Iowa City, IA 
Peninsula Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
-- / 471ft.   -- / --   -- / 570ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Blue Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
River Course

2-4    6/22/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: iabengalfan
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mixture of open and wooded areas, putting practice area, maintiance people were there working on it so its taken care of, not vary hard to lose discs,
Cons: Not a lot of benches or things too sit on, holes not well marked

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

serious tlc needed

1    9/8/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: namar
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent variety here, from thread-the-needle in the woods to open bombers. The front 9 offers a veritable line-shaping clinic as there are quite a few holes where one needs a lazer with just a bit of fade at the end. The challenge is that little bit of fade can be left or right, though there isn't much punishment for missed lines, other than the goddamn nettles. The navigation signs work pretty well in directing you from the pin to the next tee area(s), I was by myself and had no problem finding my way around. I had the course pretty much to myself, and took that opportunity to shoot from both teepads on most holes. All in all, a pretty solid course with massive potential that just needs a little love and a few flood-free years. There was fresh sawdust in several places, so somebody is out there working. I look forward to playing it in the late fall when it's a little clearer.
Cons: Hardly any benches, which is a bummer for those of us that don't pull a cart or carry a stool. Missing signs! Many of the teepads had no signage at all, just the post lying on the ground. The signs that are there are decent enough, showing basic hole layout and distance/par, there just aren't enough of them. Also, the goddamn NETTLES!
Other Thoughts: I really want to rate this course higher, but the unrepaired flood damage makes it tough. If all signs were in place this course could be a 4. With the dual tees, it can almost play like 36 holes, though some are simply backed up a short distance and not all that different.

This course was essentially empty when I played on a Sunday afternoon, which isn't all that surprising given the location of the park. Definitely worth playing if you're in the area, just wear pants or long socks to mitigate those GODDAMN NETTLES! Did I mention there are some nettles here?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

This course has seen better days

5+    8/12/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: haringj
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Is a very natural course, so you won't find nicely pruned trees and well trimmed fairways. No, trees and their branches are going to be a hazard, you won't find many opportunities for rollers because of the long grass (weeds) and twigs all over the ground, and if your throw strays off the fairway you're definitely going to encounter some thick brush and poison ivy. However, if you're looking for a challenge, you've found it.
Cons: In big time disrepair. I would say extreme disrepair, but it seems there is at least one occasional care taker. This course experienced yet another flood this spring, which occurs here quite frequently these days and can impact more than half of the 18 holes. It's been quite some time since flooding now and it still looks like the waters just receded.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Better as a seasonal course

2-4    4/6/2013   4/7/2013
Review By: Hix375
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has a good variety of tee positions that can take a hole from challenging to down right difficult.

Nice wooded area that is shaded and runs along the Iowa river.

good intermediate course.

putting range.
Cons: Usually poorly maintained.

easy to get turned around and re-play previous holes.

a few holes interfere with each other.

Much better to play fall through early spring, once most of the vegetation is gone.

Guiding signs are a little misleading.
Other Thoughts: Ive played through this course a few times, Summer and spring. its a beast to get through in summer once everything has grown and you can spend a while rooting around in wildly overgrown brush and poison ivy, however if you play before much has a chance to grow out, its one of my favorite courses. there are a few really long shots that are great and a good amount of terrain, its relaxing to walk through on a good day. Definitely worth giving a shot. generally less crowded than other courses in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

good variety and challenge, but flat

5+    10/5/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: IHearChains
Played: 117  Reviewed: 19
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly flat course, which has two distinct parts, built in a peninsula along a bend of the Iowa River. There are two tees and two basket positions on every hole and most of the alternate tees offer different lines, so you can play 36 different holes of golf here. There are rarely any other park users in the disc golf areas, except for an occasional dog walker.

