course of this caliber.
Other Thoughts: - Aside from dealing with the bugs (which I assume is mostly seasonal) I really enjoyed my time here. Definitely worth a stop, and I will be returning. Right up there with Shaver Park for my favorite course in the Cedar Rapids/Iowa City area.
- Great shot lines and unique shots at every turn. Still areas to air it out and let loose too though, which is always great.
- Some easier holes, but none I would call 'gimmes.' Just reprieves.
- Not the most difficult of courses or layouts, but much more enjoyable to play than many, while still offering a solid challenge.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

excellent variety

5+    9/23/2012   10/24/2012
Review By: IHearChains
Played: 116  Reviewed: 19
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a very well-balanced course, in almost all respects. Densely wooded and scattered trees. Some short some long. Left, right, and straight holes. Uphill, downhill, and flat. Great variety.

Most holes, other than #10, have two or three basket positions and they are frequently moved. Only one set of tees, except for 14 which has a recently installed rubber pad for a long tee. There is OB road which is a factor on holes 17 and 18. A small creek (usually almost dry) can come into play on a couple of holes, and several holes have fairly thick rough so sometimes there is a reasonable penalty for going off the fairways. There are two legit par 4s (14 from the long tee and 18 in the two long basket positions) and two that might be borderline par 4 (9 and 16 in long positions) but its not hard to get 3s on these so some probably would consider them tweeners.

The disc golf area is segregated from the other park uses (which include hiking trails, a beach, a campground and a top-notch mountain biking trail network). Except for league nights or summer weekend afternoons, the course is not heavily used. Great location to get away from the daily stressors.

There is drinking water and bathrooms near hole 1, but they are seasonal.
Cons: The road into the course closes during winter. It's possible to hike in during the winter but round trip that adds a couple mile to your walking.

The quality of some baskets is suspect. Hole 3 is frequently wet when the reservoir is high, and sometimes closed due to flooding. Hole 2 has the most horrendous poison ivy patch (behind and left of basket) I have ever seen.

There are a few short holes that are heavily worn and need redesign IMO, but they are locked in by surrounding holes and a neighboring mountain bike trail, so I doubt much can be done about that.
Other Thoughts: Given the location near a network of coves of a big reservoir, it is regrettable that some of that land could not be used to create some more dramatic OB water hazards, but the water level is always changing and there are other park users in those areas so it is not really feasible.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sugar Bottom Rec. Area

1    6/15/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: jwetter
Played: 51  Reviewed: 30
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Well maintained park
-Good tees and baskets
-Easy to follow, the signage is good.
-Good variety of holes in and out of the woods
-Benches on almost every hole
-Multiple pin locations
-Quite challenging, especially 18
Cons: -Seemed like there were a lot of throws that cut hard to the right, but that may have had to do with the pin locations on the day that we played.
Other Thoughts: This park is worth the trip out there. I very much enjoyed it and would go play again!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mixture of partially open and wooded holes

5+    9/7/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: wadeG
Played: 50  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: A good mixture of partially open and wooded holes. Has a good amount of elevation changes and a healthy amount of variety of shots that make this course one of the better ones in the area. Well mowed fairways, teepads, benches, and flows well.
Cons: Could use a few longer holes and more significant elevation.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    7/22/2009   5/2/2010
Review By: sting2387
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.1 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Never busy, it is fairly far off of the beaten path, so not many people ever play this course. There are a variety of holes which keeps it interesting.
Cons: As, I said before, it's pretty far off of the beaten path. It is about a 20-30 minute drive from Iowa City. Thick woods around some of the holes can come into play and could make finding errant throws almost impossible. Some of the baskets are pretty banged up and need to be replaced.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is probably my favorite course in the Iowa City area. If you don't mind a little bit of a drive, you will be rewarded by not having to wait at all during play.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Two Thumbs Up

5+    5/6/2012   5/2/2010
Review By: walker139
Played: 149  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2012
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Technical course, with a nice use of elevation. Multiple pin locations, and cement tee pads. In the long position this course is tough and will challenge you. In the shorts it is still no walk in the park, though a couple ace runs exist.
Cons: It can get a bit wet after rains, hole 3 will occasionally flood. Some erosion around a few pins, but the local club is continually improving the course condition. Parking lot is in adjacent to hole 18.
Other Thoughts: It can get spontaneously busy when those beautiful summer days arrive. The club takes good care of the local courses.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, quick to play

1    9/15/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Easy to find, close to Iowa City
*Course is easy to navigate with very good signage; most holes/routes visible off tee
*Quick play - i got in 2 rounds in 3 hours
*Very well maintained course - valid fairways are cut through the woods
*In a beautiful wooded setting next to a resevoir with a swimming beach .... i had no idea iowa had hilly areas with trees; reminiscent of north georgia hill country
*Very fun to play
*Holes have valid routes; good distances that are challenging but fair
*Multiple pin placements
*Cement pads; benches on many holes
Cons: *Par 3 recreational course, except for the long position on 18
*Gets really busy in the evening - not a con if you are looking for someone to play with though
*hole #3 floods. When I played, it was a super hard position (right) over water until 15' before the basket because of flood waters .... i parked it with a favorite roc, but chickened out on playing it in round 2
Other Thoughts: Great, fun to play course, one of the best I played on a recent trip through IL, IA & MO....surprised it isn't rated higher. Really nice setting is icing on the cake -- swimming within walking distance of the course, camping not much further, and Iowa City only 10 minutes away

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Nice mixture that rewards precision

2-4    6/14/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well kept course in a Corps of Engineers park alongside Coralville Lake. Numerous pin positions give the course a lot of different looks and can alter your strategy right from the teebox. Very challenging for its short length due to the dense foliage and elevation changes. A good mix of holes, and good transition with regards to elevation and foliage. You don't get all of something at once. Hole #16 is particularly bedazzling, (or aggrivating if you get off in the shule). Unlike its sister course Turkey Creek to the south, this one isn't as overcrowded with locals and casuals, so it is better suited for serious players and people who don't like to wait.
Cons: The shule can be unforgiving if you get into it. Baskets on the wooded holes and sometimes on 14 and 15 in the late afternoon can be hard to spot as they tend to blend in to the scenery. Some old school baskets have been retrofitted with an extra set of chains and catch a bit differently. The usual pitfalls of woodsy courses, poison ivy here and there, lots of mosquitos and other insects. Definitely bring bug spray.
Other Thoughts: Probably my favorite course in the Iowa City/Cedar Rapids corridor. Sugar Bottom is almost twenty years old and has kept up well with the times. There's a couple of big arm holes here, but for the most part, control is what is going to net you a good score. Might be a little bit more than some casual players can handle with all the elevation and tons of places to lose a disc. Definitely worth the stop and pairs up well with Turkey Creek or one of the Cedar Rapids courses if you have time to play two.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Iowa City Advanced course

5+    7/25/2001   3/13/2009
Review By: JohnnyLounge21
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 16.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Awesome 18 hole course the goes in and out of the woods and was very well planned. Great parking facilities and a nice porta-potty right on the grounds after you park. Hilly and nice all around. May be a little long for more social players (bringing girls along) but a great course otherwise. Signage good and proximity to a reservoir make this course one of the best. The 18th is a special one - let 'em boom to try and get close in 3 for a nice birdie on the way out.
Cons: Again, a little long for the girls and for novices.
Other Thoughts: Outstanding course - Turkey Creek is closer to IC and more social, but this makes for a better sober choice if you're playing with bros competitively.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.