Iowa City, IA
Turkey Creek Share
Uploaded By: lazy42 Hole #11 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 309ft.   3 / 309ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Great place to start discing

5+    4/2/2013   4/7/2013
Review By: Hix375
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mostly open holes.
Fun first 9 and challenging back 9.
easy to get through and find next course
very well maintained.
Cons: Can get busy, but nothing common courtesy and patience cant fix.
a few holes play into each other.
plays alongside a road for a few holes, never fun to get a disc run over by a car.
Other Thoughts: It's a great place to start out, most of the holes on the first 9 are very forgiving and have a lot of room for error. can be played back 9 first.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Door to Door Watermelon Salesman

2-4    9/29/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1128  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Personal Rank: 102

Many other reviews talk about the crowds and safety hazards, I have only played this course during quiet times in the off season and this review only reflects my experience there, heed their concerns if you care.

A very fun course that works its way through a variety of relatively flat, lightly wooded park style holes, then takes a dive into the heavily wooded ravines to introduce some rather adventurous technical holes. This is one of those courses that on coming to hole 18 I wish the fun would continue. It's a quick enough round that playing another time through will often win out over moving on to another course.

This is the only course in the Iowa City area that made my favorites course, Peninsula and Sugar bottom are both near the quality and make for a very enjoyable trifecta for a day of disc golf. I wouldn't quite recommend the area as a destination area, but being so close to the freeway makes it a great layover on a long drive across Iowa.
Other Thoughts: After playing 1000 courses, I'm excited to share my opinion on some of my favorites. My top 100+ list can be found on my blog, my favorites list is at 110 of 1020 as of writing this review. Of all courses played, the top 1.5% receive a rating of 5, down to 6% is a 4.5, and 15% is a 4.0 creating a bell curve distribution. I apologize that my reviews are not as detailed as they have been previously. I have included the details as to why this course stands out to the best that my memory serves.

My personal criteria is very subjective, a gut feeling:
~Physical beauty stands out, both scenery and the beauty of each hole.
~Amenities don't mean much to me, it doesn't much matter if there's benches, concrete tee pads, or garbage cans.
~Technical design - How well designed are the fairways/airways and landing areas? Are there unique holes that stand out? Variety of holes - distances, shapes, elevation, tree density, rough thickness. Pars 4 and 5?
~I love extreme/adventure golf. Rugged and secluded courses stand out more than park style courses. In general I prefer more technical over more open.
~Local Scene. If I was involved in a tournament or league or met up with some locals and played the course multiple times I appreciate different aspects of a course.
~The main thing I ask myself is "Does this course make me want to come back?" if the answer is yes, it makes the list.

Thank you, enjoy my reviews and if you don't find this information helpful, please let me know what I can do to improve.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

busy but fun

5+    9/22/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: IHearChains
Played: 113  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good mix of wooded holes and a handful of holes with scattered trees. Most of the holes have multiple basket positions, some have as many as 4 or 5 positions. A couple holes require precision line shaping but the rest of the wooded holes are kind of forgiving. There are lots of deuce runs on this course, but depending on the layout, it can still provide a solid challenge and test some different shots. There are two fairly challenging long tees which turn par 3 holes into par 4s. The course winds around a wooded area with large ravines, and some holes play up and down, in and out of the ravines.
Cons: Turkey Creek is an old course,and some holes show signs of overuse such as erosion, soil compaction, and tree damage, although some effort has been made recently to help control these problems.

The course is often really crowded with people, many of whom have no concept of disc golf etiquette. On a nice summer weekend afternoon, it is normal to have a couple groups waiting on every tee. I find it better to play in the early morning on a weekday.

When it rains some sloped holes can get muddy and slippery.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

fun stuff

1    6/23/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: DjKilliQuik
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.8 Years
Pros: Solid course. Lots of different types of shots. It has a very nice use of the terrain around the camp grounds. Liked holes 3, 10, and 13. Especially hole 10 from the alternate placement. The wooded holes were all pretty awesome. Had fun playing this course. Nicely kept. Bathrooms and water fountain were key.
Cons: There was a few holes that kind of impeaded on other holes. The tee pads were pretty much in other fairways. Also hole 18 was too close to the parking area pretty easy to hit someones car.

Turkey Creek

1    6/15/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: jwetter
Played: 44  Reviewed: 30
Pros: -Good tees and baskets
-well maintained park
-Good variety of different throws in the woods and open
-Good variety of short and long holes
-Good use of change in elevation
Cons: -Park was packed the day we went
-holes 10 and 11 were closed because discs were hurting the trees
-The walk between holes 7 and 8 was very long and kind of confusing (we had to ask for help)
-On holes 2 and 18 the basket was raised up and it made putting on those holes a little weird, however, this does add a little variety so not all bad.
Other Thoughts: Worth the play if you are in the area!

