Iowa City, IA 
Turkey Creek Share
Uploaded By: lazy42 Hole #9 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 310ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Best Course in the Area

5+    8/22/2015   8/24/2015
Review By: MitchMileHigh
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained and clean rec area dedicated to disc golf
-Plenty of parking
-Bathrooms on-site
-Two practice baskets for putting before you start your round
-Decent signs at each hole
-Trash cans and seated areas at each tee pad
-3+ pin placements on almost every hole
-If you are in a hurry, one can play a quick 9 holes easily because hole 9 ends at the parking lot.
-Open front 9 with a more challenging wooded back 9.
-Great elevation changes on some of the holes, hole 5,10,13,14, and 17 in particular are some awesome holes.
-Everyone is very friendly and this course is just very fun to play during all seasons!
Cons: -Hole 18 located a little too close to the parking lot, hitting someone else's car with your drive isn't very fun.
-Place can be quite busy on nice summer days and on the weekends
-Other than that, there isn't anything bad to say about this excellent course.
Other Thoughts: In my opinion this course should have a higher rating than its counterpart, Sugar Bottom, but maybe that's just me. I would definitely recommend that you stop by this course if you are in Iowa City, you wont regret it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Potential 4 star course!

1    7/3/2015   7/5/2015
Review By: prerube
Played: 234  Reviewed: 215  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course starts out with some nice holes. 1 is a deuce or die scenario, 2 has an elevated basket reminiscent of Turkey Hill (MD) or Winthrop. Hole 3 was a wooded tunnel shot. Then the excitement slows down.

Some elevation changes, back 9 more wooded than front 9 and the excitement begins to build again.

good variety of shots. Hole 17 was a fun ending hole.

Another 18 hole course on site with lots of other activities for non-disc golfers
Cons: Hole 18 had 2 pins with in 30 feet of the parking lot or road. Very bad location.

My biggest problem was multiple pin positions with no idea where you were throwing. No indicator on tee signs.
EDIT: I have been told there is a bolt system to denote pin position. I wish I would have noticed it.

Long walk from 7 to 8. 600+ feet it wouldn't be so bad if you didn't walk directly down #3 fairway. It takes 2 1/2 minutes to walk it.
Other Thoughts: If I remove hole 18 and only review the first 17 holes this course would easily be a 4+
(I have raised the review based on the new information about the bolt system that I somehow missed)

My family loved the area. The fossil gorge, parks, and other recreation would have kept them busy enough were I could have played Sugar Bottom if I was not under a time constriction.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Challenging yet Fun

1    10/7/2014   10/7/2014
Review By: Mayes2158
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well maintained, everything was marked decent. Great use of terrain to give a nice mixture of open and wooded shots. Some good elevation changes. Really enjoyed some of the tight wooded shots. Was able to get through 18 in just under an hour.
Cons: I really do not have any cons, really enjoyed the course
Other Thoughts: Look forward to coming back and playing again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Solid, solid.

2-4    5/31/2014   9/5/2014
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 81  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 15.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Some great land for disc golf, and for the most part it is dedicated to disc golf.
- Great signage, the same as over at Sugar Bottom.
- Good concrete tee pads.
- Multiple pin placements for each hole, indicated by a bolt in the tee sign.
- Good variation in lengths, depending on the pin placement.
- Some good elevation on the course, mainly on a few holes in the back nine.
- #3 is the first wooded hole, and boy is it a doozy. Fantastic lines, and two main pin placements, one across a little gulley, and the other sort of at the top of it.
- #5 has a great window to be hit about 150 feet off of the tee, where it opens up to a variety of pin placements out in the open. The last times I've played it has definitely been more overgrown that when I've played in years past.
- #10 is the signature hole for me, great downhill hole on the spine of a little ridge. A few pin placements here, the best being on a little putting green of grass, often illuminated by some stray sun beams peeking through. Fantastic.
- #13 is a shorter, but very difficult straight-away wooded hole. Only a few lines to be had, and if you miss and go right, you will be rolling down a 30 foot bank to small drainage creek below, with plenty of growth to lose a disc in.
- #17 is another memorable over a small gulley. Not particularly hard, but certainly scenic. Decent log steps and stairs in place, although some have certainly deteriorated over time.
Cons: - Sometimes very busy, as it is a pretty popular course.
- Navigation can be a minor issue, but it is mostly not a problem.
- Some graffiti, trash, and beer cans around some of the holes, as it attracts a lot of college-aged players.
- Definitely buggy any time that I've played it in the spring to early summer.
- #1 and #2 are fine opening holes, but they're just that. Open.
- Not too many penalties for bad shots, other than coming up short by hitting trees. #13 is really the lone exception
Other Thoughts: - This course is a fantastic challenge for rec and intermediate players, while still being worthwhile for more experienced players.
- The front nine is more open, while the back is in general more wooded.
- Wonderful complement to Sugar Bottom, nearby, definitely worth playing as part of a day of disc golf.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great place to start discing

5+    4/2/2013   4/7/2013
Review By: Hix375
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mostly open holes.
Fun first 9 and challenging back 9.
easy to get through and find next course
very well maintained.
Cons: Can get busy, but nothing common courtesy and patience cant fix.
a few holes play into each other.
plays alongside a road for a few holes, never fun to get a disc run over by a car.
Other Thoughts: It's a great place to start out, most of the holes on the first 9 are very forgiving and have a lot of room for error. can be played back 9 first.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Door to Door Watermelon Salesman

2-4    9/29/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1188  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Personal Rank: 102

Many other reviews talk about the crowds and safety hazards, I have only played this course during quiet times in the off season and this review only reflects my experience there, heed their concerns if you care.

