Iowa City, IA 
Turkey Creek Share
Uploaded By: lazy42 Hole #3 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 181ft.   3 / 181ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 

1    8/23/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: bjfergus21
Played: 90  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Being a University of Iowa student I always like to come out to Turkey Creek and unwind from the grind of classes. The course is laid out quite well except for one exception. Many of the holes have different pin placements and when they are in the long placements the course is very challenging. Hole ten is one of my favorite disc golf holes and it is also challenging because there are slopes on both sides. Baskets and park is well maintained and the park is scenic with a nice drive over the Coralville resavoir.
Cons: Cons of this course are that many college kids come out and play and it gets extremely crowded on nice days. Many people have huge groups and a course that should take no longer than an hour to play usually takes almost 2 hours. Beware of gnats because they are everywhere. Also the course can get very slippery after a big rain. The walk to hole #8 is pretty long and I would reccommend to stay away from the shortcut through the trees. Some tee pads are too short and almost make you throw flat footed.
Other Thoughts: This course is my new home course since I am at school in Iowa City. I love the layout, signs, and how well-kept the park is, It is a very short drive from Iowa City and when its not crowded its hard to find a better course that is challenging but also rewarding at the same time. If you are traveling through Iowa City and Coralville on I-80 and want to play some Eastern Iowa disc golf I suggest trying Turkey Creek out.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Just Passing Through.

1    8/1/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: Ken Long
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very technical course. On wooded holes...better play it straight. Alot of the wooded holes are on a plateau so that means watch out on the left and right. If I lived in the area... I would be back to play Turkey Creek time and time again.
Cons: I don't live in the Coralville area.
Other Thoughts: Coming back from Kansas City..Coralville was my over night stop. I wanted to play Turkey Creek. I'm glad I did. I was very impressed. There was one hole I did not play...I trhink it was #13. Where the "jaws of death" were waiting fo you on the right. If I ever come back to the area..I will indeed be back to Turkey Creek. As an after thought..the ride over to turkey is awesome. Traveling over the top of a dam to the course. Also the course is in good shape and taken care of by volunteers. The course is in good shape. Also...being a first timer..signage was very self explanitory.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 This course is definitely NOT a turkey!

2-4    6/13/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide, generous pads and good signage including the kiosk. Lots of varying pin positions which actually make you consider a differing strategy right from the tee box. Flows very well for a woodsy course. Wonderful use made of the elevation with its signature downhill wooded holes, with numerous spots where you have to very careful not to have an otherwise awesome shot end with a disasterous rollaway. For its challenge, the course's relatively short length make it attractive for less experienced players. This is a wonderful place for people to learn how to adjust to elevation. Even if you get into the wooden abyss there are ways out (and ways to get in deeper), and the undergrowth is reasonably well controlled. Getting in there can cost you a stroke, but the fairways are plenty fair. Bathrooms onsite and plenty of parking, (although some spots you might want to avoid as they are in Hole 18's path).
Cons: The course is frequently crowded by casuals, even on weekdays. Several spots which can get slick and muddy after its been raining. Hole 7 is particularly treacherous. Walk between Holes 7-8 is a tad long. In the darkened area of the wooded holes, the DGA baskets can be a bit difficult to see. Gnats, gnats, and more gnats.
Other Thoughts: Built in 1982, TC is one of two courses in the Corps of Engineer managed parks at the Coralville Lake along with Sugar Bottom. Due to its shorter nature and popularity with casual players, it has probably lost some its luster in favor of newer, longer courses for advanced players. After a devestating flood in 2008 that did catastrophic damage to Iowa City's other course at Peninsula Park, this has pretty much been the only other option for the locals (aside from Sugar Bottom further to the north), so prepare to spend some time waiting at the tee box. Due to the hard to see nature of some of the baskets, it might not be a good idea to watch the people in front of you (provided they know where the pins are).

Regarding the gnat problem, one piece of advice I learned from the locals: Get a bottle of Asorbine Jr. pain medication and dab some on the back of your neck. It works rather effectively.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Design

1    6/4/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: zensuit
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Terrific variety of holes, excellent use of pin placements, beautiful walk, challenging without being random and punitive. Hole 17 across the gorge is fantastic tee shot with a real chance for birdie. Hole # 10 and #11 are also really good disc golf holes that require a great tee shot to make birdie or even par!
Cons: Gnats.
Other Thoughts: A great course to play "cold" and would be a fantastic course to play a tournament on as the design rewards solid play more than big arm throws.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 An Iowa City classic

5+    9/13/2003   3/13/2009
Review By: JohnnyLounge21
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 16.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I've played the front 9 countless times and just love this classic course. There are always people out playing it so you know you're in the right place. Bring a group of 3 guys, 3 girls, a cooler on wheels and a case of cheep light beer; you're good to go. Just a great all around time. Challenging in some places, easier in others. If you're a righty and have a good forehand, you can get some good birdies. The drive from Iowa City is a nice short one with a trip over "The Rez" causeway. Just a great course for anyone.
Cons: The tee-boxes could be a little nicer. Signage could be improved.
Other Thoughts: Just an awesome course - sentimental to me b/c it's where I played DG for the first time.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Popular course for a reason.

5+    8/12/2011   2/21/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy parking right next to the first tee. Great mix of hole types from long to short wooded ones. I definately enjoy the wooded holes, but there are still several holes on this course that you can pull out your longer drivers on. Fairways with the grass on it are usually always well mowed. Decent teepads with signs and new improved teepads have been added recently. Bolt on sign moved to reflect where the basket is at on the multiple pin placements. Some very tight fairways. Steep ravines on some holes that create their own challenge. Land off the fairway and go down a ravine and good luck getting your bogey at that point. Great elevation changes, who says Iowa is flat? Has a great flow to it. Each hole has it's own feel to it. No two holes are the same. Hole 17 is my favorite.
Cons: Can be extremely busy when the college students are in town. Try to go early in the day or go to Sugarbottom to avoid the crowds. There are trash cans throughout the course, but not used as well as they could be. Beer cans and bottle caps abound.
Other Thoughts: Classic disc golf course. Perfect course for the pro or beginner alike. You just can't get bored on a course like this with all the variety of shots needed. Baskets are moved on a regular basis as well. New additions to this course include more cement teepads and retaining walls around some of the baskets. Will play this course anytime!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/14/2008   11/14/2008
Review By: ziggy5250
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I like this course a lot. There's a lot of holes in the woods and a nice selection in the open. All of them are very well laid out. It's kind of an easy course for being so wooded, but it's a blast.
Cons: It's a college town so it can get a bit crowded but not too bad
Other Thoughts: Great area, there's another course close by (sugarbottom) The course is usually well kept, very nice scenery.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/4/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: Pinto
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It has a good mix of open and woods holes with distance. The signs are good, has facilities nearby, and an overall decent challenge.
Cons: The course has many great holes, however the holes in the deep woods (13-16?) have severe elevation drop-offs on both sides if you err on a shot, which makes the remainder of the hole unplayable. Turkey Creek also has smaller square tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: It's a very crowded course.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Old times

5/17/2008   5/26/2008
Review By: mattmelcher
Played: 24  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I used to play this course when I was in college many years ago. The first 9 is a little more open than the back nine. LOTS of trees and steep slopes on the back nine.
Cons: Signs need some work.
Other Thoughts: Challenging course that requires some luck.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.