 Popular college course

1    3/24/2012   4/15/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nicely kept park with a mix of grassy areas and deeper woods. Several holes play fairly open with scattered mature trees and a few gradual elevation changes. They offer multiple lines to the pins and little risk on errant shots. The remainder of the holes play through defined lines in the woods with a few interesting elevation changes along some ravines. Some greens offer potential for long rollaways, adding some nice risk on the short game. These holes have moderate rough, punishing errant drives but leaving opportunities for recovery shots. There is decent distance variety, with a few longer shots and plenty of ace runs.

There are nice concrete pads with decent texture. The signage is solid, and makes it pretty easy to know where to throw, and the course flows well enough that the couple long walks aren't too difficult to figure out. The park is well kept, and surprisingly free of trash with the amount of traffic the course gets.
Cons: There are some major safety issues here. There are some areas where several holes share space with little buffer to keep discs out of other fairways. Many groups were playing into each other when I played, with little consideration for yelling "fore" or waiting until fairways were clear. The park road and parking lot come into play as well. I hate seeing safety issues like this on courses that are popular with newer players, it compounds the issues and potentially causes courses to get pulled.

There is some great elevation in the park that isn't used, the wooded holes are a bit disappointing given the cool ravines and slopes that are adjacent to many of the shots. The open shots don't offer much challenge, simple hyzer shots suffice for most of them.
Other Thoughts: This course is popular with newer players and students at a local college for obvious reasons. It's beginner friendly with mostly shorter lengths and limited punishment or lost disc risk on missed shots. More experienced players will find a few really interesting shots, but not a whole lot of real tests or enough variety to make this a must play, and the traffic and safety issues make it even less appealing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    3/25/2012   4/3/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a park that has some hilly woods in the middle. Seems like a very busy place, with some park benches here and there. Could definitely see the need to wait on park-goers.
- About half of the holes here are set in the middle part of the park, which contains lots of trees and some good elevation changes. #3 is a little valley shot, #5 is uphill with a tight right turn at the end, #7 is a nice, long RHBH anny line that slopes slight left. #10, #11, #13-#17 are in the denser woods, with fairways smattered with trees and dangerous rollaways on one or both sides of the fairway. Missing the trees is important to keep from ending up in trouble.
- Holes outside of the woods are more clear, with individual trees to worry about. Nothing too troublesome. #1 has a bit of a low ceiling off the tee, #6 is a sharp blind hyzer, and #9 plays downhill. Each one has a little bit of character to stand out.
- As mentioned earlier, the decent elevation changes help to keep the course interesting. Some tough uphill shots in the woods, sloping fairways, and some dangerous greens. The elevated basket on #2 is a nice touch.
- Good baskets, signage, and pads. Layout is weird, you have to loop around the forest after #8. Not too bad. At least one pro tee; the rest are hidden or something!
Cons: - Front couple of holes, and #9, are jammed into a little space. Heads up at all times over here, seriously. #2 and #9 are almost overlapping.
- Holes out in the open don't have much in the way of hazards, any semi-accurate drive will be just fine to get a par.
- Forested holes have very similar lines, or at least a very similar feel. There are plenty of ways to get to the basket, you just have to avoid hitting the trees. A few obvious routes, but nothing is forced really.
Other Thoughts: - Course is a good mix of good forest holes, and decent holes out in the open. The elevation changes definitely help to add fun and challenge, and there are some longer holes mixed in as well. Hazardous areas add more difficulty as well, especially getting off the fairways in the woods. Still, better suited for beginner and intermediate players more than advanced ones.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Open and moderately wooded holes

5+    9/7/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: wadeG
Played: 50  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Good elevation with some partially open and wooded holes with a few tight fairways. Flows well with good teepads and benches.
Cons: The majority of the drives are straight. To be a great course it could definitely use more variety of shots with a few longer holes. Busy course with the university not far away. Not many memorable holes.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beware of the trees

2-4    10/12/2010   8/25/2011
Review By: RockStarValkyrie
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 15.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Decent baskets and tee pads, lots of difficult and challenging shots, lots of fun, varied terrain, good exercise,
Cons: Lots of trees, a handful of holes are literally just throw and pray, impossible with all the skill in the world to be able to intentionally miss all the trees, you can get lucky but nobody is THAT good, but it also keeps and even playing field so could be considered a pro, can get muddy and crowded
Other Thoughts: pretty much THE place to play in the Iowa City area, very popular, fun place overall, great scenery and environment with the Lake being so close

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    6/26/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: pdgamember
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.1 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great layout with a lot of risk reward shots. Great landscaping. Great mix of different pin placements. Right by the rez
Cons: can get muddy at times
Other Thoughts: This course just gets better and better every time play it

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.