Holes 2-10 and 12, require a variety of tight technical lines through thick established woods with some impressive old oak trees. Even though they are tough lines to hit in some cases, there are usually a couple of options on most holes. Holes 1, 11 and 13-18 are mostly open, windswept holes with low scrubby brush lining the fairways. There are several legitimate par 4 holes (1,5,6,10,11,13,18) although some become par 3s depending on the basket position. Holes 5 (blue tee) and 6 are excellent placement challenges, where even if you stay off the trees, it is tough to land the disc in position to have a clear line to the basket for a birdie 3. The course is fairly well-balanced between right-to-left and left-to-right, but this can vary a lot depending on basket positions. Big arms can reach quite a few of the longer open holes, so players without a 400ft drive need to score well in the woods to be competitive.

The overall design takes advantage of what little elevation change is available, but it is not much. There is a low bluff of about 15ft or so that divides upper and lower parts of the course, and most holes don't cross that bluff. But from the blue tees there are three fun drives (11, 12, 15) off the bluff with downhill elevation change, and one uphill approach onto the bluff (5).
Cons: The land doesn't really allow much variety in terms of elevation change. Holes 11 and 13-16 are in a flood-prone area, and in some years it can become unplayable depending on how high the river is. And even if they are not flooded, the ground may be too soft for the mowing equipment so it can get rough. When the mowers do make it in there, they leave behind some nasty ruts, so you have to watch your step -- once the ground gets hard it is easy to turn an ankle if you're not paying attention. The woods holes 2-10 are notorious for stinging nettles if you get off the fairways. They can be brutal in the summer months. Flocks of geese hang out along the fairways of holes 13 long, 15 and 16 during the winter and it gets a little nasty.
Other Thoughts: (edited for a couple of typos)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice mix

1    3/24/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 766  Exp: 12.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a disc golf exclusive segment of a larger park. The course is mostly flat, but the few places in the park that offer elevation changes are used well to offer a couple fun elevated tees. There are a few open holes that offer some distance and some rough lining the fairways if you throw a pretty errant shot. One of these offers some nice water hazard in the long pin position.

Most of the holes play through woods of various density. A few offer some scattered trees and little punishment, while many have tighter lines and some rough to contend with. There is a decent mix of left and right turning shots, and the wooded holes offer some different distances from ace runs to shots where the length tempts you to try to keep a driver on the fairway.

The multiple tees make a big difference on several of the holes, with additional pinch points or length on many, and completely separate fairways on a couple. This definitely adds to the replayability here, especially with good concrete pads and signs at both sets of tees. The pin positions make a big difference as well, I played the course in all shorts, the longs looked like they offered significantly more challenge and some cool and interesting lines.
Cons: I was a little disappointed to play the short pin positions, they take away some of the really fun shots and take the challenge and fun factor down quite a bit. I could easily see the long tees to long pins layout as a 4, but I have a hard time rating a course just based on looking at where pins could be in a different setup.