A very fun course that works its way through a variety of relatively flat, lightly wooded park style holes, then takes a dive into the heavily wooded ravines to introduce some rather adventurous technical holes. This is one of those courses that on coming to hole 18 I wish the fun would continue. It's a quick enough round that playing another time through will often win out over moving on to another course.

This is the only course in the Iowa City area that made my favorites course, Peninsula and Sugar bottom are both near the quality and make for a very enjoyable trifecta for a day of disc golf. I wouldn't quite recommend the area as a destination area, but being so close to the freeway makes it a great layover on a long drive across Iowa.
Other Thoughts: After playing 1000 courses, I'm excited to share my opinion on some of my favorites. My top 100+ list can be found on my blog, my favorites list is at 110 of 1020 as of writing this review. Of all courses played, the top 1.5% receive a rating of 5, down to 6% is a 4.5, and 15% is a 4.0 creating a bell curve distribution. I apologize that my reviews are not as detailed as they have been previously. I have included the details as to why this course stands out to the best that my memory serves.

My personal criteria is very subjective, a gut feeling:
~Physical beauty stands out, both scenery and the beauty of each hole.
~Amenities don't mean much to me, it doesn't much matter if there's benches, concrete tee pads, or garbage cans.
~Technical design - How well designed are the fairways/airways and landing areas? Are there unique holes that stand out? Variety of holes - distances, shapes, elevation, tree density, rough thickness. Pars 4 and 5?
~I love extreme/adventure golf. Rugged and secluded courses stand out more than park style courses. In general I prefer more technical over more open.
~Local Scene. If I was involved in a tournament or league or met up with some locals and played the course multiple times I appreciate different aspects of a course.
~The main thing I ask myself is "Does this course make me want to come back?" if the answer is yes, it makes the list.

Thank you, enjoy my reviews and if you don't find this information helpful, please let me know what I can do to improve.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

busy but fun

5+    9/22/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: IHearChains
Played: 121  Reviewed: 19
This review was updated on 7/6/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good mix of wooded holes and a handful of holes with scattered trees. Most of the holes have multiple basket positions, some have as many as 4 or 5 positions. A couple holes require precision line shaping but the rest of the wooded holes are kind of forgiving. There are lots of deuce runs on this course, but depending on the layout, it can still provide a solid challenge and test some different shots. There are two fairly challenging long tees which turn par 3 holes into par 4s. The course winds around a wooded area with large ravines, and some holes play up and down, in and out of the ravines.
Cons: Turkey Creek is an old course,and some holes show signs of overuse such as erosion, soil compaction, and tree damage, although some effort has been made recently to help control these problems.

The course is often really crowded with people, many of whom have no concept of disc golf etiquette. On a nice summer weekend afternoon, it is normal to have a couple groups waiting on every tee. I find it better to play in the early morning on a weekday.

When it rains some sloped holes can get muddy and slippery.
Other Thoughts: Edit: Movable bolt in tee sign indicates current basket positions.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 fun stuff

1    6/23/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: DjKilliQuik
Played: 45  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.2 Years
Pros: Solid course. Lots of different types of shots. It has a very nice use of the terrain around the camp grounds. Liked holes 3, 10, and 13. Especially hole 10 from the alternate placement. The wooded holes were all pretty awesome. Had fun playing this course. Nicely kept. Bathrooms and water fountain were key.
Cons: There was a few holes that kind of impeaded on other holes. The tee pads were pretty much in other fairways. Also hole 18 was too close to the parking area pretty easy to hit someones car.

 Turkey Creek

1    6/15/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: jwetter
Played: 60  Reviewed: 30
Pros: -Good tees and baskets
-well maintained park
-Good variety of different throws in the woods and open
-Good variety of short and long holes
-Good use of change in elevation
Cons: -Park was packed the day we went
-holes 10 and 11 were closed because discs were hurting the trees
-The walk between holes 7 and 8 was very long and kind of confusing (we had to ask for help)
-On holes 2 and 18 the basket was raised up and it made putting on those holes a little weird, however, this does add a little variety so not all bad.
Other Thoughts: Worth the play if you are in the area!

 Popular college course

1    3/24/2012   4/15/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nicely kept park with a mix of grassy areas and deeper woods. Several holes play fairly open with scattered mature trees and a few gradual elevation changes. They offer multiple lines to the pins and little risk on errant shots. The remainder of the holes play through defined lines in the woods with a few interesting elevation changes along some ravines. Some greens offer potential for long rollaways, adding some nice risk on the short game. These holes have moderate rough, punishing errant drives but leaving opportunities for recovery shots. There is decent distance variety, with a few longer shots and plenty of ace runs.

There are nice concrete pads with decent texture. The signage is solid, and makes it pretty easy to know where to throw, and the course flows well enough that the couple long walks aren't too difficult to figure out. The park is well kept, and surprisingly free of trash with the amount of traffic the course gets.
Cons: There are some major safety issues here. There are some areas where several holes share space with little buffer to keep discs out of other fairways. Many groups were playing into each other when I played, with little consideration for yelling "fore" or waiting until fairways were clear. The park road and parking lot come into play as well. I hate seeing safety issues like this on courses that are popular with newer players, it compounds the issues and potentially causes courses to get pulled.

There is some great elevation in the park that isn't used, the wooded holes are a bit disappointing given the cool ravines and slopes that are adjacent to many of the shots. The open shots don't offer much challenge, simple hyzer shots suffice for most of them.
Other Thoughts: This course is popular with newer players and students at a local college for obvious reasons. It's beginner friendly with mostly shorter lengths and limited punishment or lost disc risk on missed shots. More experienced players will find a few really interesting shots, but not a whole lot of real tests or enough variety to make this a must play, and the traffic and safety issues make it even less appealing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center