The wooded holes seemed very similar to one another, with many that called for a mostly straight shot with just a minor turn one way or the other at the end of the flight. There's enough room to be a little more creative with distances and lines in the woods here.
Other Thoughts: The dual tees make this course accessible to a wide variety of skill levels. Beginners might find the rough in some areas a little punitive (especially with poison ivy and nettles in spots), but the distances from the short pads are reasonable. More experienced players will find some nice shots from the long tees, especially with pins in the long positions.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    12/27/2011   12/30/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large park that butts up next to a ball golf course and a dog park, though the disc golf is well separated from anything else. Some forest, some open land, a little beach, the terrain is pretty diverse.
- The holes in the woods provide a variety of lines and difficulty. There are a lot of straight shots, with slight left or right finishes; it really depends on the tee pad and basket configuration. Most of the holes provide a window or pinch point, or multiples; a lot of different looks. Other holes are a bit more open, like the red top or blue bottom on #5, or the elevated tee on #12.
- Rest of the holes, about half, are out in the open. These have much more open lines, with mature trees and woods providing obstacles, and lots of length. Some are pretty straightforward, like the grass-filled #1, #16 with a basket position in some woods, and #17, a low ceiling shot with a few trees. Others are much more interesting, like the downhill, giant hyzer on #11, the z-shaped fairway around the pumping station on #13, the elevated bomber on #15, and the J-shaped path around the woods on #18. The long pins here make a huge difference.
- Elevation changes are present here on a lot of holes out of the forest, with elevated teepads, some uphill approaches, and a few sloped greens. Definitely noticeable, and adds a lot of fun over difficulty.
- Water is present on a few pin positions, and is a serious threat to eat some discs. The long pin on #13 is right on the beach, and one of the pins on #15 is very close as well. Also a road by a few pins for some extra OB. Adds even more challenge to holes that are already tough to begin with.
- Excellent signage, navigational pointers, teepads, baskets, everything is tip-top.
Cons: - Holes in the forest are all pretty similar, in terms of hole design. The lines are different, but the same straighter is greater, pinch point execution is needed again and again. A little repetitive.
- On the other hand, some of the holes are pretty wide open, especially for some of the short pin positions. Distance is the only real aspect for some of these.
Other Thoughts: - This course plays a lot of different ways based on the choice of tee pads, and the pin positions. It can play from tricky to extreme! Playing the blue pads to some of the long pins provide tough lines in the woods and some monster bombers in the open. Excellent balance of both kinds, accuracy, and distance, or both, is almost always going to be a factor. I could see how it might be a little bland in all shorts, hopefully that's never the case. Beginners might want to stay away from this one, everyone else should find real challenge in some aspect here.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Heavy woods with some partially open holes

1    9/7/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: wadeG
Played: 50  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: "A good mixture of tight wooded fairways and challenging open wooded shots." The pro pads give the course a challenging amount of distance on several holes 400+ ft.
Cons: The elevation is used, though it could use more. Variety of shots is mediocre, the majority are fairly straight. Course upkeep, sitting water, and flooding can be an issue.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Options

1    3/16/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course dedicated to DG. Although there is a path around area, it doesn't interfere with discing. Also, next to a nice Dog Park, so it may be an area to let the family play in that area (if you have dogs of course) while you sneak away for a quick round. Shelter by hole 1 next to parking lot. A few trash cans around course. Tree stumps made into seats to rest.

Practice basket near hole 1. Dual nice sized concrete tee pads (Blue and Red tee). Dual pin positions available (A or B location). Nice signs at each tee box, showing you the layout of the specific hole your on.

Course navigation was pretty good, there were nice signs pointing you to the next tee, without those I may have inadvertently skipped a few holes.

A few of the holes were near the river, but nothing that jumped out at me and made me worried I would lose a disc. Some open holes (I think six of them were open), but most were wooded. Excellent paths cut from the tees to the basket, usually giving you options to get to the pin.

This course is different from other wooded courses because many of these wooded holes are fairly lengthy.

Due to the dual tees and pins, there is a large # of potential layouts here. If I lived here, that would be a huge plus in my book because the course would stay fresh as the pins changed.

Loved the bright orange baskets!!
Cons: Main Kiosk was dismantled or destroyed. I hope there was a way on that kiosk for players to know without playing the first few holes, which positions the pins were in without playing several holes first.

Not everybody knew what the trashcans were used for, as there was a bit more trash throughout course than expected.

Not a fan of tall grass lined fairways (hole # 1),

A few signs were missing, some for the holes in the area that had flood damage, some in other areas, not many missing, but worth noting.

No big elevation changes, but there were a couple of elevated tee's depending on the color you played, but no elevation changes like the other courses in the area.
Other Thoughts: Couple of holes that stuck out: I liked the variation that the different tees and pin locations gave you on hole 11, completely different, you wouldn't even think you were on the same hole. I liked shooting hole 15, as the pins were just off of the river, for obvious reasons, you wouldn't want to over shoot those.

When I played the course (03-16), there were no bugs, and no undergrowth (still leaves from last fall covering the floor), or even water issues (flooding). Having said that, I can see where all of that could be an issue, but I can't let it affect my rating because I didn't experience them.

Overall, a great course with lots of options and a challenging layout. I think the alternative pin locations and having two tee locations will bring me back, but I may take the advice of the other reviewers and play early spring or late fall to not have to deal with some of the negatives.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 River Course

1    9/12/2010   3/15/2011
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: UPDATE: I was just informed that the back 9 is now playable again. I'm really looking forward to the day that I can play here again. I'm going to leave my review the way it is until I can play here again, and update it thoroughly!

I played here in September 2010. The back 9 had some very rough flood damage, making 14-16 unplayable. This may have been repaired since I played here last. Please feel free to let me know if these holes have been repaired.
-This is a winding wooded course, that requires a variety of throws and strategic placements. Accuracy is key here at Peninsula Park.
-Located on the edge of a well maintained park
-Multiple Teepads, Multiple Pin placements
-Very woodsy course, but not overly tight. The trees are spaced apart enough to allow for a variety of lines to throw. (This is not to say it's not challenging, it's just not dense and thick)
-1 ,17&18 are open field straightaway shots
-Easy to navigate, but a map can still be helpful.
-Has a variety of shots, requiring accurate placements. It constantly turns throughout the woods with doglegs, bends, and enough trees to require one to use different shots on each hole.
-For being a wooded course, there are a few 400ft, 500ft, and 600ft shots. Being able to carry a long drive in the woods will be an asset for players. It will test the accuracy of your long distance drives.
-Although the terrain was fairly flat, there are plenty of dips, banks, and creek beds to keep things interesting.
-Excellent pin placement, and the course is laid out nicely. It flows nicely through the woods.
-Though I didn't notice it favoring right handed or left handed targets. The pin placements seemed very direct, with enough space to allow for lines of either preference.
-Front 9 plays to a stopping point near the starting point near the parking lot. This would allow for a quick play on either the Front or Back 9. (provided the back 9 gets repaired from the flood damage)
-Shelter and practice basket at the start
-Tee Signs with maps to target.
-Playing in the dry creek beds was a blast, and really added to the Fun Factor here.
FWIW: This course is located right next to a dog park. In fact, the course is at the end of the Dog park parking lot.
Cons: -Course can be subject to flood issues
-Since it's located on the river, bugs, ticks and mosquitoes could be a serious factor. Bring repellent (I always recommend Avon's Skin so soft. It works nicely when I'm playing the swamp courses here in South Carolina)
-Wear pants, I don't know what the plant was, but it made our legs itch like crazy! It wasn't poison Ivy, but I'm sure that's a factor here as well. So be mindful, and dress accordingly.
-Looks like this course could get sloppy in certain areas if it rained.

UPDATED 3/18:The following notes are posted to inform you of the conditions of the course the day I played here. I have been told that these conditions have since been improved and are now playable.
-14-16 were destroyed by flooding. (Which I hate because 14 looked like such a nice scenic hole located along the riverbank.)
-11 was an overgrown jungle of grass and weeds. We played it anyways, but it was a "throw your drive and immediately go after your disc" type drive. If you took your eye off it for a second, you would lose it in the grass. We walked away with all our discs!
Other Thoughts: If you like strategic courses that wind through the woods, than this course is worth checking out. It has a plethora of different holes. Not only will you be working different doglegs, but you will also have a variety of lines as you throw through the gaps in the trees. The trees are space enough apart to allow this to type of shot to take place. This course had a good fun factor for me.

Until further notice though, you may only want to opt for 9 holes, since it may not be that easy to navigate back from anything beyond 10. Since you will only be able to play up to 13, before you will be forced to cut across the remnants of 15 and 16. 17 and 18 will take you back near the start of the course. Just due to the overgrowth in the woods, I would recommend pants and covered shoes. One person in our group was hating life after wearing shorts.

My hopes are that they get the back 9 operational again. I would love to play a full 18 here one day. This is definitely a challenging, yet fun, course. It just helps to know what lies beyond 10, should you opt for an 18 hole round. But, even playing 9 holes here is well worth your time to stop. Especially if you enjoy being in the woods!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center